## APPENDIX D - URBAN COMPACT AND SERVICE CENTER COMMUNITIES

MDOT Driveway and Entrance rules **do not apply within** Urban Compact Areas of Urban Compact Communities. They **do apply** to State and State Aid Highways **outside** Urban Compact Areas of the Urban Compact Communities listed below.

Municipalities with Urban Compact Areas are those in which the population according to the last United States census;

- 1. Exceed 7,500 inhabitants.
- 2. Is less than 7,500 inhabitants but more than 2,499 inhabitants, and in which the ratio of people whose place of employment is in a given municipality to employed people residing in that same municipality is 1.0 or greater, and when the municipality has not exercised the opt-out provision of this section.
- "Compact" or "Built-up sections" means a section of the highway where structures are nearer than 200 feet apart for a distance of ¼ of a mile, unless otherwise defined; reference M.R.S.A. 23 §754, revised July 1, 1999.

Presently there are 43 Urban Compact Municipalities.

Auburn	Augusta	Bangor		Bath	
Belfast	Biddeford		Brewer		Brunswick
Cape Elizabeth	Caribou		Fairfield		Falmouth
Farmington	Freeport		Gardiner		Gorham
Houlton	Kennebunk		Kittery		Lewiston
Lisbon	Millinocket		Old Orchard Bea	ch	Old Town
Orono	Portland		Presque Isle		Rockland
Rumford	Saco		Sanford		Scarborough
Skowhegan	South Portland		Standish		Topsham
Waterville	Wells		Westbrook		Windham
Winslow	Yarmouth		York		
	Cape Elizabeth Farmington Houlton Lisbon Orono Rumford Skowhegan Waterville	Belfast Biddeford  Cape Elizabeth Caribou  Farmington Freeport  Houlton Kennebunk  Lisbon Millinocket  Orono Portland  Rumford Saco  Skowhegan South Portland  Waterville Wells	Belfast Biddeford  Cape Elizabeth Caribou  Farmington Freeport  Houlton Kennebunk  Lisbon Millinocket  Orono Portland  Rumford Saco  Skowhegan South Portland  Waterville Wells	Belfast Biddeford Brewer  Cape Elizabeth Caribou Fairfield  Farmington Freeport Gardiner  Houlton Kennebunk Kittery  Lisbon Millinocket Old Orchard Bear  Orono Portland Presque Isle  Rumford Saco Sanford  Skowhegan South Portland Standish  Waterville Wells Westbrook	Belfast Biddeford Brewer  Cape Elizabeth Caribou Fairfield  Farmington Freeport Gardiner  Houlton Kennebunk Kittery  Lisbon Millinocket Old Orchard Beach  Orono Portland Presque Isle  Rumford Saco Sanford  Skowhegan South Portland Standish  Waterville Wells Westbrook

**NOTE:** Some communities may have "built up sections" as defined above but are not considered Urban Compact Communities. Chapter 299 Parts A & B, Driveway and Entrance Rules will apply in these communities.

## **SERVICE CENTER COMMUNITIES**

The MDOT Driveway and Entrance Rules include a reference to Service Center Communities when defining "Mobility Arterial Corridors".

The communities where we work, shop, get medical care or a cultural experience are an important subset of Maine's nearly 500 cities and towns. We call them many things: cities, hubs, shire towns, county seats and market towns. Whether living within them or outside them, we all depend upon them in some way.

The State Planning Office has defined 69 such communities statewide and termed them "service centers." These communities vary tremendously in size and appearance, but share three attributes:

- a) they are job centers -- importing workers,
- b) they are retail centers -- with sales exceeding the needs of the local population, and/or

## APPENDIX D - URBAN COMPACT AND SERVICE CENTER COMMUNITIES

c) they offer an array of social, cultural, health and financial services to the surrounding region. Service center communities are urban in function, but not necessarily in form or scale.

They act like cities, but don't always look like them. The Washington County seat of Machias has a population under 3,000, but with its banks, courthouse, hospital, college and restaurants serves many of the same functions as Portland

An additional 26 communities are listed as specialized centers. They have many of the same attributes as the Primary, Secondary and Small Centers. For purposes of these rules, Specialized Centers will be used when determining whether an arterial corridor is considered a Mobility or Retrograde Arterial Corridor as defined in the rules.

29 Primary Centers	21 Secondary Centers	19 Small Centers	26 Specialized Centers
Auburn	Bath	Ashland	Baileyville
Augusta	Biddeford	Bethel	Berwick
Bangor	Bingham	Brewer	Castine
Bar Harbor	Dexter	Bridgton	Cherryfield
Belfast	Falmouth	Bucksport	Dixfield
Blue Hill	Jackman	Eastport	East Millinocket
Boothbay Harbor	r Lubec	Freeport	Easton
Brunswick	Madawaska	Guilford	Fairfield
Calais	Mars Hill	Hallowell	Fryeburg
Camden	Newport	Island Falls	Hartland
Caribou	Norway	Kennebunk	Jay
Damariscotta	Orono	Kingfield	Jonesport
Dover-Foxcroft	Pittsfield	Kittery	Kennebunkport
Ellsworth	Rangeley	Millinocket	Livermore Falls
Farmington	Sanford	Milo	Madison
Fort Kent	South Portland	Princeton	North Berwick
Gardiner	Thomaston	Rumford	Ogunquit
Greenville	Unity	Saco	Old Town
Houlton	Van Buren	Winthrop	Rockport
Lewiston	Westbrook		Searsport
Lincoln	Wiscasset		Southwest Harbor
Machias			Stonington
Milbridge			Waldoboro
Paris			Wilton
Portland			Winter Harbor
Presque Isle			York
Rockland			
Skowhegan			
Waterville			