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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

1. CORPORATIONS SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX: Every
entity subject to Federal Income Tax as a corporation (including
exempt organizations) and doing business in Maine must file Form
1120-ME and pay its applicable Maine Corporate Income Tax. Cor-
porations who elect to file under Subchapter “S” of the Internal
Revenue Code, insurance companies subject to tax under 36
M.R.S.A., Chapter 357 (Insurance Premiums Tax and Fire In-
vestigation and Prevention Tax) and financial institutions subject
to tax under 36 M.R.S.A., Chapter 819 (Franchise Tax) are not
subject to Maine Corporate Income Tax. Corporate small busi-
ness investment companies, licensed under the United States Small
Business Investment Act of 1958 who are commercially domiciled
in Maine and do business primarily in Maine are also not subject
to this tax. NOTE: S-Corporations that incur Federal taxable
income (e.g. certain capital gains, certain built-in gains) that
is taxed at the corporate level are required to file Form 1120-
ME and report only the income on 1120-ME that is taxed at
the corporgte level for federal purposes.

2. BANKING INSTITUTIONS SUBJECT TO FRANCHISE
TAX: Every corporation which is a financial institution, except
a credit union; any service corporation or subsidiary as defined
in 9B M.R.S.A., Section 131 and any financial institution holding
company that is doing business in this State must file Form 1120B-
ME and pay Maine Franchise Tax. Please do not use Form
1120-ME. '

3. DATE FOR FILING RETURN: Corporations reporting for
the calendar year 1989 should file, with payment, on or before
March 15, 1990. Fiscal year taxpayers should file, with payment,
on or before the 15th day of the third month, following the close
of their taxable year.

4. EXTENSIONS FOR FILING: The State Tax Assessor may
grant a reasonable extension of time for filing a return, for just
cause, providing a deposit of 100% of the tax is made on or be-
fore the original due date. Failure to Pay penalties are added for
insufficient deposits. Use the Extension Voucher provided on Form
1120ES-ME when requesting extensions that necessitate an addi-
tional deposit. If the estimated tax has been paid in full, it is not
necessary to file a request for extension. In this case, attach a copy
of the Federal Form 7004 to the Maine Corporate Income Tax
return when filed.

5. PAYMENT OF CORPORATE INCOME TAX: All cor-
porations subject to income taxes shall pay an estimated tax un-
less the lability for the current taxable year or for the prior tax
year reduced by any allowable credits is less than $500. See in-
structions for Form 1120ES-ME for details.

6. INTEREST: Interest at 12% per annum will be added to any
balance of tax due from the original due date to the date of pay-
ment and should be included with any payment.

7. PENALTIES:

a. Underpayment of estimated tax penalty (at 12% per an-
num) may be assessed if the sum of quarterly estimated tax pay-

ments are not at least equal to the lesser of the previous year’s Maine
income tax liability or ninety percent (90%) of the tax liability for
the current year.

b. Late filing — late payment — penalties (in addition to in-
terest) will be assessed for late filing of your return and for late
payment of tax. Each of these penalties is 5% or $5 per month,
whichever is greater, up to 25% or $25. Both will be assessed if
the return is filed late and the tax is paid late. The law also pro-
vides for penalties for preparing or filing a fraudulent income tax
return and for understatement of income.

8. ACCOUNTING PERIOD COVERED BY RETURN: Your
Maine return covers the same accounting period as your Federal
corporate return.

9. ACCOUNTING METHODS: A taxpayer’s accounting
method for Maine income tax purposes must be the same as that
used for Federal income tax purposes.

10. FEDERAL RETURN MUST ACCOMPANY STATE
RETURN: In all cases, Maine Corporation Return, Form
1120-ME must be accompanied by a legible copy of the Corpora-
tion’s Federal Return, Form 1120, pages 1 through 4, for the same
taxable period. You are not required to provide copies of support-
ing schedules attached to Federal Form 1120 filed with Internal
Revenue Service unless specifically requested. Any corporation
which is part of an affiliated group is required to file Schedule
CB and must include a legible copy of pages 1 through 4 of the
Federal consolidated return. If any member(s) of the affiliated
group is a FSC or Possession Corporation which is not included
in the Federal Consolidated Return, also attach a copy of the Fed-
eral return for that member(s). For exempt organizations, the
Maine corporate return, Form 1120-ME, must be accompanied
by a legible copy of the corporation’s federal return, Form 990T.
For S-Corporations, the Maine corporate return, Form 1120-ME -
must be accompanied by a complete legible copy of the S-Corpo-
ration’s federal return.

11. FEDERAL AUDIT CHANGES AND AMENDED RE-
TURNS: All taxpayers must file a Maine amended return for any
change or correction by the Internal Revenue Service in Federal
taxable income within 90 days after final determination of such
change or correction. Attach a copy of the Internal Revenue Agent’s
report to your Maine amended return.

Any taxpayer filing an amended Federal Income Tax Return
must, within 90 days, file an amended Maine Income Tax Return
and attach a copy of Federal Form 1120X. When filing returns
that reflect federal net operating losses, a copy of the Federal Form
1139 must be attached.

The State does not provide a form for amended returns. Use
Form 1120-ME for the year(s) you are amending and print or type
“amended” in the upper right corner of the form.

12. CONSOLIDATED RETURNS: Affiliated non-unitary
corporations will be permitted or required to file a consolidated
return only if the State Tax Assessor deems such a return neces-
sary to fairly determine net income.



13. COMBINED REPORTS: A taxable corporation which is
a member of an affiliated group and which operates in a unitary
fashion must file a combined return based upon Federal Taxable
Income. Corporations which may be part of an affiliated unitary
group but are not required to file a Federal income tax return are
to be excluded from combined filing. Additionally, 80-20 corpo-
rations are excluded from the combined group.

Maine law defines affiliated group to mean a group of two or
more corporations in which more than 50% of the voting stock
of each member corporation is directly or indirectly owned by a
common owner or owners, cither corporate or non-corporate, or
by one or more of the member corporations. Unitary is defined
as a business activity which is characterized by unity of owner-

ship, functional integration, centralization of management and
economies of scale.

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1986
a single return may be filed on which the aggregate Maine income
tax liability of the Maine-nexus members of a unitary group is
reported. All members of the affiliated group are to be listed on
Schedule CB. For detailed instructions see Schedule CB.

14. 80-20 CORPORATION DEFINED: An 80-20 corporation
is an entity with more than 80% of its aggregate property and pay-
roll located outside the 50 states and District of Columbia and none
of its property and payroll located in this State.

IN ALL CORRESPONDENCE PLEASE REFER TO YOUR EMPLOYER FEDERAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1 OF FORM 1120-ME

Line 1. FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME: Enter Federal Tax-
able Income from Line 30 of Federal Form 1120 or Line 26 of
Federal Form 1120A. Corporations which are members of an af-
filiated unitary group should see the instructions under “Combined
Reports” on page 3, paragraph 13 and on Schedule CB.

Line 2a. INTEREST ON U.S. OBLIGATIONS: Enter here in-
terest on U.S. Bonds, U.S. Treasury Notes, or other obligations
of the U.S., which by law are exempt from State taxes, but tax-
able by the Federal Government.

Interest from bonds issued by Maine municipalities is exempt
from Maine income tax even if taxed on the federal return. Tax-
payers may subtract from federal taxable income interest income
and capital gains from the sale of bonds issued by the Waste
Management Agency to the extent included in federal taxable
income.

Line 2b. FOREIGN DIVIDEND GROSS-UP: This amount is
from Federal Form 1120, Schedule C, Line 15.

Line 2c. FEDERAL JOBS CREDIT ADJUSTMENT: An ad-
justment equal to the taxpayer’s Federal Jobs Credit is allowed.
Enter the amount of the required reduction of salaries and wages
on your Federal return due to the Jobs Credit. Also attach a copy
of Federal Form 5884, “Jobs Credit.”

Line 2d. DIVIDENDS FROM AFFILIATED CORPORA-
TIONS: Enter 10% of all dividends from affiliated corporations
which are not included with the taxpayer in a Maine combined
report. :

Line 4a. INCOME TAXES IMPOSED BY MAINE OR ANY
OTHER STATE: Maine Law does not permit a deduction for in-
come taxes imposed by Maine or any other state. Income taxes
taken as a deduction on Federal Form 1120 must be added back
to arrive at Maine taxable income.

Line 4b. UNRELATED EXPENSES: If the corporation(s) in-
cluded on this return is (are) part of a group but filing separately
for Maine, then any expenses incurred by the corporation(s), on
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behalf of subsidiaries or other members of a group who are not
included on this return, must be added back. If these expenses are
not readily identifiable, or specifically assignable to a particular
entity or entities, a reasonable formula may be employed. Attach
supporting schedules.

Line 4c. NET OPERATING LOSS RECOVERY ADJUST-
MENT: Enter on this line:

(1) The amount of any net operating loss for this taxable year
which is being carried back to previous taxable years pursuant to
United States Internal Revenue Code, Section 172, and

(2) Any net operating loss amount which has previously been
used to offset the modifications provided by 36 M.R.S.A., Sec-
tion S200A, Subsection 1. ’

Line 6. MAINE TAXABLE INCOME: Corporations that are not
part of an affiliated-unitary group and have income solely from
business activity within Maine should enter on Line 6 the same
amount as on Line 5. Corporations having income from within and
without the State should apportion income on Schedule A and enter
on this line the amount shown on Line 21 of Schedule A. All cor-
porations who are members of an affiliated-unitary group must
complete Schedule A. See General Instructions in paragraph 13,
page 3 of this booklet and instructions on Schedule CB.

Line 7a. MAINE CORPORATION INCOME TAX: For tax
years beginning on or after January 1, 1983 the Maine Corporate
Tax Rate is as follows:

If the Maine Taxable Income is: The Tax is:
Not over $25,000 3.5% of Maine Taxable Income
But not over of excess over:

$ 25,000 $ 75,000 ...$ 875 plus 7.93% $ 25,000
75,000 250,000 . . . 4,840 plus 8.33% 75,000 -
250,000 or more . . . 19,417 plus 8.93% 250,000

An affiliated group of corporations subject to Maine tax engaged
in a unitary business, the respective preferential rates shall be ap-
plied only to the first $250,000 of Maine net income of the entire
group and shall be divided equally among the taxable corporations



unless those taxable corporations jointly elect a different assign-
ment. The balance of the Maine net income of the entire group
shall be taxed at 8.93%. Schedule B, page 2, 1120-ME must be
completed.

Line 7b. MINIMUM TAX: Minimum tax is imposed, for each
taxable year, upon every corporate taxpayer required to file a Maine
Corporate Income Tax Return. Minimum tax is based on the tax-
payer's tax preference as defined in the United States Internal
Revenue Code, Section 57. Complete Schedule C to compute the
amount to be entered on this line. *

Lines 8a, b, ¢, CREDITS: These lines are for the use of taxpay-
ers who have made estimated tax payments and/or deposit when
requesting an extension of time for filing, as well as those taxpay-
ers filing amended returns and claiming credit for tax paid with
original return.

Line 8d. OTHER CREDITS: Enter on this line the amount on

line g, Schedule D, page 2, 1120-ME. (Note the amount on line
g cannot be greater than the tax liability on line 7c, page 1,
1120-ME). See instructions for Schedule D on page 5.

Line 9b. If the corporation underpaid estimated tax, attach Form
2220-ME to report the penalty or which exception(s) avoid the
penalty.

Line 11a. AMOUNT OF LINE 10 YOU WISH CREDITED:
Use this block only if you want to have all or a portion of the over-
payment on Line 10 credited to your next year's estimated Maine
corporate income tax.

Line 11b. AMOUNT TO BE REFUNDED: Enter here the differ-
ence between Line 10 and 11(a). The amount shown on this line
if $1.00 or greater will be refunded automatically.

SCHEDULE A INSTRUCTIONS

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS: Schedule A is for corporations
engaged in inter-state business and/or filing combined returns.
Maine employs a three-factor formula to detérmine the percen-
tage of corporate income which is apportioned to, and taxed by,
Maine. This percentage is derived by a fraction, the numerator
of which is the property factor plus the payroll factor plus the sales
factor, and the denominator of which is 3, or the number of fac-
tors used in Column 2, whichever is less. If the apportionment
provisions do not fairly represent the extent of the taxpayer’s busi-
ness activity in this State, the taxpayers may petition for, or the
Tax Assessor may require, in respect to all or any part of the tax-
payer’s businesss activity:

(a) Separate accounting.

(b) The exclusion of any one or more of the factors.

(c) The inclusion of one or more additional factors which will
fairly represent the taxpayer’s business activity in this State.. '

(d) The employment of any other method to effectuate an equita-
ble apportionment of the taxpayer’s income.

“Tax period,” referred to in instructions for Lines 2,4 and 6
means the period represented by adjusted Federal taxable income
on Line 5, page 1.

“Sales” means all gross receipts.

Those corporations that are members of an affiliated unitary
group see further instructions on Schedule CB.

Line 13. SALES FACTOR: The sales factor is a fraction, the
numerator of which is the total sales of the taxpayer in the State
during the tax period, and the denominator of which is the total
sales of the taxpayer everywhere during the tax period.

Sales of tangible personal property are attributed to Maine if
(1) the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser, other than
the United States Government, in Maine, regardless of the F.O.B.
point or other conditions of the sale; or (2) the property is shipped
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from an office, store, warehouse, factory or other place of storage
in Maine and the purchaser is the United States Government or
the taxpayer is not taxable in the state of the purchaser.

Sales, other than sales of tangible personal property, are at-
tributed to Maine if (1) the income producing activity is performed
in this State; or (2) the income producing activity is performed
both in and outside Maine and a greater proportion of the income
producing activity is performed in this State than in any other state,
based on costs of performance.

Line 15. PAYROLL FACTOR: The payroll factor is a fraction,
the numerator of which is the total paid in Maine during the tax
period by the taxpayer for compensation, and the denominator of
which is the total compensation paid everywhere during the tax
period. “Compensation” means wages, salaries, commissions and
any other form of remuneration to employees for personal serv-
ices, including deferred compensation. Compensation is paid in
Maine if (1) the individual’s service is performed entirely within
this State; or (2) the individual’s service is performed both within
and outside Maine, but the service performed outside the State is
incidental to the individual’s service within Maine; or (3) some
of the service is performed in the State and the base of operations
or, if there is no base of operations, the place from which the serv-
ice is directed or controlled is not in any state in which some part
of the service is performed, but the individual’s residence is in
Maine.

Line 17. PROPERTY FACTOR: The property factor is a frac-

tion, the numerator of which is the average value of the taxpayer’s
real and tangible personal property owned or rented and used in
Maine during the tax period and the denominator of which is the
average value of all the taxpayer’s real and tangible personal
property owned or rented and used during the tax period.
Property owned by the taxpayer is valued at original cost.
Property rented by the taxpayer is valued at 8 times the net annual
rental rate. Net annual rental rate is the annual rental rate paid



by the taxpayer less any annual rate received by the taxpayer from
subrentals. The average value of property shall be determined by
averaging the values at the beginning and ending of the tax period
but the tax assessor may require the averaging of monthly values
during the tax period if reasonably required to reflect properly the
average value of the taxpayer’s property.

Line 19. The apportionment percentage should be rounded to 4
decimal places. If the number of factors used in Column 2 is less
than 3, divide Line 19 by number used.

Line 20. Enter adjusted Federal taxable income from page 1, Line
5 of the 1120-ME.

Line 21. Enter here the result of multiplying Line 20 by the per-
centage on Line 19. This is the income apportioned to Maine.

SCHEDULE D

a. Maine Seed Capital Tax Credit: Enter on this line the tax credit
as authorized by the Finance Authority of Maine. A copy of the
tax credit certificate must be attached to the return. The amount
of credit is subject to limitations as outlined in 36 M.R.S.A., Sec-
tion 5216B.

b. Jobs and Investment Credit: A tax credit for qualifying jobs
and investment credit is entered on this line. Eligibility for the credit
requires the addition of $5 million of IRC Section 38 property based

-on the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as of December 31, 1985,
Section 38, (b) (1), and 200 new jobs in the 12 month period fol-
lowing the date the property was placed in service. For further
_details see 36 M.R.S.A. Section 5215. '

¢. Employer Assisted Child Care Tax Credit: A taxpayer con-
stituting an employing unit is allowed a credit against tax for provid- -

ing or paying day care expenses of employees subject to ‘the
‘limitations of 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5217. The tax credit is limit-

ed to the lowest of: A. five thousand dollars, B. twenty percent
of the cost incurred by the taxpayer in providing day care services
for children of employees of the taxpayer or C. one hundred dol-
lars for each child of an employee of the taxpayer enrolled on a
full-time basis. 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5217.

d. Employer-Provided Long-Term Care Benefits Credit: A tax-
payer constituting an employing unit is allowed a credit against
the tax subject to the limitations of 36 M.R.S. A, Section 5217-B.
The tax credit is limited to the lowest of: a. Five thousand dollars
b. Twenty percent of the costs incurred by the taxpayer in provid-
ing long-term care; or one hundred dollars for each employee-
provided long-term care policy.

Any unused credit may be carried over to the following year
or years for a period not to exceed 15 years.

e. Solid Waste Reduction Investment Tax Credit: A taxpayer
constituting an employing unit may claim this credit for up to 30%
of the cost of certain machinery and equipment used for reducing,
reusing or recycling solid waste generated principally by the em-
ploying unit. This provision applies to purchases of eligible
machinery and equipment made after January 1, 1990. The credit
is limited but carry-back and carry-forward provisions apply. 36
M.R.S.A., Section 5219-C.

f. Machinery and Equipment Investment Tax Credit: A taxpay-
er is allowed a credit of 1.5% of the basis of manufacturing
machinery and equipment as defined in 36 M.R.S.A., Section
1752, subsection 7-B installed in Maine during the previous three
years. The credit is effective for tax years ending on or after July
1, 1990 for manufacturing equipment installed after January 1,
1989. The credit is limited but carry-back and carry-forward pro-
visions apply. 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5219-C.

(NOTE: The total of these credits cannot be more than the
tax liability on Line 7c, page 1, 1120-ME.)
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TAX LAW HIGHLIGHTS

" Bonds Issued by The Méine'Waste Management Agency — Taxpayers may subtract from federal taxable income interest
income and capjtal gains from the sale of bonds issued by the Maine Waste Management Agency to the extent included in
federal taxable‘ income, ‘

_“Solid Waste Reductmn Investment Tax Credit — A business may claim this nonrefundable credit for up to 30% of the
cost of certain machinery and equlpment used for reducing, reusing or recycling solid waste. Any unused credit may be
carried over-to the following year or years for a period not to exceed 15 years or may be carried back for a period not to
exceed 3 years. The credit will apply to such equipment purchased after January 1, 1990.

,' Employer—Provrded Long~Term Care Benefits Credit — Employers who provide long-term care insurance for employees
~as a benefit may claim a nonrefundable credit for a portlon of the cost incurred. This credit is effective with tax years ending
on or after September 30 1989 S

Investment Tax Credlt e A taxpayer is allowed a credit of 1.5% of the basis of manufacturing machmery and equipment
as defined in 36 M.R.S.A., SCCthﬂ 1752, subsection 7-B installed in Maine during the previous three years. The credit is
effective for tax years endmg on or after July 1, 1990 for manufacturing machinery and equipment installed after January
: 1 1989 The credrt is lxmlted but carry -back and carry -forward provisions apply.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

o Federal Revenue Agent Changes and Federal Correctlons ~ Maine law requires taxpayers to report within 90 days of

. final determmatlon changes in federal taxable income. ' Unfortunately, many taxpayers do not comply with this requirement
of law. The Bureau has started applymg penalties for failure to file and/or pay as appropriate when the required reporting
s lgnored These penaltles for fallure to ﬁle and/or pay could amount to 50% of the tax due or $50.00, whichever is greater.

‘INFORMATION iR '
'BUREAU OF TAXATION = INCOME TAX DIVISION ,
State Ofﬁce Bf 'ldlng I S . N S FORMS: order by calling
‘Augusta, Maine 043330024 : o : , : toll-free within Maine
Telephone: (207) 289365 Sl  1-800-338-5811




