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Department of Public Safety

Liquor Licensing & 

Inspection Division


                                                                                          PRESENT LICENSE EXPIRES  ________________

DIRECT SHIPPER LICENSE APPLICATION

(    License Fee: 

$200.00

(    Registration Fee:  

$100.00

Check Payable:  Treasurer State of Maine

ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED IN FULL

	1.  APPLICANT(S) –(Sole Proprietor, Corporation, Limited Liability Co., etc.)                                                                                                

                                                                                            DOB:  
	2.  Business Name (D/B/A)

	                                                                                            DOB:
	

	                                                                                            DOB:
	Location (Street Address)

	Address
	City/Town                                    State                           Zip Code

	
	Mailing Address

	City/Town                                               State                Zip Code
	City/Town                                    State                           Zip Code

	Telephone Number                                 Fax Number
	Business Telephone Number                           Fax Number

	Federal I.D. #
	Seller Certificate #

	E-mail Address
	Website


3. Do you have a federal basic permit pursuant to the Federal Alcohol Administration Act? _______  

Attach a copy of your permit to this application. 

      Do you have a License/ Permit issued by your State? _______ 

      Attach a copy of Current State License/ Permit to this application.

a. Do you acknowledge that as a direct shipper you must provide the Department of Public Safety a list of all product labels to be shipped into the State of Maine at the time of application?_____________ 

            Attach list to the application.

4.    I hereby acknowledge that shipments made in accordance with Chapter 55 of Title 28-A must be accompanied by a shipping label that clearly indicates the name of the direct shipper and the name and address of the recipient and that the common carrier shall obtain the signature of a person 21 years of age or older at the address listed on the shipping label prior to delivery of the shipment.  In addition the common carrier shall request photographic identification from the person signing for the shipment and verify that the person is 21 years of age or older.

5.  I hereby acknowledge that as a direct shipper I may not ship a container of wine of less than 750 milliliters and may 

     ship no more than 12 cases, each of which may contain no more than 9 liters or an equivalent volume, to any one 

     recipient address in a calendar year.  

6. I hereby acknowledge that as a direct shipper I may not ship to any address in an area identified by the Department of Public Safety as a prohibited shipping area or a local option area. 

7. I hereby acknowledge that any shipment of wine by a licensed direct shipper shall be made only in containers that clearly indicate on the exterior of the container the name of the direct shipper and the name and address of the recipient.  Each package to be shipped in accordance with this section so that it conspicuously reads “CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF a PERSON 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER IS REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY.” 
8. Is applicant a Corporation, Limited Liability Co. or Limited Partnership:  Yes  ڤ  No  ڤ  
          (If Yes complete Supplementary Questionnaire)

9. Is/Are applicant(s) citizens of the United States?          Yes  ڤ   No  ڤ

10. Is/Are applicant(s) residents of the State of Maine?      Yes  ڤ   No  ڤ

11. List name, date of birth and place of birth for all applicants and managers.  Give maiden name, if married:

	Name in Full   (Print Clearly)
	DOB
	Place of Birth

	
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	

	Residence address on all of the above for previous 5 years (Limit answer to city & state)




   ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Use a separate sheet of paper if necessary.

12. Has applicant(s) or manager(s) ever been convicted of any violation of the law, other then minor traffic violations of  any State of the United States?      Yes  ڤ     No  ڤ

     Name:  ______________________________________________    Date of Conviction:  ________________________

     Offense:  ____________________________________________     Location:  ________________________________

     Disposition:  _________________________________________

13. Will any law enforcement official benefit financially either directly or indirectly in our license, if issued?  

       Yes  ڤ     No  ڤ       If  Yes, give name:  _____________________________________________________________

14. Has applicant(s) formerly held a Maine liquor license?     Yes  ڤ     No  ڤ

15. Do applicant(s) own the premises?  Yes  ڤ     No  ڤ     If No, give name and address of owner:  __________________
      _______________________________________________________________________________________________

16. Does any other person have any interest directly or indirectly in your business? Yes  ڤ    No  ڤ     If Yes, give details:  

      _______________________________________________________________________________________________

17. Sales tax registration and payment required
      As a condition of receiving a certificate of approval, a shipper located outside the State shall comply with the 

      provisions of Title 36, Part 3, including all requirements relating to registration as a seller and the collection, reporting 

      and remittance of the sales and use taxes of this State, and shall agree to be subject to the jurisdiction of the State for 

       purposes of the enforcement of those obligations. ( Attach copy of tax registration).  

      Maine Revenue Service  (207) 624-9693

18. I hereby acknowledge that licensed direct shippers are responsible for remitting gallonage, excise and premium taxes

       quarterly to the Department of Public Safety as required by the State of Maine.

19. I hereby acknowledge that licensed direct shippers shall provide to the Department of Public Safety, upon request and   

      under penalty of perjury, a list of any wine shipped to an address within Maine, including the addressee.

20. I hereby acknowledge that as a direct shipper, and as a condition of licensure, I am subject to the jurisdiction and              enforcement authority of the State of Maine for the purposes of enforcement of 28-A ,  M.R.S.A. §1403-A.
PAYMENTS TO THE  DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY, LIQUOR LICENSING & INSPECTION DIVISION BY CHECK SUBJECT TO PENALTY PROVIDED BY SECTION 3 OF TITLE 28A, MAINE REVISED STATUTES

NOTE:  “I understand that false statements made on this form are punishable by law.  Knowingly supplying false information on this form is a Class D offense under the Criminal Code, punishable by confinement of up to one year or by monetary fine of up to $500.00 or by both.”
Dated at:  _____________________________________________  on  _____________________________, 20 ________

                                                                    City/Town                                                                                                         Date                                                         Year
____________________________________________                  _____________________________________________       

____________________________________________                  _____________________________________________

  Signature(s) of Applicant(s) or Corporate Officer(s)                          Print Name of Applicant(s) or Corporate Officer(s)
Subscribed and sworn to before me this ______________day of _________________20_______ 

My Commission Expires ____________________Notary Public __________________________________

CONSENT TO JURISDICTION AND VENUE 

I, _________________________, on behalf of the above listed applicant, hereby consent to jurisdiction and venue of all actions brought before the Department of Public Safety, any state agency or the courts of the State of Maine, such that any and all hearings, appeals and other matters relating to my direct shipper license, if issued, shall be held in the State of Maine. 

________________________________ 

Signature of Applicant 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this ______________day of _________________20_______ 

My Commission Expires ____________________Notary Public __________________________________

All data, written statements, affidavits, evidence or other documents submitted in support hereof shall be deemed to be a part of this Application. 

WARNING: THE STATEMENTS ON THIS APPLICATION ARE MADE UNDER OATH OR AFFIRMATION. FALSE STATEMENTS CAN BE GROUNDS FOR REJECTION OF THE APPLICATION OR SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF PERMIT IF ISSUED. 
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     Promise by any person that he or she can expedite a liquor license through influence should be completely disregarded.


     To avoid possible financial loss an applicant, or prospective applicant, should consult with the Division before making any substantial investment in an establishment that now is, or may be, attended by a liquor license.








                                                                                        164 State House Station                                                        Direct Shipper /2009

Augusta ME  04333-0164

Tel:  (207) 624-7220                                                                                                                                                  Fax:  (207) 287-3424


