Frequently Asked Questions
Health Insurance Program for Retired Law Enforcement Officers and Firefighters

1. What is the benefit offered by the new law?


The law – Public Law Chapter 636 – provides retired county and municipal law enforcement officers and retired municipal firefighters with a subsidy for health insurance coverage. The subsidy amount is equal to 45% of an index plan, which happens to be the best plan available through the Maine Municipal Employees Health Trust, in which many counties and municipalities already participate. 

2.   Who is eligible for this program?



In order to participate in this program, an individual (employee or retiree) must be:

· at least 50 years of age; and

· a county or municipal law enforcement officer or municipal firefighter, or a retired county or municipal law enforcement officer or retired municipal firefighter (as defined in the statute); and

· while actively employed by the county or municipality, a participant in the employer’s health insurance plan or other fully-insured health insurance plan; and 

· is a participant in the employer-sponsored retirement plan, either the Maine State Retirement System (MSRS) or another defined contribution retirement plan (other than Social Security);  



Once the individual retires, he must be receiving a retirement benefit from either MSRS or another defined contribution retirement plan (not Social Security).  If the individual retires after less than 25 years of creditable service as a law enforcement officer or firefighter, the benefit received must be at least 50% of average final compensation, with no reduction for early retirement.

3.   What is considered a Defined Contribution Plan?

   An employer sponsored 401(k), 401(a), 403(b) and 457 are defined contribution plans.

4.   What are the definitions of “law enforcement officer” and “firefighter”?

  "County or municipal law enforcement officer" means a person who by virtue of employment by a county or municipal government in the State is vested by law with the power to make arrests for crimes or serve criminal process, whether that power extends to all crimes or is limited to specific crimes. "County or municipal law enforcement officer" does not include a state or federal law enforcement officer, an attorney prosecuting for a county or municipal government or a reserve officer.


"Municipal firefighter" means a person employed by a municipal fire department with the primary responsibility of aiding in the extinguishment of fires and includes a member of emergency medical services line personnel but does not include a member of a volunteer firefighter association. For the purposes of this paragraph, "emergency medical services line personnel" means persons who are career employees employed full-time by a public sector agency or employer and whose primary responsibility is to provide emergency medical services.

5.   Who is not eligible for this program?


   Volunteer and call firefighters and reserve law enforcement officers are not eligible for this program.


   Under the law, the subsidy is not available for dependents or for retirees with “supplemental health insurance coverage”.  This means that retirees who are over the age of 65 and/or on Medicare, including those who are provided with Companion Plan and Major Medical coverage through the Health Trust, are not eligible to receive the premium subsidy.

6.   How is health insurance provided under this program?



If the employee is covered under a Health Trust health insurance plan and meets the eligibility requirements for continued coverage as a retiree, he will be able to continue coverage in the same plan as provided to active employees of the former employer.  For example, if the employee is covered under the Health Trust’s Point of Service B plan when he retires, he will be able to continue that coverage (provided the employer continues to participate in that Health Trust plan), until the retiree reaches age 65 or becomes eligible for Medicare.


   If the employee is covered under an employer-sponsored, non-Health Trust health insurance plan, there are two possibilities.  If the health insurance plan allows retirees to continue coverage, then coverage will be continued under the terms of that plan.  If, however, the health insurance plan does not allow retirees to continue coverage, then the retirees will be able to enroll in the State of Maine Employee Health Plan.  Such enrollment must be arranged through the State of Maine.


   Benefits provided under this program are determined according to the health insurance plan in which the retiree is enrolled.  A retiree enrolled in the Health Trust’s Traditional Indemnity plan, for example, will have different benefits than will a retiree enrolled in the Health Trust’s Point of Service B plan.  There are no “standard” benefits under this program.

7. Can I use the subsidy for any health insurance plan I choose?


No, the subsidy is limited to certain plans. For law enforcement officers and firefighters retired from the City of Portland, special arrangements have been made to allow you to participate in the State Employees Health Insurance Program. These arrangements were set up because the City of Portland does not administer any retirement benefits for its employees. The State Employee Health Insurance Program is a self-insured plan, run by the State’s Office of Employee Health and Benefits. People insured through this plan carry an Aetna card and use the Aetna provider network. 


People retiring from other municipalities as well as retirees from County law enforcement are currently eligible to continue their health insurance in their employers’ group health insurance plans. You have to pay for this coverage yourself, but you can remain a member of the employer-sponsored group, so long as you participated in the health insurance plan at the time of your retirement.


Many towns and counties have group health insurance through the Maine Municipal Association. If that’s the case for the town/county you are retired from, then the new Health Insurance Program being introduced will provide a subsidy toward the cost of your own coverage in that program equal to 45% of the monthly premium cost. Two important points – first, the subsidy is only available for your coverage; it doesn’t extend to the cost of insuring your dependents. Second, you have to remain in the same insurance plan option that your former employer is in – if that coverage changes, you must change, too. If you decide not to buy into the group plan when you retire, the rules of the Municipal Association’s Health Trust prohibit you from enrolling at a later date.


Some local governments provide coverage through a fully insured commercial insurance plan. The City of Bangor, for example, chooses to purchase coverage for its employees directly from Anthem. Law enforcement officers and firefighters retiring from towns purchasing coverage in this manner are also free to continue to buy into their former employer’s group plans upon retirement. If you choose to do this, you will be eligible to receive a subsidy toward the cost of the monthly premium for your own coverage, up to the value of the subsidy for the best plan offered through the Maine Municipal Association’s program. Again, the subsidy is only allowed for the cost of your coverage, not your dependents. And just as is the case with the Municipal Association, if you decline to continue your participation in the employer-sponsored plan at the time of your retirement, you won’t be allowed to join at a later date, should you change your mind.

8. I am a retired law enforcement officer, but I decided to purchase health insurance coverage on my own, rather than opting to buy into my former employer’s group plan. Can I still get the subsidy?

        
 No. The subsidy is only available for coverage through the county or municipal employer’s group plan in which you participated as an active employee. The only exception to this restriction is for employees retired or retiring from the City of Portland, as described under #15.

9. When will the subsidy be available?

      Subsidies become available effective the first of the month following retirement.

10.   When must employees enroll?

   In order to be eligible for the subsidy, an employee must enroll in the program through the State of Maine    by the following dates:

· within 60 days after the effective date of hire, if hired after November 1, 2006; or

· within 60 days of losing other health insurance coverage, provided such coverage was in place 60 days after date of hire.  This loss of coverage provision will not apply if the coverage was lost because of nonpayment of premiums.

   
If the employee does not enroll in this program through the State in accordance with the above guidelines, then that person will not be eligible to enroll, and will not be eligible for the subsidy.


Once the employee has enrolled in the program, he/she must begin making contributions to the Firefighters and Law Enforcement Officers Health Insurance Program Fund (the fund that will pay for the premium subsidies).    

11. What is an involuntary loss of coverage?

           Involuntary loss could mean:  spouse terminates their job; spouse changes jobs; spouse takes an unpaid leave of absence.  If, in any of these situations, you lose the ability to remain covered by the health insurance provided by your spouse’s employer, this would be an involuntary loss.  If your spouse takes an unpaid leave of absence and does not lose the ability to continue the coverage, but they have to pay while they are out of work, this is NOT an involuntary loss. 

12.  As an employee enrolled in the program, do I have to continue contributing until I retire?


Active employees must continue to contribute while they are working until they retire in order to be eligible for the subsidy program.

13.  Can I drop out at any time?


You may drop out whenever you wish.  If you do, all the money you contributed will be forfeited and you will not have the opportunity to join at a later date.

14.  What if the program is not subsided by the State of Maine in a future year?


Unless the Legislature makes some other provisions in their decision to not fund this program in a later year, the program ends.  All money collected is forfeited by the employees and retirees.

15.  What happens if I promote, transfer or demote into a position that is not defined as law enforcement or firefighter under this law?


If you change jobs and the position does not meet the definition of law enforcement or firefighter, you will no longer be eligible to continue contributing 1.5% to the program.  If you later promote, transfer or demote into a position that meets the definition, you will be allowed to enroll again.  All money collected while you were in each position will count towards your participation minimum of 5 years if you are close to retirement.   

16.   I’m a retiree from the City of Portland.   What benefits are covered under the State Employee Health Plan?


The State Employee Health Plan is comprehensive and includes coverage of prescription drugs. You can see a list of benefits by visiting www.maine.gov/deh.  Retirees from the City of Portland are eligible for enrollment in the State Employee Health Plan effective July 1, 2007.

17.   I’m currently retired – will I have to make a contribution like active employees do?
Yes, you will. The retiree shall pay the dollar equivalent of the retiree's scheduled contributions based upon the following schedule:

(1) A retiree who is at least 50 years of age and under 55 years of age shall pay 2% of that retiree's average final monthly compensation multiplied by 60; 
(2) A retiree who is at least 55 years of age and under 60 years of age shall pay 1.75% of that retiree's average final monthly compensation multiplied by 60; and 
(3) A retiree who is at least 60 years of age shall pay 1.5% of that retiree's average final monthly compensation multiplied by 60.

As used in this paragraph, "average final monthly compensation" means the average annual rate of earnable compensation, divided by 12, of a retiree during the 3 years of creditable service as a county or municipal law enforcement officer or municipal firefighter, not necessarily consecutive, in which the average annual rate of earnable compensation is highest or during the retiree's entire period of creditable service as a county or municipal law enforcement officer or municipal firefighter, if the period is less than 3 years. 

            Arrangements may be made with the Office of Employee Health and Benefits to pay the required contributions on a schedule that will be manageable; they do not have to be made in a single lump sum.  Payment does have to be made within 12 months.


If you are an active employee who is within 5 years of retirement and who chooses to participate in the program, your contributions will be made in a blend of two methods. While actively employed, your contribution will be withheld by your employer from your paycheck. Once you retire, you will be making contributions on your own behalf, based on 1.5% of your retirement benefit, directly to the State. You will have to continue contributing until you’ve made a total of five years’ worth of monthly payments into the program.

18.   Are widows or dependents of former county or municipal law enforcement officers and firefighters eligible for this benefit?


At this time, the benefit is only available for the officers and firefighters themselves; it does not extend to dependents even in the case where the employee lost their lives in the line of duty.

19.   What is the Health Trust’s role (for groups covered under a Health Trust health plan)?



The Health Trust will work with employers, and with the State of Maine Employee Health Plan, to determine the correct amount of premium that must be collected once the subsidy has been paid.  The Health Trust will notify all affected employers and retirees of this premium amount once it has been calculated.



The Health Trust will collect the 45% premium subsidy from the State of Maine; however, the Health Trust does not bear any responsibility for notifying employees and retirees of the availability of the subsidy and the steps that must be taken to enroll, or for monitoring any contributions to the fund.  It is important to note that both the 45% subsidy from the State and the retiree’s premium payment must be made on a monthly basis in order for the retiree’s coverage to be continued.  If the retiree does not make his payments on a timely basis, Health Trust coverage will be terminated.  

20.  What if I am not part of the Health Trust?


If you are not part of the Health Trust, the State of Maine office of Employee Health & Benefits will work directly with your insurance company.

If you have other questions that are not outlined here, please contact

Ruth Peters at (207) 624-7380
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