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THINGS YOU REALLY NEED TO KNOW ABOUT WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
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 We are sorry to hear about your injury. We have put together some important information to help you understand what lies ahead for you. If you need additional information or clarification please contact us anytime. 
 
· You will be notified of an appointment with a 10 Day provider. The Workers’ Compensation (WC) Act allows employers to direct the care of their injured workers for the first 10 days of treatment. The State of Maine has met with and visited occupational health care providers statewide. These providers understand the nature of the work that we do and the State’s commitment to providing our injured workers with the best care appropriate for their injury in a timely and courteous fashion. 
 
· The medical provider(s) you are treating with for your injury should provide you with an M-1 report after each visit which clarifies any work restrictions you may have due to your injury. Please share the M-1 form with your WC Designee for your Department and share any restrictions you may have with your supervisor. You should remember it is your responsibility to ensure you are always working within your limitations. If you feel certain tasks exceed your work restrictions you should notify your supervisor, WC Designee, or WC Case Manager. 
 
· If you are provided with a prescription for medications due to your work injury, you should notify your pharmacist that the State of Maine uses Matrixx to fill injured worker prescriptions. When you process your work related medications through Matrixx you will not be charged a co-pay for the medications. Matrixx also offers mail order services for your long term prescriptions. The number for Matrixx is 1-877-804-4900. 
 
· Below are some forms you may receive from this office for your injury. Not all injuries will receive all the forms listed and some injuries may receive some forms not listed. Please contact your WC Case Manager if you have any questions about the forms you receive. 
· First Report of Injury 
· Wage Statement – this form should reflect your earnings for the 52 weeks prior to your injury. If you are a new employee, you may receive wage information from a comparable employee holding the same classification as you at the time of your injury. 
· Notice of Controversy (NOC) – this form is used when part or your entire claim is being denied. 
· Statement of Compensation (SOC) – this form contains a summary of the money paid on your claim to date. 
· Memorandum of Payment (MOP) – this form establishes your weekly compensation payment amount. 
· Discontinuance or Modification of Compensation (DISC) – this form establishes a change in your compensation rate or closes out a period of incapacity. It does not close out your claim. 




Page 1
 
 
· If you need to be out of work completely for your injury the State of Maine WC Act does state employees may use their own leave benefits for the first 7 days, this is your waiting period. After the first 7 days we will send you a MOP indicating your compensation rate which is based on your wage statement’s Average Weekly Wage (AWW). The State does have a maximum comp rate that any employee can earn while out of work on a total incapacity for their injury. This max rate is adjusted according to the State of Maine’s average weekly wage for all employees that work in the State of Maine. 

· You may choose to use your benefit leave time (sick/vacation/comp) for your entire incapacity and we will then process a restoration of your time back to your leave balances. The amount of hours restored back to you will depend on your AWW. You will continue to accrue your monthly leave balances while you are out of work due to your work injury. 
 
· While you are out of work completely for your injury, your benefit leave time may be used to cover your benefits. The benefits covered may include Health Insurance, Life Insurance, Dental Insurance, and Union Dues. Benefits which are not covered by use of your leave time include loans, child support, and Retirement contributions. You should contact Retirement directly at 512-3100 or 1-800-451-9800 to make arrangements for “buying” your time back for retirement purposes. If you do not have enough time available to you to cover your benefits, you may be placed on a leave of absence from your position and required to use Family Medical Leave. You should contact your WC Designee for questions regarding your leave and what benefits will be covered during this time. 
 
· You may also use Administrative Leave time to attend approved medical appointments for your injury. Any treatment with a 10 Day provider is approved and entitled to the use of Admin time. You are encouraged to make your appointments as close to the end of your day or start of your day as possible. If you are unsure if your appointment qualifies for Admin time, please contact your WC designee or the WC Division. If you are unsure about how to record your missed time on your payroll, please contact your WC Designee. 
 
· You are entitled to reimbursement for mileage associated with medical treatment for your injury. The reimbursement rate does vary according to the Federal rate. If you are unsure what the current rate is please contact your WC Designee or the WC Division. Mileage reimbursement is calculated from either work or home, whichever is shortest if both locations are part of your trip. Mileage is not reimbursed for trips to the pharmacy to pick up prescriptions or for meetings with your employer or WC Case Manager. 
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