Approved Teacher Education Programs

The following teacher education programs are approved for the 2012-13 academic year. Maine Community College System Education Program information can be found at the bottom of this page.

Bates College
Dr. Anita Charles, Director
Teacher Education Program
302 Pettengill Hall
Lewiston, ME  04240
207-786-6282
acharles@bates.edu
Bates Teacher Education page

Bowdoin College
Dr. Nancy Jennings, Chair
Department of Education
7400 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725–3791
njennin@bowdoin.edu
Bowdoin Teacher Education page

Colby College
Dr. Mark Tappan, Chair
Education and Human Development Program
4426 Mayflower Hill
Waterville, ME 04901-8844
207-872-3680
mbtappan@colby.edu
Colby Teacher Education page

College of the Atlantic
Linda Fuller, Associate Director
Teacher Education Program
105 Eden Street
Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-4126
lfuller@coa.edu
COA Teacher Education page

Husson University
Barbara Moody, Director
School of Education
One College Circle
Bangor, ME 04401
207-973-1077
moodyb@husson.edu
Husson College Education page

Maine College of Art
Fern Tavalin, Ed.D., Chair of Art Education
Congress Street
Portland, ME 04101
207-699-5036
MECA Art Education page

Saint Joseph's College
Dr. Kathleen Clements, Chair
Department of Education
278 White Bridge Road
Standish, ME 04084-5263
207-892-6766
kkclements@sjcme.edu
St. Joseph's College Elementary Education

Thomas College
Dr. Thomas S. Edwards, Provost
180 West River Street
Waterville, ME 04901
207-859-1350
edwardst@thomas.edu
Thomas College Programs page




Unity College
Dr. Gerry Saunders
Teacher Education Program
South Coop 216
Unity, ME 04005-04988
207-948-3131 ext. 282
gsaunders@unity.edu
Unity College Teacher Education page

University of Maine at Farmington
Dr. Kathy Yardley, Associate Provost, Dean of Education
Education Center
252 Main Street
Farmington, ME 04938-1993
207-778-7154
kyardley@maine.edu
UMF Teacher Education page

University of Maine at Fort Kent
Roland K. Caron, Coordinator
Teacher Education Program
23 University Drive 
Fort Kent, ME  04743
207-834-7537
roland.caron@maine.edu
UMFK Teacher Education page

University of Maine at Machias
Dr. Gael Romei, Coordinator
Teacher Education Program
9 O'Brien Avenue
Machias, ME 04654
207-255-1381
gael.romei@maine.edu
UMM Teacher Education page

University of Maine
Dr. William Nichols, Dean
College of Education and Human Development
151 Shibles Hall
Orono, ME 04469
207-581-2441
william_nichols@umit.maine.edu
UMaine Teacher Education page

University of Maine at Presque Isle
Dr. Clare Exner, Interim Chair
College of Education
236 Preble Hall
Presque Isle, ME 04769
207-768-9518
clare.exner@umpi.edu
UMPI Teacher Education page

University of New England
Dr. Douglas Lynch, Chair
Department of Education
11 Hills Beach Road
Biddeford, ME 04005-9599
207-283-0170 ext. 2228 or 2144
dlynch@une.edu
UNE Teacher Education page

University of Southern Maine
Dr. Catherine Fallona, Director
Teacher Education Program
37 College Avenue
Gorham, ME 04038
207-780-5371
cfallona@usm.maine.edu
USM Teacher Education page


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 






 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Maine Community College System Education Programs

Students can also prepare for a career in education at a Maine community college. Maine's community colleges offer programs in Early Childhood Education as well as a flexible Liberal Studies degree. Degrees in Education are offered at Eastern Maine Community College in Bangor, Washington County Community College in Calais and York County Community College in Wells. In addition, degree options in Autism Spectrum Disorders Studies, Infant and Toddler Caregiving and Speech and Language Pathology Assistant are offered at Kennebec Valley Community College in Fairfield.

The colleges have transfer agreements with Maine's universities and many other four-year colleges. For more information, see the Maine Community College System program list (PDF).