Contact List

If you have questions about Special Education, contact a member of the Maine Department of Education's Office of Special Services team.

Team Member/Role

Responsibilities

Contact Information

Peg Armstrong, Consultant for Children with Disabilities

  • Charter schools
  • Standards
  • Monitoring

peg.armstrong@maine.gov
624-6654

Tyler Backus, Management Analyst I

  • Fiscal monitoring
  • Excess cost
  • Maintenance of Effort
  • Rate setting
  • Reimbursement

tyler.backus@maine.gov
624-6670

Sheryl Banden, Office Associate II

  • EF-S-03
  • Supports fiscal monitoring, data and SPPS monitoring

sheryl.banden@maine.gov
624-6658

Cindy Bernstein, SPP/APR Coordinator

  • SPP/APR
  • Monitoring
  • Listen & Learn series
  • Technical assistance and professional development

cynthia.bernstein@maine.gov
624-6645

Jon Braff, Consultant for Children with Disabilities

  • SPPS
  • State Ward/State Agency Clients
  • Project Impact
  • Complaint investigations

jonathan.braff@maine.gov
624-6671

Jan Breton, Director

  • Team leader
  • Policy director

janice.breton@maine.gov
624-6676

Shawn Collier, Statistician III

  • Data

shawn.collier@maine.gov
624-6615

Susan Corrente, Compliance Coordinator

  • Special projects

susan.corrente@maine.gov
624-6668

Jean Lettre, Secretary Specialist

  • Supports director, public school monitoring, local entitlement and Listen & Learn series

jean.lettre@maine.gov
624-6713

Dawn Kliphan, Contract/Grant Specialist

  • Contracts/grants

dawn.kliphan@maine.gov
624-6649

Pauline Lamontagne, Due Process Consultant

  • Case management
  • Complaint investigations
  • Technical assistance and professional development

pauline.lamontagne@maine.gov
624-6647

Roberta Lucas, Federal Program Coordinator

  • Monitoring and support
  • Technical assistance and professional development
  • Local entitlement

roberta.lucas@maine.gov
624-6621

Susan Nay, Alternate Assessment Coordinator
  • PAAP
  • SPPS
  • Surrogate parents

sue.nay@maine.gov
624-6774

Pat Neumeyer, Secretary Associate

  • Supports due process

patricia.neumeyer@maine.gov
624-6644

Susan Parks, Due Process Consultant

  • Case management
  • Technical assistance and professional development

susan.parks@maine.gov
624-6646

Debrajean Scheibel, Contractor

  • SPDG grant

debrajean.scheibel@maine.gov
624-6689

Beth Vieta, Office Specialist I

  • EF-S-01, EF-S-04AB, EF-S-07, EF-S-214
  • State Ward/State Agency Clients

beth.vieta@maine.gov
624-6655

Vacant, Education Specialist II

  • Monitoring
  • Technical assistance and professional development

 

Debbie Violette, Office Associate II

  • Supports SPDG grant

debbie.violette@maine.gov
624-6652