Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Department Of Public SafetyCommish

45 Commerce Drive
104 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333
Main line - (207) 626-3803   

FAX line - (207) 287-3042    

TTY line - (207) 287-3659


Commissioner John Morris talks about the Department of Public Safety with Rep. Haskell

Commissioner John Morris was interviewed by Representative Anne Haskell on January 21, 2012. This interview appeared on local access television throughout the Portland area. Commissioner Morris talks about the Maine Department of Public Safety; the services it provides and the DPS budget. Click here to watch the interview.[read more]


Commissioner John E. Morris



Commissioner John E. Morris was appointed Public Safety Commissioner by Governor LePage and sworn into office on January 27, 2011. Commissioner Morris served as police chief and later public safety director for the City of Waterville from 1994 to 2007. He previously had served as the police chief in Richmond from 1990 to 1994. The Commissioner is a 30 year veteran of the U.S.Navy, retiring at the rank of captain in 1990. His naval career saw three tours of duty in Vietnam and he also served as the commanding officer of a Naval ship, and Captain of a U.S. Naval Base in South Korea.

 Assistant to the Commissioner - Greg Couture, 207-626-3809

Greg Couture has served as the Assistant to the Commissioner for Public Safety since June 2011. He works on policy development and budgetary issues for Public Safety. He has been a state employee since 1993

Public Information Officer - Stephen H. McCausland - : 207-626-3811 work: 207-725-8082-home

Steve McCausland has served as the spokesman for the department and its bureaus since 1988. He is available to answer news media inquiries and advises members of the department on media relations and public policy.

Administrative Services - Donna Hall - 207-626-3805

Donna Hall is the Administrative Assistant to the Commissioner's Office and the Colonel of the Maine State Police. She has been a State employee since 1989.