Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Safety Restraints > Safety Belts > History of Occupant Protection Laws - Maine

History of Occupant Protection Laws - Maine

Effective Date Laws
September 19, 1997 The operator is responsible for securing persons under age 18 in a safety belt/seat. Persons 18 years and older are responsible for securing themselves.
September 19, 1997 A law enforcement officer may take enforcement action against an operator or passenger 18 years of age or older who fails to wear a seat belt only if the officer detains the operator for a suspected violation of another law. The requirement that the operator must receive a fine for the other violation in order to be subject to a penalty for the seat belt violation has been deleted.
January 1, 1995 With the implementation of Title 29A, the child safety seat law and seat belt law were combined into one law.
July 1994 Driver made responsible for securing children under 4 years in a child safety seat.
October 13, 1993 Penalty changed from fine of $25 for first violation and $50 for each subsequent violation for those aged 0 to 4 to traffic infraction (up to $500 fine).
October 13, 1993 Penalty changed from fine of $25 for first violation and $200 for each subsequent violation for those 4 to 19 to traffic infraction (up to $500 fine).
September 9, 1991 Law expanded to include persons 4 to 19 yrs
September 30, 1989 Law expanded to include children 4 to 16 yrs.
September 29, 1987 Children aged 4 to 13 years must be secured in a child safety seat or safety belt
September 23, 1983 Children aged 0 to 4 years must be secured in a child safety seat