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I.   POLICY:
This agency recognizes the necessity of maintaining the delicate balance between governmental interests and individual rights of the offender and the public’s right to or interest in accessing this type of public information in a free society.  To simultaneously address and properly balance these interests and rights requires all members of this agency to adhere to the following guidelines.  It is the policy of this agency to comply with the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act, 34-A M.R.S.A. Chapter 15, including its provisions related to public notification of registered sex offenders in the community. 

Minimum Standard: 1 and 6

II. 
PURPOSE:
To establish guidelines for the purpose of public notification of registered sex offenders in the community and the appropriate level of that notification based on the nature of the sex offender’s conviction and the facts that were proved or admitted in relation to that conviction.

III. DEFINITIONS:
A. Another State:  Means each of the several states except Maine, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Northern Mariana Islands.               34-A M.R.S.A. § 11203(1-C).

Minimum Standard: 2

B. Bureau:  The State Bureau of Identification of the Maine State Police.
C. Domicile:  The place where a person has that person's established, fixed, permanent or ordinary dwelling place or legal residence to which, whenever the person is absent, the person has the intention of returning. A person may have more than one residence but only one domicile. 34-A M.R.S.A. § 11203(2).

Minimum Standard: 2
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D. Law Enforcement Agency Having Jurisdiction:  The chief of police in the municipality where a registrant expects to be or is domiciled. If the municipality does not have a chief of police, it means the sheriff of the county where the municipality is located.  "Law enforcement agency having jurisdiction" also means the sheriff of the county in an unorganized territory.               34-A M.R.S.A. § 11203(4).

E. Lifetime Registrant:  A person who is an adult convicted and sentenced or a juvenile convicted and sentenced as an adult of:(1) a Sexually Violent Offense; or (2) a sex offense when the person has a prior conviction for or an attempt to commit an offense that includes the essential elements of a sex offense or sexually violent offense. Prior conviction means a conviction that occurred at any time. More than one conviction may occur on the same day. Multiple convictions that result from or are connected with the same act or that result from offenses committed at the same time are considered one conviction unless the offenses were committed against more than one victim. 34-A M.R.S.A. § 11203(8).

F. Residence:  Means that place or those places, other than a domicile, in which a person may spend time living, residing or dwelling.  34-A M.R.S.A. § 11203(4-D).
Minimum Standard: 2
G. Safe Children Zone:  On or within 1000 feet of the real property comprising a public or private elementary or secondary school or on or within 1,000 feet of the real property comprising a day care center licensed pursuant to 22 M.R.S.A. § 8301-A.  17-A M.R.S.A. § 251 (1)(F).

H. Sentence:  Means in addition to any punishment alternatives, includes an involuntary commitment under Title 15, section 103, or similar statute from another jurisdiction, following a verdict of not criminally responsible by reason of mental disease or defect or similar verdict in another jurisdiction.                34-A M.R.S.A. § 11203(4-B). 

Minimum Standard: 2

I. Sexual Act: Means:                         

1. Any act between two persons involving direct physical contact between the genitals of one and the mouth or anus of the other, or direct physical contact between the genitals of one and the genitals of the other;
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2. Any act between a person and an animal being used by another person that involves direct physical contact between the genitals of one and the mouth, or anus of the other, or direct physical contact between the genitals of one and the genitals of the other, or;

3. Any act involving direct physical contact between the genitals or anus of one and an instrument or device manipulated by another person when that act is done for the purpose of arousing or gratifying sexual desire or for the purpose of causing bodily injury or offensive physical contact. A sexual act may be proved without allegation or proof of penetration. 17-A M.R.S.A. § 251(1)(C).

J. Sexual Contact: Any touching of the genitals or anus, directly or through clothing, other than as would constitute a sexual act, for the purpose of arousing or gratifying sexual desire or for the purpose of causing bodily injury or offensive physical contact.          17-A M.R.S.A. § 251(1)(D).
K. Sex Offense: A conviction for one of the following offenses or for an attempt or solicitation of one of the following offenses if the victim was less than 18 years of age at the time of the criminal conduct:  
L. A violation under former Title 17, section 2922; former Title 17, section 2923; former Title 17, section 2924; Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 2, paragraph E, F, G, H, I or J; Title 17-A, section 254; former Title 17-A, section 255, subsection 1, paragraph A, E, F, G, I or J; former Title 17-A, section 255, subsection 1, paragraph B or D if the crime was not elevated a class under former Title 17-A, section 255, subsection 3; Title 17-A, section 255-A, subsection 1, paragraph A, B, C, G, I, J, K, L, M, N, Q, R, S or T; Title 17-A, section 256; Title 17-A, section 258; Title 17-A, section 259; Title 17-A, section 282; Title 17-A, section 283; Title 17-A, section 284; Title 17-A, section 301, unless the actor is a parent of the victim; Title 17-A, section 302, unless the actor is a parent of the victim; Title 17-A, section 511, subsection 1, paragraph D; Title 17-A, section 556; Title 17-A, section 852, subsection 1, paragraph B; or Title 17-A, section 855; or a violation in another jurisdiction that includes the essential elements of an offense listed above.  
34-A M.R.S.A. § 11203(6).

Minimum Standard: 2
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L. Sexual Assault Response Team (SART): Response team organized through Maine sexual assault support centers to promote a multidisciplinary collaboration and to create and maintain an effective victim-centered response to sexual violence.  This team includes, but is not limited to, representatives from law enforcement agencies, District Attorneys’ Offices, medical personnel, and Maine sexual assault support centers.

M. Sexually Violent Offense: A conviction for one of the offenses or for an attempt to commit one of the offenses under former Title 17-A, section 252; under Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 1; Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 2, paragraph A, B, C or D; former Title 17-A, section 255, subsection 1, paragraph C or H; former Title 17-A, section 255, subsection 1, paragraph B or D, if the crime was elevated a class under former Title 17-A, section 255, subsection 3; Title 17-A, section 255-A, subsection 1, paragraph D, E, E-1, F, F-1, H, O or P; or A conviction for an offense or for an attempt to commit an offense of the law in another jurisdiction that includes the essential elements of an offense listed above. 34-A M.R.S.A. § 11203(7).
N. Ten-year Registrant: A person who is an adult convicted and sentenced or a juvenile convicted and sentenced as an adult of a sex offense. 34-A M.R.S.A. § 11203(5). 
Minimum Standard: 2

O. Verification Form: A 90-day or annual form created by the Bureau on which information concerning the domicile, mailing address, employer and/or school addresses of a registrant is recorded, as well as law enforcement information, including ORI, agency name and officer name. This is sometimes referred to the SORA-#3 form.       (See Appendix 3).

IV.
PROCEDURE - REGISTRATION AND NOTIFICATION:
Appendix 1 of this policy (1) summarizes the Bureau’s procedures with respect to registrants and law enforcement agencies, (2) summarizes registrant obligations under the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act, and (3) summarizes law enforcement involvement in the registration and verification process.  (See Appendix 1).
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V.
PROCEDURE - INSTITUTIONS RELEASING SEX OFFENDERS:
This section of the policy, found in Appendix 2, provides officers an opportunity to understand that the State Department of Corrections, county jails, and state mental health institutions that have custody of persons required to register under the law have several requirements.  This section summarizes the release procedures.

VI.
PROCEDURE - THE CHIEF LAW ENFORCMENT OFFICER (CLEO):
A. Extent of Notification:

1. The CLEO shall notify community members of

   registrants in the community, including those in Safe    Children Zones, as well as notification to the 

   appropriate Sexual Assault Support Centers.  The        extent of notification is based on the nature of the    registrant’s conviction and whether the person is       required to register as a Lifetime Registrant or Ten-    Year Registrant.  It is also based on the agency’s      investigative findings related to the nature of the     conviction, which includes the elements of the          offense(s) for which the registrant was convicted,      and any facts alleged in the charging instrument(s)     (including, but not limited to, the age of the          victim) that were proved beyond a reasonable doubt or    admitted by the registrant.

2. For example, community notification of a Lifetime

   Registrant should be made to the community to the       greatest extent reasonably possible, using the means    of notification described below in paragraph B.  The 

   extent of community notification of a Ten-year 

   Registrant should be determined on a case-by-case

   basis considering factors such as the elements of the

   offense for which the registrant was convicted, and

   any facts alleged in the charging instrument, 

   including, but not limited to the age of the victim, 

   that were proved beyond a reasonable doubt or 

   admitted by the registrant.

3. The CLEO should coordinate the community notification    with the CLEO of each surrounding jurisdiction in  

   which the registrant resides, works, or attends 

   school or college.  The CLEO shall seek guidance from

   the local District Attorney’s Office for any 

   violation of the Sex Offender Registration and 

   Notification Act or the rules adopted pursuant to the

   Act.

Minimum Standard: 5 and 9
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B. Means of Notification: The following methods of notification, which are not intended to be all inclusive, should be considered as a means of notifying the community:

1. News media, e.g., newspaper, television, radio.

2. Informational leaflets that provide general information about registered sex offenders in the community, e.g., “Guide for Community Notification of Sex Offenders”.  (See Appendix 5).

3. Personal notification, such as door-to-door notification in Safe Children Zones.

4. Notification in the form of public postings at the police station or other designated community locations.

5. Community forum, which should include Sexual Assault Support Centers, law enforcement, probation officers, the District Attorney’s Office, and sex offender treatment providers.

6. Any other means of notification deemed appropriate by the CLEO for the particular circumstances in order to ensure public safety.

7. Only the Bureau may maintain a sex offender registry on the Internet for purposes of public access.  Law enforcement agencies may maintain their own sex offender registries for internal use only by those agencies and may provide a link to the Bureau's Internet sex offender registry.  34-A M.R.S.A. § 11221(11).  The bureau’s sex offender registry on the Internet is at www.informe.org/sor.  The agency may also wish to provide a link on its website to the Maine Coalition Against Sexual Assault (MECASA) at www.mecasa.org.
8. Officers who encounter citizens desiring further information regarding a registrant should direct them to call or visit this agency during regular business hours.

Minimum Standard: 5

C. Content of Notification: The CLEO may notify the community of public information regarding a registrant living, attending school, or working in the community.  Upon receiving a written request that includes the name and date of birth of a registrant, this agency will provide the same public information concerning a registrant to the person requesting it.  For purposes of community notification, as well as responding to a written request, this information includes information listed in 34-A M.R.S.A. § 11221(9): 

1. The registrant's name, aliases, date of birth, sex, race, height, weight, eye color, mailing address and physical location of domicile and resident;
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2. The registrant's place of employment and college or school being attended, if applicable, and the corresponding address and location;

3. A description of the offense for which the registrant was convicted, the date of conviction and the sentence imposed; and

4. The registrant’s photograph.
Minimum Standard: 5 and 6

D. Violations of the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act:  Whenever an officer of this agency becomes aware of a violation of the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act, the officer shall investigate the complaint and notify the local Office of the District Attorney for possible prosecution.    

Minimum Standard: 9

E. Policy:  This agency shall forward a copy of this policy to the Maine Criminal Justice Academy, per 25 M.R.S.A., 2803-B, as well as to the Bureau.
Minimum Standard: 10

VII.
PROCEDURE - THE ASSIGNED INVESTIGATING OFFICER:
A. The officer assigned by the CLEO shall be the designated contact person and shall verify the information on the Verification Form.  The officer shall also process the Verification Form and mail it back to the Bureau once it is completed. The officer may use a checklist such as the one reflected in Appendix 4. The CLEO should notify the Bureau of name of the designated contact person. 

B. The officer shall confer with the charging agency for pertinent case history, including any facts alleged in the charging instrument that were proved or admitted.

C. The officer shall conduct a background investigation on registrant to determine other pertinent facts including, but not limited to, results of NCIC, Triple III, and SBI checks, and shall also attempt to obtain a current photograph. (See Appendix 4).

D. The officer shall contact the registrant’s probation officer regarding any conditions of release and/or other important investigative information regarding the registrant.  

E. The officer should interview the registrant. 

Minimum Standard: 3, 4, and 7
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F. The officer should obtain and verify new work locations, supervisor’s name(s), names of friends with current addresses and telephone numbers, names of family members with current addresses and telephone numbers, and any other relevant information.

G. The officer shall verify the addresses and telephone numbers of family friends with the initial information and correct any discrepancies.

H. The officer shall create a file on each registrant.

I. The officer shall prepare a report to the CLEO summarizing the investigative findings.  

Minimum Standard: 3, 4, and 7

VIII. PROCEDURE – All OFFICERS OF THIS AGENCY:
A. Generally, the officer assigned by the CLEO to handle the investigation will be the person who verifies the information on the Verification Form. (See Appendix 3.) If the assigned officer is not available, it is the responsibility of any officer of this agency to complete a Verification Form on Ten-Year Registrants annually and Lifetime Registrants every 90 days.  The registrant will have obtained the verification form from the Bureau and should have brought it to the agency having jurisdiction. 

B. This agency shall be required to verify the information and complete the Verification Form, including verifying a current photograph and obtaining forefinger prints of the registrant.  The completed verification form, photograph, and a $25 fee for annual registrants must be sent back to the Bureau by this agency.  The officer should obtain a full set of fingerprints and a current photograph for agency records.   

Minimum Standard: 7

C. The law requires registrants from other states to notify the Bureau in this State if the registrant becomes domiciled, employed, or attends school or college in this State.  The Bureau shall notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction in the same manner as a registrant convicted and sentenced in this State. 34-A M.R.S.A. § 11223-11224.
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D. Officers of this agency who become aware of a person who has been convicted of a sex offense or sexually violent offense in another state and who is now domiciled, employed, residing, or attending school or college in this State shall notify the Bureau to determine if the person is required to register.  The Bureau has different forms for initial registration for persons convicted out of state.  Once registered, verification forms for persons convicted in and out of state are the same.  All officers are required to treat out-of-state sex offenders who are required to register in the same manner as sex offenders originating from the State of Maine.

Minimum Standard: 8

E. Officers are encouraged to contact the Bureau if they have any questions regarding any registrant, any provision about the requirements of the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act or want to obtain a copy of any of the forms regarding this Act.

IX.
IMMUNITY FROM LIABILITY:

The Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act includes the following immunity provision: Neither the failure to perform the requirements of this chapter nor compliance with this chapter subjects any state, municipal or county official or employee to liability in a civil action.  The immunity provided under this section applies to the release of relevant information to other officials or employees or to the general public.  34-A M.R.S.A. § 11252.
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MAINE CHIEFS OF POLICE ASSOCIATION - ADVISORY

PRIVATE 


This model policy of the Maine Chiefs of Police Association is provided to assist your agency in the development of your own policy.  This policy, which is required by statute, meets the standards prescribed by the Board of Trustees of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy.  The Chief Law Enforcement Officer (CLEO) is highly encouraged to use and/or modify this model policy in a manner to best accomplish the individual mission of the agency.  

DISCLAIMERPRIVATE 


This model policy should not be construed as a creation of a higher legal standard of safety or care in an evidentiary sense with respect to third party claims.  Violations of this policy will only form the basis for administrative sanctions by the individual law enforcement agency and/or the Board of Trustees of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy.  This policy does not hold the Maine Chiefs of Police Association, its employees or its members liable for any third party claims and is not intended for use in any civil action.
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Appendix 1

SUMMARY OF REGISTRATION AND VERIFICATION PROCEDURES

A. Initial registration is with the State Bureau of Identification and required by law.

B. The Bureau then notifies the jurisdictional law enforcement agencies (local municipal police, Sheriff’s Office, District Attorney’s Office, State Police CID and the area State Police Troop) within the jurisdiction of the registrant’s domicile, residence, mailing address, work and school/college and includes the risk assessment (if available).

C. Registration forms are provided to the registrant by the following sources:

1. Department of Corrections, if the registrant is incarcerated at the State level.

2. County Sheriff’s Office, if incarcerated at county level.

3. The presiding court upon conviction and sentence, if the person is not incarcerated.

4. By the Bureau, if it was not already done when the person was released from incarceration or if convicted prior to September 17, 1999.

D. Registration requirement includes a fee of $25.00 per year, payable to “Treasurer State of Maine” and a current (must be less than 6 months old) colored passport quality photograph (2¾ X 2½ inches).

E. Follow-up Verification Form (SORA-03) is then mailed to the offender by the Bureau:

1. 90-day verification required if a Lifetime Registrant.

2. Annual verification required if a report if a 10-Year Registrant.

F. Current photo (with each verification form) and fee is required annually (with annual verification form).  This is then taken to local police for verification.  If there is no municipal police, then it is taken to the county sheriffs’ office with the jurisdiction of the sex offenders’ domicile. Once the law enforcement officer verifies this, that officer shall mail the completed form back to the Bureau.
G. Identification proof is flexible based on reliability.
H. “24 Hour” notification rule applies to registrant when changing any of the following conditions: domicile, residence, work, or school.  Note: There is no specific notification form defined for this mandate.
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I. “5 Day” notification is required to the Bureau when changing any of the following conditions: domicile, residence, work and school/college.  This notification is required in writing and if the registrant is being released from incarceration, a written notification is also required.

J. Offenders who were sentenced after January 1, 1982, are required to meet the registration requirements.

K. The Bureau provides the jurisdictional law enforcement agencies with a risk assessment summary, if one exists and if made available to the Bureau by the originating agency.  Other states have a variety of information available that may not be consistent with that available in Maine.
L. Notification will be made to the individual Law        Enforcement Agency Having Jurisdiction by the Bureau, with information on Sex Offender Registrants pursuant to 34-A M.R.S.A, Chapter 15.  This information shall include:

1. Registrant’s name and any alias.

2. Registrant’s current mailing and home address.

3. Registrant’s expected domicile.

4. Registrant’s place of employment, college or school and their respective addresses.

5. Registrant’s date of birth.

6. Registrant’s gender, race, height, weight and eye color.

7. Registrant’s charge(s) and sentencing information.

8. Age of the victim, if known.

9. Charging agency and/or the investigator.

10. Court of adjudication.

11. Court docket number.
12. Status of the registrant when released as determined by the sex offender risk assessment guideline.
13. Copy of the sex offender risk assessment guideline, if available.
M. Until the Bureau receives at a minimum, a signed initial registration form, individuals can not be made active or displayed on the Sex Offender Registry website.

N. It is the Bureau’s responsibility to send information concerning a registered sex offender to the national registry, however, information will not be accepted when fingerprints are not provided. When this information in not contain in the national registry, the sex offender's offenses and conviction will not be available when a III (Triple I) request is made.  When information is accepted by the national registry, the individual is flagged as a registered sex offender in the hot files.  This alert is returned whenever law enforcement run a check on a driver's license and/or motor vehicle check." 
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    Appendix 2

SUMMARY OF PROCEDURES FOR INSTITUTIONS

RELEASING SEX OFFENDERS

A. The State Department of Corrections, the county jail or the state mental health institute that has custody of a registrant required to register shall inform the registrant, prior to discharge or conditional release, of the duty to register.  If a registrant does not serve a period of institutional confinement, the court shall inform the registrant at the time of sentencing of the duty to register.

B. The department, county jail, state mental health institute or court shall:

1. Inform the registrant of the duty to register and obtain the information required for the initial registration.

2. Inform the registrant of the requirement to notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction pursuant to 34-A M.R.S.A § 11203 (1)(B)).
3. Inform the registrant that if the registrant changes domicile or changes residence, place of employment or college or school being attended, the registrant shall give the new address to the bureau in writing within five days and shall notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction within 24 hours.

4. Inform the registrant that if the registrant changes domicile to another state, the registrant shall register the new address with the bureau and if the new state has a registration requirement, the registrant shall register with a designated law enforcement agency in the new state not later than five days after establishing domicile in the new state.

5. Inform the registrant that if that registrant has part-time or full-time employment in another state, with or without compensation, for more than 14 consecutive days or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year or if that registrant enrolls in any type of school in another state on a part-time or full-time basis, the registrant shall give the bureau the registrant's place of employment or school to be attended in writing within 5 days after beginning work or attending school and if the other state has a registration requirement, shall register with the designated law enforcement agency in the other state.
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6. Obtain fingerprints and a photograph of the registrant or the court may order the registrant to submit to the taking of fingerprints and a photograph at a specified law enforcement agency within three days if the fingerprints and photograph have not already been obtained in connection with the offense that necessitates registration.

7. Enforce the requirement that the registrant read and sign a form provided by the bureau that states that the duty of the registrant to register under this section has been explained.
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Appendix 3

Maine State Police, State Bureau of Identification

42 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0042

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY VERIFICATION FORM
Pursuant to Title 34-A MRSA ch. 15, "Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 1999," as amended, all Sex Offender Registrants are mandated to annually verify domicile (the place you live, reside or dwell), your place of employment and/or school of attendance. As part of this annual verification registration process, you must submit a current color passport photograph and a fee of $25 (check or money order made payable to Treasurer, State of Maine). 

In addition to the annual verification requirement if you are a Sex Offender Registrant who must register for life, you are also required to do 90-day verification forms. You are mandated to verify your domicile (the place you live, reside or dwell), your place of employment and/or school of attendance and submit a current color passport photograph with your Sex Offender Registry 90-day verification form. 

You are ordered to bring this form, your fee payment if this is an annual verification, a current passport photograph and a form of legal identification with you to the Police Department in your town or, if no Police Department, to the Sheriff Department in your County to verify your identity and address. Failure to meet all registration requirements, including the fee payment, is a Class D crime. If there are two previous convictions for failing to meet all registration requirements, then the registrant is committing a Class C crime. 


Signature of Sex Offender Registrant: 









Form of Identification used for Verification: 








Law Enforcement Agency: 






 ORI: 


  

Name of Officer: (print) 











Signature of Officer: 






 Date: 




FEE ENCLOSED?  ( Yes ( No        CURRENT COLOR PASSPORT PHOTO ENCLOSED?  ( Yes ( No 

	Fingerprint of left index finger rolled
	Fingerprint of right index finger rolled


(Indicate substitute digit if Index finger not available)

READ THE BACK OF THIS NOTICE FOR MORE COMPLETE INSTRUCTIONS 

White copy mailed to Bureau with photo, Yellow to local Police or Sheriff Department, Pink to Registrant

SORA-03, Rev. 01/04

                                                             INSTRUCTIONS
                               Page 2-30-16

                          For Completing Sex Offender Verification Form 

(SORA - 03)

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY REGISTRANTS: 

1. If this verification is identified as an annual verification form, then you are required to pay a fee when this form is submitted. Your check or money order is to be made out to the Treasurer, State of Maine. 

2. With both annual and 90-day verification forms, you are mandated to provide a current color passport photograph. The legal standards for the color passport photo are: a full faced, chest up, unmounted, color photograph not larger than 2 ¾ X 2 ½ inches with a white or off-white background and a space showing above the person’s head. The photograph must have been taken not more than six (6) months prior to its submission to the Registry. 

3. With both annual and 90-day verification forms, you must bring the form along with legal identification to the Police Department in the town where you live. If there is no organized Police Department, bring this form to the Sheriff Department of the County where you live. 

POLICE DEPARTMENT OR SHERIFF DEPARTMENT:

Please read these instructions. If you have questions call the Sex Offender Registry at 624-7100. 

· Identify whether this form is annual or 90-day verification. If this is an annual then a fee is required from the registrant. 

· All verification forms, regardless if annual or 90-day, require a current color passport photograph. The legal standards are given above in item #2.  

· Verify the name and address on the front of this form with the legal identification presented to you by the person being verified. The identification must be current to be valid. If the address has changed, please strike out and update the form with the new address.  

· Verify the date of birth with the legal identification presented for verification. If the date is wrong, please strike out and update the form with the correct date of birth.  

· If the Probation Officer Name line is blank, please ask registrant whom they report to (if on probation or supervised release). 

· Have the registrant being verified sign the form in your presence and then match the signature with the identification (if possible).  

· Ask the person for their phone number. (This is optional. Person may elect not to give it). 

· Indicate the type of legal identification used for verification. (Please print).  
· Please print your agency's name. 

· Please print Officer's name completing the verification form. 

· Signature of Officer completing verification form. 

· Separate form by tearing off sides to ready form for print taking. 

· Fingerprints - Insert white copy of verification form into fingerprint cardholder and ROLL both index fingers in the appropriate spaces. If index finger is not available, indicate which digit you are using as a replacement. 

· Attach photograph to upper left hand corner of white page.

· Mail white copy with fingerprints, passport photograph and fee (if required) using the prepaid self addressed envelope.

· Yellow copy of verification form is for local Police or Sheriff Department files.

· Pink copy of verification form is given to registrant being verified as a receipt of verification.
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HOW YOU MUST CARRY OUT YOUR STATUTORY DUTY TO VERIFY

You are a                                                             under Maine’s SORNA.  You must bring this form, a current passport photograph and a form of legal identification with you to the organized municipal police department in your place of domicile, or if your place of domicile has no organized police department, the sheriff’s department in the county where you are domiciled.

“DOMICILE” MEANS THE PLACE WHERE A PERSON HAS THAT PERSON’S ESTABLISHED, FIXED, PERMANENT OR ORDINARY DWELLING PLACE OR LEGAL RESIDENCE TO WHICH, WHENEVER THE PERSON IS ABSENT, THE PERSON HAS THE INTENTION OF RETURNING.  A PERSON MAY HAVE MORE THAN ONE RESIDENCE BUT ONLY ONE DOMICILE.

DATE PRINTED:




RETURN BY:
MAILING ADDRESS:



             PHYSICAL  ADDRESS VERIFIED:

USE THE ENCLOSED “UPDATE INFORMATION” PAGE TO REPORT OR MAKE CHANGES TO INFORMATION YOU ARE REQUIRED TO PROVIDE. IT MUST BE RETURNED WITH THIS FORM.

I UNDERSTAND THAT MAKING A FALSE STATEMENT THAT I DO NOT BELIEVE TO BE TRUE ON THIS FORM CONSTITUTES A CRIMINAL OFFENSE, AND MAY BE PROSECUTED AS UNSWORN FALSIFICATION PURSUANT TO 17-A M.R.S.A. § 453 (CLASS D)

Signature of Sex Offender Registrant: _________________________________________________


Printed Name of Sex Offender Registrant: ______________________________________________

TO BE FILLED OUT BY LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY HAVING JURISDICTION

Law Enforcement Agency: ___________________________________________________________









Name of Officer (print): ______________________________________________________________

Signature of Officer: ________________________________________  Date: __________________

Form of Identification used for Verification: 


FEE ENCLOSED?  Yes    No    

CURRENT COLOR PASSPORT PHOTO ENCLOSED?   Yes    No 

	Fingerprint of left index finger rolled


	Fingerprint of right index finger rolled


(Indicate substitute digit if Index finger not available)

READ THE BACK OF THIS NOTICE FOR MORE COMPLETE INSTRUCTIONS

White copy mailed to Bureau with photo, Yellow copy to local Police or Sheriff’s Department, Pink copy to Registrant
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Appendix 4

REGISTERED SEX OFFENDER INVESTIGATIVE CHECK LIST

Registered Sex Offender: _____________________Incident Number: _____________________

Home Address: ________________________________Home Telephone Number: _______________

Work Address: ________________________________Work Telephone Number: _______________

School attending or expecting to attend:____________________________________________
 FORMCHECKBOX 

10-Year registrant:__________________________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Lifetime Registrant:_________________________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Registrant is an adult or a juvenile convicted as an adult:____________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Possesses Sex Offender Registry Verification Form:_____________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Contact SBI if Registrant doesn’t have a Sex Offender Reg. Verification Form:__

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Is Registrant required to complete a 90-Day Verification Form:_________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Contact charging agency/Officer for background information:____________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Contact Sex Offender’s Probation Officer for Probation Conditions:_____________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Request SBI/NCIC III:__________________________________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Interview Registrant:__________________________________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Obtain current photograph:_____________________________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Obtain a set of fingerprints:__________________________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Verify Registrant’s address & telephone number by contacting family members, 

     friend(s), and employer(s):____________________________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Establish a periodic reporting method for the Registrant:______________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Summary report for CLEO:_______________________________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Produce a Neighborhood Notification Information Sheet:_________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Form a Registrant Neighborhood Notification plan:______________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Conduct a Registrant Neighborhood Notification:________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Add Registrant to agency’s computer database:__________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Establish an agency file for the Registrant:___________________________________

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Advise Sexual Assault and Crisis Support Center:_______________________________

Notes:______________________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________________________________________

Investigator: ________________________________
   Date: __________________________




I UNDERSTAND THAT ANY FALSE INFORMATION THAT I PROVIDE ON THIS FORM, AND DO NOT BELIEVE THE INFORMATION TO BE TRUE, WILL SUBJECT ME TO 


PROSECUTION FOR UNSWORN FALSIFICATION UNDER SECTION 453 OF TITLE 17-A, WHICH IS A CLASS D CRIME. 














