MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

PHASE II

LAW ENFORCEMENT PRE-SERVICE TRAINING PROGRAM

Tuition:

Prices may vary at site locations. See our website for a course schedule, locations and 




Prices.   http://www.maine.gov/dps/mcja/training/preservice/index.htm



Student Notebooks are provided.  Students are responsible for all other

equipment and supplies. As of July 1, 2013, students will be responsible for the following: Title 17A (Maine Criminal Law) & 29A (Maine Traffic Law) are required and may be purchased through your college book store or directly through Swan Island Press, phone 207-666-8291 or email jferdico1@hughes.net 

It is highly recommended that you also purchase the Law Enforcement Officer’s Manuals but these are not required. They are also available through Swan Island Press. 

Hours:

Phase II is an 80 hour interactive, scenario based classroom training.  Courses include: 



Community Relations, Stress Management, Interview Techniques, Situational Use of



Force, Mechanics of Arrest Restraint and Control, Traffic Stops, Crime Scene 

Processing, Crash Reporting, OUI/SFST (Operating Under the Influence/Standard Field 

Sobriety Test), and Civil Liability.  

Format:

Monday thru Friday standard format from 8:00 – 5:00 daily.  Some schedules may vary.  



You can visit our website for more information.  

Age:

21 years old, or 20 years old with at least 60 credits from an accredited

college, or age 19, currently enrolled in an accredited post secondary education program, with at least 40 credit hours. *Copies of transcripts or current grade reports required with the application for those under 21.

Background:
Signed and notarized MCJA Background Investigation Form by a Police Chief, Sheriff or Law Enforcement Administrator from a full 
time Maine law enforcement agency is required.  Conduct or convictions that are class D or greater, as well as certain class E crimes will exclude applicants from eligibility.

Prerequisite:
ALERT test minimum passing score of 37.  The test is given at the MCJA



campus the first and third Wednesday of each month at 8:00 a.m.  It is



also available off site in the southern area of the state. Call  the MCJA at: 877-8000, or 

                            877-8020 to schedule an appointment.  A $50 fee and photo ID are required.



The ALERT test is a reading comprehension and writing skills test based



upon the level required to master the MCJA Basic School Curriculum.

Physical Agility:
The following three (3) test items constitute the physical fitness test (PFT) requirements



for acceptance into the Law Enforcement Pre-Service Phase II Program.  Applicants 



must successfully complete each test at the 40th percentile entrance standard based on



their age and gender.

1. Maximum Push-Up test (untimed);

2. One Minute Sit-Up test; and

3. 1.5 mile run

For more information on the requirements and description standards visit our website. 

Written Test:
Students will be required to pass a written test over the Phase I on-line training 

curriculum.

Audience:
This course is intended for: full –time law enforcement officers prior



to assuming duties, full-time law enforcement officers who have a Basic



Police School from another State and the employer is seeking a waiver of



the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, part-time law enforcement officers, other

 law enforcement officers required by statute to attend the program such as judicial   

 marshals, jail transport officers, harbor masters and municipal shellfish wardens as well 

 as law enforcement career aspirants.

Definitions:

Law Enforcement Officer:  Anyone who by virtue of public employment is vested by law with a duty to maintain public order, to prosecute offenders, to make arrests for crimes, whether that duty extends to all crimes or is limited to specific functions.  This does not include federal officers or attorneys prosecuting for the State.

Full Time Law Enforcement officer:  Employed in the State of Maine with the reasonable expectation of working at least 1040 hours in any one calendar or fiscal year performing law enforcement duties.

Part-Time Law Enforcement Officer:  Constable, reserve officer, or other part-time police officer employed, with or without compensation, less than full-time by any State or county or municipality thereof, whose primary responsibility is to serve criminal process and to arrest and prosecute offenders of the law.

Maine law dictates hiring and training standards for all Municipal, County and State Law Enforcement officers.  The Law Enforcement Pre-Service (LEPS) Program was developed to meet the training needs of Agencies who wish to meet the minimum legal standard.  Title 25, Section 2804-B states, “Required.  A person shall not serve as a law enforcement officer with the power to make arrests or the authority to carry a firearm in the course of duty until certified by the board as satisfying all pre-service training requirements.”

LAW ENFORCEMENT PRE-SERVICE PROGRAM APPLICATION PROCESS

Applicants must be sponsored by an approved Maine state, county or municipal law enforcement agency.  The sponsor does not have to employ the applicant; they may just be willing to perform a background investigation.  Generally speaking, the academy will only accept background checks signed by the full time administrator of a law enforcement agency.  A background check must include fingerprint checks with the FBI and SBI.  The investigation must be sufficient to assure that no instances of disqualifying misconduct or convictions exist.  Disqualifying conduct or convictions includes: Murder, Class A, Class B, Class C, or Class D crime, or any provision of the Maine Criminal Code, chapters 15, 19, 25 or 45.  Agencies are not under any legal obligation to perform background checks or sponsor applicants.  Since this may be an expensive process, some agencies may charge a fee to cover their costs if they wish.

Interested and qualified applicants should follow this process to apply:

1. Locate a law enforcement agency willing to sponsor you.  Local Police & Sheriff’s Departments. are a good place to start.

2. Obtain current application forms from the sponsor or MCJA.  Forms include the application, background standards form, and medical clearance form, all forms available on website.

3. Complete the application form and submit it to the sponsoring agency.  Choose which LEPS course you will apply for.  The background check can be a lengthy process so plan accordingly, it must be complete before the start of class.  Applications should be submitted at least 1 month prior to class start date.

4. When the background is completed, either you or the sponsor must send the completed application packet in to MCJA.  Make sure all required information on the form is properly filled in, including the particular location and start date of the course you wish to be considered for and your current mailing address and phone number.  The medical form does not have to be sent at this time, but must be received by the academy prior to the start of the program.

Selection criteria include employment status and date of application.  Seating is usually between 25 and 50 depending on the location, with sponsored applicants being admitted on a seat available basis.  Acceptance notices are sent out 2-4 weeks prior to the start date of the program.

Meals and lodging are available at the MCJA campus only at a rate of $7.00 per meal and $15 per night for lodging. Lodging is military style with shared rooms and bathrooms. Payment for meals and lodging is collected at the beginning of each week.  Tuition payment is due the first day of the program.  Billing is only allowed for employees of law enforcement or corrections agencies whose agency has agreed to pay tuition for the student.  The administrator of the employing agency must authorize billing and complete the Notice of Employment.  

You must pass the Alert Test, PFT, and Written Test before you will be accepted into this program.  If you have sponsorship from an agency and do not meet the prerequisites you will not be accepted into the program.  

MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

15 Oak Grove Road  Vassalboro, Maine  04989

Telephone (207)877-8000  FAX (207)877-8027

LAW ENFORCEMENT PRE-SERVICE 

PHASE II 

APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING (Please Type or Print)

Name:________________________________________________________________________

                                           Last                                   First                                        MI                                                            

Mailing Address ______________________________________________________________________________

                                                                       Street  / PO Box                 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

                                City/Town                                                      State                                             Zip                             

 Phone/Cell_______________________________________email____________________________________________

Social Security Number: _______________________Date of Birth ____________________

Do you meet the age and education requirement
__________

Have you taken and passed the Alert Exam

__________

Have you taken and passed the Physical Fitness Test
__________

Have you taken and passed the Phase I Exam

__________

I, __________________________________, release the sponsoring agency, the Maine Criminal Justice Academy and any other department/agency officially connected or associated with this training program from any liability in the case of illness, injury or accident.

Signed:_____________________________________________Date:__________________________

MCJA COURSE ONLY:  Meals & Lodging Request – Please fill in for any programs held at the Academy campus.  Not available at off campus locations.

Meals:       ⁭  None        ⁭  All Meals     ⁭  Noon Only                 Lodging:         ⁭ None Needed         ⁭  Lodging is required

Course location and start date must be filled in when submitting application to MCJA

COURSE LOCATION:_______________________​​______START DATE:___________________

MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

PHASE II LAW ENFORCEMENT PRE-SERVICE

SPONSORING AGENCY STATEMENT

STUDENT NAME_____________________________________DOB________________________

EMPLOYING/SPONSORING AGENCY MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING:

Please bill the employing/sponsoring agency for:  Tuition____  Meals____   

                                                                                       Lodging____
This applicant is sponsored, but not employed by us.  This agency only agrees to perform a criminal background investigation to determine the applicant’s eligibility for Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training. Please bill the student for tuition.

Signed:_________________________________________    Title:________________________________

                                 (Chief/Sheriff/Department Head only)

Printed Name:____________________________________  Date:________________________________

Name of Sponsoring / Employing Agency (print or type):__________________________________________________

Agency Address:________________________________________________________________________​​​​​______

Street                                     City/Town                             Zip                                  Agency Phone

MCJA USE ONLY:
 A_____  FL_____  PL_____  NR_____  Memo Sent___________Accept Status:_____        updated 05/01/11

MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

BACKGROUND STANDARD FOR ADMISSION TO AND/OR CERTIFICATION

FOR A MANDATORY ACADEMY SCHOOL, RECERTIFICATION, OR WAIVER

In order to be accepted as a participant in mandatory Academy law enforcement or corrections courses, or to be certified or recertified, an applicant must be of good moral character as determined by the hiring or sponsoring agency through a formal background check.  These requirements and standards must be satisfied before consideration of such an application or certification.  An agency presenting an individual for certification, admission to a mandatory Academy course, recertification, or for a waiver from training will attest that the individual meets the standard of having no disqualifying conviction*.  In addition, the applicant shall certify under oath that he or she has no disqualifying conviction and that he or she has not engaged in disqualifying conduct #. A representative of the hiring or sponsoring agency must complete this form with the applicant, including an explanation to the applicant of  #1 and #2 below.

________________________________________________________________________

INTERVIEW & STATEMENT OF APPLICANT

Applicant Name: __________________________________  DOB:__________________

Home Address: ___________________________________________________________

1. Have you ever been convicted of any crime (including OUI)? ____________

                  If yes, provide details on separate sheet, as well as a copy of the official Criminal History Record Information.

2. In addition, have you ever engaged in conduct that would constitute disqualifying conduct, regardless of whether you were charged?                   ____________

              If yes, provide details on separate sheet, as well as a copy of the police report if there was police involvement.

I understand that the making of a false statement under oath is a crime punishable by law.

Applicant Signature: ______________________________________________
Date: _______________

Personally-appeared the above-named ___________________________ and made oath to the truth of the foregoing statement.

__________________________________________
Date: ______________

Notary Public (or other person authorized to take oath)
________________________________________________________________________

STATEMENT OF EMPLOYING OR SPONSORING AGENCY

The above-named applicant has been the subject of a background investigation, including the processing of fingerprint cards through SBI and FBI, and a BMV record inquiry, and in the case of an applicant for the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, a polygraph examination and a psychological examination, and such investigation has disclosed no conviction for a disqualifying conviction* or disqualifying conduct#, except for the conviction(s) for which a waiver is being sought.

_____________________________________________
________________________

Signature of Chief / Sheriff or Agency Head                                                                            Date

Personally-appeared the above-named _________________________________ and made oath to the truth of the foregoing statement.

_____________________________________________        _______________________

Notary Public (or other person authorized to take oath)                                                            Date

*See reverse for explanation of disqualifying conviction.  

#See reverse for explanation of disqualifying conduct. 
______________________________________________________________________________

DISQUALIFYING CONVICTION*

A disqualifying conviction for which a waiver from the Board of Trustees is required includes the following:

1. Murder;

2. Any Class A, Class B, or Class C crime or attempted crime;

3. Any Class D crime or attempted crime conviction in the past ten (10) years (including OUI);

4. Any Class E crime or attempted crime conviction in the past ten (10) years for which the crime is contained in Chapter 15 (Theft), Chapter 19 (Falsification in Official Matters), Chapter 25 (Bribery and Corrupt Practices), Chapter 29 (Forgery and Related Offenses), Chapter 31 (Offenses Against Public Administration), Chapter 35 (Prostitution and Public Indecency), Chapter 41 (Criminal Use of Explosives and Related Crimes), or Chapter 45 (Drugs) of the Maine Criminal Code, Title 17-A, Maine Revised Statutes;

5. Any conviction or adjudication as a juvenile of a Murder, Class A, B or C crime or attempted crime; 

6. Any other conviction of a crime or attempted crime in another state or other jurisdiction that prohibits the same unlawful conduct described above.

______________________________________________________________________________
DISQUALIFYING CONDUCT#

Disqualifying conduct, regardless of whether the applicant was charged or convicted, for which a waiver from the Board of Trustees is required.  Disqualifying conduct for purposes of the MCJA Board Policy is only the below conduct, if committed as an adult.   
1. Murder;

2. Any Class A, Class B, or Class C crime or Attempted Crime ; (formerly called felony crime)

3. Conduct specified in 1 or 2 above in another state or other jurisdiction.

 ______________________________________________________________________________

WAIVER REQUEST PROCEDURE

A request of the Board of Trustees for a waiver of a disqualifying conviction or disqualifying conduct must be made by the employing or sponsoring agency, and must be made on the form provided by the Board for such purpose, and must include the additional information listed on the form.  The form may be obtained by contacting the Maine Criminal Justice Academy, 15 Oak Grove Road, Vassalboro, ME  04989, and telephone 877-8000.
MEDICAL HISTORY AND MEDICAL EXAMINATION FORM

Law Enforcement Pre-Service Candidate


TO THE PHYSICIAN:

This Candidate for training at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy should be free of medical conditions which would interfere with his/her ability to safely participate in and successfully perform certain activities including, but not limited to the following:

· Complete a run of up to 2 miles without stopping

· Perform sit-ups to the limit of his/her ability

· Perform bench presses or pushups to the limit of his/her ability

· Tolerate exposure to heat/cold/humidity/inclement weather

· Climb/crawl/wrestle/jump/box/lift/drag heavy weights

· Tolerate the psychological stress of law enforcement work

· Physically rigorous defensive tactics training (joint manipulation/handcuffing/take downs/kicks/strikes)

· Complete a physical fitness assessment consisting of maximum effort 1.5 mile run, sit ups and push ups

· Sustain this level of functioning for 12 - 14 hours per day

(1)

PRE-SERVICE ACCEPTANCE EXAMINATION
To be on file at the Academy

*********************************************

TO THE EXAMINING PHYSICIAN:

Please type or print legibly and return to the Candidate and/or the Maine Criminal Justice Academy.

Physician’s Name: _______________________________________________________________________

Address: ________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

Phone: ________________________________________________________________________

Patient / Candidate’s Name ________________________________________________________________________

**********

THE ABOVE NAMED PATIENT/CANDIDATE IS:

a. ______ Medically SUITABLE for training at the Maine Criminal Justice

                 Academy, OR

b. ______ Medically UNSUITABLE for training at the Maine Criminal Justice 

                 Academy  

Comments:______________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________
Date:____________________ Physician's Signature: _____________________________

Date:___________________  Candidate’s Signature: ____________________________​

Pre-Service Location________________________ Date of Course_____________​_____

(2)

                                                                                                 Effective: October 9, 2013


