MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

LAW ENFORCEMENT PRE-SERVICE TRAINING PROGRAM

Tuition:

Starting at $350, prices may vary at site locations. Check with the Training Coordinator 



Notebooks, Title 17A & 29A & Law Enforcement Officer’s Manual are 



provided.  Students are responsible for all other equipment and supplies.

Hours:

One-hundred (100).  Topics include: Maine Law, Legal Procedures, Police



Practical skills, defensive tactics, human relations, and traffic patrol 



procedures.

Format:

Standard –8am-5pm, starting on a Wednesday, or Monday, for a two and     



one-half week period.

Age:

21 years old, or 20 years old with at least 60 credits from an accredited

college, or age 19, currently enrolled in an accredited post secondary education program, with at least 40 credit hours. *Copies of transcripts or current grade reports required with the application for those under 21.

Background:
Signed and notarized MCJA Background Investigation Form by a Police Chief, Sheriff or Law Enforcement Administrator from a full 
time Maine law enforcement agency is required.  Conduct or convictions that are class D or greater, as well as certain class E crimes will exclude applicants from eligibility.

Prerequisite:
ALERT test minimum passing score of 37.  The test is given at the MCJA



campus the first and third Wednesday of each month at 8:15 a.m.  It is



also available off site at Sanford Police Department.  Call 877-8000 MCJA, or  877-8020



to schedule an appointment.  A $40 fee and photo ID are required.



The ALERT test is a reading comprehension and writing skills test based



upon the level required to master the MCJA Basic School Curriculum.



Students are encouraged to obtain CPR/First Aid Certification as a 



Prerequisite to the Pre-Service class due to the number of students



Enrolled in the course.  If you are able, or already have your CPR/First 



Aid certification you will not need to attend class scheduled for that day.



You will need to provide a copy of a current CPR/First Aid Card.

Audience:
This course is intended for : full –time law enforcement officers prior



to assuming duties, full-time law enforcement officers who have a Basic



Police School from another State and the employer is seeking a waiver of



the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, full-time Law Enforcement Officers 

who need to re-certify, part-time law enforcement officers, other law enforcement 

Officers required by statute to attend the program such as judicial marshals, jail transport officers, harbor masters and municipal shellfish wardens as well law enforcement career aspirants.

Definitions:

Law Enforcement Officer:  Anyone who by virtue of public employment is vested by law with a duty to maintain public order, to prosecute offenders, to make arrests for crimes, whether that duty extends to all crimes or is limited to specific functions.  This does not include federal officers or attorneys prosecuting for the State.

Full Time Law Enforcement officer:  Employed in the State of Maine with the reasonable expectation of working at least 1040 hours in any one calendar or fiscal year performing law enforcement duties.

Part-Time Law Enforcement Officer:  Constable, reserve officer, or other part-time police officer employed, with or without compensation, less than full-time by any State or county or municipality thereof, whose primary responsibility is to serve criminal process and to arrest and prosecute offenders of the law.

Maine law dictates hiring and training standards for all Municipal, County and State Law Enforcement officers.  The Law Enforcement Pre-Service (LEPS) Program was developed to meet the training needs of Agencies who wish to meet the minimum legal standard.  Title 25, Section 2804-B states, “Required.  A person shall not serve as a law enforcement officer with the power to make arrests or the authority to carry a firearm in the course of duty until certified by the board as satisfying all pre-service training requirements.”

LAW ENFORCEMENT PRE-SERVICE PROGRAM APPLICATION PROCESS

Applicants must be sponsored by an approved Maine state, county or municipal law enforcement agency.  The sponsor does not have to employ the applicant; they may just be willing to perform a background investigation.  Generally speaking, the academy will only accept background checks signed by the full time administrator of a law enforcement agency.  A background check must include fingerprint checks with the FBI and SBI.  The investigation must be sufficient to assure that no instances of disqualifying misconduct or convictions exist.  Disqualifying conduct or convictions includes: Murder, Class A, Class B, Class C, or Class D crime, or any provision of the Maine Criminal Code, chapters 15, 19, 25 or 45.  Agencies are not under any legal obligation to perform background checks or sponsor applicants.  Since this may be an expensive process, some agencies may charge a fee to cover their costs if they wish.

Interested and qualified applicants should follow this process to apply:

1. Locate a law enforcement agency willing to sponsor you.  Local Police & Sheriff’s Departments. are a good place to start.

2. Obtain current application forms from the sponsor or MCJA.  Forms include the application, background standards form, and medical clearance form.

3. Complete the application form and submit it to the sponsoring agency.  Choose which LEPS course you will apply for.  The average time for a background check is 2 months, so plan for a class at least 3 months away.  Applications should be submitted at least 1 month prior to class start date.

4. When the background is completed, either you or the sponsor must send the completed application packet in to MCJA.  Make sure all required information on the form is properly filled in, including the particular location and start date of the course you wish to be considered for and your current mailing address and phone number.  The medical form does not have to be sent at this time, but must be received by the academy prior to the start of the program.

Selection criteria include employment status and date of application.  Seating is usually between 25 and 50 depending on the location, with sponsored applicants being admitted on a seat available basis.  Acceptance notices are sent out 2-4 weeks prior to the start date of the program.

Meals and lodging are available at the MCJA campus only at a rate of $6.50 per meal and $15 per night for lodging.  Payment for meals and lodging is collected at the beginning of each week.  Tuition payment is due the first day of the program.  Billing is only allowed for employees of law enforcement or corrections agencies whose agency has agreed to pay tuition for the student.  The administrator of the employing agency must authorize billing and complete the Notice of Employment.  

MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

15 Oak Grove Road  Vassalboro, Maine  04989

Telephone (207)877-8000  FAX (207)877-8027

LAW ENFORCEMENT PRE-SERVICE APPLICATION

APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING (Please Type or Print)

Applicant’s Name:_______________________________________________________________________________

                                           Last                                   First                                        MI                                                           email  

Home Address:  _____________________________________________________________________________________

                                       Street                                     City/Town                  State                  Zip                              Phone/Cell

Social Security Number:_________________________________  Date of  Birth __________________


1.  Will you be under 21 at the beginning of class?  ____Yes  ____N0    If yes answer 2 & 3


2.  Have you completed at least 60 hours in an accredited college course?  ____Yes ____No, or


3.  Are you currently enrolled and have at least 40 credits in an accredited college?  ___Yes __No

       4.  Prerequisite:  Taken and Passed the Alert Test            _____Yes  _____No    

If yes to  2 or 3 above, please attach copies of transcript (s)

I, __________________________________, release the sponsoring agency, the Maine Criminal Justice Academy and any other department/agency officially connected or associated with this training program from any liability in the case of illness, injury or accident.

Signed:_______________________________________________Date:____________________________

Meals & Lodging Request – Please fill in for any programs held at the Academy campus.  Not available at off campus locations.

Meals: ⁭  None    ⁭  All Meals    ⁭  Noon Only                 Lodging:     ⁭ None Needed     ⁭  Lodging is required

COURSE LOCATION:________________________________START DATE:___________________

EMPLOYING/SPONSORING AGENCY MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING:

 ⁭  This applicant is employed by us and approved for training.  We release the MCJA and any other

         Agency associated with this training program from any liability in case of illness, injury or accident.

                                        (Notice of Employment must be completed and on file at the Academy)

                             ⁭  This applicant is sponsored, but not yet employed by us.

                             ⁭  Please bill the employing agency for:  Tuition____  Meals____  Lodging____
  ⁭  This applicant is not employed by us.  This agency only agrees to perform a criminal background

       investigation to determine the applicant’s eligibility for Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training.
                                   Please bill the student for tuition.

Signed:_________________________________________    Title:________________________________

                                                          (Chief/Sheriff/Department Head only)

Printed Name:_____________________________________    Date:_______________________________

Name of Sponsoring / Employing Agency (print or type): ____________________________________________________

Agency Address:________________________________________________________________________

Street                                     City/Town                             Zip                                  Agency Phone

MCJA USE ONLY:
 A_____  FL_____  PL_____  NR_____  Memo Sent___________Accept Status:_____        updated 07/2007

Maine Criminal Justice Academy

Law Enforcement Pre-Service Program

Required Clothing/Equipment List

Required Attire for the Classroom:

Department uniform or business casual clothing, no jeans, no t-shirts, no shorts

Required equipment for Classes:

Defensive Tactics Class:

Old uniform or Athletic clothing such as sweatpants and t-shirt

Police Baton and holder or 3+ cell straight flashlight (not required)

Handcuffs with key and holder

Appropriate footwear

Towel and personal toiletries

For First Aid/CPR Class:

CPR Mask

*If you are already certified, you must provide proof of certification at the start of the LEPS program.

Miscellaneous Equipment of students lodging at Maine Criminal Justice Academy:

Personal towels, washcloths, toiletries

Travel Mug, Alarm Clock, Flashlight, Coat Hangers, Personal Fan (some rooms are very warm)

*A pillow is provided, but you may prefer your own

NOTE: As of September 6, 2002, the range portion of the firearms instruction has been removed from the program.  Students are no longer required to provide a firearm or ammunition for this course.

Students will receive a certificate of completion at the conclusion of the LEPS course.  Certification as a law enforcement officer is issued upon being hired by a law enforcement agency and completing firearms qualification with that department.  Once MCJA receives the notice of employment and the firearms qualification form which states that the student has demonstrated proficiency with a department issued or approved weapon to Maine Criminal Justice Academy standards as attested to by an Academy Certified Firearms Instructor the academy will issue a certificate of eligibility with a certification # as a reserve officer. 



MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

Department of Public Safety

15 Oak Grove Road, Vassalboro, Maine  04989

Telephone (207)877-8000

MEDICAL CERTIFICATE

LAW ENFORCEMENT PRE-SERVICE TRAINING PROGRAM

NAME:________________________________________________________________

ADDRES:______________________________________________________________

SPONSOR______________________________________________________________

Dear Examining Physician:

The person named above is being considered for enrollment in the Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training Program.  Laws providing for compensation for injuries make it imperative that this certificate be accurate and complete.  This medical certificate will be used to decide whether the person under consideration is physically qualified for admission to the Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training Program.  Failure to report your findings in the examination might cause this individual great inconvenience.

The physical activities in the Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training Program include warm up exercises and defensive tactics instruction.

The fee for your examination will be paid for by the individual or the department for whom he/she works.

Electrocardiogram, chest x-ray and blood tests are not necessary unless your examination indicates such tests are necessary or desirable.

Please complete the following:

The Examinee is_______    is not_____ qualified to participate in the above described physical training.

NOTE:  If your answer is “not qualified”, please explain: _________________________________________

Thank you.

_________________________                                           ______________________________________

Date                                                                                       Signature of Physician








_______________________________________








   Name Printed 

 MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

BACKGROUND STANDARD FOR ADMISSION TO AND/OR CERTIFICATION

FOR A MANDATORY ACADEMY SCHOOL, RECERTIFICATION, OR WAIVER
In order to be accepted as a participant in mandatory Academy law enforcement or corrections courses, or to be certified or recertified, an applicant must be of good moral character as determined by the hiring or sponsoring agency through a formal background check.  These requirements and standards must be satisfied before consideration of such an application or certification.  An agency presenting an individual for certification, admission to a mandatory Academy course, recertification, or for a waiver from training will attest that the individual meets the standard of having no disqualifying conviction*.  In addition, the applicant shall certify under oath that he or she has no disqualifying conviction and that he or she has not engaged in disqualifying conduct #. A representative of the hiring or sponsoring agency must complete this form with the applicant, including an explanation to the applicant of  #1 and #2 below.

_____________________________________________________________________________

INTERVIEW & STATEMENT OF APPLICANT

Applicant Name: __________________________________   DOB:  ______________________

Home Address: _________________________________________________________________

1. Have you ever been convicted of any crime (including OUI)? ____________

  If yes, provide details on separate sheet, as well as a copy of the official Criminal History Record Information.

2. In addition, have you ever engaged in conduct that would constitute disqualifying conduct#, regardless of whether you were charged? ______________

    If yes, provide details on separate sheet, as well as a copy of the police report if there was police involvement.

I understand that the making of a false statement under oath is a crime punishable by law.

Applicant Signature: _____________________________
Date: _______________

Personally-appeared the above-named ___________________________ and made oath to the truth of the foregoing statement.

_____________________________________________
Date: ______________

Notary Public (or other person authorized to take oath)
______________________________________________________________________________

STATEMENT OF EMPLOYING OR SPONSORING AGENCY

The above-named applicant has been the subject of a background investigation, including the processing of fingerprint cards through SBI and FBI, and a BMV record inquiry, and in the case of an applicant for the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, a polygraph examination and a psychological examination, and such investigation has disclosed no conviction for a disqualifying conviction* or disqualifying conduct#, except for the conviction(s) for which a waiver is being sought.

_____________________________________________
______________________________

Signature of Chief / Sheriff or Agency Head



   Date

Personally-appeared the above-named ___________________________ and made oath to the truth of the foregoing statement.

_____________________________________________
Date: ______________

Notary Public (or other person authorized to take oath)
*See reverse for explanation of disqualifying conviction.  

#See reverse for explanation of disqualifying conduct.

DISQUALIFYING CONVICTION

A disqualifying conviction for which a waiver from the Board of Trustees is required includes the following:

1. Murder;

2. Any Class A, Class B, or Class C crime;

3. Any Class D conviction in the past ten (10) years (including OUI);

4. Any Class E conviction in the past ten (10) years for which the crime is contained in Chapter 15 (theft), Chapter 19 (falsification in official matters), Chapter 25 (bribery and corrupt practices), or Chapter 45 (drugs) of the Maine Criminal Code, Title 17-A, MRSA, or;

5. Any other conviction of a crime or crimes under the laws of the United States or any other state that prohibits the same unlawful conduct described above.

DISQUALIFYING CONDUCT

Disqualifying conduct, regardless of whether the applicant was charged or convicted, for which a waiver from the Board of Trustees is required includes the following:

1. Murder;

2. Any Class A, Class B, or Class C crime; (formerly called felony crime)

3. Conduct specified in 1 or 2 above in another state or other jurisdiction.

WAIVER REQUEST PROCEDURE

A request of the Board of Trustees for a waiver of a disqualifying conviction or disqualifying conduct must be made by the employing or sponsoring agency, and must be made on the form provided by the Board for such purpose, and must include the additional information listed on the form.  The form may be obtained by contacting the Maine Criminal Justice Academy, 15 Oak Grove Road, Vassalboro, ME  04989, and

telephone 877-8000.

Effective October 6, 2008













