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STATE OF MAINE
COMMISSION ON GOVERNMENTAL ETHICS
AND ELECTION PRACTICES
135 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE
04333-0135

To:  Comnissioners
From: Jonathan Wayne, Executive Director
Date: May 22, 2012

Re:  Proposed Finding of Violation against Seven Candidates who have not Registered

Under 21-A M.R.S.A. § 1013-A(1)(A), candidates for gubernatorial, legislative, and
county office are required to appoint a treasurer “[n]o later than 10 days after becoming a
candidate ....” and to register with the Commission within 10 days of appointing a
treasurer, Candidates who are enrolled in a political party were required fo file
nominating petitions with the Secretary of State by March 15, 2012, So, at the latest, the
candidates were required to appoint a treasurer by March 25, 2012, and to register within

10 days after that.

Most candidates are aware of the registration requirement through prior campaign
experience or because they have heard about it from other candidates or the political
parties, To date, 356 House candidates and 86 Senate candidates have registered, along
with 51 county candidates. After registration, most of the candidates are required to file

campaign finance reports with our office.

After the March 15 deadline for petitions, the Commission staff sent forms packets and
letters to unregistered candidates. (Samples are attached.) The staff undertook phone

calls to unregistered candidates as well, when we could find their phone numbers.

OFFICE LOCATED AT: 45 MEMORIAL CIRCLE, AUGUSTA, MAINE

WEBSITE: WWW.MAINE.GOV/ETHICS
PHONE: (207) 287-4179 FAX: (207) 287-6775



Currently, seven candidates for the Maine House of Representatives have not registered:

Philip Polk Alek Fortier
Doreen Christ Andrew Capone-Sprague,
Gregory Kidd ' Debra Black

Michael Carpenter

We mailed the attached Notice of Proposed Finding of Violation today to these seven
candidates, notifying the candidates that they could be found of violation at your May 30

meeting.

We will continue to encourage these final seven candidates to register by May 30, and
will provide you with an update at or before the meeting. If they do not register by May
30, the staff will recommend that the candidates be found in violation of 21-A M.R.S.A.
§ 1013-A(1)(A). Although a statute (21-A M.R.S.A.§ 1020-A(1)) permits you to assess a

penalty of $10 for the violation, the staff is not recommending a monetary penalty.

We regret taking your time up with this matter, but sometimes public attention is

necessary to focus candidates’ attention on their responsibilities.



STATE OF MAINR
COMMISSION ON GOVERNMENTAL ETHICS
AND ELECTION PRACTICES
135 STATE HOUSE STATIGN
AUGUSTA, MAINE
04333-0135

To:  Legislative Candidates
From: Sandy Thompson, Candidate Registrar
Date;: March 27,2012

Re:  Registering with the Ethics Commission

You are listed as a 2012 candidate for the Legislature with the Secretary of State’s office.
The Maine Election Law requires that candidates also register with the Ethics
Commission, This letter is to provide you with the forms for registering as a candidate,

T have enclosed two “Getting Started” packets. Use either the green or blue packet
depending on how you are financing your campaign,

o Maine Clean Llection Act candidates (GREEN packet). 1f you wish 1o participate
in the Maine Clean Election Act program, please use the forms in the green
packet. In addition to the registration form, make sure that you complete and sign
the Declaration of Intent to Seek Certification as a Maine Clean Election Act
Candidate (DOI) within five business days of when you begin {o collect $5
qualifying contributions. Any qualifying confributions collected more than five
business days prior {o the Commission receiving the DOJ will not be counted.
Pleasc also complete the Vendor Form,

o Traditionally financed candidates (BLUE packet). If you are accepting campaign
contributions to pay for your campaign, please use the forms in the blue packet.
At a minimum, please make sure you file the registration form and Voluntary

Expenditure Limits form,

Please mail the completed forms to the Commission — the original signed forms are
required, We also ask that you call our office at 287-4179 to receive a 2012 Candidate
Guidebook, The book explains the campaign finance reports that you will be required fo
file as a legislative candidate. When you call, please let us know whether you will be in
the Maine Clean Election Act program or will be traditionally financed.

Also, please call our office if you have other questions, Our website
(www.maine.gov/ethics) has campaign forms and guides that you may find useful.

Thank you.

OFFICE LOCATED AT: 45 MEMORIAL CIRCLE, AUGUSTA, MAINE

WEBSITE: WWW,MAINE.GOV/ETHICS
PHONE: (207) 287-4179 FAX: (207) 287-6775




STATE OF MAINE
COMMISSION ON GOVERNMENTAL ETHICS
AND ELECTION PRACTICES
135 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE
(4333-0135

Second Notice

To:  Unregistered Legislative Candidates
From: Jonathan Wayne, Executive Director
Date: May 10, 2012

Re:  Registering with the Ethics Commission

You are listed as a 2012 candidate for the Legislature with the Secretary of State’s office.
The Maine Election Law requires that candidates also register with the Ethics
Commission before raising or spending any money for their campaigns. In March, we
sent you a “Getting Started” packet, but we did not receive a registration form from you,

This letter is to provide you with the enclosed forms for registering as a candidate, if you
have not already. Please complete both forms and return them to our office. We have
also included a stamped envelope for your convenience.

If you do not plan on raising or spending any money or if you intend on withdrawing
from the race after the primary election, you still have to register and file campaign
finance reports with the Commission.

If you do not register as a candidate, the staff of the Commission will recommend that
you be found in violation for failure o register at the Commission’s meeting on May 30,
2012.

If you have any questions about these requirements, please call our office at 287-4179.
Our website (www.maine.gov/ethics) also has campaign forms and guides and other
information you may find useful.

Thank you,

Enclosures
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: STATE OF MAINE
COMMISSION ON GOVERNMENTAL ETHICS
AND ELECTION PRACTICES
135 StarE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINg
04333-0135

Notice of Proposed Finding of Violation

To:  Philip Polk, Doreen-Christ, Gregory Kidd, Michael Carpenter, Alek Fortier,
- Andrew Capone-Sprague, Debra Black

From: Jonathan Wayne, Executive Director <
Date: May 22, 2012

Re:  Registering with the Ethics Commission

As a candidate for elective office, you were legally required to register as a candidate with
the Maine Ethics Commission by March 26, 2012 under 21-A M.R.S.A, § 1013-A, The
Commission has sent you notices requesting that you register, but you have not,

This is to notify you that at the May 30, 2012 meeting of the Ethics Commission, the staff
will recommend that the members of the Ethics Commission find you in violation for
failing to register under 21-A M.R.S.A. § 1013-A(1)(A). The Commission members may
assess a civil penalty of $10 under 21-A MLR.S.A. § 1020-A(1) for the violation,

Please register using the attached form as soon as possible fo avoid this enforcement
action, Return the completed registration form to the Commission using the enclosed
s’camped envelope. Any registrations received before May 29 will be removed from the
agenda for Comm1ssmn action. If you have questions, please cail our ofﬁce 287-4179.

Thank you,

Enclosures

OFFICE LOCATED AT; 45 MEMORIAL CIRCLE, AUQUSTA, MAINE
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21-A MRSA §1013-A. REGISTRATION

1. Candidates, their treasurers and political committees, A candidate shall register the candidate’s name
and the name of a treasurer with the commission at least once in each legislative biennium, as provided in this
section, A candidate may have only one ireasurer, who must be appointed pursuant to paragraph A or B, For
purposes of this section, "legislative biennium" means the term of office a person is elected to serve in the
Legislature.

A. No later than 10 days after becoming a candidate and before accepting contributions, making expenditures
or incurring obligations, a candidate for state or county office or a candidate for municipal office who has not
filed a written notice in accordance with section 1011, subsection 4, paragraph A shall appeint a treasurer, The

andidate may serve as treasurer, except that a participating candidate, as defined In section 1122, subsection 6,
or a candidate certified in accordance with section 1125 may not serve as treasurer, except that the candidate
may serve as treasurer or deputy treasurer for up to 14 days after declaring an intention to qualify for campaign
financing under chapter 14 until the candidate identifies another person to serve as treasurer. The candidate
may have only one treasurer, who is responsible for the filing of campaign finance reports under this chapter. A
candidate shall register the candidate's name and address and the name and address of the treasurer appointed

der this section no later than 10 days after the appointment of the treasurer. A candidate may accept

contributions personally or make or authorize expenditures personally, as long as the candidate reports all
contributions and expenditures to the treasurer. The treasurer shall make a consolidated report of alf income and
expenditures and provide this report to the commission,

(1) A candidate may appoint a deputy treasurer to act in the absence of the freasurer. The deputy treasurer,
when acting in the absence of the treasurer, has (he same powers and responsibilities as the treasurer. A
candidate certified in accordance with section 1125 may not serve as deputy treasurer. When a treasurer
dies or resigns, the deputy treasurer may not asswme the position of treasurer unless the candidate appoints
the deputy treasurer to the position of treasurer. The candidate shall report the name and address of the
deputy treasurer to the commission no later than 10 days after the deputy treasurer has been appointed.
{2011, c. 389, §62 {(AFF); 2011, c. 389, §9 {(AMD).}

B. A candidate may authorize one political committee to promote the candidate's election. No later than 10
days after appointing a political committee and before accepting contributions, making expenditures or
incurring obligations, a candidate for state, county or municipal office shali appoint a treasurer of the political
committee, The treasurer of the political committee is responsible for filing campaign finance reports under this
chapter, No later than 10 days after appointing a political committee, the candidate shall register with the
conmunission the following information regarding the political committee:

{1} The name of the committee;

{2) The name and address of the committee's treasurer;

(3) The name of the candidate who authorized the coinmittee; and

(4) The names and addresses of the committee's officers. [19295, <. 483, §4 (AMD)}.]

C. No later than 10 days after becoming a candidate, as defined in section [, subsection 5, a candidate for the
office of State House of Representatives or Senate shall file in writing a statement declaring that the candidate
agrees to accept voluntary limits on political expenditures or that the candidate does not agree to accept
voluntary limits on political expendiiures, as specified in section 1015, subsections 7 to 9. A candidate who has
filed a declaration of intent to become certified as a candidate under the Maine Clean Election Act is not
reguired to file the written statement required by this paragraph.

The statement filed by a candidate who voluntarily agrees to limit spending must state that the candidate knows
the voluntary expenditure Hmitations as sef out in section 1015, subsection 8 and that the candidate is
voluntarily agreeing to limit the candidate’s political expenditures and those made on behalf of the candidate by
the candidate's political commitiee or committees, the candidate's party and the candidate's immediate family to
the amount set by law. The statement must further state that the candidate does not condone and will not solicit
any independent expenditures made on behalf of the candidate,

The statement filed by a candidate who does not agree to voluntarily limit political expenditures must state that
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MRS Title 21-A §1013-A. REGISTRATION

the candidate does not accept the voluntary expenditure limits as set ouf in section 1015, subsection 8. [2007,
c. 443, Pt., A, 8§87 (AMD).]

[ 2011, ¢. 389, §62 (AFF); 2011, <. 389, §9 (AMD} .]

2. Authorized political committees.

{ 1991, c. 839, 8§34 (AFF}); 1991, c. 839, §5 (RP} .]

3. Party committees. The state, district and county committees of parties shall submit to the commission the
names and addresses of all their officers and of their treasurers and the name and address of the principal paid
employee, if any, within 30 days after the appointment, election or hiring of these persons. Municipal committees
must file copies of the same information with the commission and the municipal clerk. District, county and
municipal commiittees that provide their state party committees with the information required by this subsection to
be submiited to the commission have met that requirement. No later than the 2nd Monday in April of each year in
which a general election is scheduled, the state committee of a party shall submit a consolidaied report, including the
information required under this subsection, for the district, county and municipal committees of that party.

[ 1995, <. 483, §5 (AMD} .l

4. Reporting by registered treasurers, Any contribution accepted and any expenditure made or authorized
by or on behalf of a candidate registered under this section or qualified under sections 335 and 336 or sections 354
and 355 must be recorded and reported as provided in sections 1016 and 1017,

[ 1991, <. 839, §34 (AFF}; 1%%1, c. 839, §6 (AMD) .]

5. Changes in registration information, Every change in information required by this section to be reported
to the commission shall be reposted within 10 days of the date of the change.

[ 1989, c. 504, §§4, 31 (NEW) .}

SECTION HISTORY

1989, ¢. 504, §8§54,31 {(NEW). 1989, c¢. 833, §1 (AMD}. 1921, <. 839, §84-6 (AMD).
1991, c. 839, §34 (AFF). RR 1995, ¢. 2, 835 (COR}). 1995, c. 384, §1 (AMD). 1995,
Cc. 483, §84,5 (AMD). 1999, ¢, 729, §1 (AMD). 2007, c. 443, Pt. A, §7 (AMD). 2007,
c. 642, §14 {(AFF}. 2007, c. 642, §9 (AMD). 2009, c. 366, §12 (AFF}. 2009, c.
366, §2 (AMD}. 2011, <. 389, §62 (AFF). 2011, c. 389, §9 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include
the following disclaimer in your publication:

Al copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the Stale of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects
changes made through the First Special Session of the 125th Maine Legislature, is current through December 31, 2011, and is
subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer o the Maine
Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or intepretation of Maine law to the
. public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attomey.




21-A MRSA §1020-A, FAILURE TO FILE ON TIME

1. Registration, A candidate that fails to register the name of a candidate, treasurer or political
commiitee with the commission within the time allowed by section 1013-A, subsection 1 may be assessed a
forfeiture of $10. The commission shall determine whether a registration satisfies the requirements for
timely filing under section 1013-A, subsection 1,

{ 1995, ¢. 483, §15 (NEW} .}

2. Campaign finance reports. A campaign finance report is not timely filed unless a properly signed
or electronically submitted copy of the report, substantially conforming to the disclosure requirements of
this subchapter, is received by the commission by 11:59 p.an, on the date it is due. Except as provided in
subsection 7, the commission shall determine whether a report satisfies the requirements for timely filing,
The commission may waive a penalty in whole or in part if the commission determines that the penalty is
disproportionate to the size of the candidate's campaign, the fevel of experience of the candidate, treasurer
or campaign staff or the harm suffered by the public from the late disclosure. The commission may waive
the penalty in whole or in part if the commission determines the failure to file a timely report was due to
mitigating circumstances, For purposes of this section, "mitigating circumstances” means:

A. A valid emergency determined by the commission, in the interest of the sound administration of
Jjustice, to warrant the waiver of the penalty in whole or inpart; [1999, <. 729, §5 (AMD).)

B. An error by the commission staff;, [1999, ¢. 729, 85 (AMD).]
C. Failnre to receive notice of the filing deadline; or [1999, c¢. 729, §5 (AMD).!

D. Other circumstances determined by the commission that warrant mitigation of the penalty, based
upon relevant evidence presented that a bona fide eftort was made to file the report in accordance with
the statutory requirements, including, but not limited to, unexplained delays in postal service or
interruptions in Internet service. {2009, ¢, 190, Pt, A, §13 (AMD).]

{ 2009, ¢. 180, Pt. A, 8§13 (AMD) .]

3. Municipal campaign finance reports. Municipal campaign finance reports nust be filed, subject
to all the provisions of this subchapter, with the municipal clerk on forms prescribed by the Commission on
Governmentai Ethics and Election Practices. The municipal clerk shall send any notice of lateness required
by subsection 6 and shall notify the commission of any late reports subject to a penalty.

{ 2011, c., 389, §22 (AMD); 2011, cC. 389, 8§62 (AFF) .]

4. Basis for penalfies,

[ 2001, ¢. 470, §7 (AMD); T. 21-A, §1020-A, sub-84 (RP} .]

4-A. Basis for penalties. The penalty for late filing of a report required under this subchapter, except
for accelerated campaign finance reporis required pursuant to section 1017, subsection 3-B, is a percentage
of the total contributions or expenditures for the filing period, whichever is greater, multiplied by the
number of calendar days late, as follows:

A. For the first violation, 1%; (2001, c. 714, Pt. PP, 81 {NEW); 2001, c. 714, PL.
PP, §2 (AFF).]

B. For the 2nd violation, 3%; and [2001, ¢. 714, Pt. PP, §1 (NEW); 2001, c. 714,
Pt, PP, §2 (AFF).}

C. For the 3rd and subSequentviolations, 5%. {2001, c. 714, Pt. PP, 81 (NEW); 2001,
c¢. 714, Pt. PP, §2 (AFF).]




MRS Title 21-A §1020-A, FAILURE TO FILE ON TiME

Any penalty of less than $10 is waived.

Violations accumulate on reports with filing deadlines in a 2-year period that begins on January 1st of each
even-numbered year, Waiver of a penalty does not nullify the finding of a violation.

A report required to be filed under this subchapter that is sent by certified or registered United States mail
and postmarked at least 2 days before the deadline is not subject to penalty.

A registration or report may be provisionally filed by transmission of a facsimile copy of the duly executed
report to the commission, as long as the facsimile copy is filed by the applicable deadline and an original of
the same report is received by the commission within 5 calendar days thereafier.

The penalty for late filing of an accelerated campaign finance report as required in section 1017, subsection
3-B may be up to but no more than 3 times the amount by which the contributions received or expenditures
obligated or made by the candidate exceed the applicable Maine Clean Election Fund disbursement
amount, per day of violation. The comumission shall make a finding of fact establishing when the report was
due prior to imposing a penalty under this subsection. A penalty for failure to file an accelerated campaign
finance report must be made payable to the Maine Clean Election Fund. In assessing a penalty for failure to
file an accelerated campaign finance report, the commission shall consider the existence of mitigating
circumstances. For the purposes of this subsection, “mitigating circumstances” has the same meaning as in
subsection 2.

[ 2007, c. 443, Pt. A, §22 (AMD) .]

5. Maximum penalties.

[ 2001, ¢. 470, §8 {(AMD); T. 21-A, §1020-A, sub-§5 (RP} .}

5-A. Maximum penalties. Penalties assessed under this subchapter may not exceed:

A. Five thousand dolars for reports required under section 1017, subsection 2, paragraph B, C, D, E or
H; section 1017, subsection 3-A, paragraph B, C, D, D-1 or F; and section 1017, subseciion 4;
[2011, c. 389, 823 {(AMD).]

A-1. Five thousand dollars for reports required under section 1019-B, subsection 4, except that if the
financial activity reported late exceeds $50,000, the maximum penalty is 1/5 of the amount reported
late; [2011, ¢. 389, 8§24 (NEW).]

B. Five thousand dollars for state party committee reports required under section 1017-A, subsection
4-A, paragraphs A, B, C and E, except that if the financial activity reported late exceeds $50,000, the
maximum penalty is 1/5 of the amount reported late; [2011, c. 389, 8§25 (AMD).]

C. One thousand dollars for reporis required under section 1017, subsection 2, paragraphs A and F and
section 1017, subsection 3-A, paragraphs A and E; [2003, c. 628, Pt. A, §4 {AMD}.]

D. Five hundred doliars for municipal, district and county committees for reports required under
section 1017-A, subsection 4-B; or [2003, <. 628, Pt. A, §4 (AMD).]

E. Three times the unreported amount for reports required under section 1017, subsection 3-B, if the
unreported amount is less than $5,000 and the commission finds that the candidate in violation has
established, by a preponderance of the evidence, that a bona fide effort was made to file an accurate
and timely report, {2001, <. 714, Pt. PP, §1 (NEW); 2001, c. 714, Pt. PP, §2
{AFF}.]

[ 2011, c. 389, §§23-25 (AMD) .}

6. Request for a commission determination, If the commission staff finds that a candidate or
political committee has failed to file a report required under this subchapter, the commission staff shall mail
a notice by certified mail to the candidate or political committee within 3 business days following the filing
deadline informing the candidate or political committee that a report was not received. If a candidate or a
political committee files a report required under this subchapter late, a notice of preliminary penalty must
be sent fo the candidate or political committee whose registration or campaign finance report was not
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