Resident Lifetime License

Pass on a Maine Tradition .....and a Gift to Last a Lifetime!

What is a Resident Lifetime License?

Lifetime licenses for hunting, fishing, archery, and trapping are now available to residents of Maine who are 65 years of age or older or who are 15 years of age or younger. Applications MUST be received by Inland Fisheries and Wildlife or postmarked BEFORE the child's 6th or 16th birthday.

Your investment in a lifetime license for yourself or as a gift, will allow the bearer to fish and/or hunt for their lifetime, regardless of where they will live in the future. Once purchased, a resident lifetime license is valid for the life of the holder no matter where you live.

Definition of Maine Resident. Resident means a citizen of the United States who has been domiciled in this state, or an alien who has been domiciled in this state for one year. You will not be considered a resident unless:

  1. if registered to vote, registered in Maine;
  2. if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, applied for a Maine motor vehicle license;
  3. if owning a motor vehicle(s) located within the State, registered each vehicle in Maine; and
  4. complied with the State income tax laws (A child is considered a resident if the parent(s) or legal guardian is a Maine resident.).

The lifetime license is not available through license agents and can only be obtained through IF&W's main office in Augusta either in person or by mail. The application along with supporting documentation can be mailed to:

Resident Lifetime License
Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
284 State Street, 41 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0041

Your investment in a lifetime license for yourself or as a gift, will allow the bearer to fish, hunt, or trap for their lifetime, regardless of where they will live in the future. Once purchased, a resident lifetime license is valid for the life of the holder no matter where they live.

Resident Lifetime License Fees

Applications MUST be received by Inland Fisheries and Wildlife or postmarked BEFORE the child's 6th or 16th birthday.
0 through 5 years of age 6 through 15 years of age
Fish
$150.00
Fish
$300.00
Hunt
$150.00
Hunt
$300.00
Archery
$150.00
Archery
$300.00
Trap
$150.00
Trap
$300.00
Fish & Hunt
$250.00
Fish & Hunt
$500.00
Fish & Archery
$250.00
Fish & Archery
$500.00
Hunt & Archery
$250.00
Hunt & Archery
$500.00
Fish, Hunt, & Archery
$400.00
Fish, Hunt, & Archery
$800.00

To upgrade to an adult license a junior hunter who turns 16 years of age must show proof of completing the appropriate safety course. Please mail a copy of the safety course certificate and a copy of your lifetime license to the address below:

Resident Lifetime License
Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
284 State Street
41 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0041


A great gift for the next generation of Mainers!

Lifetime license holders 65 to 69 years of age must purchase all other necessary permits.

65 Year Old
66 Year Old
Fish
$50.00
Fish
$40.00
Hunt
$50.00
Hunt
$40.00
Archery
$50.00
Archery
$40.00
Trap
$50.00
Trap
$40.00
Fish & Hunt
$80.00
Fish & Hunt
$64.00
Fish & Archery
$80.00
Fish & Archery
$64.00
Hunt & Archery
$80.00
Hunt & Archery
$64.00
Fish, Hunt, & Archery
$110.00
Fish, Hunt, & Archery
$94.00


Senior lifetime licenses for ages 65 years and over
may be purchased anytime within the year of their birthday.

67 Year Old
68 Year Old
Fish
$30.00
Fish
$20.00
Hunt
$30.00
Hunt
$20.00
Archery
$30.00
Archery
$20.00
Trap
$30.00
Trap
$20.00
Fish & Hunt
$48.00
Fish & Hunt
$32.00
Fish & Archery
$48.00
Fish & Archery
$32.00
Hunt & Archery
$48.00
Hunt & Archery
$32.00
Fish, Hunt, & Archery
$78.00
Fish, Hunt, & Archery
$52.00


Invest now in the future of Maine's Fish & Wildlife!

69 Year Old
70 and Over
Fish
$10.00

For a one-time fee of $8.00, a senior lifetime license entitles the holder to hunting, trapping, archery, and fishing privileges, including bear hunt, bear trap, muzzleload, migratory waterfowl, pheasant, spring and fall turkey, additional spring turkey, coyote night hunt, crossbow, and one expanded archery antlerless deer permit. (Must still apply for any-deer and moose permits each year when applications become available.)

NOTE: If you purchased a senior lifetime license before age 70, you do NOT have to pay the $8.00 fee, and the permits listed above are included with your lifetime license anytime during the calendar year you turn 70 years of age.

Hunt
$10.00
Archery
$10.00
Trap
$10.00
Fish & Hunt
$16.00
Fish & Archery
$16.00
Hunt & Archery
$16.00
Fish, Hunt, & Archery
$26.00

Saltwater Registry

Customers with a valid lifetime freshwater fishing license who wish to engage in saltwater recreational fishing must register in the Saltwater Registry through the Department of Marine Resources. There is no cost for the actual registration. However, a $1 agent fee applies if they register at DMR’s licensing office, and a $2 agent fee applies if they register online or through a DMR designated agent. Once registered, the person is legal to engage in saltwater recreational fishing for all legal species (including striped bass) for the calendar year. A lifetime freshwater fishing license holder must register each year that the person intends to fish in saltwater.

For more information, Click here

Saltwater Recreational Fishing Registry

Saltwater Recreational Fishing registry FAQ