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Introduction

In 2006, at least 36 states enacted substantive child care and early education legislation.  This is an increase 
of five states over the 31 that enacted legislation in 2005.  Areas of enacted bills included: 

•	 Preschool and School Readiness: preschool expansion, financing, professional development, and creating 
groups such as councils, task forces, and committees  

•	 Child Development: home visits, services for infants and toddlers, and early intervention programs

•	 Quality Initiatives: quality rating systems 

•	 Child Care: eligibility, professional development, training, reimbursement system, licensing, and tax 
credits

Highlights of enacted child care and early education legislation through December 2006 are below, 
organized by topic area.  For more detailed information on the laws referenced in this document, refer to the 
legislation summaries in the attached appendix.

Preschool and School Readiness

At least 22 states enacted legislation that involved preschool or school readiness.  For instance, eight states 
expanded their preschool programs when they allocated additional funding, expanded eligibility, or added 
new programs.  Three states changed how their programs are financed, and four enacted legislation that 
encouraged preschool teachers to pursue professional development.  At least two state legislatures directed 
a department or commission to develop early childhood education program standards.  Ten states either 
affected the governance structure of their preschool programs or created a type of task force.  For example, 
two states changed the governance structure of their early childhood education programs, three states created 
task forces, and two states enacted legislation to develop study committees.   
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Preschool Expansion

To increase access to preschool programs, states allocated additional funding, expanded eligibility, and added 
new programs.  California appropriated $50 million to increase preschool enrollment in low-performing 
school districts.  New York also appropriated $50 million towards its preschool program.  Maine’s legislature 
authorized transfers from the General Fund’s surplus, and gave first priority to the Department of Health 
and Human Services to expand preschool and child care services.  Colorado legislation added 2,000 
preschool slots to the state’s preschool program.  Colorado’s program serves at-risk three, four, and five year 
olds who lack overall school readiness.  It also includes children who receive services from the Department of 
Human Services as neglected or dependent children.  

Two states—Illinois and Texas—expanded eligibility for state preschool programs to incorporate new 
populations.  Illinois’ legislature directed the State Board of Education to expand the current grant program 
in order to provide voluntary preschool for all children ages three to five.  Programs serving primarily at-risk 
children will receive first priority, and the second funding priority will be children whose family income 
is less than four times the federal poverty limit.  The Texas legislature expanded eligibility for the state’s 
preschool program to include the children of active duty members of the armed forces, including the state 
military forces or a reserve component of the armed forces that is ordered to active duty.  These children may 
enroll in the state’s prekindergarten program for free.  

South Carolina reauthorized the First Steps to School Readiness Act and created the South Carolina Child 
Development Education Pilot Program, which focuses on the support that children need to be ready for 
school.  The legislation targeted eight priority districts for the first two years, and permitted remaining 
appropriations to be used to expand the program to other eligible districts.  The program will serve at-risk 
four-year-olds in both public and private settings.  Massachusetts legislators authorized $4.6 million for a 
pilot of the Massachusetts Universal Prekindergarten Program.  

Financing 

Two states passed legislation that impacted how their early childhood programs are financed.  Florida’s 
legislature altered how funds are distributed for the state’s summer prekindergarten program, based on full-
time equivalent student enrollment.  Each district’s enrollment calculations are based on a number that is 
divisible by ten, and if the result is not a whole number, the district’s enrollment calculation is adjusted by 
adding the minimum number necessary to make it evenly divisible by ten.  Kansas allowed school districts 
to spend certain funds on education programs and services for preschool-aged, at-risk children.  It also raised 
the at-risk pupil weighting over the next three fiscal years, from .193 to .456 by fiscal year 2009.  

The Nebraska legislature established the Nebraska Early Childhood Endowment Fund, a public-private 
endowment fund.  Interest and earnings generated from the endowment will be used to fund early childhood 
programs and services for at-risk children.  The bill passed by the legislature specified that the funds will 
benefit children ages birth to three, although the constitutional amendment, passed by voters in the general 
election, defines the target population as children ages birth to five.  

Professional Development

Four states passed legislation to facilitate a preschool teacher’s professional development.  Connecticut 
developed an accelerated, alternate route program to initial teacher certification with an endorsement in early 
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childhood education.  Florida authorized the Agency for Workforce Innovation to administer the Teacher 
Education and Compensation Helps (TEACH) scholarship program.  Illinois passed legislation to permit 
the student teaching requirement for an Early Childhood Certificate to be satisfied through placement 
in any pre-kindergarten through third grade classroom.  Mississippi provided additional compensation 
for teachers holding certain licenses or employed in critical shortage areas.  The law also required a needs 
assessment for an incentive program for teachers or directors that make educational advancements.  

Program Standards

Missouri’s legislation required the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to develop 
standards for early childhood education which would be applicable to public preschool programs that 
received state or federal funds.  The standards must include a focus on cognitive, language, physical, and 
social/emotional development, and highly qualified teachers.  The legislature in New Jersey directed the 
newly-created Commission on Early Childhood Education to develop and recommend standards for 
early childhood education program design, implementation, and assessment, as well as standards for early 
childhood education facilities.

Governance/ Task Forces

Ten states passed legislation to create committees, task forces, or councils related to early childhood care 
and education.  Washington created the cabinet-level Department of Early Learning to coordinate and 
consolidate state activities related to child care and early learning programs.  The new Department will pull 
together over a dozen state programs that involve various aspects of early childhood development, including 
child care and preschool.  It will promote linkages and alignment between early learning programs and 
elementary schools, and support the transition of children from pre-kindergarten to kindergarten.  North 
Carolina transferred its More at Four program and the Office of School Readiness to the Department 
of Public Instruction.  It also gave certain four and five-star rated centers first priority for More at Four 
expansion slots.

Hawaii established an early learning task force and directed it to develop a five-year plan to create an 
early learning system for children ages birth to five.  The legislation specified that the implementation and 
financing should begin with services for four year olds and then expand to incorporate all children under age 
five.  Maryland’s legislators developed a Task Force on Universal Preschool Education.  Wyoming created 
a task force of employees from the Department of Workforce Services and the Department of Family Services 
to perform a statewide child care needs assessment.  The state also created a legislative oversight committee to 
oversee the Department of Workforce Services’ implementation of the quality child care system and to research 
alternative quality child care systems.

Two states—New Hampshire and Vermont— created study committees through legislation.  New 
Hampshire’s legislators focused more broadly and established a committee to identify and assess 
community-based, educational and human services programs that serve families with children ages birth 
through eight.  Vermont formed a prekindergarten study committee to evaluate and make recommendations 
regarding prekindergarten programs in the state.  Idaho’s legislature convened an early education task force, 
although it did so without enacting a law.
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Child Development

Four states enacted legislation which affected their services for infants and toddlers.  Two states expanded 
their home visiting programs, and three states appropriated funds for programs that serve infants and 
toddlers.  Legislatures in six states passed laws that involve their early intervention programs.  They altered 
how services were delivered, expanded programs, and changed how funds were allocated.

Infants and Toddlers

Two states- Iowa and Pennsylvania- expanded home visiting programs.  Iowa added home visitation 
programs as one of the family support services funded and provided under the auspices of the Community 
Empowerment Board.  Pennsylvania’s legislature established the Ounce of Prevention program as a grant 
program for public or non-profit organizations to provide home visitation and other services to low-income, 
at-risk, expectant first-time mothers and their newborn children.

Three states passed legislation that appropriated funds for programs that serve infants and toddlers.  Iowa 
allocated $5 million in each of three fiscal years towards programs for family support services targeted 
towards families either expecting a child or with children ages birth to three.  Maryland required the 
Governor to include a minimum appropriation in the annual budget for the Maryland Infant and Toddlers 
program.  Nebraska, mentioned earlier, will use some of the earnings generated by its Early Childhood 
Endowment Fund to support early childhood programs and services for at-risk children ages birth to three.
  

Early Intervention

Six states passed legislation on early intervention services.  Lawmakers in Maine consolidated and 
reorganized the delivery of early childhood special education programs.  This bill also defined what 
constitutes a disability and specified how early intervention services are to be delivered.  North Carolina’s 
legislature created incentives and sanctions to encourage local educational agencies to improve results for 
children with disabilities ages three through 21.  It also established an Advisory Council to the State Board 
of Education, called the Council on Educational Services for Exceptional Children, to advise the Board 
regarding unmet needs within the state in the education of children with disabilities; comment on rules, 
policies, and procedures regarding the education of children with disabilities; and assist the State Board to 
develop evaluations and report on data required by the federal IDEA.  Washington passed legislation to 
expand its early intervention services.  The state required each school district to provide or contract for early 
intervention services to all eligible children with disabilities ages birth to three, in partnership with local 
birth to three agencies and providers.  A state’s Free and Appropriate Public Education obligation to children 
with disabilities begins at age three, and this legislation seeks to minimize developmental delays amongst 
children with disabilities by providing services beginning at birth.  Additionally, the legislation required 
special educational and training programs provided by the state or school districts to include preschool-aged 
children.  

Two examples of states which re-allocated funds to expand their early intervention programs are Michigan 
and Minnesota.  Michigan’s legislature permitted districts to use funds from a lawsuit settlement for an 
Early Intervening Program, which provides additional behavioral and learning assistance to students from 
kindergarten through third grade.  Minnesota allowed funds formerly appropriated for class size reduction 
and at-risk students to be used to fund early intervention programs.  
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Wyoming required that the Division for Developmental Preschool Services’ contractual payments be 
sufficient for contractors to pay salaries to developmental preschool providers that are competitive with local 
school districts, and to fund staff professional development activities.  The payments also must be sufficient 
to offer adequate services for children ages birth through five with developmental disabilities or delays, and 
for a statewide program to identify children birth to five years old who need developmental services. 

Quality Initiatives

Quality Rating Systems

States continue to develop and implement quality rating systems as one way to improve the quality of their 
early childhood programs.  Legislators in at least seven states enacted measures related to a quality rating 
system.  Tennessee and Minnesota enacted legislation to require an evaluation of the implementation of 
each state’s quality rating system.  Florida’s legislation defined the criteria that child care centers and homes 
must meet in order to obtain and maintain designation as a Gold Seal Quality Care Provider.
  
Legislatures in Massachusetts, Mississippi, Washington, and Wyoming passed legislation that included a 
voluntary quality rating system as a part of efforts to improve the quality of care for children in their states.  
Massachusetts appropriated funds to develop a quality rating system for those programs that participate in 
the prekindergarten pilot program.  Mississippi’s legislation established the Mississippi Child Care Quality 
Step System and developed a pilot voluntary Quality Rating System to be phased in over the next five years.  
The purpose of the rating system is to improve the quality of early care and education and after school 
programs.  Criteria will address administrative policy, professional development, the learning environment, 
parental involvement, and evaluation.  The legislation that created Washington’s Department of Early 
Learning also developed a tiered reimbursement system, which will initially consist of two pilot sites.  
Wyoming’s legislature created a quality child care system for the purpose of supplementing high quality care 
to children.  It will consist of a five-tier quality rating system; incentive payments for higher levels of quality 
care; scholarships for professional development; and technical assistance and quality support.  It also provides 
for a parental education and public awareness program.

Child Care

Numerous states enacted legislation that affects how child care is delivered across a variety of environments 
such as informal settings, family child care homes, and child care centers.  This section provides two 
examples of how states increased access to care by expanding the income eligibility limits for child 
care assistance.  It also shows different ways in which states improved the quality of child care through 
professional development and incentives to encourage providers to pursue additional education.  Several 
state legislatures addressed issues regarding their subsidy reimbursement system, while many others passed 
legislation on licensing regulations.

Eligibility

Three states—Maine, Minnesota, and New Hampshire—passed legislation that expanded access to child 
care assistance.  Maine transferred $2,000,000 to the Department of Health and Human Services to expand 
child care, including Head Start and other child programs and services.  Minnesota appropriated funds 
to increase the basic sliding fee child care assistance grants.  New Hampshire established a Quality Early 
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Learning Opportunity Initiative for children whose family income is between 190% and 250% of the federal 
poverty line and meet all other eligibility requirements for child care assistance.  

Professional Development

Three states passed legislation to increase compensation to child care providers with more education and 
training.  Minnesota passed legislation to reimburse family child care providers who meet certain state-
approved education credentials, and child care centers which are accredited by state-approved organizations, 
at a higher rate.  They will be reimbursed at a 15% differential above the maximum reimbursement rate, up 
to the rate they charge private customers.  Subject to the availability of funds, Washington permitted the 
Department of Early Learning to administer a child care career and wage ladder in licensed child care centers 
that meet specific criteria.  Wyoming established incentives, which could include scholarships or salary 
enhancements, to encourage providers to attain certificates or degrees in early childhood development or a 
related field.  

Washington’s legislature allowed family child care providers who serve Department of Social and Health 
Services (DSHS) subsidized children to be represented by a union and collectively bargain with the state.  
The scope of collective bargaining will be limited to economic compensation (to include subsidy and 
reimbursement rates), health and welfare benefits, professional development and training, labor-management 
committees, grievance procedures, and other economic matters.  New York’s legislature passed a bill to 
permit certain family child care providers who serve publicly subsidized children to be covered by the state 
Public Employees’ Fair Employment Act and the State Labor Relations Act.  The Governor vetoed this bill.  

At least four states enacted legislation that involved training requirements for child care providers.  
Minnesota’s legislature required family child care providers to complete eight hours of early childhood 
development training every year.  It also mandated that all teachers and assistant teachers in a licensed 
child care center must complete first aid training within 90 days of the initial date of employment, and 
repeat this training at least every three years.  South Carolina passed legislation that required all classroom 
personnel in the state’s Child Development Education Pilot Program to attend 15 hours of training annually.  
Utah required recipients of a residential child care certificate to undergo ten hours of annual training, 
including annual CPR and first-aid courses.  Virginia permitted providers in child care centers to distribute 
medication if they complete a training program approved by the State Board of Nursing, and obtain written 
permission from the child’s parent or guardian.

Minnesota legislators passed several bills which affected training requirements for child care providers.  One 
law requires family child care providers to complete eight hours of training each year, and to have at least 
one provider present in the home that has been trained in first aid and CPR.  Another law requires child care 
providers who transport children under age nine to undergo training on the proper use and installation of a 
child restraint system.  

Reimbursement System 

Four states passed legislation that involved their payment systems.  Iowa required the Department of 
Human Services to implement an electronic payment system for the state child care assistance program.  
Minnesota permitted counties to use certain allocations to fund accelerated payments during the conversion 
to the automated child care assistance program.  Under certain conditions, the state also permitted child care 
providers to be reimbursed for up to 10 designated holidays per year, if the holiday falls on a day that the 
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child is authorized to attend.  Rhode Island gave child care providers the option to be paid every two weeks 
and have the option of automatic direct deposit and/or electronic funds transfer of reimbursement payments.  
Tennessee passed legislation that child care providers must receive at least 48 hours advance notice before 
payments for an eligible child may be terminated.   

California required the California Department of Education to implement regional market rate schedules as 
determined by the regional market rate survey conducted in 2005, and to update the family fee schedule.  

Licensing

Numerous states enacted legislation on the licensing practices for child care centers and family child care 
homes.  For example, both Maine and Minnesota passed laws that affected the conditions under which a 
family child care provider must be licensed.  West Virginia’s legislation defined informal family child care 
and directed the Department to create requirements for these types of homes. 

Three states, California, Indiana, and Maine, passed legislation that impacted child care facility inspections.  
California and Iowa passed legislation that required parents to be notified when substantiated complaints or 
abuse have occurred in a child care setting.  

Nebraska and New Jersey passed legislation to evaluate the state’s child care licensing regulations.  Nebraska 
required the Department of Health and Human Services, at least every 5 years, to review and provide 
recommendations to the Governor about updating child care rules and regulations.  New Jersey created the 
Child Care Advisory Council to review licensing laws and regulations and make recommendations. 

Tax Credits

Several states passed legislation that permitted tax credits for certain early childhood care and education 
expenses.  California extended tax credits for startup expenses for child care programs, and Georgia’s 
legislature provided for an income tax credit for qualified child and dependent care expenses.  Colorado 
extended through 2008 the period during which the state’s income tax form will include a voluntary 
contribution designation to benefit The Family Resource Centers Fund.  The Fund will distribute this 
money to one of the state’s family resource centers, which provide community-based services to assist 
families, including early childhood education.   


