Required Job Site Poster Checklist

State of Maine Required Posters

O 1. Minimum Wage 10/12

[ 2. Whistleblower’s Protection Act 7/12

[0 3. Workers’ Compensation (WCB-90) 1/13

L1 4. Occupational Safety & Health Regulations 7/12

O 5. Child Labor Laws 3/14

0 6. Regulations of Employment 7/12

[ 7. Sexual Harassment Poster 10/12

[J 8. Maine Equal Pay Law 6/07

0 9. Maine Employment Security Act 7/12

[0 10. Domestic Violence in the Workplace Poster (Optional)
LI 11. State Wage Determination (on State Funded Projects Only)

Federal Government Required Posters

[ 12. Equal Employment Opportunity It’s the Law (OFCCP 1420) 11/09

[0 13. Fair Labor Standards Act — Federal Minimum Wage (WHD-1088) 7/09

[0 14. Employee Rights on Government Contracts (WHD-1313) 4/09

00 15. Family and Medical Leave Act (WH-1420) 2/13

[1 16. Notice to Workers with Disabilities Paid at Special Minimum Wages (WH-1284)
7/09

[0 17. Employee Polygraph Protection Act (WH1462) 1/16

00 18. Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA)
10/08

00 19. Employee Rights Under the Davis Bacon Act (WH-1321) 4/09

00 20. NOTICE - Federal Aid Projects (FHWA-1022) 5-2015

0 21. Job Safety and Health - It’s the Law (OSHA 3165) Replaces OSHA-2203

0 22. Federal Wage Decision & Additional Project Specific Rates

[0 23. Contractor’'s EEO Policy Statement with EEO Officer’s name and contact

information

Checked by: Date:

Rev. 06/2016
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Labor Standards

Minimum Wage

Labor Laws of the State of Maine provide protection for people
who work in Maine. The Maine Department of Labor administers
the laws, which all employers must follow. Department
representatives inspect workplaces to ensure compliance.
Citations and penalties may be issued to employers who do
not comply.

This poster describes some important parts of the laws. A copy of
the actual laws or formal interpretations may be obtained from
the Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Standards, by calling
(207) 623-7900. (The laws are also on the Bureau's web site.)

This poster is provided at no cost by the Maine Department of Labor and may be copied.

October 1,2009 — Minimum Wage is $7.50 per hour

Maine Law (Title 26
M.R.S.A.§ 668) requires
every employer to
place this poster in

the workplace where

workers can easily see it.

Service Employees

A service employee is someone who regularly receives more than
$30 a month in tips. The employer must pay a cash wage of at
least one-half of the regular minimum wage. If the employee’s
total cash wage combined with the total tips for the week do not
average at least the minimum hourly wage, the employer must
pay the employee the difference in wages. Tips belong to the

be required to pool their tips to be divided evenly among service
employees only.

Exempt From Minimum Wage and Overtime*

¢ Individuals employed in agriculture, except when employed
for or on a farm with over 300,000 laying birds.

¢ Employees whose earnings are from sales commissions and
whose hours and place of employment are not controlled by
the employer.

« Taxicab drivers,

¢ Employees who are counselors, junior counselors or
counselors-in-training at camps licensed under Title 22,
Sec. 2495 and employees under 18, who are employed at
organized camps and similar seasonal recreation programs
not requiring such license if they are operated by a non profit
organization.

¢ People who catch fish or work in farming of marine life.

+ Switchboard operators in public telephone exchanges with
less than 750 stations.

¢ Home workers not supervised or controlled and who buy raw
materials and complete articles for sale.

o Dependent members of the employer’s family.

+ Executive, administrative or professional employees with a
salary of at least $455.00 weekly.

Exempt From Overtime Only*
¢ Processing of sardines or other perishable food products.
¢ Public employees, including fire and police departments.
¢ Automobile salespeople, mechanics, service writers,and parts
clerks who are paid on a commission or flat-rate basis.
+ Drivers and driver’s helpers who are exempt from overtime
under Federal law:

e Are exempt from overtime under Maine law if they are
paid by other than an hourly rate of pay and subject to the
provision of 49 United States Code, Section 31502,

e Are exempt from overtime under Maine law if they are

their rate of pay.

employee providing direct service to the customer. Employees may

covered by a collective bargaining agreement that regulates

o Are exempt from overtime under Maine law if they are
employed by an entity that has a contract with the Federal
Government or an agency of the Federal Government that
dictates the minimum hourly rate they will be paid.

Equal Pay

Employees shall be paid the same wages as employees of the
opposite sex for work that is of a comparable nature in skill, effort
and responsibility. This does not include seniority, merit or shift
differentials which do not discriminate based on sex.

Employers may not discriminate against an employee for
inquiring about, disclosing, comparing or otherwise discussing the
employee’s wages with others.

Board and Lodging

Wages may include reasonable costs to the employer furnishing
food and lodging. Food and lodging must actually be used by the
employee, clearly shown on the employee statement and wage
records, and approved by the Bureau of Labor Standards.

Statements to Employees

Every employer shall give to each employee with the payment
of wages a statement clearly showing the date of the pay period,
hours worked, total earnings and itemized deductions.

Records
Employers shall keep, for three years, accurate records of hours
worked and wages paid to all employees.

Unfair Contracts

An employer cannot make a special contract or agreement with
an employee to exempt that employee from minimum wage or
overtime.

*Note: Maine employers may also be covered under the Federal
Fair Labor Standards Act. For more information, contact the U.S.
Department of Labor Wage and Hour Office at 603-666-7716.

For more information, contact:
Maine Department of Labor
Bureau of Labor Standards
45 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0045
Telephone: 207-623-7900
TTY users call Maine Relay 711
Web site: www.maine.gov/labor/bls
E-mail: webmaster.bls@maine.gov

rev. 10/12




Whistleblower’s Protection Act

Maine Law (Title 26
M.R.S.A. § 839) requires

every employer to

Protection of Employees
Who Report or Refuse to

Labor Standards commit Illegal ACtS

This poster describes some important parts of the law. A
copy of the actual law or formal interpretations may be
obtained from the Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor workers can easily see it.
Standards by calling (207) 623-7900. (The laws are also on the
Bureau’s web site.)

place this poster in

the workplace where

This poster is provided at no cost by the Maine Department of Labor and may be copied.

Itis illegal for your boss to fire you, threaten you, retaliate against you or treat you differently because:
1. You reported a violation of the law;
2. You are a healthcare worker and you reported a medical error;
3. You reported something that risks someone’s health or safety;
4. You have refused to do something that will endanger your life or someone else’s life and you have asked your employer to
correctit;or
5. You have been involved in an investigation or hearing held by the government.

You are protected by this law ONLY if:
1. You tell your boss about the problem and allow a reasonable time for it to be corrected; or
2. You have good reason to believe that your boss will not correct the problem.

To report a violation, unsafe condition or practice or an illegal act in your workplace, contact:
(This information should be filled in by the employer)

(Name) (Title) (Location or Phone)

For more information or to file a complaint under this law, contact:

The Maine Human Rights Commission
51 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333

Tel: (207) 624-6290
TTY users call Maine Relay 711
www.Maine.gov/mhrc

The following agencies may provide useful information on workplace safety and labor laws:

U.S. Department of Labor Maine Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division Bureau of Labor Standards
P.O.Box 554 45 State House Station
Portland, Maine 04112 Augusta, Maine 04333-0045
Tel:(207) 780-3344 (207) 623-7900
www. dol.gov TTY users call Maine Relay 711
Web site: www.maine.gov/labor/bls
U.S. Department of Labor/OSHA E-mail: webmaster.bls@maine.gov

40 Western Avenue
Augusta, Maine 04330
Tel: (207) 626-9160

www. osha.gov

rev.07/12




FOHR DAIES OF INJURY ON AND AFIER JANUARY 1, 2013

WORKERS’
COMPENSATION

WORKERS’
COMPENSATION
BOARD REGIONAL
OFFICES

AUGUSTA
24 Stone Street, Suite 102
Augusta, ME 04330
207-287-2308
1-800-400-6854

LEWISTON
36 Mollison Way
Lewiston, ME 04240-5811
207-753-7700
1-800-400-6857

BANGOR
106 Hogan Road, Suite 1
Bangor, ME 04401
207-941-4550
1-800-400-6856

PORTLAND
62 Elm Street
Portland, ME 04101
207-822-0840
1-800-400-6858

CARIBOU
43 Hatch Drive, Suite 110
Caribou, ME 04736-2347
207-498-6428
1-800-400-6855

Visit our website at:
www.maine.gov/wch
Statewide TTY: Maine Relay 711

Notice to
Employees:

State law requires your employer to provide
workers’compensation insurance for its employ-
ees. Workers'compensation insurance provides
benefits to employees who are injured at work.

If you are injured at work, NOTIFY YOUR
EMPLOYER AT ONCE. You may lose your right
to receive benefits unless your employer is notified
within 30 days of your injury. Your claim is also
subject to a two year statute of limitations. Worker
advocates are available at the Workers’ Compen-
sation Board to help injured workers.

It is against the law for employers to mis-
classify employees as independent contractors
for the purposes of avoiding workers’ compen-
sation insurance, unemployment coverage, or
other employer paid taxes and withholdings.
For more information on laws pertaining to the
hiring of independent contractors, visit the
Worker Misclassification Task Force website at
www.maine.gov/labor/misclass.

If you have any questions about your rights,
please contact one of the regional offices.

A Pintention
desEmployes:

D’apres les lois de I’Etat du Maine, votre employ-
eur est tenu de souscrire a une assurance indemnisant
ses employés victimes d’un accident du travail.

Si vous étes victime d’un accident du travail,
PREVENEZ VOTRE EMPLOYEUR IMMEDI-
ATEMENT. Passé un délai de 30 jours, vous
risquez de perdre vos droits a I'indemnisation.
Au-dela de deux ans, votre déclaration n’est plus
recevable. Pour aider les victimes d’un accident du
travail, le Workers’Compensation Board met des
conseillers juridiques & leur disposition.

La loi interdit aux employeurs de classifier
fallacieusement leurs salari€és comme é€tant des
contractants privés aux fins d échapper a
I'assurance  compensatrice-employé,  aux

indemnités de chomage, ou aux autres charges
et retenues dues par employeur. Pour plus de
détails sur la législation relative a I utilisation
des services privés, visitez le site internet de
Worker Misclassification Task Force (Unité
anti-fraude en matiére de classification des
salariés) : www.maine.gov/labor/misclass.

Si vous n’étes pas stir de vos droits, veuillez
contacter 'un des bureaux régionaux.

Aviso a los
Trabajadores:

La ley del estado de Maine requiere que su
empresario proporcione el seguro de compensa-
ciones para el trabajador a todos los trabajadores.
El seguro de compensaciones para el trabajador
proporciona beneficios a los trabajadores acciden-
tados en el trabajo.

En caso de sufrir accidente o dafio laboral,
NOTIFIQUELO INMEDIATAMENTE A SU
EMPRESARIO. Podria perder el derecho a
recibir compensacién a menos que su empresa-
rio sea notificado de este accidente o daiio en el
plazo de 30 dias. Asi mismo esta reclamacion
debe hacer referencia a unaccidente o dafio que
no haya ocurrido hace més de dos afios. Los
defensores del trabajador estdn disponibles para
proporcionar ayuda a los trabajadores acciden-
tados en el Consejo de Administracién de Com-
pensaciones para el Trabajador (Workers” Com-
pensation Board).

El'hecho de no clasificar a los empleados como
contratistas independientes, con el propésito de
evitar el seguro por compensacion al trabajador,
cobertura para desempleados, U otros impuestos
pagados y retenidos por el empleador; estd en
contra de la ley del empleador. Para mayor infor-
macién acerca de las leyes pertenecientes a la
contratacién de contratistas independientes, visite
el Worker Misclassification Task Force en la
pagina web de www maine.gov/labor/misclass.

En caso de tener cualquier pregunta sobre sus
derechos, favor de dirigirse a una de las oficinas
regionales de compensaciones para el trabajador.

ITALIAN PORTUGUESE SPANISH ENGLISH

FRENCH

Interpreters Available

When calling for assistance, please say the name
of your language in English and an interpreter will
be called for you. Please stay on the line

Tenemos intérpretes a su disposicion

Si necesita que le atiendan en espanol por favor diga
“Spanish” y le conectaremos con un intérprete. Por
favor manténgasce cn la linea

Temos intérpretes a sua disposicio
Se precisar de atendimento em Portugués, por favor

diga “Portuguese” € um intérprete serd prontamente
chamado. Por favor, aguarde na linha

Abbiamo intérpreti disponibili

Se avete bisogno di assistenza in Italiano, Vi preghiamo

di dire “Italian” e un intérprete sard messo a Vostra
disposizione. Vi preghiamo di rimanere in linca,
Des interprétes sont a votre disposition

Lorsque vous appelez pour demander de I'aide,
prononcez le mot “French” et nous mettrons un

interpréte & votre disposition. Pri¢re de rester en ligne
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SOMALI

To the employer: This notice must be posted in a conspicuous place upon your premises accessible to employees. 39-A MRSA §406. The State of Maine does not discriminale on the
basis of disability in admission to, access to, or operation of its programs, services or aclivities.
This poster is available in altemative format. For further assistance, contact the Maine Workers' Compensation Board, ADA Coordinalor, telephone: (888) 801-9087 or TTY (877) 832-5525.

WCB-90 (1/13)




Occupational Safety and Health Regulations

mwmmmn  /VIaine has an Occupational Safety and
[LLABOR Health Law that protects state and local

Labor Standards

for Public Sector Workplaces

Public Sector
employers must

place this poster

government employees from workplace in the workplace
safety and health problems. where workers can

easily seeit.

This poster is provided at no cost by the Maine Department of Labor and may be copied.

How are you protected?

v

v

Your employer must, by law, keep your workplace safe and healthy for workers.

From time to time, safety and health inspectors from the Maine Department of Labor will show up
at your workplace to make sure your employer is following Safety and Health Regulations.

If you think your workplace is unsafe, you can contact the Maine Department of Labor and ask for
an inspection.

Employers and employees may go with the inspector on the inspection of your job site.

Your employer may be cited and penalized if unsafe or unhealthful conditions are found during
an inspection.

Your employer must correct unsafe and unhealthful conditions found during an inspection.

Employers who repeat safety and health violations or who violate the law on purpose may face
fines, civil charges, or criminal charges.

You cannot be fired or discriminated against for filing a safety and health complaint.

Who can you contact to ask for an inspection or
ask for safety and health information?

Maine Department of Labor
Bureau of Labor Standards
45 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0045
or call:(207) 623-7900
TTY users call Maine Relay 711
E-mail: webmaster.bls@maine.gov
Web site: www.maine.gov/labor/bls

rev. 7/12




Child Labor Laws

MAINE Child Labor Laws of the State of Maine provide protection for oy
people under the age of 18 in nonagricultural jobs. The Maine @ ©

Maine Law (Title 26,
M.R.S.A. § 42-B)
requires every

DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR Department of Labor administers the laws, which all employers
must follow. Department representatives inspect workplaces

Labor Standards I Citati d i Bai 4
to ensure compliance. Citations and penalties may be issued to employer to place this
employers who do not comply.
This poster describes some important parts of the laws. A copy of posterin the work-
the actual laws and formal interpretations may be obtained from place where workers

the Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Standards, by calling

(207) 623-7900. (The laws are also on the Bureau web site.) can easily seeit.

This poster is provided at no cost by the Maine Department of Labor and may be copied.

16- & 17- years olds may work in most businesses, however
not in hazardous jobs.

14- & 15-year olds may work in most businesses, except in
most jobs in manufacturing, mechanical, dry cleaners, bakeries,

hotels/motels, and most commercial places of amusement.
Minors under 14 years old may not work in most
businesses by Federal Law.

- Minors under 16 years of age need work permits in
order to work.

. Superintendent of schools certify academic standing.

- Minor allowed only 1 permit during the school year
but 2 during summer vacation.

- Minor cannot work until permit is approved
by Bureau of Labor Standards.

« Employer keeps Bureau-approved permit on file.

Under 16 years old
+ No more than 6 days in a row.
- Cannot work before 7:00 a.m.
« Not after 7:00 p.m. during school year.
« Cannot work after 9:00 p.m. during summer vacation.
When School Is Not in Session
- No more than 8 hours in any one day (weekend, holiday,
vacation or workshop).
- Not more than 40 hours in a week (school must be out
entire week).
When School Is in Session
- No more than 3 hours on a school day, including Friday.
- Not more than 18 hours in a week that school is in session
one or more days.

For more information, contact:

Maine Department of Labor
Bureau of Labor Standards
45 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0045
Telephone: 207-623-7900 or 207-623-7930
TTY users call Maine Relay 711
Web site: www.maine.gov/labor/bls

Youth under 18 years old are not allowed to work at many
hazardous jobs. Contact the Bureau of Labor Standards
for details. For a current list of hazardous jobs see
Federal Regulation 29 CFR, Part 570.

16- & 17- years old (enrolled in school)

« No more than 6 days in a row.

. Cannot work before 7:00 a.m. on a school day.

- Cannot work before 5:00 a.m. on a non-school day.

. Cannot work after 10:15 p.m. the night before a school
day.

« Can work up to midnight when there is no school the
next day.

When School Is Not in Session

« No more than 10 hours in any one day (weekend,
holiday, vacation, or workshop).

- No more than 50 hours in a week.

When School Is in Session

- No more than 6 hours on a school day.

« No more than 10 hours on any holiday, vacation, or
workshop day.

- On last day of school week may work up to 8 hours.

- No more than 24 hours in a week except may work 50
hours any week that approved school calendar is less
than 3 days or during the first and last week of school
calendar.

All employers must keep accurate payroll records for
workers under18. Records must show what time the minor
began work, total hours worked, and what time the minor
finished work each day.

Maine employers may also be covered under the Federal
Fair Labor Standards Act. For more information, contact the
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Office at
603-666-7716 or http://youth.dol.gov/.

rev.03/14




MAINE

DEPARTMENT OF

LLABOR

Labor Standards

Labor Laws of the State of Maine provide protection for people
who work in Maine. The Maine Department of Labor administers
the laws, which all employers must follow. Department
representatives inspect workplaces to ensure compliance.
Citations and penalties may be issued to employers who do
not comply.

This poster describes some important parts of the laws. A copy of
the actual laws or formal interpretations may be obtained from
the Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Standards, by calling
(207) 623-7900. (The laws are also on the Bureau's web site.)

This poster is provided at no cost by the Maine Department of Labor and may be copied.

Regulation of Employment

Maine Law (Title 26
M.R.S.A.§ 42-B) requires

every employer to

place this poster in

the workplace where

workers can easily see it.

Time of Payment

Employees must be paid in full at least every 16 days. Employees
must be notified of any decrease in wages or salary at least one day
prior to the change.

Payment of Wages

Employees who leave a job must be paid in full on the next payday or
within two weeks, whichever is earlier. Any vacation pay earned is due
at the same time.

Severance Pay

Businesses that have 100 or more employees at a single location may
have to provide severance pay to employees if that business location
closes or has a mass layoff.

Unfair Agreement

Employers cannot require that an employee pay for losses such as
broken merchandise, bad checks, or bills not paid by customers, nor
for special uniforms and certain tools of the trade.

Rest Breaks

Most employees must be offered a 30-minute paid or unpaid rest
break after 6 hours of work.

Nursing mothers must be provided with unpaid break time or be
permitted to use their paid break or meal time to express milk. The
employer must make reasonable efforts to provide a clean room or
location, other than a bathroom, where the milk can be expressed.

Family Medical Leave

An employee who has worked for the last 12 months at a workplace
with 15 or more employees can have leave for up to 10 paid or unpaid
weeks in 2 years for:

@ Birth or adoption of a child or domestic partner's child;

@ Serious illness of the employee or immediate family member,
including domestic partner;

4 Organ donation;

@ Death or serious health condition of the employee’s spouse,
domestic partner, parent or child if it occurs while the spouse,
domestic partner, parent or child is on active duty;

# Serious illness or death of a sibling who shares joint living and
financial arrangements with the worker.

At-Will Employment - Under Maine law, an at-will employee
may be terminated for any reason not specifically prohibited
by law. In most instances, you are an at-will employee unless
you are covered by a collective bargaining agreement or other
contract that limits termination. If you have questions about at-
will employment, contact your human resources department or

the Bureau of Labor Standards.

(Federal family medical leave is different. Call 603-666-7716 for more
information.)

Leave for Victims of Violence, Assault, Sexual Assault or Stalking

Must be allowed upon request if an employee (or a child, parent or
spouse of an employee) is a victim of violence, assault, sexual assault
or stalking or any act that would support an order for protection
underTitle 19-A M.R.S.A., c. 101 and the employee needs the time to:

® Prepare for and attend court proceedings; or
@ Receive medical treatment; or
® Obtain necessary services to remedy crisis.

Leave to Care for Family

If the employer’s policy provides for paid time off, the employee must
be allowed to use up to 40 hours in a 12-month period to care for an
immediate family member who is ill,

Mandatory Overtime

Most employers may not require employees to work more than 80
hours of overtime in any consecutive 2-week period. A nurse who has
worked 12 consecutive hours may not be disciplined for refusing to
work additional hours and must be allowed at least 10 hours off after
working 12 hours. (There are exceptions to this law.)

Note: Maine employers may also be covered under the Federal Fair
Labor Standards Act. For more information, contact the U.S. Department
of Labor Wage and Hour Office at 603-666-7716.

For more information, contact:
Maine Department of Labor
Bureau of Labor Standards
45 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0045
located at: 45 Commerce Drive
Telephone: 207-623-7900
TTY users call Maine Relay 711
Web site: www.maine.gov/labor/bls
E-mail: webmaster.bls@maine.gov

rev, 07/12




THE MAINE HUMAN RIGHTS ACT
PROHIBITS SEX DISCRIMINATION

SEXUAL HARASSMENT ON THE JOB IS ILLEGAL

x UNWELCOME SEXUAL ADVANCES

x SUGGESTIVE OR LEWD REMARKS

x UNWANTED HUGS, TOUCHES, KISSES

x REQUESTS FOR SEXUAL FAVORS

x RETALIATION FOR COMPLAINING
ABOUT SEXUAL HARASSMENT

IF YOU FEEL YOU HAVE BEEN DISCRIMINATED AGAINST, CONTACT:

MAINE HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION
51 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0051
PHONE (207) 624-6290 FAX (207) 624-8729 TTY: MAINE RELAY 711
www.maine.gov/mhrc

OR CONTACT YOUR PERSONNEL DEPARMENT:

DEPARTMENT / AGENCY CONTACT

Printed under appropriation: 01094H1010012 (102012 REV)
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Maine Equal Pay

(Title 26, § 628, Chapter 7)

Maine Law requires that employees be paid the same wages as
employees of the opposite sex for work that is of a comparable
nature in skill, effort and responsibility. Are you being paid less
than an employee of the opposite sex for performing the same
or similar job? If so, please ask yourself the following questions.

1. Has the other employee worked for the business or been in that
job longer than | have?

2. Does the other employee have more training, education or
experience related to the job than | do?

3. Is there a merit system in place that rewards employees with
promotion, pay increases or other advantages on the basis of
their abilities or qualifications?

4. Does the other employee have more responsibilities in
comparison to my own responsibilities?

If you cannot answer at least one of the above questions with a “yes,”
you may want to file an Equal Pay Complaint. The Maine Department
of Labor has a printable complaint form which you may access at
www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/wagehour.html or you may call
207-623-7900 and request that an Equal Pay Complaint form be
mailed to you.

Maine Department of Labor
Wage & Hour Division
45 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333

The Maine Department of Labor provides equal opportunity in employment and programs.
Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request.
Phone 623-7900 - Fax 623-7938 - TTY 1-800-794-1110 (Hearing impaired only)

rev. 6/07



MAINE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Bureau of Unemployment Compensation

FULL AND PART-TIME WORKERS
EMPLOYEES OF THIS FIRM ARE COVERED BY THE MAINE EMPLOYMENT SECURITY LAW

1. HOW TO FILE A CLAIM FOR UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS: All new and reactivated claims for
unemployment benefits are filed either by telephone, by Internet, or by mail. Do not delay in filing your claim
once you are out of work. CLAIMS CANNOT BE BACKDATED.

A. BY TELEPHONE: To file a claim for unemployment benefits by telephone, you will need to know your
Social Security Number. Also, you should have the names and addresses of all employers for whom you
worked, and your dates of employment in the last 18 months. Call this toll free telephone number to connect
with the Unemployment Claims Center System:

1-800-593-7660
TTY Users Call Maine Relay 711

LANGUAGE INTERPRETER: We provide language interpreter services in approximately 140 commonly
spoken languages. Arrangements will be made to have an interpreter assist you when you call the
Unemployment Claims Center.

B. BY INTERNET: A claim can be filed on the Internet. The website is: www.filedui.com.

If you do not have a phone or computer, you can still file your claim this way, free of charge, at any
Department of Labor CareerCenter.

C. BY MAIL: In some cases, your employer will give you a claim form. You can also obtain paper claim forms
from any Department of Labor CareerCenter. Mail your initial claim form to the nearest Unemployment
Claims Center:

Maine Department of Labor
Bureau of Unemployment Compensation

97 State House Station P. O. Box 450 P. O. Box 1088
Augusta, ME 04333-0097 Bangor, ME 04402-0450 Presque Isle, ME 04769-1088

2. BASIC ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

A. Earnings During the Base Period: The "base period" is a one-year period that includes four calendar
quarters. To establish a claim, an individual must have earned two times the annual average weekly wage in
Maine in each of two different calendar quarters, and a total of six times the annual average weekly wage in
Maine in the whole base period. In most cases, the Department of Labor has your wage information on file.
If it is not on file, the Department will take steps to obtain it.

B. Separation: If you were laid off from your last job due to a lack of work, no additional investigation is
required. If you separated from your last job for reasons other than lack of work, you will be scheduled for a
fact-finding interview. A determination will then be made regarding your eligibility for benefits.

C. Weekly Requirements: Weekly eligibility requirements include being able to work and being available for
work, making an active search for work (unless your work search has been "waived"), not refusing offers of
suitable work or referral to suitable job opportunities from the CareerCenters.

D. Aliens: If you are not a U.S. Citizen, your Social Security number and/or your Alien Permit number will be
checked with the Department of Homeland Security, Immigration and Naturalization Service.

3. UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS ARE TAXABLE: Unemployment benefits are taxable and have to be reported
when you file your income tax forms.

4. CHILD SUPPORT: If you owe child support that you pay to the Department of Health and Human Services
(DHHS), up to fifty percent (50%) of your unemployment check may be withheld and sent to DHHS.

5. BENEFITS FOR PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT: An employer shall issue a properly completed partial
unemployment claim form to each employee who is customarily employed full-time and who is given less than
full-time hours during a week due to lack of work, and who is not separated from that employer.

CAUTION: This poster is designed to notify individuals of their rights regarding the filing of
claims for unemployment benefits. It does not have the force or effect of law. For more
information, call 1-800-593-7660 toll free.

Me. I-1 (rev. 07/2012) To Be Posted In A Conspicuous Place




Maine Labor Laws on Domestic Violence,
Sexual Assault, and Stalking

Maine laws protect victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking
in employment.

This poster describes some important parts of the laws. A copy of the actual
laws or formal interpretations may be obtained from the Maine Department
of Labor by calling (207) 623-7900.

JOMESTIC

IOLENCE

and the workplace

This poster may be copied.

How You Are Protected

Leave for Victims of Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, or Stalking:

v/ You may take reasonable and necessary leave from employment if you, your child, spouse, or
parent is a victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking. Title 26, § 850.

Unemployment Benefit Eligibility:

v’ If you voluntarily leave work, you may not be disqualified from receiving benefits if your leaving
was necessary to protect yourself from domestic abuse, and you made all reasonable efforts to
keep your job. Title 26, §1193, §§1(A)4

v/ You may not be disqualified from receiving benefits because of misconduct if your actions were
based solely on the need to protect yourself or an immediate family member from domestic
violence, and you made all reasonable efforts to keep your job. Title 26, §1043, §523(B)3

Who You Can Contact for Help

Domestic Violence Hotlines by County Other Resources
Androscoggin 1-800-559-2927 Statewide Domestic Violence Hotline 1-866-834-4357
e L 1:800-439-2327 Statewide Sexual Assault Crisis Line 1-800-871-7741
Cumbfj'rland 1-800-537-6066 TTY 1-888-458-5599
Franklin 1-800-559-2927
Hancock 1-800-315-5579 Maine Department of Labor 207-623-7900
Kennebec 1-877-890-7788 TTY 1-800-794-1110
Knox 1-800-522-3304 Maine Coalition to End Domestic Violence: 207-430-8334
Lincoln 1-800-522-3304 ;
Oifird 1-800-559-2927 Aroostook Band of Micmac 1-800-750-1435
Penobscot 1-800-863-9909 Maliseet Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault Program  207-532-6401
Piscataquis 1-888-564-8165 Passamaquoddy Peaceful Relations 1-877-853-2613
Sagadahoc 1-800-537-6066 ) x<rdh
& e it 1-877-890-7788 Penobscot Ngtlon Domestic Violence and Sexual
Waldo 1-800-522-3304 Assault Services 207-631-4886
Washington 1-888-604-8692 United Somali Women of Maine 207-753-0061
Yor}( . : 1-800-239-7298 Sudanese Development Institute of Maine 207-879-2281
National Domestic Violence Hotline  1-800-799-7233

TTY 1-800-787-3224 Tengo Voz 207-553-2252




Equal Employment Opportunity is

THE

LAW

Private Employers, State and Local Governments, Educational Institutions, Employment Agencies and Labor Organizations

Applicants to and employees of most private employers, state and local governments, educational institutions,

emplovmenl agencies and labor organizations are protect

RACE, COLOR. RELIGION, SEX. NATIONAL ORIGIN

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, protects applicants and

n'm;.‘lu.\--xs from discrimination in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benelits,

uining, classification, ral, and other aspects of employment, on the basis
race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), or national origin. Relig

fiscrimination includes failing to reasonably accommodate an employee's

practices where the accommodation does not impose undue hardship

DISABILITY

Title L and Title V of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended. protect
qualified individuals from discrimination on the basis of di ity in hiring. promaotion
discharge, pay, innge benefits, job training, classification, referral, and other
aspects of employment. Disability discrimination includes not making reasonable
accommodation to the known physical or menta! limitations of an otherwise qualified
individual with a disability who is an applicant or employee, barring undue hardship

AGE

The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, as amended. protects
applicants and employees 40 years of age or older from discrimination based on
age in hinng, promotion, discharge, pay
referral. and other aspects of employment

SEX (WAGES)

In addition o sex discrinuination prohibited by Title V11 of the Civil Rights Act, as
amended, the Equal Pay Act of 1963, as amended, prohibits sex discrimination in
the pavment of wages to women and men performing substantially equal work.
i jobs that require equal skill, effort, and responsibility, under similar working
conditions, in the same establishment

fringe benetits, job training, classification.

| under Federal law from discrimination on the following bases:

GENETICS

Title Il of the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 pre s applicants
and emplayees from discrimination based on genetic information in hiring,
pramotion, discharge, pay. fringe benefits raining, classification. referral, and
other aspects of employment. GINA also restricts employers’ acquisition of genetic
information and strictly limits disclosure of genetic information. Genetic information
of applicants, emplovess, or their family
members; the manifestation of diseases or disorders in family members (iamily
medical history); and requests for or receipt of genetic services by
employees, or their family members.

includes information about genetic te

RETALIATION

All of these Federal la shibit covered entities from retaliating against a
person who files a charge of discrimination, participates in a discrimination
proceeding, or otherwise opposes an unlawful employment practice

WHAT TO DO IF YOU BELIEVE DISCRIMINATION HAS OCCURRED

There are strict time limits for filing charges of employment discrimination. To
preserve the ability of EEOC to act on your behalf and to protect your right to file a
private lawsuit, should you ultimately need o, you should contact EEOC promptly
when discrimination is suspected

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), 1-800-:665-4000
(tolHree) or | 1 (tolkfree TTY number for individuals with hearing

ailable at www.
nment or Federa
. including information about

rov or
rnment
charge

Employers Holding Federal Contracts or Subcontracts

Applicants to and employees of companies with a Federal government contract or subcontract

are protected under Federal law from discrimination on the following bases

RACE. COLOR. RELIGION. SEX. NATIONAL ORIGIN

Executive Order II 246, as amended, prohibits job discrimination on the basis
ol race, ¢© '111 r\ Jimn, and requires affirmative action to
ensure equality of opportunity in all aspects of employment

INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES

Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, protects qualitied
individuals from discrimination on the basis of disability in hiring, promotion,
discharge, pay. fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, and

other aspects of emplovment  Disability discrimination includes not making
reasonable accommodation to the known physical or mental limitations of an
otherwise qualified individual with a disability who is an applicant or employee
barring undue hardship. Section 503 also requires that Federal contractors take
affirmative action to employ and advance in employment qualified individuals
with disabilities at all levels of employment, including the executive level

DISABLED. RECENTLY SEPARATED, OTHER PROTECTED,
AND ARMED FORCES SERVICE MEDAL VETERANS

The Vietnam Era Veterans' Readjusiment Assistance Act of 1974, as amended, 38
LLS.C 4212, prohibits job discrimination and requires affirmative action 1o empl
and advance in employment disabled veterans, recently separated veterans (wit

three vears of discharge or release from active duty), other protected veterans
(veterans who served during a war or in a campaign or expedition for which a
campaign badge has been authorized), and Armed Forces service medal veterans
(veterans who, while on active duty, participated in a US military operation for
which an Armed Forves service medal was awarded)

RETALIATION

Retaliation is prohibited against a person who files a complaint of discrimination
participates in an OFCCP proceeding, or stherwise oppuses discrimination
under these Federal laws

Any person helieves a contractor has violated its nondiscrimination or
affirmative action obligations under the authorities above should conmtact
immediately

The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP), US
Department of Labor. 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington. ).C

20210, 1-800-347-6251 (tolkree) or (202} 6931337 (TTY). OFCCP may ako be
contacted by e-mail at OFCCP-Pub .gov. or by calling an OFCCP regional
or district office, listed in most telephone directories under US. Government,
Department of Labor

Programs or Activities Receiving Federal Financial Assistance

RACE, COLOR. NATIONAL ORIGIN, SEX

In addition to the protections of Title VII of the Civil Kights Act of 1964, as
amended, Title V1 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, prohibits
discrimination on the basis of race, color or national origin in programs o
Emplovment discrimination

activities receiving Federal linancial as
is covered by Title V1 if the primary objective of the linancial assistance is
provision of employment, or where employment discrimination causes or may
cause disciimination in providing services under such programs. Title [X of the
Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits employment discrimination on the
basis of sex in educational pro s or activities which receive Federal finan
assisiance

K.

EEOC 902 and OFCCF 808 Versions Uscable Witk 11,09 Supplement

INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES

Section 54 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, proh
discrimination on the basis of disability in any progra
‘ederal financial assistance. Discrimination is
employment against persons with disabilities who, with or without reaso
accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the job

s employment
v which receives

If you believe vou have been discnminated against in a program of any
ederal financial assistance, you should immediately
Federal agency providing such assistance

institution which receives |
contact the

EEOC-F/E-1 (Remsed 11,/09)



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT

THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE

725 -

BEGINNING JULY 24, 2009

OVERTIME PAY

CHILD LABOR

TIP CREDIT

ENFORCEMENT

ADDITIONAL
INFORMATION

At least 172 times your regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

An employee must be at least 16 years old to work in most non-farm jobs and at least 18 to work in non-farm
jobs declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor.

Youths 14 and 15 years old may work outside school hours in various non-manufacturing, non-mining,
non-hazardous jobs under the following conditions:

No more than
* 3 hours on a school day or 18 hours in a school week;
* 8 hours on a non-school day or 40 hours in a non-school week.

Also, work may not begin before 7 a.m. or end after 7 p.m., except from June 1 through Labor Day, when
evening hours are extended to 9 p.m. Different rules apply in agricultural employment.

Employers of “tipped employees” must pay a cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit
against their minimum wage obligation. If an employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage of

at least $2.13 per hour do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference.
Certain other conditions must also be met.

The Department of Labor may recover back wages either administratively or through court action, for the
employees that have been underpaid in violation of the law. Violations may result in civil or criminal action.

Employers may be assessed civil money penalties of up to $1,100 for each willful or repeated violation of

the minimum wage or overtime pay provisions of the law and up to $11,000 for each employee who is the
subject of a violation of the Act’s child labor provisions. In addition, a civil money penalty of up to $50,000
may be assessed for each child labor violation that causes the death or serious injury of any minor employee,
and such assessments may be doubled, up to $100,000, when the violations are determined to be willful

or repeated. The law also prohibits discriminating against or discharging workers who file a complaint or
participate in any proceeding under the Act.

» Certain occupations and establishments are exempt from the minimum wage and/or overtime pay
provisions.

 Special provisions apply to workers in American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana
Islands.

e Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both.

* The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

« Employees under 20 years of age may be paid $4.25 per hour during their first 90 consecutive calendar days
of employment with an employer.

e Certain full-time students, student learners, apprentices, and workers with disabilities may be paid less than
the minimum wage under special certificates issued by the Department of Labor.

For additional information:
1-866-4-USWAGE ﬂ"‘l

1 -866-487- 9243 TTY: 1-877-889-5627 U.S. Wage and Hour Division

WWW.WAGEHOUR.DOL.GOV

U.S. Department of Labor \ Wage and Hour Division
WHD Publication 1088 (Revised July 2009)



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

ON GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS

THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

This establishment is performing Government contract work subject to (check one)

1 SERVICE CONTRACT ACT (SCA) or
[J PUBLIC CONTRACTS ACT (PCA)

MINIMUM WAGES

FRINGE BENEFITS

OVERTIME PAY

CHILD LABOR

SAFETY & HEALTH

ENFORCEMENT

Your rate must be no less than the Federal minimum wage
established by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

A higher rate may be required for SCA contracts if a wage
determination applies. Such wage determination will be
posted as an attachment to this Notice.

SCA wage determinations may require fringe benefit
payments (or a cash equivalent). PCA contracts do not
require fringe benefits.

You must be paid 1.5 times your basic rate of pay for
all hours worked over 40 in a week. There are some
exceptions.

No person under 16 years of age may be employed on a
PCA contract.

Work must be performed under conditions that are sanitary,
and not hazardous or dangerous to employees' health and
safety.

Specific DOL agencies are responsible for the administration
of these laws. To file a complaint or obtain information for:
Contact the Wage and Hour Division by calling its toll-free
help line at 1-866-4-USWAGE (1-866-487-9243), or visit its
Web site at www.wagehour.dol.gov.

Contact the Occupational Safety and Health Administration

(OSHA) by calling 1-800-321-OSHA (1-800-321-6742), or
visit its Web site at www.osha.gov.

For additional information:

1-866-4-USWAGE WHB

(1-866-487-9243) TTY: 1-877-889-5627

U.S. Wage and Hour Division

WWW.WAGEHOUR.DOL.GOV

U.S. Department of Labor | Employment Standards Administration | Wage and Hour Division

WHD Publication 1313 (Revise

ed Apr I);U‘
Ve b



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

UNDER THE FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

LEAVE
ENTITLEMENTS

BENEFITS &
PROTECTIONS

ELIGIBILITY
REQUIREMENTS

REQUESTING
LEAVE

EMPLOYER
RESPONSIBILITIES

ENFORCEMENT

Eligible employees who work for a covered employer can take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12-month period
for the following reasons:

+ The birth of a child or placement of a child for adoption or foster care;
s To bond with a child (leave must be taken within 1 year of the child’s birth or placement);
» To care for the employee's spouse, child, or parent who has a qualifying serious health condition;
« For the employee's own qualifying serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the employee’s job;
» For qualifying exigencies related to the foreign deployment of a military member who is the employee’s spouse,
child, or parent.
An eligible employee who is a covered servicemember’s spouse, child, parent, or next of kin may also take up to 26 weeks
of FMLA leave in a single 12-month period to care for the servicemember with a serious injury or iliness.

An employee does not need to use leave in one block. When it is medically necessary or otherwise permitted, employees
may take leave intermittently or on a reduced schedule.

Employees may choose, or an employer may require, use of accrued paid leave while taking FMLA leave. If an employee
substitutes accrued paid leave for FMLA leave, the employee must comply with the employer’s normal paid leave policies.

While employees are on FMLA leave, employers must continue health insurance coverage as if the employees were not on leave.

Upon return from FMLA leave, most employees must be restored to the same job or one nearly identical to it with
equivalent pay, benefits, and other employment terms and conditions.

An employer may not interfere with an individual's FMLA rights or retaliate against someone for using or trying to use FMLA leave,
opposing any practice made unlawful by the FMLA, or being involved in any proceeding under or related to the FMLA.

An employee who works for a covered employer must meet three criteria in order to be eligible for FMLA leave. The employee must:

» Have worked for the employer for at least 12 months;
» Have at least 1,250 hours of service in the 12 months before taking leave;* and
* Work at a location where the employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles of the employee’s worksite.

*Special “hours of service” requirements apply to airline flight crew employees.

Generally, employees must give 30-days’ advance notice of the need for FMLA leave. If it is not possible to give 30-days’ notice,
an employee must notify the employer as soon as possible and, generally, follow the employer's usual procedures.

Employees do not have to share a medical diagnosis, but must provide enough information to the employer so it can determine
if the leave qualifies for FMLA protection. Sufficient information could include informing an employer that the employee is or
will be unable to perform his or her job functions, that a family member cannot perform daily activities, or that hospitalization or
continuing medical treatment is necessary. Employees must inform the employer if the need for leave is for a reason for which
FMLA leave was previously taken or certified.

Employers can require a certification or periodic recertification supporting the need for leave. If the employer determines that the
certification is incomplete, it must provide a written notice indicating what additional information is required.

Once an employer becomes aware that an employee's need for leave is for a reason that may qualify under the FMLA, the
employer must notify the employee if he or she is eligible for FMLA leave and, if eligible, must also provide a notice of rights and
responsibilities under the FMLA. If the employee is not eligible, the employer must provide a reason for ineligibility.

Employers must notify its employees if leave will be designated as FMLA leave, and if so, how much leave will be designated as
FMLA leave.

Employees may file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, or may bring a private lawsuit
against an employer.

The FMLA does not affect any federal or state law prohibiting discrimination or supersede any state or local law or collective
bargaining agreement that provides greater family or medical leave rights.

For additional information or to file a complaint: E2E]

1-866-4-USWAGE B

(1-866-487-9243) TTY: 1-877-889-5627

www.dol.gov/whd =WHD

U.S. Department of Labor | Wage and Hour Division

WH1420 REV04/16



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

FOR WORKERS WITH DISABILITIES PAID AT SPECIAL MINIMUM WAGES
THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

This establishment has a certificate authorizing the payment of special minimum wages to workers who are disabled for the work they
are performing. Authority to pay special minimum wages to workers with disabilities applies to work covered by the Fair Labor
Standards Act (FLSA), McNamara-O'Hara Service Contract Act (SCA), and/or Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act (PCA). Such
special minimum wages are referred to as “commensurate wage rates” and are less than the basic hourly rates stated in an SCA wage
detemination and less than the FLSA minimum wage of $7.25 per hour beginning July 24, 2009. A “commensurate wage rate” is
based on the worker’s individual productivity, no matter how limited, in proportion to the wage and productivity of experienced warkers
who do not have disabilities that impact their productivity when performing essentially the same type, quality, and quantity of work in
the geographic area from which the labor force of the community is drawn.

WORKERS WITH For purposes of payment of commensurate wage rates under a certificate, a worker with a
disability is defined as:
DISABILITIES d

» An individual whose earnings or productive capacity is impaired by a physical or mental
disability, including those related to age or injury, for the work to be performed.

« Disabilities which may affect productive capacity include blindness, mental iliness,
mental retardation, cerebral palsy, alcoholism, and drug addiction. The following do
not ordinarily affect productive capacity for purposes of paying commensurate wage
rates: educational disabilities; chronic unemployment; receipt of welfare benefits;
nonattendance at school; juvenile delinquency; and correctional parole or probation.

KEY + Nondisabled worker standard—The objective gauge (usually a time study of the
ELEMENTS OF production of workers who do not have disabilitie; thztlimpair their prgductivity for the job)
against which the productivity of a worker with a disability is measured.
COMMENSURATE . Prevailing wage rate—The wage paid to experienced workers who do not have disabilities
WAGE RATES that impair their productivity for the same or similar work and who are performing such work in
the area. Most SCA contracts include a wage determination specifying the prevailing wage
rates to be paid for SCA-covered work.
« Evaluation of the productivity of the worker with a disability—Documented
measurement of the production of the worker with a disability (in terms of quantity and quality).

The wages of all workers paid commensurate wages must be reviewed, and adjusted if appropriate,
at periodic intervals. At a minimum, the productivity of hourly-paid workers must be reevaluated
at least every six months and a new prevailing wage survey must be conducted at least once
every twelve months. In addition, prevailing wages must be reviewed, and adjusted as appropriate,
whenever the applicable state or federal minimum wage is increased.

OVERTIME Generally, if you are performing work subject to the FLSA, SCA, and/or PCA, you must be paid
at least 11, times your regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

CHILD LABOR Minors younger than 18 years of age must be employed in accordance with the child labor
provisions of FLSA. No persons under 16 may be employed in manufacturing or on a PCA
contract.

FRINGE Neither the FLSA nor the PCA have provisions requiring vacation, holiday, or sick pay nor other

BENEFITS fringe benefits such as health insurance or pension plans. SCA wage determinations may

require such fringe benefit payments (or a cash equivalent). Workers paid under a
certificate authorizing commensurate wage rates must receive the full
fringe benefits listed on the wage determination.

WORKER Each worker with a disability and, where appropriate, the parent or guardian of such worker,
NOTIFICATION shall be informed orally and in writing by the employer of the terms of the certificate under
which such worker is employed.

PETITION Workers with disabilities paid at special minimum wages may petition the Administrator of the

PROCESS Wage and Hour Division of the Department of Labor for a review of their wage rates by an
Administrative Law Judge. No particular form of petition is required, except that it must be
signed by the worker with a disability or his or her parent or guardian and should contain the
name and address of the employer. Petitions should be mailed to: Administrator, Wage and
Hour Division, U.S. Department of Labor, Room S$-3502, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W.,
Washington, D.C. 20210.
Employers shall display this poster where employees and the parents and guardians of workers
with disabilities can readily see it.

For additional information:

U.S. Wage and Hour Division

(1-866-487-9243) TTY: 1-877-889-5627

WWW. WAGEHOUR DOL.GOV

U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division

WH 1284
Revised July 2009



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

EMPLOYEE POLYGRAPH
PROTECTION ACT

THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

The Employee Polygraph Protection Act prohibits most private
employers from using lie detector tests either for pre-employment
screening or during the course of employment.

PROHIBITIONS Employers are generally prohibited from requiring or requesting any employee
or job applicant to take a lie detector test, and from discharging, disciplining, or
discriminating against an employee or prospective employee for refusing to take a
test or for exercising other rights under the Act.

EXEMPTIONS Federal, State and local governments are not affected by the law. Also, the
law does not apply to tests given by the Federal Government to certain private
individuals engaged in national security-related activities.

The Act permits polygraph (a kind of lie detector) tests to be administered in
the private sector, subject to restrictions, to certain prospective employees of
security service firms (armored car, alarm, and guard), and of pharmaceutical
manufacturers, distributors and dispensers.

The Act also permits polygraph testing, subject to restrictions, of certain
employees of private firms who are reasonably suspected of involvement in a
workplace incident (theft, embezzlement, etc.) that resulted in economic loss to
the employer.

The law does not preempt any provision of any State or local law or any collective
bargaining agreement which is more restrictive with respect to lie detector tests.

EXAMINEE RIGHTS Where polygraph tests are permitted, they are subject to numerous strict
standards concerning the conduct and length of the test. Examinees have a
number of specific rights, including the right to a written notice before testing, the
right to refuse or discontinue a test, and the right not to have test results disclosed
to unauthorized persons.

ENFORCEMENT The Secretary of Labor may bring court actions to restrain violations and assess
civil penalties up to $10,000 against violators. Employees or job applicants may
also bring their own court actions.

THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER
WHERE EMPLOYEES AND JOB APPLICANTS CAN READILY SEE IT.

For additional information: -w ".

1 -808-541 -1 361 WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
i

www.dol.gov/whd _ == _

the Employee Palygraph Protection Act
U.S. Department of Labor | Wage and Hour Division WHid62 REV 01116




YOUR RIGHTS UNDER USERRA

THE UNIFORMED SERVICES EMPLOYMENT
AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT

USERRA protects the job rights of individuals who voluntarily or involuntarily leave employment positions to undertake
military service or certain types of service in the National Disaster Medical System. USERRA also prohibits employers
from discriminating against past and present members of the uniformed services, and applicants to the uniformed services.

REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS

HEALTH INSURANCE PROTECTION

You have the right to be reemployed in your civilian job if you leave that
job to perform service in the uniformed service and:

¥ you ensure that your employer receives advance written or verbal
notice of your service;

#c  you have five years or less of cumulative service in the uniformed

services while with that particular employer;

you return to work or apply for reemployment in a timely manner

after conclusion of service; and

% you have not been separated from service with a disqualifying
discharge or under other than honorable conditions.

b4

If you are eligible to be reemployed, you must be restored to the job and
benefits you would have attained if you had not been absent due to
military service or, in some cases, a comparable job.

RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION

If you leave your job to perform military service, you have the right
to elect to continue your existing employer-based health plan
coverage for you and your dependents for up to 24 months while in
the military.

Even if you don't elect to continue coverage during your military
service, you have the right to be reinstated in your employer's
health plan when you are reemployed, generally without any waiting
periods or exclusions (e.g., pre-existing condition exclusions) except
for service-connected illnesses or injuries.

ENFORCEMENT

If you:

¥ are a past or present member of the uniformed service;
# have applied for membership in the uniformed service; or
r  are obligated to serve in the uniformed service;

then an employer may not deny you:

s initial employment;
reemployment;

retention in employment;
promotion; or

any benefit of employment

B X xh

bt

because of this status.

In addition, an employer may not retaliate against anyone assisting in
the enforcement of USERRA rights, including testifying or making a
statement in connection with a proceeding under USERRA, even if that
person has ne service connection.

2

A,
b

The U.S. Department of Labor, Veterans Employment and Training
Service (VETS) is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints
of USERRA violations

For assistance in filing a complaint, or for any other information on
USERRA, contact VETS at 1-866-4-USA-DOL or visit its website at
http://www.dol.gov/vets. An interactive online USERRA Advisor can
be viewed at http://www.dol.gov/elaws/userra.htm

If you file a complaint with VETS and VETS is unable to resolve it,
you may request that your case be referred to the Department
of Justice or the Office of Special Counsel, as applicable, for
representation.

You may also bypass the VETS process and bring a civil action
against an employer for violations of USERRA.

The rights listed here may vary depending on the circumstances. The text of this notice was prepared by VETS, and may be viewed on the internet at
this address: http://www.dol.gov/vets/programs/userra/poster.htm. Federal law requires employers to notify employees of their rights under USERRA,
and employers may meet this requirement by displaying the text of this notice where they customarily place notices for employees.

U.S. Department of Labor
1-866-487-2365

U.S. Department of Justice Office of Special Counsel

=0

1-800-336-4590
Publication Date—0October 2008




EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

UNDER THE DAVIS-BACON ACT

FOR LABORERS AND MECHANICS
EMPLOYED ON FEDERAL OR FEDERALLY
ASSISTED CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS

THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

PREVAILING
WAGES

OVERTIME

ENFORCEMENT

APPRENTICES

PROPER PAY

(1-866-487-9243) TTY: 1-877-889-5627

You must be paid not less than the wage rate listed in the Davis-Bacon
Wage Decision posted with this Notice for the work you perform.

You must be paid not less than one and one-half times your basic
rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a work week. There are few
exceptions.

Contract payments can be withheld to ensure workers receive wages
and overtime pay due, and liquidated damages may apply if overtime
pay requirements are not met. Davis-Bacon contract clauses allow
contract termination and debarment of contractors from future federal
contracts for up to three years. A contractor who falsifies certified
payroll records or induces wage kickbacks may be subject to civil or
criminal prosecution, fines and/or imprisonment.

Apprentice rates apply only to apprentices properly registered under
approved Federal or State apprenticeship programs.

If you do not receive proper pay, or require further information on the
applicable wages, contact the Contracting Officer listed below:

Maine Department of Transportation
Civil Rights Office

Attn: Rick Stephens

207-624-3056
richard.w.stephens@maine.gov

or contact the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division.

For additional information:
1-866-4-USWAGE SWHD

U.S. Wage and Hour Division

WWW.WAGEHOUR.DOL.GOV

U.S. Department of Labor i Employment Standards Administration | Wage and Hour Division

WH 1321(Revised April 2009)



NOTICE

The highway construction underway at this location is a
Federal or Federal-aid project and is subject to applicable
State and Federal laws, including Title 18, United States
Code, Section 1020, which reads as follows:

“Whoever, being an officer, agent, or employee of the United States, or any
State or Territory, or whoever, whether a person, association, firm or
corporation, knowingly makes any false statement, false representation or false
report as to the character, quality, quantity, or cost of the material used or to be
used, or the quantity or quality of the work performed or to be performed, or the
costs thereof in connection with the submission of plans, maps, specifications,
contracts, or costs of construction of any highway or related project submitted
for approval to the Secretary of Transportation; or

Whoever, knowingly makes any false statement, false representation, false
report, or false claim with respect to the character, quality, quantity or cost of
any work performed or to be performed, or materials furnished or to be
furnished, in connection with the construction of any highway or related project
approved by the Secretary of Transportation; or

Whoever knowingly makes any false statement or false representation as to
a material fact in any statement, certificate, or report submitted pursuant to the
provision of the Federal Aid Road Act approved July 11, 1916 (39 Stat. 355) as
amended and supplemented,

Shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than five years, or both.”

Any person having reason to believe this statute is being
violated should report the same to the agency representative(s)
named below.

State Transportation Agency U.S. Department of Federal Highway Administration
Transportation Division Administrator
Hotline for

Fraud, Waste, & Abuse
1-800-424-9071

FHWA Form-1022 (Revised May2015)



Job Safety and Health

v, ny - \ .
Occupational Safety : = 2 {. g
e and Health Administration i i \ #

Contact 0SHA. We can help.

All workers have the right to:

A safe workplace.

Raise a safety or health concern with
your employer or OSHA, or report a work-
related injury or illness, without being
retaliated against.

Receive information and training on job
hazards, including all hazardous substances in
your workplace.

Request an OSHA inspection of your
workplace if you believe there are unsafe or
unhealthy conditions. OSHA will Keep your
name confidential. You have the right to have a
representative contact OSHA on your behalf.

Participate (or have your representative
participate) in an OSHA inspection and
speak in private to the inspector.

File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days
(by phone, online or by mail) if you have been
retaliated against for using your rights.

See any OSHA citations issued to your
employer.

Request copies of your medical records, tests
that measure hazards in the workplace, and
the workplace injury and illness log.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Employers must:

* Provide employees a workplace free from
recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate
against an employee for using any of their
rights under the law, including raising a health
and safety concern with you or with OSHA, or
reporting a work-related injury or illness.

= Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.

* Report to OSHA all work-related
fatalities within 8 hours, and all inpatient
hospitalizations, amputations and losses
of an eye within 24 hours.

* Provide required training to all workers in a
language and vocabulary they can understand.

* Prominently display this poster in the workplace.

* Post OSHA citations at or near the place of
the alleged violations,

FREE ASSISTANCE to identify and correct
hazards is available to small and medium-
sized employers, without citation or penalty,
through OSHA-supported consultation
programs in every state.

1-800-321-OSHA (6742) - TTY 1-877-889-5627 . www.osha.gov




U.S. Department of Labor POV

The purpose of the discussion below is to advise contractors which are subject to the Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act or the Senvice Contract
Act of the principal provisions of these acts.

Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act

General Provisions — This act applies to contracts which exceed or may exceed $10,000 entered into by any agency or instrumentality
of the United States for the manufacture or fumishing of materials, supplies, articles, or equipment. The act establishes minimum wage, maximum
hours, and safety and health standards for work on such contracts, and prohibits the employment on contract work of convict labor (unless certain
conditions are met) and children under 16 years of age. The employment of homeworkers (except homeworkers with disabilities employed under
the provisions of Regulations, 29 CFR Part 525) on a covered contract is not permitted.

In addition to its coverage of prime contractors, the act under certain circumstances applies to secondary contractors performing work under
contracts awarded by the Govermment prime contractor.

All provisions of the act except the safety and health requirements are administered by the Wage and Hour Division.

Minimum Wage — Covered employees must currently be paid not less than the Federal minimum wage established in section 6(a)(1) of
the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Overtime — Covered workers must be paid at least one and one-half times their basic rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 a
week. Overtime is due on the basis of the total hours spent in all work, Government and non-Govemment, performed by the employee in any
week in which covered work is performed.

Child Labor — Employers Mmay protect themselves against unintentional child labor violations by obtaining certificates of age. State employment
or age certificates are acceptable.

Safety and Health — No covered work may be performed in plants, factories, buildings, or surroundings or under work conditions that
are unsanitary or hazardous or dangerous to the heafth and safety of the employees engaged in the performance of the contract. The safety and
health provisions of the Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act are administered by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

Posting — During the period that covered work is being performed on a contract subject to the act, the contractor must post copies of Notice
to Employees Working on Govermment Contracts in a sufficient number of places to permit employees to observe a copy on the way to or from
their place of employment.

Responsibility for Secondary Contractors — Prime contractors are liable for violations of the act committed by their covered
secondary contractors.

Service Contract Act

General Provisions — The Service Contract Act applies to every contract entered into by the United States or the District of Columbia,
the principal purpose of which is to fumish services in the United States through the use of service employees. Contractors and subcontractors
performing on such Federal contracts must observe minimum wage and safety and health standards, and must maintain certain records, unless
a specific exemption applies.

rates and fringe benefits required are usually specified in the contract but in no case may employees doing work necessary for the performance
of the contract be paid less than the minimum wage established in section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Service contracts which do not exceed $2,500 are not subject to prevailing rate determinations or to the safety and health requirements of the
act. However, the act does require that employees performing work on such contracts be paid not less than the minimum wage rate established
in section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act,

sumoundings or under working conditions, provided by or under the control or supervision of the contractor or subcontractor, which are unsanitary

Notice to Employees — On the date a senvice employee commences work on a contract in excess of $2,500, the contractor (or sub-
contractor) must provide the employee with a notice of the compensaticn required by the act, The posting of the notice (including any applicable
wage determination) contained on the reverse in a location where it may be seen by all employees performing on the contract will satisfy this
requirement,

Notice in Subcontracts — The contractor s required to insert in all subcontracts the labor standards clauses specified by the regulations
in 29 CFR Part 4 for Federal service contracts exceeding $2,500.

Responsibility for Secondary Contractors — Prime contractors are liable for violations of the act committed by their covered
secondary contractors.

Other Obligations — Observance of the labor standards of these acts does not relieve the employer of any obligation he may have under
any other laws or agreements providing for higher labor standards.

Additional Information — Additional Information and copies of the acts and applicable regulations and interpretations may be obtained
from the nearest office of the Wage and Hour Division or the National Office in Washington D.C. Information pertaining to safety and health standards
may be obtained from the nearest office of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration or the National Office in Washington, D.C.

U.S. Department of Labor
Employment Standards Administration
Wage and Hour Division

U.5. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1996 - 421-004/59075



