
 
Required Job Site Poster Checklist 

 
State of Maine Required Posters 

 
 1. Minimum Wage 12/16 
 2. Whistleblower’s Protection Act  7/12 
 3. Workers’ Compensation (WCB-90)  1/13 
 4. Occupational Safety & Health Regulations  7/12 
 5. Child Labor Laws  3/14 
 6. Regulations of Employment  7/12 
 7. Sexual Harassment Poster  10/12 
 8. Maine Equal Pay Law  6/07 
 9. Maine Employment Security Act  12-16 
 10. Domestic Violence in the Workplace Poster (Optional) 
 11. State Wage Determination (on State Funded Projects Only) 
 

Federal Government Required Posters 
 
 12. Equal Employment Opportunity It’s the Law (OFCCP 1420)  11/09 
 13. Fair Labor Standards Act – Federal Minimum Wage (WHD-1088)  7/09 
 14. Employee Rights on Government Contracts (WHD-1313)  4/09 
 15. Family and Medical Leave Act (WH-1420)  2/13 
 16. Notice to Workers with Disabilities Paid at Special Minimum Wages (WH-1284)  

7/09 
 17. Employee Polygraph Protection Act (WH1462)  1/16   
 18. Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA)  

10/08  
 19. Employee Rights Under the Davis Bacon Act (WH-1321)  4/09 
 20. NOTICE – Federal Aid Projects (FHWA-1022)  5-2015 
 21. Job Safety and Health - It’s the Law (OSHA 3165) Replaces OSHA-2203 
 22. Federal Wage Decision & Additional Project Specific Rates 
 23. Contractor’s EEO Policy Statement with EEO Officer’s name and contact      

information 
 
 

 
Checked by: _______________________________________ Date: ________________ 
 
Rev. 03/2017                             
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rev. 12/16

Minimum Wage

This poster is provided at no cost by the Maine Department of Labor and may be copied.

For more information, contact:
Maine Department of Labor
Bureau of Labor Standards 

45 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine 04333-0045 

Telephone:  207-623-7900 
TTY users call Maine Relay 711. 

Web site: www.maine.gov/labor/bls 
Email: mdol@maine.gov

Maine Law (Title 26 
M.R.S.A. § 668) requires
every employer to
place this poster in
the workplace where
workers can easily see it.

Bureau of Labor Standards

Labor Laws of the State of Maine provide protection for 
people who work in Maine.  The Maine Department of 
Labor administers the laws, which all employers must 
follow. Department representatives inspect workplaces to 
ensure compliance. Citations and penalties may be issued to 
employers who do not comply.

Minimum Wage is $9.00 per hour effective January 7, 2017

Exemptions from Overtime 
Maine statutes incorporate by reference the salary 
requirements under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). 
The new minimum salary requirement will be $519.24 per 
week. Salary is only one factor in determining whether 
a worker is exempt from overtime under federal or state 
law. The duties of each worker must be considered as part 
of this analysis. Failure to adhere to both requirements—
meeting the duties test and the weekly salary 
threshold—will result in violations of both federal or state 
law or of one jurisdiction or the other depending on the 
discrepancies in the laws.

Statements to Employees 
Every employer shall give to each employee with the 
payment of wages a statement clearly showing the 
date of the pay period, hours worked, total earnings and 
itemized deductions.

Recordkeeping  
Employers shall keep, for three years, accurate records of 
hours worked and wages paid to all employees.

The Department of Labor enforces state wage and hour 
laws. Employers with questions about the law may call 
207-623-7900 or may visit the department’s webpage. 

Minimum Wage Guidance
http://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/minimum_
wage_faq.html

http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec664.html

Overtime Guidance
http://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/overtime.html

http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec664.html

*Note: Maine employers may also be covered under the 
federal Fair Labor Standards Act. For more information, 
contact the U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Office 
at 603-666-7716.

Minimum Wage
Under Maine labor laws, any business operating in the 
state with one employee is automatically covered by 
state law. This includes all public and private employers 
regardless of profit or size. Effective January 7, 2017, the 
minimum wage in Maine is $9 per hour.

Municipal Minimum Wage Ordinances 
Employers with employees who work in Bangor and/
or Portland or any other municipality that passes a local 
minimum wage ordinance, may be subject to additional 
regulations and should check with municipal officials.

Service Employee 
A service employee is someone who regularly receives 
more than $30 a month in tips. As of January 7, 2017, 
employers must pay a direct wage of at least $5 per 
hour to service employees. If the employee’s direct wage 
combined with earned tips do not average, on a weekly 
basis, the state required minimum wage, the employer 
must pay the difference. 

Overtime 
Unless specifically exempted, employees must receive 
overtime pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a 
workweek at a rate not less than time and one-half their 
regular rates of pay.  Employers have the right to allow or 
deny overtime, but if overtime is worked, it must be paid 
in accordance with state requirements. Compensatory or 
“comp” time cannot be used by private-sector employers, 
although private-sector employers can allow employees 
to flex their time within the work week (but not the pay 
period if the pay period is longer than a seven day cycle 
in the work week).

http://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/minimum_wage_faq.html
http://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/minimum_wage_faq.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec664.html
http://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/overtime.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec664.html
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Maine Employment Security Law

This poster is provided at no cost by the Maine Department of Labor and may be copied.

Maine Department of Labor

Bureau of Unemployment Compensation
 
 

97 State House Station, Augusta, ME  04333-0097

P. O. Box 450, Bangor, ME 04402-0450

P. O. Box 1088, Presque Isle, ME 04769-1088

Maine Law (Title 26 
M.R.S.A. § 668) requires 
every employer to 
place this poster in 
the workplace where 
workers can easily see it.

Bureau of Labor Standards

Full- and Part-Time Workers

Basic eligibility requirements
Earnings during the base period:  The “base period” is 
a one-year period that includes four calendar quarters. 
To establish a claim, an individual must have earned two 
times the annual average weekly wage in Maine in each of 
two different calendar quarters, and a total of six times the 
annual, average, weekly wage in Maine in the whole base 
period. In most cases, the Department of Labor has your 
wage information on file. If it is not on file, the Department 
will take steps to obtain it.
 
Separation:  If you were laid off from your last job due to a 
lack of work, no additional investigation is required. If you 
separated from your last job for reasons other than lack of 
work, you will be scheduled for a fact-finding interview. A 
determination will then be made regarding your eligibility 
for benefits.
 
Weekly requirements:  Weekly eligibility requirements 
include being able to work and being available for work, 
making an active search for work (unless your work 
search has been “waived”), not refusing offers of suitable 
work or referral to suitable job opportunities from the 
CareerCenters.
 
Aliens:  If you are not a U.S. Citizen, your Social Security 
Number and/or your Alien Permit number will be checked 
with the Department of Homeland Security, Immigration 
and Naturalization Service.
 
Unemployment benefits are taxable:  Unemployment 
benefits are taxable and have to be reported when you file 
your income tax forms.
 
Child support:  If you owe child support that you pay to 
the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), up 
to fifty percent (50%) of your unemployment check may be 
withheld and sent to DHHS.
 
Benefits for partial unemployment:  An employer shall 
issue a properly completed partial unemployment claim 
form to each employee who is customarily employed full-
time and who is given less than full-time hours during a 
week due to lack of work, and who is not separated from 
that employer.
 

How to file a claim for unemployment benefits   
All new and reactivated claims for unemployment benefits 
are filed either online, telephone or by mail.  Do not delay 
in filing your claim once you are out of work.  
Claims cannot be backdated.
 
When filing, you will need to know your Social Security 
Number.  Also, you should have the names and addresses 
of all employers for whom you worked, and your dates of 
employment in the last 18 months.
	  
	 To file online:  www.file4ui.com
	 This is the fastest, easiest way to file.
	  

	 To file by phone: 1-800-593-7660  

	 TTY Users Call Maine Relay 711.

	 All individuals filing for Unemployment Insurance 		
	 benefits are required by law to be registered with the 		
	 Maine JobLink. Visit www.mainecareercenter.gov 
	 to access Maine JobLink.

	 We provide language interpreter services in 
	 approximately 140 commonly spoken languages.  		
	 Arrangements will be made to have an interpreter 
	 assist you when you call the Unemployment Claims 		
	 Center.
 
	 To claim by mail:  In some cases, your employer will 
	 give you a claim form. Mail your initial claim form to 		
	 your nearest Unemployment Claims Center listed below.

Bureau of Unemployment Compensation

This poster is designed to notify individuals of their rights 

regarding the filing of claims for unemployment benefits.  

It does not have the force or effect of law.  For more 

information, call 1-800-593-7660 toll free.

http://www.file4ui.com









































