School Is In Session
Lots of movement! Please pay particular
attention to:
School Buses
As school buses return to the roads,
children gather at bus stops. Slow
down and watch for children. Flashing
yellow lights mean "caution the bus will
be stopping". Be prepared to stop.
Never pass a bus with flashing red
lights.
School Zones
This is the time of year when teens
are driving back and forth to attend
school, after-school activities, athletic
practices and events.
Be alert, watch for:
o Entering and exiting buses
o Students walking or riding bikes
o Adults dropping off students
o Students converging within the
school area
Child Passenger Safety
Everyone is in a hurry. Please take the time
to make sure your child is safely secured
in the vehicle.

The MTSC

Recognizes the health and safety benefits of
wearing your seat belt. Maine law requires all
occupants to be properly secured. Children
under 12 years old must be properly secured
in the back seat. FMI including proper child
seat and booster seat use call 1-800-698-
3624, ext. 4288.

Seasonal Traditions
Fall offers a host of traditions such as viewing
foliage, hunting, harvests, back to school
activities, homecomings, Halloween and
Thanksgiving. To be safe throughout the fall:
Never Drink and Drive
Be responsible. If you'll be operating a vehicle,
refrain from alcohol or drug use, or if you
choose to drink, arrange for a designated
driver. Never ride in a vehicle that is being
operated by someone who has been drinking
or using drugs.
Share the Road
© Watch for ATV's or farm machinery that
may be crossing or traveling along a
roadway.
© Be particularly cautious during times of
dusk or darkness. All pedestrians
should ensure that they are visible by
wearing reflective clothing or
accessories.
® Be on the lookout for walkers, bikers
and joggers-give them plenty of space.
Stay Alert and Keep Your Eyes on
the Road
Pull safely off the roadway to view the fall
foliage. Do not pull over if there is not
adequate room along the shoulder.
Pay attention to traffic if you are standing
along the roadside. Do not stop along
the Maine Turnpike or Interstate
Highways unless it is an emergency.
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The Maine Transportation Safety Coalition (MTSC)

is an independent, non-profit organization of
transportation safety advocates. Its mission is to
promote safe transportation in Maine.




Operators and passengers in a vehicle on a
public way, including a right-of-way, are
prohibited from consuming alcohol or possessing
an open alcoholic beverage container. The
vehicle operator is responsible for any violation
of this law.

The monetary amount of property damage for
which a motor vehicle crash must be reported is
$1,000 or greater.

Persons under the age of 19 are prohibited from
riding in the back of a truck with a few exceptions
such as when in parades or for workers in work
related vehicles.

The fine for walking or standing on railroad tracks
or bridges carries a fine of $5-$100 for the first
offense, $100-$500 for a second offense and
$500-$1,000 for a third and subsequent offenses.

The Bicycle Safety Act requires operators and
passengers of bicycles under the age of 16 to
wear bicycle helmets.

Operators of motor vehicles must yield to
pedestrians within any part of a marked
crosswalk that is not regulated by a traffic control
device.

Failure to yield the right of way to a visually
impaired person is a specific traffic infraction,
with fines no less than $50 or no more than
$1,000.

(Head-On and Run Off Road) are the deadliest
crash type in Maine, resulting in about 70% of the
state's traffic fatalities.
Stay in your lane by driving at a safe and legal
speed and paying attention to the driving task .
Be aware of the road conditions and drive
accordingly.

Greatly increases your risk of a crash. Keep
yourself and others out of danger by:
Obeying all signs and traffic signals
Maintaining a safe following distance
Passing only where it's safe and legal to do so
Traveling at a safe speed

Maine State Police........c..c........ 1-800-452-4664
(Cellular 911)

Maine Turnpike Authority........... 1-800-675-PIKE

(Travel Conditions) (7453)
AAA s 1-800-222-4357
MaineDOT Travel Information............ Dial 511 or

go to www.511maine.gov

Turn your lights on when the early
morning or late afternoon sun is low
AND when it's foggy or raining. Be sure
pedestrians and other drivers see YOU!
Also adjust to changing sun glare
conditions.

Don't be lulled into a false sense of
security because summer repairs and
construction are nearing completion.
Observe posted warnings, flagpersons
and speed limits.

Stay alert for deer, moose, bear, or other
wildlife that can enter the roadway at any
time. Crashes with deer increase
dramatically in the fall and peak in
November. Headlights do not reflect off
the eyes of a moose. Scan the

roadway and roadsides and drive at a
safe speed to increase your chances of
avoiding a collision.

Wet leaves or early morning ice can
make roads slick, especially in shaded
areas. Know the road conditions and
drive accordingly. Bridges do freeze
before most road surfaces!



