Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

MEMA Home > Response >Response Regions

Emergency Response Regions

response triangle

Map of Maine's response regions, showing locations of Regional Response Teams and Decontamination Strike Teams. Each region also has a specially trained Incident Management Assistance Team and mobile command vehicles. Click on the map to view it in full size.

Maine's rural nature makes it a challenge for any one community to support all the response resources it would need to manage a catastrophic emergency. Likewise our emergency response forces are largely volunteer. To deliver the high level of specialized training needed for a large-scale response to every individual department and responder would be virtually impossible.

To address these challenges, Maine has developed a system of regional response. Six response regions in the state have been identified. Within those regions, equipment has been procured and placed, and Incident Management Assistance Teams (IMAT), drawn from a number of departments within the region, have been formed and trained.

IMATs are prepared to respond with people and equipment to major emergencies in the state, to support the local Incident Commander. Their role is to assist in the coordination of a complex response. IMATs deploy only on request of the affected area.

The six Regions are organized generally upon County lines. However, where communities have closer geographic ties or existing partnerships to a neighboring county, they are included in that region instead.

Coverage Areas by Region:

  1. Cumberland, York
  2. Franklin, Oxford, Androscoggin
  3. Somerset, Kennebec
  4. Penobscot, Piscataquis, Hancock, Washington
  5. Aroostook
  6. Sagadahoc, Lincoln, Knox, Waldo

For more information on Maine's response regions and IMATs, talk with your County Emergency Management Director or contact us.


Last update: 02/12/08