Organizational Structure

The Commission appointed Amy M. Sneirson as its Executive Director in December of 2011. The Executive Director appoints and supervises the Commission's staff.

The Commission has four major divisions.


This division is responsible for litigation activity as well as providing legal advice to the staff and Commission. The Commission Counsel assures Investigator's Reports are litigation worthy, provides legal opinions, drafts legislation and proposed regulations, litigates cases and advises the Executive Director on contract matters involving governmental agencies and private parties. Barbara Archer Hirsch was appointed as Commission Counsel in September, 2013.


The Investigation Division is responsible for all aspects of case processing from determining whether or not allegations are legally sufficient to constitute a complaint of discrimination within the jurisdiction of the Maine Human Rights Act, to issuing Investigator's Reports which analyze facts and apply the law of discrimination and relevant Court decisions and recommending specific findings to the Commission.

Victoria Ternig is the Commission's Chief Field Investigator. She is responsible for supervising Field Investigators Robert Beauchesne, Michele Dion, Angela Tizón, and Alice Neal.


The Compliance Division is responsible for all settlement efforts of the agency. The Compliance Manager has direct responsibility for negotiating conciliation agreements after findings of reasonable grounds and conducting both written and on site monitoring of such agreements to insure that terms are met. The Compliance Manager sets overall negotiation strategy, reviews and monitors pre-determination settlement agreements, and facilitates the Commission's Third Party Neutral Mediation Program. The Compliance Manager also provides technical assistance to employers in reviewing Affirmative Action Plans and personnel policies and is involved in the public education efforts of the Commission.


The Administration Division is the division responsible for the effective operation of the office. Responsibilities include all personnel functions along with budget and other fiscal duties. Support is provided to other divisions.

Melody Piper is the Commission's Support Service Administrator. Office support personnel are Case Controller Cindy Rocque, Assistant Case Controller, Kimberly Weeks, and Intake Officer Cheryl McAllister.

For a detailed listing of staff contact information please visit the CONTACT US section of our website.