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.Before You Dig
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Careless digging causes disruption of utility services, costly
damage, and personal injury. So before you dig, drill or blast,
or do anything else that disturbs the ground using mechanical
equipment, make sure you fully understand Maine’s rules for
safe digging.

* Pre-mark the boundaries of your proposed excavation with
white paint, flags or stakes — before calling Dig Safe®. Add
the excavator’s initials to the pre-mark so locators know
they are at the right site. If using a single stake to pre-mark,
indicate the radius of the proposed excavation.

» Call 1-888-DIGSAFE at least three business days before
digging or drilling.

* For emergency excavations, pre-mark and call Dig Safe.
Dig Safe handles emergency locating requests 24 hours
per day, 7 days per week.

» Before blasting, notify Dig Safe at least one business day
in advance.

* Notify “non-member” utilities, such as towns or cities
and small utilities, since they may provide water, sewer,
electric or other services.

* Re-notify Dig Safe and non-member utilities if the project
does not occur within 30 calendar days or if the area to be
excavated expands beyond the pre-marked area.

* For jobs involving several subcontractors, the excavator
actually doing the digging must make sure the project has
a Dig Safe job ticket.

* If Dig Safe, non-member utilities in the area and the
property owners notify you that there are no utilities in
the work area, you may start work immediately.
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» Maintain all marks. If marks are lost, call Dig Safe and
non-member utilities for a re-mark.

* Hand dig when within 18 inches — in any direction — of
marked lines, until they are exposed. Mechanical methods
may be used for initial site penetration, such as removal
of pavement or rock.

s If you find unmarked utilities, immediately notify the utility
owner. Treat them as “live” until the owner visits the site
and identifies them as abandoned.

* Do not backfill over unmarked or damaged lines without
permission from the utility owner.

*» Remember, Dig Safe requirements are in addition to street
opening permit requirements of your town or city and/or
the state DOT.

* If damage to a line occurs, and safety is a concern, imme-
diately call 911 or the local fire department. For all events,
notify the affected utility right away.

* You are required to report facility “hits,” unmarked or
mismarked lines and other observed violations to the
Public Utilities Commission (PUC). By filing an Incident
Report with the PUC, you're helping make Maine a safer
place to work. For an Incident Report form, visit
www.maine.gov/mpuc or call the PUC.

The PUC is taking an active enforcement role. The conse-
quences for non-compliance are serious, and may include
fines that could reach $5,000 or more.

This card is only part of the story. For more on Maine’s Dig
Safe requirements, check out the PUC Dig Safe brochure
and rule.

Maine Public Utilities Commission
242 State Street

18 State House Station N\ Dig Safe System, Inc.
Augusta, ME 04333-0018 / 1-888-DIGSAFE (1-888-344-7233)

(207) 287-3831 / 800-452-4699 ~/ www.digsafe.com
www.maine.gov/mpuc
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