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800-300-5000 (in state)  
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TTY: please call Maine Relay 711 

Other brochures and additional consumer 
information are also available on our website. 

www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance 

The Maine Bureau of Insurance regulates the insurance in-
dustry to protect and to serve the public. 
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NOTES 

 

Although the Bureau can give general insurance 
information, and help when violations of 
insurance law have occurred, the Bureau cannot 

 Force an insurer to satisfy you if no insurance 

laws have been violated. 

 Act as your lawyer or give legal advice. 

 Resolve a dispute when the only evidence is your 

word against the word of the company. 

 Make medical judgments. 

 Determine who is responsible for the damage to 

your vehicle. 

http://www.state.me.us/pfr/ins/ins_index.htm
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What To Do If You Have An Auto Accident 

 

 Write down the name, address, and license 

number of everyone involved in the accident.  

 Write a description of the other vehicles involved 

and any damage to them, and note other details 
such as the weather conditions and visibility. 

 Call the police, even if the accident is minor. You 

must report an accident that results in bodily 

injury, death, or apparent property damage of 
$1,000 or more. 

 Write down the name and address of anyone who 

may have witnessed the accident.  

 Immediately contact your insurance company or 

agent to report your claim. Most companies 

provide claims service 24 hours a day. 

 Promptly notify the police if a hit-and-run driver 

is involved. 

 Permit the insurance company to inspect and 

appraise the damaged vehicle before its repair or 
disposal. 

 Promptly notify the police if your vehicle is stolen. 

 

You have the responsibility to comply with the specific 
duties that are outlined in your auto policy. They are 

listed in the section of your policy titled “Conditions.” 
Failing to comply with the specific terms and 
conditions listed in your policy could lead to denial of 
coverage or even provide grounds for cancellation of 

the policy. Make sure that you know what your 
responsibilities are if you are involved in a motor 
vehicle accident.   
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HOW TO USE THIS BROCHURE 
 
This brochure is meant to be used only as a guide 
when you shop for auto insurance. We have tried to 
explain some commonly used insurance words to help 
you better understand the types of auto insurance 
you can buy, what coverages are required by law, 
and what each type of insurance covers should you 

have to file a claim. 

How do I shop for insurance? 

The key to comparison shopping is 
to know what insurance coverage 
you need before you start. Once 
you know what you want, you can 
find out how much the coverage 

will cost from different companies. 
Comparison shopping takes time, 
but it will save you money. The 
only way you can make sure you 
are not paying too much is to shop 
around and find out what different 

companies charge for the same 
products and services. 

Where can I get information? 

Information is available to consumers from a number 
of impartial sources. These sources include public 
libraries, consumer groups, the Internet, and 
consumer publications. 

Because the insurance industry, like many other 
industries, has developed many terms that are not 

commonly used by the average person, you may 
need to find a glossary or dictionary of insurance 
terms from your public library. The Property/Casualty 
Division of the Maine Bureau of Insurance can also 
help you with any questions or problems you may 

have about your auto insurance. 
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Check the newspaper and yellow pages of the 
telephone book for companies and producers in your 
area. You can ask your neighbors, relatives, and 
friends for their recommendations on insurance 

companies and producers. Also ask them about their 
experience with price and service, and the kind of 
claim service they have received from the companies 
they recommend. 

INFORMATION INSURERS NEED WHEN YOU 

APPLY FOR INSURANCE  

When you shop for car insurance, premium 
quotations are useful to compare different companies’ 
products. When you ask for price quotations, make 

sure that you give the same information to each 
producer or company to get a fair comparison. 

Insurance companies look at many factors when they 
set the price you pay for insurance. Your premium is 
affected by your driving record; where you live; your 
age; your marital status; how much you drive; the 
age, make, and model of your car; and your car’s 

safety features, among other factors. Here is more 
information about some of these factors: 

 Driving Record:  The policy application will ask 

about your driving record. Insurers will ask for 
information about accidents and moving 

violations for any driver covered by the policy for 
the prior three to five years. Drivers with 
previous violations or at-fault accidents are 
considered to be a higher risk and may be 
charged a higher premium. 

 Territory: The claims experience of people in your 

area will also affect your rates. Applications 
include a question that asks for the address 
where the vehicle will be garaged. From this 

information insurers can tell a great deal about 
your risk of financial loss. Insurers know from 
their claims experience that more claims are 
made from city areas than country areas (busy 
traffic, thefts, vandalism, etc.). 
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Mid-term Changes in the Policy:  Changes you 
make to your policy near a billing date will generally 
not show in the next bill. The amount shown as due 
should be paid; any adjustments will be made with 

the following bill.  

 

IF YOU HAVE AN AUTO ACCIDENT 

If you are involved in a motor vehicle accident, 
knowing what to do can make the experience less 
frustrating and prevent complications. Use the list 

below only as a guide. During the claim investigation, 
the company may request information other than 

what is listed on the next page. 

NOTE: Maine law does not require a grace 
period for paying property and casualty 
insurance premiums.  

If you do not make a payment when it is due, your 

policy can be cancelled for nonpayment of premium. 
Insurers are not required to offer you additional 
time to make your payment. 
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Canceling your Policy in the Middle of the Policy 
Term (Short-Rate Cancellations) 

A short rate cancellation may apply when you decide 
to change to another company in the middle of a 

policy term.  In most cases, your insurance company 
will keep 10% of the unearned premium when you 
request cancellation before the policy expires. This 
charge covers the expenses the company incurs when 
it issues a policy. Once the cancellation of the old 
policy has been processed and the short-rate 

cancellation charge is applied, the new policy may no 

longer be a "bargain."  Companies generally allow an 
exception to the short-rate cancellation if you no 
longer own the vehicle. 

 

BILLING PROCEDURES AND FEES 

Installment Fees: Rather than requiring the whole 
premium to be paid at the beginning of the policy 
period, most companies offer the option of paying in 

semi-annual, quarterly, or monthly installments. If 
you decide to pay in installments, an installment fee 
may be applied. This fee covers the additional 
expense of sending you multiple bills and processing 

multiple payments. 

Fees for Insufficient Funds: Companies may be 
allowed to charge a fee when payments made by 
check, electronic transfers, or credit/debit cards are 
rejected by your financial institution.  

Late Fees or Reinstatement Fees:  Companies 

may be allowed to charge a late fee or a 
reinstatement fee when your payment is not received 
by its due date. A late fee can be applied if your 
payment is received late. A reinstatement fee can be 
applied if your policy is cancelled for nonpayment of 

premium and then is reinstated.  

 5 

 

 Gender and Age: Statistics show that males still 

have more accidents than females. For that 
reason, young men may tend to pay more for 
insurance than young women. Insurers also have 

statistics that show a higher number of claims for 
some age groups than for others. 

 Marital Status: Insurance company claims records 

show that married policyholders have fewer claims 
than unmarried policyholders. 

 Prior Insurance Coverage: Insurers want to know 

if you have been insured and if your prior 
coverage was canceled or nonrenewed. Your 
premiums may be higher if your prior coverage 
lapsed while you were required by law to have 
insurance. Cancellation and nonrenewal actions by 
other insurers may also affect the premium 

charged or coverage offered.  

 Vehicle Mileage: On the application you will be 

asked about how often 

and how far you drive the 

vehicle you want to 
insure. Higher annual 
mileage generally means 
higher premiums because 
it creates a greater 

exposure to claims. 

 Vehicle Use: You will also 

be asked how the vehicle is used. You must 

specify whether you drive to work or school, or 
use it for pleasure use or business use. Different 
ratings apply to each of these uses. Policies 
typically exclude coverage if you rent or lease  

your vehicle to others or use it to carry people or 
property (such as newspapers, mail or food) for a 
fee. Share-the-expense carpooling is usually an 

acceptable use, but participating in a 
transportation network company arrangement is 
typically not, and most policies exclude all 
coverage while a vehicle is used for that purpose. 
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 Make and Model of the Vehicle: The type of car 

you drive will directly affect the cost of your 
automobile insurance. A make or model of car 
with a high number of claims or higher repair 

costs will be charged a higher premium for 
comprehensive and collision coverage.  

 Licensed Drivers in Your Household: You will be 

asked to list all licensed drivers in the household. 
Insurers may also want to know the ages of 
anyone who could become a driver in the near 

future. (Maine law defines “license” as an 
operator’s or driver’s license or other permit to 
operate a motor vehicle.) 

 Claim History: You will be asked to list any 

automobile claims that you or any other drivers in 
the household have had during the past three to 

five years. If you had prior insurance, your new 
insurer may ask your prior company about any 
claims you had.  

 Credit History: A company may also request to 

check your credit history to decide whether to 

issue a policy or to determine the appropriate 
premium to charge; however, if an insurer makes 
an unfavorable underwriting decision based on 
credit history, it must tell you how you can 

request a copy of your credit report. When you 
receive your report, it is important to make sure 
that it contains correct information. Correct any 
mistakes that you find on the report.  

 

DISCOUNTS 

 
Insurance companies give discounts to those they see 
as "better risks." Ask about the type of discounts 
offered by each company before you buy.  

Maine law requires every auto insurance company to 

provide a discount for liability, medical payments, and 
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WHAT IS LOAN/LEASE COVERAGE? 

If you purchased a new car with only a small down 
payment or with no money down and you financed a 
large part of the cost, you may owe more money than 

the car is worth. This gap exists because the policy 
compensation for vehicle damage is based on the 
vehicle’s  actual cash value (the cost to replace your 
vehicle less an amount for its depreciation); not on 
what you paid for the car.  

Loan/lease coverage (sometimes called GAP 
coverage) can help cover this gap. It may pay the 

difference between the actual cash value of the car at 
the time of loss and the remaining balance you owe 
on the loan, depending upon the terms of the 
coverage. Any portions of the balance involving 
interest for late payments, roll-over amounts from a 
prior loan, or additional purchases such as the cost of 

an extended warranty are not covered. When 
purchased as part of your insurance policy, this 
coverage is generally inexpensive. Not all insurers 
offer this type of coverage. 

 

OTHER COST FACTORS 

Surcharges (extra premium charges)  

Surcharges are used to spread the cost of automobile 
insurance among policyholders as fairly as possible.  

For example, a driver who has a clean driving record 
pays the lowest possible rates while a surcharge may 

apply to the premium for a driver who is at-fault in an 
accident or who is convicted of a moving violation. 

The surcharge is not a flat fee and is not designed to 
recover money that was paid out for any prior claims. 
Surcharges are usually applied for three policy years 
following the accident or conviction. 
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OTHER OPTIONAL COVERAGES 

CD Players, GPS Navigation Units, Satellite 
Radio, DVD Players and other audio or visual 

electronic equipment are generally covered under 
collision and comprehensive coverages if they are 
permanently installed in the vehicle. Many 
policies may limit coverage to $1,000 for some 
installed equipment, but you may be able to buy 
higher limits.  

Portable electronics are excluded under the auto 

policy unless the insurer offers an endorsement to 
cover your personal effects in the vehicle. Otherwise, 
coverage for these items may be included under your 
renters or homeowners policy, subject to its 
deductible. 

Rental Reimbursement Coverage 

This coverage usually pays $15 to $30 a day to rent a 
car while your car is being repaired from damage that 
is covered by the policy. Most policies specify a 

maximum of 30 days for the coverage. The premium 
varies from insurer to insurer, but is generally 
inexpensive. 

Towing and Labor Coverage 

This coverage pays the cost to tow your car to the 
repair shop, subject to the limit amount in your 
policy. Premium for this coverage can run as low as 
$5 to $10 a year. If 
you are a member of 
an auto club (like AAA), 

you probably already 

have this service and 
may not want to 
duplicate your 
coverage. You will not 
be able to collect under 
both. 

 7 

 

collision coverages for drivers age 55 and older who 
have completed an approved motor vehicle accident 
prevention course. You may contact the Bureau of 
Highway Safety at (207) 624-8756 for a list of 

approved courses and times.  

This discount for older 

drivers may not be 
applied if either the 
insured or another 
member of the 

insured's household 
was involved in an at-
fault accident or has a 

moving violation or 
license suspension during the previous three years. 
The discount applies for 36 months after the course 
completion. A new course must be completed every 
three years to continue the discount. 

The following describes some other typical discounts:  

 Multiple Vehicles: Most insurance companies 

include a discount for insuring more than one car 
with the same company. Companies offer these 

discounts not only because they want all of your 
business, but also because it is more cost 
effective for them. Industry statistics show that 
individuals and families who insure more than one 
car generally have better than average claims 
experience. Companies pass along some of their 
savings to you through this discount. 

 Driver Education Courses: Discounts for driver 

education courses are targeted primarily at 

younger and older drivers. 

 Good Student: Insurers’ experience has shown 

that those students who are responsible enough 

to maintain a B average or better tend to be more 
responsible drivers. For that reason, many 
companies offer a "Good Student Discount." 
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 Safety Devices: Automobile safety devices can 

help lower insurers’ costs by preventing accidents 
or limiting their severity. These savings are 
passed along to the policyholder with discounts 

for safety equipment, such as air bags, anti-lock 
brakes, and automatic seat belts. 

 Antitheft Devices: Devices or systems that 

discourage theft or vandalism also lower claims 
costs. Many companies provide discounts for 
antitheft devices, such as alarm systems. 

 Low Mileage: The fewer miles you drive the less 

chance you have of getting into an accident. 
Insurers recognize this fact and generally offer 
discounts for low mileage drivers. Some insurers 
also offer discounts for drivers who carpool. 

 Good Driver/Renewal: Some insurers offer 

discounts to drivers with a good driving record 
who renew coverage with the same insurer. 

 Auto/Home Package. Some insurance companies 

offer a discount when your buy both your 
homeowner’s and auto policies from them. 

 Dividends. Some insurers, particularly mutual 

companies, provide dividends to policyholders if 
the sale of auto insurance has been profitable to 

them. Dividends are declared and paid  after the 
policy period has expired.  

Discounts not only help companies attract customers, 
they are also ways for companies to compete and 

keep business. So when you shop, don't just ask if a 
discount exists, but also ask how much you will save. 

The savings can differ from one company to  another. 
In addition, you should make sure that you receive all 
the discounts for which you qualify.  When comparing 
the cost of insurance among different insurers, 
compare the total cost after any applicable discounts 

have been applied.  
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Auto insurance policies will generally not cover repair 
costs in excess of the actual cash value of the 
vehicle. Once repair costs reach a percentage of the 
value of the car (for example, 75%) as set by the 

company, the company will declare the vehicle a 
total loss and pay the actual cash value of the vehicle 
instead of the cost to repair.  

Comprehensive Coverage pays for damage to your 
car from almost all causes (other than collision) 
including fire, severe weather, vandalism, floods, and 

theft. Comprehensive coverage also covers broken 

glass, such as windshield damage.  

DEDUCTIBLES 

 If you buy collision or comprehensive coverage, 

you can save money by agreeing to the highest 
deductible you can afford to pay in case of an 
accident. A deductible is the amount of money 

you agree to pay as part of a claim before the 
insurer is obligated to pay the rest of the claim. 
For example, if you carry collision coverage with 

a $250 deductible and you have a $1000 loss, 
you must pay the first $250 and the insurance 
company would pay the remaining $750. 

 Deductibles reduce your premiums because you 

agree to pay a set amount of your claim that 
your insurer would otherwise have to pay. 
Insurance companies offer deductibles because 
they reduce the number of small claims which 
are expensive for them to handle. 

If you buy a new car with a loan or lease a car, the 

financial institution loaning you the money or the 
person leasing the car to you may require you to buy 
comprehensive and collision coverage. This is to 
make sure that you have the means to repair the car 
if it is damaged and to pay off the loan if the vehicle 
is totaled. The financial institution or lessor generally 
will also require to be named on the policy as an 

additional interest. 
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Even if you decide you want UM coverage that is 
lower than your liability coverage limit, you may not 
have less than the minimum required amounts of 
$50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. 

Umbrella policies do not usually cover uninsured 
motorist claims. 

Medical payments coverage pays for the medical and 
funeral expenses incurred by you or others hurt or 
killed in an accident while riding in or driving your 

car. Claims against this coverage include all 
reasonable hospital, surgical, chiropractor, X-ray, 

dental, professional nursing, prosthetic, and funeral 
expenses. It will also cover you and family members 
in your household for injuries resulting from another 
vehicle while walking or biking, or while riding in 
another car.  

This coverage will pay for your medical and funeral 

expenses even if you cause the accident. Usually, 
only expenses incurred within a specified period of 
time after the accident are included. Medical 
payments coverage is also required by Maine law; 

you must have at least $2,000 in medical payments 
coverage on your policy. 

 

COVERAGE FOR DAMAGE TO YOUR VEHICLE 

The coverages previously discussed are the basic 
coverages required by law; however, when you buy 
auto insurance you will have to decide if there are 
other insurance coverages that you would like to add 
to your policy. The other most common coverages are 

collision and comprehensive.  

Collision Coverage pays for physical damage to your 
car from colliding with an object, like a tree or 
another car. If you have an older car worth less than 
$2,000 you may not want to buy collision coverage, 
because you are likely to pay more money in 

premium than you would receive because of a claim. 
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INSURANCE COVERAGE REQUIRED BY LAW 

Maine law requires every vehicle owner or operator to 
carry: liability insurance, uninsured motorists 

coverage, and medical payments coverage. 

To satisfy the financial responsibility law in Maine, 
you must buy a minimum of $50,000 liability for the 
injury to or death of any one person; $100,000 
liability for one accident resulting in injury to or death 
of more than one person; and $25,000 liability for 

property damage.  

These amounts are usually shown as $50/100/25 on 
your insurance  policy. A combined single limit (that 
combines bodily injury and property damage liability) 
of $125,000 is also acceptable. You cannot register 
your vehicle without proof that you have this 
minimum amount of insurance. Uninsured motorist 

bodily injury of $50/100 or combined single limit of 
$100,000  and a minimum of $2,000 for medical 
payments coverage is also required.  

Keep in mind that these minimum amounts may be 
too low for your situation; you may want to buy more 
coverage. You should base your decision on what 
assets you need to protect from claims that may 

exceed the minimum amounts. As you raise your 
coverage, your premiums will also increase; however, 
the extra cost of higher coverage tends to be 
relatively low. 

Purchasing a personal umbrella policy is one way to 
have higher limits of liability inexpensively. An 
umbrella policy provides broad liability protection 

over and above the liability limit of your auto policy. 
It will also cover some exposure to losses that your 
auto or homeowners policies do not cover. Most 
umbrella policies require you to have at least 
$250,000/$500,000 or $300,000 single limit on your 
auto policy. The umbrella policy or endorsement 

generally adds an additional $1,000,000 limit.  
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WHAT IS LIABILITY INSURANCE? 

Most auto liability insurance policies contain three 
major parts: 

liability insurance for bodily injury;  

liability insurance for property damage; and  

uninsured/under-insured motorists coverage.  

Bodily injury liability insurance does not protect you 
or your car directly. If you cause an accident in which 
other people are injured, this insurance protects you 
against claims for damages such as their medical 
expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering. This 
insurance coverage will also pay if a member of your 

family who lives with you was driving your car, or 
another person was using your car with your 
permission.  

The maximum amount that your insurance company 
pays for any one person injured in an accident, and 

the amount available for multiple injured parties, is 
determined by the amount of insurance you buy. See 

your policy’s Declarations Page for these amounts.  
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As stated above, you must purchase a minimum limit 
of $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident, or a 
combined limit of $125,000 which includes the 
minimum amount required for property damage.  

Property damage liability insurance pays for any 
damage you cause to the property of others, like a 
crushed fender, broken glass, or a damaged fence or 
wall. Your insurance will pay for this damage whether 
you are driving your car or whether it is being driven 
by another person with your permission. The 

minimum limit required by Maine law is $25,000. 

Uninsured/Underinsured  motorists (UM) coverage is 
a required coverage under Maine law. It applies when 
you are injured by an at-fault driver who: 

 cannot be identified (is a hit-and-run driver); 

 does not have the required auto liability insurance 

(an uninsured driver); or 

 has liability insurance limits that are lower than 

your own  UM limits (an underinsured driver). 

UM covers your family members and other 
passengers who are injured while in your car. UM will 

also cover you or the family members in your 
household for injuries from another car while walking 
or biking or while riding in another car.  

UM does not cover the other driver’s injuries and it 
does not cover damage to your vehicle or other 
property. The purpose of UM is to provide you with 
the same personal injury recovery that would have 

been available if the at-fault driver had insurance to 

the same extent as you. 

Your policy’s UM coverage must equal its liability 
coverage limit unless you specifically elect a lower 

limit. If you want less UM coverage, your insurance 
company must give you a rejection form and you 
must sign it before the effective date of the policy. 


