Skip Maine state header navigation
Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation
|Home | Contact Us | Careers | Calendar|
Bureau of Insurance
OTHER PFR AGENCIES
Maine.gov > PFR Home > Insurance Regulation > Federal Health Care Reform > Preexisting Condition Exclusions
PREEXISTING CONDITION EXCLUSIONS FOR CHILDREN UNDER 19
Maine law already has limits on using preexisting condition exclusions. The exclusions cannot be more than 12 months, and they may not be imposed unless the enrollee has been without coverage for 90 days.
Under the new federal law, plans may not refuse to provide benefits for children under 19 because of their health history. A few changes will need to be made to Maine’s law to reflect federal changes.
**This applies to all plans except grandfathered individual plans.
Last Updated: August 22, 2012
Health Care Provider Tools
|Copyright © 2006 All rights reserved.|