STATE OF MAINE

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATION REGULATION
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

LICENSE APPLICATION

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print)

FULL LEGAL NAME

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED:

DATE OF BIRTH I SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER - -
MAILING ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY

PHONE # () FAX# () E-MAIL

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE
NOTE: Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license.

1. Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime? (circle one) NO YES
If yes, enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment.
2. Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have held,

or denied your application for licensure? (circle one) NO YES
If yes, enclose a detailed explanation and copies of all documents.
3. Have you graduated from high school or received a GED? (circle one) NO YES

By my signature, | hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief.
By submitting this application, | affirm that the Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of
my license and that this information is truthful and factual. | also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines,
suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false.

SIGNATURE DATE

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AS A
REGISTERED APPRAISER TRAINEE

Office Use Only:
X REGISTERED APPRAISER TRAINEE (RA) $431 4695
LICENSE 1446—$30
1421—$380 (RA)
2619—%21

Office Use Only
Check #
Amount:

Cash #

Lic. #

Issue Date
Exp. Date

PAYMENT OPTIONS:
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following:

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)

| authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation to

charge my L] VISA '] MASTERCARD the following amount: $
| UNDERSTAND THAT FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE
Card number: Expiration Date /
SIGNATURE DATE
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INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE AN APPLICATION FOR A
REGISTERED APPRAISER TRAINEE

1. Complete the one page registered appraiser trainee application form

2. Complete educational experience form and attach certificates of completion for 75 hours of Board
approved qualifying education. To become a trainee you must take:

= 30 hours Basic Appraisal Principles
= 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures
= 15 hours Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP)

Only course that have AQB approval are acceptable. The approved course list is available at the
following web site:

https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/s38ddcf9630f4e009

GO TO THE EDUCATION PROGRAMS TAB, AND THEN CLICK ON “AQB Approved Real Property Courses”

3. Complete Supervisor / Training form

4. Enclose check or money order payable to “Treasurer State of Maine” for $431.00.Alternatively
you may fill out the credit card portion of the application using Visa or Mastercard.

5. You may fax or email your application to the board if you are using a credit card.
FAX NUMBER: 207-624-8637
EMAIL: rlestateappr.board@maine.gov

You may also mail your application via regular, priority, or express mail services through the
U.S. Postal Service to:

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA ME 04333

Overnight mail such as FedEx or UPS should be sent to our physical location:

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
76 NORTHERN AVENUE
GARDINER, ME 04345
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https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/s38ddcf9630f4e009�

MAINE BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
35 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA ME 04333
(207) 624-8522

EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE

APPLICANT'S NAME:

THE CURRENT AQB APPROVED COURSE LIST IS AVAILABLE ON THE WEB SITE UNDER THE
EDUCATION PROGRAMS TAB, “AQB APPROVED REAL PROPERTY COURSES”

https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/s38ddcf9630f4e009

COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATES MUST ACCOMPANY THIS ATTACHMENT

COURSE TITLE COURSE SPONSOR DATES TAKEN NO. FOR OFFICE

HOURS

USE
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MAINE BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
35 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA ME 04333
(207) 624-8522

SUPERVISOR / TRAINING FORM

TRAINEE'S NAME

TRAINEE SIGNATURE Date:

D CHECK HERE IF YOU HAVE A CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

NEW ADDRESS

DCHECK HERE IF THIS IS A CHANGE OF YOUR PRIMARY SUPERVISOR.

DCHECK HERE IF THIS IS AN ADDITIONAL SUPERVISOR.
(I.E., WORKING PART-TIME AT TWO DIFFERENT APPRAISAL COMPANIES)

|_|CHECK HERE IF YOU NEED A DUPLICATE COPY OF A LICENSE.
(ENCLOSE A CHECK FOR $10.00 PAYABLE TO “TREASURER STATE OF MAINE")

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE SUPERVISOR

I ACKNOWLEDGE THAT | WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE TRAINING FOR THE APPLICANT MENTIONED
HEREIN, AND THAT THE APPLICANT MUST WORK UNDER MY SUPERVISION AND CANNOT AT ANY TIME
PRACTICE AS AN APPRAISER UNSUPERVISED. | ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT | MUST PERSONALLY
ACCOMPANY THE TRAINEE ON THE FIRST FIFTY (50) APPRAISALS.

THE SUPERVISING APPRAISER SHALL MAINTAIN ACCURATE, UP-TO-DATE RECORDS OF ALL APPRAISAL
RELATED ACTIVITIES DONE BY THE TRAINEE. HOURS SHALL BE REPORTED TO THE MAINE BOARD OF
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS ON A FORM PRESCRIBED BY THE BOARD NO LATER THAN THE 10TH OF EACH
MONTH.

FORMS FOR REPORTING WORK EXPERIENCE WILL BE SENT OUT UPON APPROVAL OF THE TRAINEE
LICENSE.

SUPERVISOR'S COMPLETE NAME MAINE LICENSE # & EXPIRATION DATE
SIGNATURE OF SUPERVISOR: DATE:

ALTERNATE’S COMPLETE NAME MAINE LICENSE # & EXPIRATION DATE
SIGNATURE OF ALTERNATE SUPERVISOR: DATE:
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The following chart illustrates the current education, examination and
experience requirements for real estate appraiser licensing as of 01/01/2008

Appraiser Trainee (RA)

Education:
75 classroom appraisal course hours

Must be supervised by CR or CG

Licensed Residential Appraiser (AP)

Education:
150 classroom appraisal course hours

Experience:
2,000 hours in no fewer than 12 months

Examination

Certified Residential Appraiser (CR)

Education:
Associates Degree or 21 semester hours of required courses

200 classroom appraisal course hours
Experience:

2,500 hours in no fewer than 24 months

Examination

Certified General Appraiser (CG)

Education:
Bachelor's Degree or 30 semester hours of required courses

300 classroom appraisal course hours

Experience:
3,000 hours in no fewer than 30 months

Examination

For more detailed information regarding the requirements for licensure please go to

REVISED 04/09/2014

www.appraisalfoundation.org




Frequently Asked Questions

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER TRAINEE

Is a high school diploma or GED required? Yes
Hold old do | need to be to obtain a license? You must be at least 18 years old.

How do | become a real estate appraiser trainee? First, you need to take the following 75 hours of
Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) approved qualification education.

= 30 hours Basic Appraisal Principles
= 30 hours Basic Appraisal Procedures
= 15 hours Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP)

Next, you need to find a certified appraiser to sign on as your supervisor.
Lastly, complete a license application and submit it to the board with the appropriate
documentation. Be sure to include:

1. $431 payable to Maine State Treasurer;
2. Original course completion certificates;
3. Supervisor / Training Form

Can | take on-line courses? Yes, as long as they are AQB approved.
Where can | find the list of AQB approved courses? The current AQB approved course list is

available at the following web site under the education Programs Tab, “AQB Approved Real Property
Courses”: https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/d/s38ddcf9630f4e009

How long is my trainee license good for? Trainee licenses are issued annually from date of issue
and may be renewed five times. If you do not complete the requirements for licensure by the end of
the sixth year, you must re-apply for another trainee license.

Am | required to complete CE to renew my trainee license? You are required to complete 14 CE
hours at the time of renewal.
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STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL & OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION
Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
Phone: (207) 624-8603 TTY users call Maine Relay 711 Fax: (207) 624-8637 www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

Frequently Asked Questions:

e Where do | send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine
04333-0035

e Where are you physically located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.

e« What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays.

e« Canlcome to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes. You will not leave with a license, though.
e« Canlcome to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be mailed to you.

« How long does it take to process an application? You can check the status of your license by
doing a search on your name via the licensee search part of our website:

www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

Your license will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as your status is ACTIVE, you are
authorized to practice.

« How far back do | go answering the criminal question? Any conviction, ever.

NOTICES

BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuantto 5 M.R.S.A. 85301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an
applicant’s criminal history record. The Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of
the application process for all applicants.

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA 8401 et seq). Public
records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part
of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to which this
information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (87(B)). Disclosure of your Social
Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA
8175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC 8§405(C)(2)(C)(1)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax
Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No
further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRSA §191.

Before you seal the envelope, did you:

Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned)

Answer the criminal background disclosure questions

Sign and date your application

Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature)
Include any required transcripts or exam results

Make a copy of your application to keep for your records

DO NOT SEND CASH.
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