
 
 
 
 

Application information to assist 
in completing your application.  This information is not designed to include all infor-
mation on laws and rules and it is strongly recommended that you review applicable 

laws and rules. 

TRAINEE (APPRENTICE) 
AESTHETICIAN, BARBER, LIMITED BARBER, 

COSMETOLOGIST, OR NAIL TECHNICIAN 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Do not return the following informational pages with your 
application; it is for your information only 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Department of Professional and Financial Regulation 
Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

(Mailing address) 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME  04333 
(Office location)  Gardiner Annex, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine  04345 

 
Office Direct Line (207) 624-8579 or Main Receptionist (207) 624-8603 

TTY users call Maine Relay 711  
FAX (207) 624-8637 

Web address: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 

State of Maine 
 

BARBERING & COSMETOLOGY 
LICENSING 
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**Fax submissions of applications and supporting documentation will not be accepted. 
 
Enclosed in this packet of information is all the material you will need to obtain a trainee license with the 
Barbering & Cosmetology Licensing.   
 To become a licensed aesthetician through the trainee program, applicants must have experience in the 

practice of aesthetics as a trainee of 1,000 hours distributed over a period of at least 6 months and pass the 
state program exams. 

 To become a licensed barber or cosmetologist through the trainee program, applicants must have 
experience in the practice of barbering or cosmetology as a trainee of 2,500 hours distributed over a period 
of at least 18 months and pass state program exams. 

 To become a licensed limited barber through the trainee program, applicants must have experience in the 
practice of limited barbering as a trainee of 1,600 hours distributed over a period of at least 10 months and 
pass the state program exams.  

 To become a licensed nail technician through the trainee program, applicants must have experience in the 
practice of nail technology as a trainee of 400 hours distributed over a period of at least 10 weeks and pass 
the state program exams. 

 
A trainee must be licensed with the Barbering and Cosmetology Program to pursue a course of study in 
aesthetics, barbering, limited barbering, cosmetology, or nail technology in a licensed establishment under the 
direct supervision of a qualified licensed cosmetologist, barber, limited barber, nail technician or aesthetician.  A 
trainee must hold a valid license at all times while training in a licensed establishment.  The application must 
contain satisfactory evidence of the qualifications required to be a trainee under the laws and rules of Barbering 
and Cosmetology. 
 
A trainee must conduct all training and services rendered to a member of the public under the direct supervision 
of a duly licensed supervisor approved by the Barbering and Cosmetology Program in a licensed establishment. 
 

PROCEDURES TO APPLY FOR A TRAINEE LICENSE 
 
The trainee must complete an application to obtain a license.  The following must be submitted with the 
application: 
 

1. Fee; 
 
2. Proof that you are at least 17 years of age (birth certificate or driver’s license is acceptable); and 
 
3. Proof that you have completed the 10th grade or its equivalent.  
 

Upon satisfactory completion of trainee hours, a trainee is eligible to qualify for examination.  An official affidavit 
from the trainee’s supervisor must be submitted to the Barbering and Cosmetology Program immediately upon 
completion of the trainee’s course.  A trainee may not be issued a temporary work permit until an affidavit 
certifying satisfactory completion of the training is received by the program. 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
FOR TRAINEE LICENSE 

Published under appropriation 01402A4350012  Revised 04/2014 

35 State House Station, Augusta ME  04333         Website:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 



INITIAL EACH PAGE OF YOUR APPLICATION WHERE NOTED.  Be sure to initial the bottom of 
each page where noted on your application. All pages requiring initials must be returned to our office 
as part of your complete application. 
 
The Barbering & Cosmetology Licensing requires that all supporting documents and fees be  
submitted with the filing of your application.  Your application will be considered incomplete and 
will be returned if supporting documents and/or fees are omitted.  Documents that have been 
modified or altered (including the use of any white out substance) in any way will not be accepted.  
 
 
PROCESSING TIME:   
 
Your application has greater chance of being processed expeditiously if it is complete and all sup-

porting documents are attached.  Action on this application is posted to the web in real time.  
Please visit our website if you wish to monitor progress.  If the status appears as Pending, this 
means that your application was received by this office and it is pending or under review.  Once 
reviewed and if everything about your application is complete and complies with requirements, the 
license will be issued and the status will show as ACTIVE.  If incomplete and a letter is being sent 
to you, the letter will be available for you to see online.   

  
 Please refrain from calling our office to “check” on your application as these calls only serve to 

slow our ability to review and process applications. Information regarding the status of applica-
tions may be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation’s website 
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing.  We appreciate your thoughtful attention to this request. 

  
 Once your license is issued it is immediately visible online with an “active” status.  Licenses are 

printed off site and require at least 14 business days for delivery. 
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STATE OF MAINE   DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION  
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Mailing Address:  35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333  Courier/Delivery address:  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine  04345 
Phone:  (207) 624-8603    Fax:  (207) 624-8666   TTY users call Maine relay 711  web:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing  

Frequently Asked Questions: 
 
 

 Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  
04333-0035 
 

 Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 

 What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays 
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes.  You will not leave with a license, though. 
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license?  No.  Your license will be mailed to you. 
 

 How long does it take to process an application?  You can check our website: 
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing.  Your license will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as  
your status is ACTIVE you are authorized to practice. 
 

 How far back do I go answering the criminal question?  Any conviction, ever. 

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 
 

 Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned) 
 Answer the criminal background disclosure questions 
 Sign and date your application 
 Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature) 
 Include any required transcripts or exam results 
 Make a copy of your application to keep for your records 
 DO NOT SEND CASH. 

NOTICES 
 

BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 MRS §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as 
part of the application process for all applicants. 
 

PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRS §401 et seq).  Public 
records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied 
as part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing records to 
which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing addresses 
listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974. Disclosure of your Social Security 
Number Is mandatory.  Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRS §175 
as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(i)).  Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax 
Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Stat-
utes.  No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 
MRS §191. 



Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing 
 

Trainee License 
Aesthetician, Barber, Limited Barber, Cosmetologist or Nail Technician 

                Required Fees: $31.00(Non Refundable) 
(includes application, license and criminal records check fees) 

  
  

LICENSE TYPE:  Check one—   
 
⁫ Trainee Aesthetician  (AA1421) 
⁫ Trainee Barber    (AB1421) 
⁫ Trainee Limited Barber   (ALB1421) 
⁫ Trainee Cosmetologist  (AC1421) 
⁫ Trainee Nail Technician  (AM1421) 

Office Use Only: 
 
AA/AB/ALB/AC/ or AM as checked in 
the box to the left:  
   1421 - $10.00 
   2619 - $21.00 

Office Use Only: 
 

Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic.  #_______________ 
Issue Date___________ 
Exp.  Date___________ 

 

STATE OF MAINE  
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL  

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION  

INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION  

APPLICANT INFORMATION  (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME         FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED: 

MAILING ADDRESS  
CITY                                                           STATE                          ZIP                          COUNTY 
PHONE #  (       )                                        FAX #  (       )                                E-MAIL 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE   
NOTE:  Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license. 

 

1.  Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime?  
                                                                         (circle one)          NO             YES 

 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed signed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment. 
 

2.  Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have held,  
     or denied your application for licensure?  (circle one)                                 NO            YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed signed explanation and copies of all documents. 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and 
belief.  By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for 
issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual.  I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, 
fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

              SIGNATURE DATE 

DATE OF BIRTH            mm /  dd  / yyyy                                        SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER                -            - 

PAYMENT OPTIONS:   
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)        FIRST                                  MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation to 

charge my             ⁫  VISA                  ⁫  MASTERCARD         the following amount:  $____________ 

                         ⁫ I understand that fees are non-refundable  
 

                      Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

          SIGNATURE                                                                   DATE 



SECTION 1:  TRAINEE SUPERVISOR APPROVAL INFORMATION     

Pursuant to Program Rules, Chapter 2(6)(D) The qualified licensed supervisor shall submit a notarized 
statement of work experience at the time of applicant's request for registration. 

 □ Enclosed is a notarized statement from the licensed supervisor(s) pertaining to his/her 
work experience. (failure to submit the notarized statement with this will delay processing of this 
application) 
 
Pursuant to Program Rules, Chapter 2 (1)(A)(6) Qualified Supervisor must have at least three years of 
practice in the field for which they are licensed, within the past five years from the date of application to 
supervise a person. 
 

ALTERNATE TRAINEE SUPERVISOR APPROVAL INFORMATION 

 □ Enclosed is a notarized statement from the alternative licensed supervisor(s) pertaining to 
his/her work experience.   

□ Enclosed is a notarized statement of work experience by the above named alternative 
supervisor. (failure to submit the notarized statement may delay processing of this  application) 
 
____________  INITIALS OF APPLICANT 
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Trainee Name  

 

Establishment Name  Establishment License Number 

  

Name of Establishment Owner(s)  

 

Establishment Address  

    

City State Zip Code Telephone Number 

   (        ) 

Name of Qualifying Supervisor  License Number 

  

Name of Alternative Supervisor License Number 

  

   

Name of Alternative Supervisor License Number 

  



SECTION 2:  NOTICES 
 

10 Day Notification Requirement 
 

Pursuant to 10 MRS §8003-G - any change in name, address, email address, criminal convictions, 
disciplinary actions, or any material change set forth in your original application for licensure must be 
reported to the Office within 10 days.   
You can access this Law for your review at:   
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html  
 
SECTION 3:  LAWS AND RULES 
 
Maine Barbering and Cosmetology Laws and Rules 
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/barbers/laws.html 
Access to all relevant laws and rules are accessible from this web page. 
 
Title 10 Department of Business Regulation Law §§8001-8011 
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html 
 
Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation Rules 02 041 
http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041 
Chapter 10, Establishment of License Fees 
Chapter 11, Late Renewals 
Chapter 13, Uniform Rule for the Substantiation of Continuing Education Requirements 
 

This office cannot provide you with a hardcopy of laws and rules.  However, all of these documents are 
available online at www.maine.gov/professionallicensing.  Please visit the website(s) listed to access these 
documents electronically.  These documents may be subject to change without notice and it is strongly 
advised that you periodically revisit these sites for any updates.   
 

SECTION 4:  APPLICANTS & QUALIFYING SUPERVISOR(S) CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE 
 
Read the statement below and sign where indicated as your certification of the information provided 
on this application.  Applications that are incomplete, altered (including use of any white out), 
defaced, or compromised will not be accepted and will be returned.  This includes, but is not limited 
to, unanswered questions, lack of appropriate signature, information is illegible, missing required 
supporting documents, and/or missing or wrong fee. 
 
By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and 
accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application I understand that 
the Barbering & Cosmetology Licensing will rely upon this information for issuance of my license 
and that this information is truthful and factual. I further understand that sanctions may be 
imposed, including denial, suspension or revocation of my license, if this information is found to be 
false  
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 Printed Name of Applicant 
  

Signature of Applicant Date 

    



SECTION 4:CONTINUED.  APPLICANTS & QUALIFYING SUPERVISOR(S) CERTIFICATION AND 
SIGNATURE 
 
The following is required in accordance with Chapter 4 of the Program’s rules.  To insure compliance, the 
Qualifying Supervisor, Alternate Supervisor and Trainee should review and become familiar with the 
Program’s laws and related rules. 
 
 The supervisor shall maintain accurate, up-to-date records of all work done by the trainee.  

Hours shall be reported to this office on a form prescribed by this office at the end of the 
training period. 

 
Read the statement below and sign where indicated as your certification of the information and attestation 
provided on this application.  
 
By signing in this application, I agree to abide by the Maine Barbering and Cosmetology Program Laws and 
Rules and all of the State Laws and Rules related to the practice of Barbering and Cosmetology.  I certify 
that I have obtained and read the laws and rules as listed above in this application and that I will 
periodically or as necessary revisit these documents to insure that I am current with Maine laws and rules.  
I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my 
knowledge and belief.  By submitting this application I understand that the Barbering and Cosmetology 
Licensing will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and 
factual.   
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Printed Name of Alternate Supervisor 
  

Signature of Alternate Supervisor Date 

    

Printed Name of Alternate Supervisor 

  
Signature of Alternate Supervisor Date 

    
Printed Name of Alternate Supervisor 

  

Signature of Alternate Supervisor Date 

    


