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FULL/CONDITIONAL COUNSELOR 

Licensed Professional Counselor  Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor 
 Licensed Marriage & Family Therapist Licensed Pastoral Counselor*  
Applicants must submit the following (see also Chapters 2 through 6 of the Board’s Rules for 
requirements):  

 Completed and Signed Application Form; 

 Application Fee of $25.00 (Non-Refundable); 

 Payment of a Licensure Fee:  Permanent License Fee $200.00 / Conditional License Fee $150.00; 

 Criminal History Records Check Fee of $21.00; 

 Official Transcript forwarded directly to the Board by the academic institution holding the transcript; 
 

 Verification of Internship Form completed by the university that attests to the number of internship 
hours, and also describes the counseling activities, setting, and supervisor credentials of the 
internship experience; 

 

 NPDB/HIPDB Self-query Reports; 

 Applicants for Full Licensure must submit Completed Supervisor’s Affidavit forms; 

 Applicants for Conditional Licensure must submit a Proposed Supervision Plan using the 
enclosed form; 

 

 Three (3) Reference Forms to be completed by professionals in the counseling field and dated 
within one (1) year prior to the date of application; 

 

 Official proof of a passing score on an examination as prescribed in the Rules - forwarded to the 
Board directly by the organization holding the test scores or a request for examination; 

 

 A copy of your Disclosure Statement.  

 Education Worksheet for appropriate license applied for. A course brochure/catalog which 
describes courses also must be submitted.  

 

 Applicants for licensure as a Pastoral Counselor must also submit proof of call, appointment or 
charge by a church, synagogue, religious order or other clearly defined legal religious organization 
to perform these services as a function of ministry. 

 



INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANTS LICENSED IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION 
 (SEE CHAPTER 6 OF THE BOARD’S RULES) 

 
There are three pathways to licensure as outlined below: 
 
Pathway 1: Reciprocal agreement between the State of Maine and another jurisdiction*, or 

 
Pathway 2- Substantially Equivalent License: Applicant submits evidence of 5 years actively practicing 
with a substantially equivalent license immediately preceding application that is in good standing, or 

 
Pathway 3- Substantially Similar Qualifications: Applicant’s qualifications are substantially similar to 
Maine’s licensing requirements with a license that is in good standing. 

 
*Currently, the State of Maine Board of Counseling Professionals Licensure has not entered into any reciprocal 
agreements with other jurisdictions.  Therefore, applicants should submit their application according to either 
Pathway 2 or Pathway 3 if already licensed in another jurisdiction. 
 

PATHWAY 2 APPLICATIONS SHALL INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING: 
 

 Completed and Signed Application Form.  

 Application Fee of $25.00 (Non-Refundable). 

 License Fee:  Permanent License Fee $200.00. 

 Criminal History Check Fee of $21.00 

 Official Transcript - forwarded directly to the Board by the academic institution holding the transcript.\ 

 Three (3) reference forms completed by professionals in the counseling field and must be dated within one 

year prior to the date of application. 

 A copy of the relevant licensing law and Board rules of the licensing or certifying state of jurisdiction from 

which you are applying. 

 A copy of all mental health licenses under which applicant practiced during the 5 consecutive years. 

 Verification of mental health licensure from the jurisdiction(s) in which the applicant was ever licensed.  

 NPDB/HIPDB Self-query Reports 

 A copy of your Disclosure Statement  

 A resume and summary of applicant’s licensed mental health practice. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 
PATHWAY 3 APPLICATIONS SHALL INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING: 

 
 Completed and Signed Application Form.  

 Application Fee of $25.00 (Non-Refundable). 

 License Fee:  Permanent License Fee $200.00. 

 Criminal History Check fee of $21.00 

 Official Transcript - forwarded directly to the Board by the academic institution holding the transcript.\ 

 Three reference forms completed by professionals in the counseling field and must be dated within one 

year prior to the date of application. 

 Verification of Internship – form completed by the university that attests to the number of internship hours, 

and also describes the counseling activities, setting, and supervisor credentials of the internship 

experience.  

 Completed Supervisor’s Affidavit forms.  

 Official proof of a passing score on an examination as prescribed in the Rules - forwarded to the Board 

directly by the organization holding the test scores or a request for examination. If you are requesting to 
sit for the exam, please indicate test date on enclosed form. 

 NPDB/HIPDB Self-Query Reports 

 A copy of your Disclosure Statement.  

 Education Worksheet for appropriate license applied for – Applicant must also submit a course 

brochure/catalog which describes courses.  

 A copy of all mental health licenses under which applicant practiced during the 5 consecutive years. 

 Verification of mental health licensure from the jurisdiction(s) in which the applicant was ever licensed.  
 


