BUREAU OF
TAXATION STATE OF MAINE

State Office Building, Augusta, Maine 04330-0224

Instructions For Maine

Corporate Income Tax Return

(Including Banking Corporation and
Loan Association Franchise Tax Return)

For Tax Years Ending In

1983

FORM 1120 - ME.

NOTE:

Corporations with fiscal years ending in 1983 would ordinarily use the
1982 Form 1120-ME when filing. However, recent changes in the law affect
all tax years ending in 1983. In order to reflect these changes and to proper-
ly report your tax, it is necessary to file your 1983 year end return on a 1983
form. An automatic extension of time for filing 1983 year end returns is
granted to fiscal year filers. The extension for non- calendar year 1983
returns is March 1, 1984.



IN ALL CORRESPONDENCE PLEASE REFER TO YOUR EMPLOYER FEDERAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER.

PART I — GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

1. CORPORATIONS SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX: Every
entity subject to Federal Income Tax as a corporation and doing
business within the State of Maine must file Form 1120-ME. and
pay its applicable Maine Corporate Income Tax, except corpora-
tions having an election under Subchapter ‘‘S’’ of the Internal
Revenue Code (small business corporations), insurance com-
panies subject to tax under Sections 2511 to 2522, Tite 36,
M.R.S.A. (Insurance Premiums Tax and Fire Investigation and
Prevention Tax) and corporate small business investment com-
panies, licensed under the United States Small Business Invest-
ment Act of 1958, as amended, and commercially domiciled in
Maine and doing business primarily in Maine.

2. BANKING INSTITUTIONS SUBJECT TO FRANCHISE
TAX MEASURED BY INCOME: Every corporation which is a
bank, savings bank, savings institution, trust company and every
savings and loan association, or loan and building association,
that is doing business in this State, must file Form 1120-ME. and
pay a Maine Franchise Tax, or Maine Income Tax, whichever is
greater.

3. DATE FOR FILING RETURN: Corporations reporting
for the calendar year 1983 should file, with payment, on or before
March 15, 1984. F.scal year taxpayers should file, with payment,
on or before the 15th day of the third month, following the close
of their taxable year.

4, EXTENSIONS FOR FILING: The State Tax Assessor may
grant a reasonable extension of time for filing a return, for just
cause, providing a deposit of not less than 100% of the estimated
tax is made on or before the original due date. Negligence
penalties may be added for insufficient deposits. The Extension
Voucher provided on Form 1120ES-ME should be used when re-
_ questing extensions that require an additional deposit. If the
estimated tax has been paid in full, it is not necessary to file a re-
quest for extension. In this case, attach a copy of the Federal
Form 7004 and/or 7005 to the Maine Corporate Income Tax
return when filed.

NOTE: An automatic extension of time for filing 1983 year
end returns will be granted to fiscal year filers delayed beyond
their prescribed filing date. The extended date for non-calendar
year 1983 returns is March 1, 1984.

5. PAYMENT OF CORPORATE INCOME OR FRAN-
CHISE TAX: All taxable corporations are required to make a
declaration of estimated tax if its Maine taxable income can
reasonably be expected to exceed $800 for that taxable year. As
far as practical, forms will be mailed directly to taxpayers.
However, if you do not receive forms through the mail, they are
available upon request from the Bureau of Taxation, Income Tax
Section, State Office Building, Augusta, Maine 04333.

6. INTEREST: Interest at the prevailing rate will be added to
any balance of tax due from the original due date to the date of
payment, and should be included with any payments. However,
no interest will be assessed on 1983 returns for tax liability which
exceeds the 1982 tax year liability if the 1983 tax is paid when due,
or in the case of fiscal year filers no later than March 1, 1984.

7. PENALTIES: Penalties may be applied to any tax due at
the time of filing, if the payment deposited with the Extension
Voucher and estimated tax payments (Form 1120-ES-ME.) are
not equal to:

a. Previous year’s Maine Corporate income tax liability, or
b. at least 80% of the tax found to be due at time of filing of
Maine Corporate Income Tax Return.

8. PERIOD COVERED BY RETURN: Your return will cover
the same period as Federal Form 1120. This 1983 return form
must be used for calendar year 1983 returns as well as fiscal years
ending in 1983.

9. ACCOUNTING METHODS: A taxpayer’s method of ac-
counting for Maine Income Tax purposes must be the same as his
method of accounting for Federal Income Tax purposes.

10. FEDERAL RETURN MUST ACCOMPANY STATE
RETURN: In all cases, Maine Corporation Return, Form
1120-ME. must be accompanied by a legible copy of the Corpora-
tion’s Federal Return, Form 1120, pages 1 through 4, for the same
taxable period. You are not required to provide copies of support-
ing schedules attached to Federal Form 1120 filed with Internal

. Revenue Service unless specifically requested.

11.. FEDERAL AUDIT CHANGES AND AMENDED
RETURNS: All taxpayers must report any change or correction
by Internal Revenue Service in Federal taxable income within 90
days after final determination of such change or correction.

Any taxpayer filing an amended Federal Income Tax Return
must, within 90 days, file an amended Maine Income Tax Return.
When filing returns that reflect Federal net operating losses, a
copy of the Federal Form 1139 must be attached.

12. CONSOLIDATED RETURNS: Affiliated corporations
will be permitted or required to file a consolidated return only if
the State Tax Assessor deems such a return necessary to fairly
determine net income. Permission to file a consolidated return
will not be granted to effect a tax savings.

13. ALLOCATION AND -APPORTIONMENT: The State
Tax Assessor has issued Rule 801 relating to the determination of
business and non-business income. This rule is available upon re-
quest.

14. COMBINED REPORTS: Effective for tax years ending in
1983 and thereafter, a taxable corporation which is a member of
an affiliated group and which operates in a unitary fashion must
file a combined return based upon Federal Taxable Income. Ad-
ditionally, any open periods may be amended to reflect combined
reporting, either by the taxpayer or by the Bureau upon audit.
Corporations which may be part of an affiliated unitary group
but are not required to file a Federal income tax return are to be
excluded from combined filing.

Maine law defines affiliated group to mean a group of two or
more corporations in which more than 50% of the voting stock of
each member corporation is directly or indirectly owned by a
common owner or owners, either corporate or non-corporate, or
by one or more of the member corporations. Unitary is defined as
a business activity which is characterized by unity of ownership,
functional integration, centralization of management and
economies of scale.

Thus, any corporation which is part of an affiliated unitary
group would be required to file a combined report. Schedule CB
will be provided to those corporations required to file on a com-
bined basis and is available upon request from the Bureau of Tax-
ation, Income Tax Section, State Office Building, Augusta,
Maine 04333 or you may call 207-289-3695.



PART Il — SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORM 1120-ME., PAGE 1

Line 1. FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME: Enter Federal tax-
able income from line 30, Federal Form 1120. Those corporations
who are members of an affiliated unitary group see further in-
structions under ‘“Combined Reports’’ above.

Line 2a. INTEREST ON U.S. OBLIGATIONS: Enter here in-
terest on U.S. Bonds, U.S. Treasury Notes, or other obligations
of the U.S., which by law are exempt from State taxes, but tax-
able by the Federal Government. (Line 2a should not be com-
pleted by banking institutions subject to Maine Franchise Tax.)

Line 2b. FOREIGN DIVIDEND GROSS-UP: See Internal
Revenue Code, Section 78. (Line 2b should not be completed by
. banking institutions subject to Maine Franchise Tax.)

Line 2¢. FEDERAL NEW JOBS CREDIT ADJUSTMENT:
Effective January, 1977, an adjustment equal to the taxpayer’s
Federal New Jobs Credit will be permitted. This should be ac-
complished by showing here the amount of the required reduction
of salaries and wages on your Federal return, due to the New Jobs
Credit. A copy of Federal Form 5884, *‘New Jobs Credit,”’ must
also be attached.

Line2d. RECOVERY OF DEPRECIATION ADDBACK: If you
elected to add back 18% of your depreciation on your 1982 Maine
Corporate return you may recover one-third of that adjustment
on your 1983 return. Enter the appropriate amount on this line.

Line 42. INCOME TAXES IMPOSED BY MAINE OR ANY
OTHER STATE: The Maine Income Tax Law does not permit a
deduction for income taxes imposed by Maine or any other state.
Therefore, income taxes taken as a deduction on Federal Form
1120 must be added back to arrive at Maine taxable income. (Line
4a should not be completed by banking institutions subject to
Maine Franchise Tax.)

Line 4b. UNRELATED EXPENSES: If the corporation(s) in-
cluded on this return is (are) part of a group but filing separately
for Maine, then any expenses incurred by this corporation(s), on
behalf of subsidiaries or other members of a group who are not
included on this return, must be added back. If these expenses are
not readily identifiable, or specifically assignable to a particular
entity or entities, a reasonable apportionment formula may be
employed. Supporting schedules detailing this adjustment should
be attached.

Line 4c. DEPRECIATION ADJUSTMENT: See instructions
for Schedule C on page 4.

Line 6. MAINE TAXABLE INCOME: Corporations having
income solely from business activity within this State should enter
here the same amount as on Line 5. Corporations having income

\1".98076"61\“{55' oxcess over $257000 of the Maine Taxable Income:

from within and without the State should allocate and apportion
income on Schedule A and enter on this line the amount shown on
Line 14, Schedule A.

Line 7a. MAINE CORPORATION INCOME TAX: For tax
years énding prior_tg Dec. 31, 1983} the Maine Corporate Tax
Rate is 4.95% of the Maine Taxable Income listed on line 6 plus

For tax years beginnin after_January 1, 1983 the Maine
Corporate Tax Rate is as follows:

The Tax is:
3.5% of Maine Taxable Income
of excess over:

If the Maine Taxable income is:
Not over $25,000
But not over

$ 25,000 $ 75,000........ $ 875 plus 7.93% $ 25,000
75,000 $ 250,000....... 4,840 plus 8.33% 75,000
250,000 OTmoOre. ........ 19,417 plus 8.93% 250,000

P
Line 7b. MINIMUM TAX: Enter here the amount shown on
page 2, Line 19.

Lines 8a, b, ¢. CREDITS: These lines are for the use of tax-
payers who have made estimated tax payments and/or deposit
when requesting an extension of time for filing, as well as those
taxpayers filing amended returns and claiming credit for tax paid
with original return.

Line 8d. INVESTMENT IN MAINE CAPITAL CORPORA-
TION: Enter here the lesser of: 10% of your qualified investment
in the Maine Capital Corporation or 50% of Line 7c. The amount
of the credit which exceeds this annual limitation may be carried
forward to each of the four succeeding tax years, each subject to
the annual limitation. The total credit allowed is 50% of the
qualified investment.

g8e. TOTAL CREDITS: Add Lines 8a, 8b, 8¢, and 8d to arrive
at total credits aliowable.

9. BALANCE DUE: If this amount is less than one dollar
($1.00) no payment need be made. Otherwise, make check or
money order payable to the Treasurer of State and mail with your
return to Bureau of Taxation, Income Tax Section, State Office
Building, Augusta, Maine 04330-0224.

Line 11a. AMOUNT OF LINE 10 YOU WISH CREDITED:
Use this block only if you elect to have allora portion of the over-
payment on Line 10 credited to your next year’s estimated Maine
corporate income tax.

11b. AMOUNT TO BE REFUNDED: Enter here the dif-
ference between Line 10 and 11 (a). The amount shown on this
line if $1.00 or greater will automatically be refunded.

PART IIl — FORM 1120-ME. — PAGE 2, SCHEDULE A

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS: Schedule A is provided for cor-
porations engaged in inter-state business. A corporation whose
income was derived solely from a trade, business or activity con-
ducted entirely within Maine during the taxable year should not
complete Schedule A. Maine employs a three-factor formula to
determine the percentage of corporate business income which is
apportioned to, and taxed by, Maine. This percentage is derived
by a fraction, the numerator of which is the property factor plus
the payro]i factor plus the sales factor, and the denominator of
which is 3, or the number of factors used in Column 2, whichever
is less. If the allocation and apportionment provisions do not fair-
ly represent the extent of the taxpayer’s business activity in this
State, the taxpayers may petition for, or the Tax Assessor may re-
quire, in respect to all or any part of the taxpayer’s business ac-
tivity, if reasonable:

(a) Separate accounting.

(b) The exclusion of any one or more of the factors.

(c) The inclusion of one or more additional factors which will

fairly represent the taxpayer’s business activity in this State.
(d) The employment of any other method to effectuate an
equitable allocation and apportionment of the taxpayer’s income.

“Tax period,”” referred to in instructions for Lines 2, 4 and 6
means the period represented by adjusted Federal taxable income
on Line 5, page 1.

«sSales’’ means al! gross receipts not allocated.

Those corporations who are members of an affiliated unitary
group see further instructions on Schedule CB which is available
upon request.

Line 2. SALES FACTOR: The sales factor is a fraction, the
numerator of which is the total sales of the taxpayer in the State
during the tax period, and the denominator of which is the total
sales of the taxpayer everywhere during the tax period. For the
definition of “‘sales”’ for Maine Corporate income tax purposes,
please refer to Rule 801.



N

Sales of tangible personal property are in this State, (1) if the pro-
perty is delivered or shipped to a purchaser, other than the United
States Government, within this State, regardless of the F.O.B.
point or other conditions of the sale; or (2) the property is shipped
from an office, store, warehouse, factory or other place of
storage in this State and the purchaser is the United States
Government or the taxpayer is not taxable in the State of the pur-
chaser.

Sales, other than sales of tangible personal property, are in this
State, if (1) the income producing activity is performed in this
State; or (2) the income producing activity is performed both in
and outside this State and a greater proportion of the income pro-
ducing activity is performed in this State than in any other state,
based on costs of performance.

Line 4. PAYROLL FACTOR: The payroll factor is a fraction,
the numerator of which is the total amount paid in this State dur-
ing the tax period by the taxpayer for compersation, and the
denominator of which is the total compensation paid everywhere
during the tax period. ‘‘Compensation’’ means wages, salaries,
commissions and any other form of remuneration paid to
employees for personal services. Compensation is paid in this
State, (1) if the individual’s service is performed entirely within
this State; or (2) the individual’s service is performed both within
and without the State, but the service performed without the State
is incidental to the individual’s service within the State; or (3)
some of the service is performed in the State and the base of
operators or, if there is no base of operations, the place from
which the service is directed or controlled is not in any state in
which some part of the service is performed, but the individual’s
residence is in the State.

Line 6. PROPERTY FACTOR: The property factor is a frac-
tion, the numerator of which is the average value of the
taxpayer’s real and tangible personal property owned or rented
and used in this State during the tax period and the denominator
of which is the average value of all the taxpayer’s real and tangible
personal property owned or rented and used during the tax
period.

Property owned by the taxpayer is valued at original cost. Pro-
perty rented by the taxpayer is valued at 8 times the net annual
rental rate, Net annual rental rate is the annual rental rate paid by
the taxpayer less any annual rate received by the taxpayer from
subrentals. The average value of property shall be determined by
averaging the values at the beginning and ending of the tax period

but the tax assessor may require the averaging of monthly values .

during the tax period if reasonably required to reflect properly the
average value of the taxpayer’s property.

Line 8. Apportionment factor or percentage, carried out to 4
decimal places, to be applied to business income on Line 11. If
number of factors used in column 2 is less than 3, divide Line 8 by
number used.

Line 9. Enter adjusted Federal taxable income from page 1,
Line 5 of the 1120-ME.

Line 10. Enter on Line 10 all nonbusiness income allocable to
Maine or any other state during the tax period. Do not include in-
terest on United States obligations or Foreign dividend gross-up
accounted for on page 1. Non-business Income — Any income,
which does not arise from activities in the regular course of trade
or business, or which does not arise from propetty which con-
stitutes an integral part of the taxpayers trade or business, shall be
allocated to Maine to the extent it can reasonably be determined
to be derived from sources within Maine.

Line 11. Amount on Line 11 represents business income only, as
determined by subtracting nonbusiness income (Line 10) from ad-
justed Federal taxable income. This is the amount on which the
percentage on Line 8 should be applied.

Line 12. Enter here the result of multiplying Line 11 by the
percentage on Line 8. This is your business iicome apportioned to
Maine.

Line 13. This line pertains to nonbusiness income directly
allocated to the State of Maine during the tax period.

Line 14. This figure represents taxable income apportioned and
allocated to Maine and should be entered on Line 6, page 1 of
Form 1120-ME.

Line 15 & 16. Supporting schedules, listing type and/or source
of nonbusiness income and related expenses, must be attached to
the Maine return. For specific instructions on allocation, please
refer to Chapter 821, Section 5211 of the Maine Income Tax Law
and Rule 801, concerning allocation and apportionment of in-
come. A copy of the law, Rule 801, or further information may be
obtained from: Bureau of Taxation, Income Tax Section, State
Office Building, Augusta, Maine 04333.

SCHEDULE B

Line 17. MINIMUM TAX FOR TAX PREFERENCES: Enter
on this line 15% of the minimum tax shown on Federal Form
4626, after adjustment for capital gain tax preferences.

Effective for tax years beginning in 1977 and thereafter, this is
imposed on every corporate taxpayer, for each taxable year, a tax
equal to 15% of the federal minimum tax which is imposed on the
taxpayer for the taxable year by the Internal Revenue Code of
1954, Section 56, as amended.

The capital gain tax preference item in the Internal Revenue
Code of 1954, Section 57(a)(9)(B), as amended, shall not be in-
cluded as an item of tax preference for the purpose of determining
the tax liability of a corporation. Those corporations subject to
the minimum tax must attach a copy of Federal Form 4626 and a
schedule showing the adjustments for capital gain tax preference
items (if applicable).

Line 18. APPORTIONMENT FACTOR: Enter on this line the
apportionment factor from Line 8 above. The apportionment fac-
tor for those corporations operating entirely in Maine will be
100%.

Line 19. Enter here and on page 1, Line 7b, the result of
multiplying Line 17 (Minimum Tax as adjusted) by the apportion-
ment factor on Line 18.

SCHEDULE C

Lines 20 thru 24. DEPRECIATION ADJUSTMENT: For tax-
able years ending in 1983, Federal Taxable Income must be in-
creased by the sum of the following portions of the deductions
allowed for that taxable year to the taxpayer under the United
States Internal Revenue Code, Section 168:

(1) 5% of the deductions for 3-year property;

(2) 15% of the deductions for S-year property;

(3) 25% of the deductions for 10-year property; and

(4) 40% of the deductions for 15-year property.

Unlike 1982, these depreciation adjustments are not subject to

" recovery in future years. All Maine corporate returns must be ac-

companied by a copy of the Federal Depreciation Schedule Form
4562-or its equivalent. A depreciation schedule must be attached
even though no adjustment is claimed.



