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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

1. CORPORATIONS SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX: Every
entity subject to federal income tax as a corporation (including ex-
empt organizations) and doing business in Maine must file Form
1120ME and pay its applicable Maine corporate income tax. Cor-
porations who elect to file under Subchapter “S” of the Internal
Revenue Code (except those with federal taxable income at the
corporate level), insurance companies subject to tax under 36
M.R.S.A., Chapter 357 (Insurance Premiums Tax and Fire Inves-
tigation and Prevention Tax) and financial institutions subject to
tax under 36 M.R.S.A., Chapter 819 (Franchise Tax) are not sub-
ject to Maine corporate income (ax. Corporate small business in-
vestment companies, licensed under the United States Small Busi-
ness Investment Act of 1958 who are commercially domiciled in
Maine and do business primarily in Maine are also not subject to
this tax.

a. LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES. New legislation
allows for the formation of limited liability companies in Maine.
It provides that a domestic limited liability company or a foreign
limited liability company doing business in Maine is classified as
a partnership for Maine income tax purposes, unless classified
otherwise for federal income tax purposes, in which case the lim-
ited liability company is classified in the same manner for Maine
income tax as it is classified for federal income tax purposes.
However, no taxpayer may consider an anticipated loss from a
limited liability company in computing estimated tax payments
before April 1, 1996. The effective date of this new legislation is
July 14, 1994.

5. BANKING INSTITUTIONS SUBJECT TO FRANCHISE
TAX: Every corporation that is a financial institution, except a
credit union; any service corporation or subsidiary as defined in
9B M.R.S.A., Section 131 and any financial institution holding
company that is doing business in this state must file'Form
1120B-ME and pay Maine franchise tax. Do not use Form
1120ME.

3. DATE FOR FILING RETURN: Corporations reporting
for the calendar year 1994 should file, with payment, on or before
March 15, 1995. Fiscal year taxpayers should file, with payment,
on or before the 15th day of the third month following the close of
their taxable year.

4. EXTENSIONS FOR FILING: The State Tax Assessor
may grant a reasonable extension of time for filing a return. The
request for extension mus fil f the thir
month following the close of th bl —evenifn i-
tional tax is due. The Maine extension period is the same as the
federal extension plus 30 days. An extension for filing the return
is not an extension for payment of tax. Failure to Pay penalties
apply if the tax is not paid by the original due date of the return.
Use the extension voucher provided with Form 1120ES-ME when
requesting extensions that necessitate an additional deposit. If no
additional tax is due, file a copy of federal form 7004 with your
extension request.

5. PAYMENT OF CORPORATE INCOME TAX: All cor-

porations subject to income taxes shall pay an estimated tax un-
less the liability for the current taxable year or for the prior tax
year reduced by any allowable credits is less than $500. See in-
structions for Form 1120ES-ME for details.

6. INTEREST: Interest at 11% per annum compounded
monthly will be added to any balance of tax due from the original
due date to the date of payment and should be included with any
payment.

7. PENALTIES:

a. Underpayment of estimated tax penalty (for calendar year
1994 — 10% per annum compounded monthly; for calendar year
1995 — 11% per annum compounded monthly) may be assessed if
the sum of quarterly estimated tax payments is not at least equal to
the lesser of the previous year’s Maine income tax liability or nine-
ty percent (90%) of the tax liability for the current year, except
certain large corporations cannot utilize the previous year’s liabili-
ty in determining the required amount of estimated tax payments.

b. Late filing — late payment penalties. If a past-due return
is filed either before the receipt or within 30 days of the receipt of
a demand notice, the penalty for failure to file is the greater of $10
or 10% of the amount of tax due. If the return is filed more than
30 days after the receipt of a demand notice, the failure to file
penalty becomes 100% of the tax otherwise due.

For failure to pay a tax liability in a timely fashion, the penalty
is 1% of the tax liability for each month the payment is delin-
quent, up to a maximum of 25%.

¢. Other Penalties. The law also provides for penalties for
substantial understatement of tax, negligence, fraud, and for pay-
ment of tax with a check that is returned for insufficient funds.

8. ACCOUNTING PERIOD COVERED BY RETURN: Your
Maine return covers the same accounting period as your federal
corporate return.

9. ACCOUNTING METHODS: A taxpayer’s accounting meth-
od for Maine income tax purposes must be the same as that used
for federal income tax purposes.

10. ADDITIONAL FORMS TO ACCOMPANY STATE RE-
TURN: Any taxable corporation with Maine nexus that is a mem-
ber of an affiliated group, whether or not unitary as defined by

Maine law, must complete Schedule CB. Exempt organizations

filing the Maine corporate return, Form 1120ME, must attach a
legible copy of the corporation’s federal return, Form 990T.

11. FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR S CORPORATIONS
AND PARTNERSHIPS: S corporations and partnerships that
have Maine source income or that have resident shareholders or
partners are required to file an information return consisting of
Form TR (transmittal form), a copy of the federal return and
Schedules K-1.

Shareholders and partners are subject to Maine income tax.
Those who are nonresident individuals and who have no other
Maine-source income may satisfy the filing requirement with a



composite return. In that event, the entity would file a return on
behalf of its shareholders or partners using form 1040ME labeled
“composite return,” For additional information, see Rule 805.

S corporations that incur federal taxable income (e.g. certain
capital gains, certain built-in gains) that is taxed at the corporate
level are required to file form 1120ME and report only the income
on form 1120ME that is taxed at the corporate level for federal
purposes.

12. FEDERAL AUDIT CHANGES AND AMENDED RE-

TURNS: All taxpayers must file a Maine amended return for any .

change or correction by the Internal Revenue Service in federal tax-
able income within 90 days after final determination of such change
or correction. Attach a copy of the Internal Revenue Agent’s report
with all supporting schedules to your Maine amended return.

Any taxpayer filing an amended federal income tax return
must, within 90 days, file an amended Maine income tax return
and attach a copy of federal Form 1120X. When filing returns that
reflect federal net operating losses, a copy of federal Form 1139
must be attached.

In addition, an amended Maine income tax return is required to
correct errors on a previously filed return. The amended return
must be filed within 90 days of the discovery.

The state does not provide a form for amended returns. Use
Form 1120ME for the year(s) you are amending and print or type

“amended” in the upper left corner of the form.

13. COMBINED REPORTS: A taxable corporation that is a
member of an affiliated group and that operates in a unitary fash-
jon must file a combined return based upon federal taxable in-
come. Corporations that may be part of an affiliated unitary group
but are not required to file a federal income tax return are to be
excluded from combined filing. Additionally, 80-20 corporations
are excluded from the combined group.

Maine defines affiliated group to mean a group of two or more
corporations in which more than 50% of the voting stock of each
member corporation is directly or indirectly owned by a common
owner or owners, either corporate or non-corporate, or by one or
more of the member corporations. Unitary is defined as a business
activity that is characterized by unity of ownership, functional in-
tegration, centralization of management and economies of scale.

A single return may be filed on which the aggregate Maine in-
come tax liability of the Maine-nexus members of a unitary group
is reported. All members of the affiliated group are to be listed on
Schedule CB. For detailed instructions see Schedule CB.

14. 80-20 CORPORATION DEFINED: An 80-20 corpora-
tion is an entity with more than 80% of its aggregate property and
payroll located outside the 50 states and District of Columbia and
none of its property and payroll located in this State.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1 OF FORM 1120-ME

Line 1. FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME: Enter federal taxable
income from line 30 of federal Form 1120 or line 26 of federal
Form 1120A, unless the corporation is an S corporation. In that
case, use the S corporation’s corporate level federal taxable in-
come. Corporations that are members of an affiliated unitary
group should see the instructions under “Combined Reports” in
paragraph 13 above and on Schedule CB.

Line 2a. NONTAXABLE INTEREST: Enter here interest on
U.S. Bonds, U.S. Treasury Notes, or other obligations of the U.S.,
which by law are exempt from state taxes, but taxable by the fed-
eral government.

Interest from bonds issued by Maine municipalities is exempt
from Maine income tax even if taxed on the federal return. Tax-
payers may subtract from federal taxable income interest income
and capital gains from the sale of bonds issued by the Waste Man-
agement Agency to the extent included in federal taxable income.

Line 2b. FOREIGN DIVIDEND GROSS-UP: This amount is -

from federal Form 1120, Schedule C, line 15.

Line 2c. FEDERAL JOBS CREDIT ADJUSTMENT: An ad-
justment equal to the taxpayer’s Federal Jobs Credit is allowed.
Enter the amount of the required reduction of salaries and wages
on your federal return due to the Jobs Credit. Also attach a copy
of federal Form 5884, “Jobs Credit.”

Line 2d. INCOME NOT TAXABLE UNDER THE CONSTI-
TUTION OF MAINE OR THE U.S.: Enter non-unitary income
this State is prohibited from taxing under the constitutions of the
United States or the state of Maine. The amount must be de-

creased by any expenses incurred in the production of that income
to the extent that these expenses are deductible in determining
federal taxable income (attach schedule).

Line 2e. DIVIDENDS FROM AFFILIATED CORPORATIONS:
Enter 50% of all apportionable dividends from affiliated corpora-
tions that are not included with the taxpayer in a Maine combined
report. (Dividends must be included in federal taxable income,
line 1.)

Line 2f. NET OPERATING LOSS DEDUCTION: If you have
a net operating loss for tax years beginning in 1989, 1990, 1991
and 1992 that was carried back for federal purposes but not al-
lowed for Maine, you are allowed a deduction on this line as a net
operating loss carry-forward. However, the net operating loss
carry-forward cannot reduce Maine Net Income to less than zero.

Line 42. INCOME TAXES IMPOSED BY MAINE OR ANY
OTHER STATE: Maine does not permit a deduction for income
taxes imposed by Maine or any other state. Income taxes taken as
a deduction on federal Form 1120 must be added back to arrive at
Maine taxable income.

Line 4b. UNRELATED EXPENSES: If the corporation(s) in-
cluded on this return is (are) part of a group, but filing separately
for Maine, then any expenses incurred by the corporation(s) on
behalf of subsidiaries or other members of a group who are not in-
cluded on this return must be added back. Attach supporting
schedules.

Line 4c. INTEREST ON STATE AND MUNICIPAL BONDS
OTHER THAN MAINE: Corporations must add interest on



state and municipal bonds that originate outside Maine to their
federal taxable income for Maine income {ax purposes.

Line 4d. NET OPERATING LOSS RECOVERY ADJUST-
MENT: Enter on this line: ‘

(1) The amount of any net operating loss for this taxable year
which has or will be carried back to previous taxable years pur-
suant to Internal Revenue Code, Section 172, and

(2) The amount of any net operating loss carryover deduction
claimed in this taxable year under Internal Revenue Code, Section
172, which has previously been used to offset Maine modifica-
tions to federal taxable income. 36 M.R.S.A., Section 52004,
Subsection 1.

Line 6. MAINE TAXABLE INCOME: Corporations that are
not part of an affiliated-unitary group and have income solely
from business activity within Maine enter on line 6 the same
amount as on line 5. Corporations having income from within and
outside the state apportion income on Schedule A and enter on
this line the amount shown on line 17 of Schedule A. All corpora-
tions who are members of an affiliated-unitary group must com-
plete Schedule A. See General Instructions, paragraph 13, page 3
of this booklet and the instructions on Schedule CB.

Line 7a. MAINE CORPORATION INCOME TAX: For tax
years beginning in 1994, the Maine corporate tax rate is as fol-
lows:

If the Maine Taxable Income is: The Tax is:
Not over $25,000 ....cceveriineneinsienens 3.5% of Maine Taxable Income
But not over of excess over
$ 25,000 $ 75,000......... $ 875plus7.93% $ 25,000
75,000 250,000......... 4,840 plus 8.33% 75,000
250,000 250,000

or more.......... 19,417 plus 8.93%

In the case of an affiliated group of corporations subject to
Maine tax engaged in a unitary business, the respective preferen-
tial rates shall be applied only to the first $250,000 of Maine net
income of the entire group and shall be divided equally among the
taxable corporations unless those taxable corporations jointly
elect a different assignment. The balance of the Maine net income
of the entire group shall be taxed at 8.93%. Schedule D, page 2,
1120-ME must be completed.

Line 7b. MINIMUM TAX: Minimum tax is imposed, for each
taxable year, upon every corporate taxpayer required to file a
Maine corporate income tax returm. Complete Schedule E to com-
pute the amount to be entered on this line.

Lines 8a, b, c. CREDITS: These lines are for taxpayers who have
made estimated tax payments and deposits when requesting an €x-
tension of time for filing, as well as for taxpayers filing amended
returns and claiming credit for tax paid with original return.

Line 8d. OTHER CREDITS: Enter on this line the amount on
Schedule F, line 33h (1120-ME, page 3). (Note: the amount on
line 33h cannot exceed the tax liability on line 7¢ of form 1120-
ME.) Seg instructions for Schedule F on page 5.

Line 9b. PENALTY FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMAT-
ED TAX: If the corporation underpaid estimated tax, complete
and attach Form 2220-ME to the corporate return.

Line 11a. AMOUNT OF LINE 10 YOU WISH CREDITED:
Use this block only if you want to have all or a portion of the
overpayment on line 10 credited to your next year’s estimated
Maine corporate income tax.

Line 11b. AMOUNT TO BE REFUNDED: Enter here the dif-
ference between lines 10 and 11(a). Amounts on this line greater
than $.99 will be refunded automatically.

SCHEDULE A INSTRUCTIONS

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS: Schedule A is for corporations
engaged in interstate business. Maine employs a three-factor for-
mula to determine the percentage of corporate income which is
apportioned to Maine. This percentage is derived by a fraction,
the numerator of which is the property factor plus the payroll fac-
tor plus twice the sales factor, and the denominator of which is 4.
If the apportionment provisions do not fairly represent the extent
of the taxpayer’s business activity in this state, the taxpayer may
petition for, or the Tax Assessor may require, in respect {0 all or
any part of the taxpayer’s business activity:

(a) Separate accounting.

(b) The exclusion of any one or more of the factors.

(c) The inclusion of one or more additional factors which will
fairly represent the taxpayer’s business activity in this state.

(d) The employment of any other method to effectuate an equi-
table apportionment of the taxpayer’s income.

“Tax period,” referred to in instructions for lines 12, 13, and
14, means the period represented by adjusted federal taxable in-
come on line 5 of form 1120ME.

“Sales” means all gross receipts such as trade sales, dividends,
interest, rents, and royalties.

Those corporations that are members of an affiliated unitary
group see further instructions on Schedule CB.

Line 12. SALES FACTOR: The sales factor is a fraction, the nu-
merator of which is the total sales of the taxpayer in the state dur-
ing the tax period, and the denominator of which is the total sales
of the taxpayer everywhere during the tax period.

Sales of tangible personal property are attributed to Maine if
(1) the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser, other than
the United States Government, in Maine, regardless of the F.O.B.
point or other conditions of the sale; or (2) the property is shipped
from an office, store, warehouse, factory or other place of storage
in Maine and the purchaser is the United States Government Or
the taxpayer is not taxed in the state of the purchaser.

Sales, other than sales of tangible personal property, ar¢ at-
tributed to Maine if (1) the income-producing activity is per-
formed in this state; or (2) the income-producing activity is per-
formed both in and outside Maine and a greater proportion of the
income-producing activity is performed in this state than in any
other state, based on costs of performance.



Line 13. PAYROLL FACTOR: The payroll factor is a fraction,
the numerator of which is the total compensation paid in Maine
during the tax period by the taxpayer, and the denominator of
which is the total compensation paid everywhere during the tax
period. “Compensation” means wages, salaries, commissions and
any other form of remuneration to employees for personal ser-
vices, including deferred compensation. Compensation is paid in
Maine if (1) the individual’s service is performed entirely within
this state; or (2) the individual’s service is performed both within
and outside Maine, but the service performed outside the state is
incidental to the individual’s service within Maine; or (3) some of
the service is performed in the state and the base of operations or,
if there is no base of operations, the place from which the service
is directed or controlled is not in any state in which some part of
the service is performed, but the individual’s residence is in
Maine.

Line 14. PROPERTY FACTOR: The property factor is a frac-
tion, the numerator of which is the average value of the taxpayer’s
real and tangible personal property (including inventory) owned
or rented and used in Maine during the tax period and the denomi-
nator of which is the average value of all the taxpayer’s real and
tangible personal property (including inventory) owned or rented
and used during the tax period.

Property owned by the taxpayer is valued at original cost.
Property rented by the taxpayer is valued at 8 times the net annual

rental rate. Net annual rental rate is the annual rental rate paid by

the taxpayer less any annual rate received by the taxpayer from
subrentals. The average value of the property shall be determined
by averaging the values at the beginning and ending of the tax pe-
riod, but the tax assessor may require the averaging of monthly
values during the tax period if reasonably required to reflect prop-
erly the average value of the taxpayer’s property.

Line 16. Enter adjusted federal taxable income from page 1, line
5 of form 1120-ME. »

SCHEDULEF

a. Maine Seed Capital Tax Credit: Enter on this line the tax
credit as authorized by the Finance Authority of Maine. A copy of
the tax credit certificate must be attached to the return. The
amount of credit is subject to limitations as outlined in 36
M.R.S.A,, Section 5216-B.

b. Jobs and Investment Credit: A tax credit for qualifying
jobs and investment credit is entered on this line. Eligibility for
the credit requires the addition of $5 million of IRC Section 38
property based on the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as of De-
cember 31, 1985, Section 38, (b) (1), and 200 new jobs in the 12
month period following the date the property was placed in ser-

vice. For further details see 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5215.

c. Employer Assisted Child Care Tax Credit: A taxpayer
constituting an employing unit is allowed a credit for providing or
paying day care expenses of employees subject to the limitations
of 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5217. The tax credit is limited to the low-
est of five thousand dollars, twenty percent of the cost incurred, or
one hundred dollars for each child of an employee of the taxpayer
enrolled on a full-time basis. 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5217.

d. Employer-Provided Long-Term Care Benefits Credit: A
taxpayer constituting an employing unit is allowed a credit against
the tax subject to the limitations of 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5217-B.
The tax credit is limited to the lowest of five thousand dollars,
twenty percent of the costs incurred, or one hundred dollars for
each employee provided long-term care policy.

Any unused credit may be carried over to the following year or
years for a period not to exceed 15 years.

e. Investment Tax Credit: For tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 1991, taxpayers will be able to claim a credit equal to
1% of the amount of qualified investments made in the previous
five taxable years (six years for taxable years ending in 1995).
Qualified investments are investments in manufacturing machinery
and equipment made on or after January 1, 1989, Taxpayers are
prohibited from considering any current year investment tax credits
in the determination of required estimated income tax payments. 36
M.R.S.A,, Section 5219-E.

f. Solid Waste Reduction Investment Tax Credit: For tax
years beginning on or after January 1, 1993, taxpayers will be
able to claim a credit on solid waste reduction, reuse, or recycling
machinery and equipment certified eligible for the credit by the
Maine Waste Management Agency. The credit is the amount cer-
tified by the Maine Waste Management Agency and applies to
machinery and equipment placed into service from January 1,
1990 to June 30, 1991 or on or after January 1, 1993. The taxpay-
er must attach a copy of the certificate in order to claim the credit.
Recapture provisions apply on the early disposal of machinery
and equipment for which a credit has been claimed. 36 MRS.A,
Section 5219-D.

g. Maine Minimum Tax Credit: A minimum tax credit is
available for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1992. This
credit is modeled after the federal alternative minimum tax credit.
Complete Schedule I on page 4 of form 1120ME to calculate your
credit.

(NOTE: The total of these credits cannot exceed the tax lia-
bility on line 7c of form 1120-ME.)

IMPORTANT: IF ALL REQUIRED LINES AND SCHEDULES (INCLUDING SCHEDULE CB) ARE
NOT COMPLETED, THE RETURN IS INCOMPLETE AND NOT CONSIDERED A FILED RETURN.
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TAX LAW CHANGES

OFFERS IN COMPROMISE: Legislation was enacted that allows the State Tax Assessor 10 compromise a tax liability arising under
Title 36 upon the grounds of doubt as to liability or doubt as to collectibility, or both. The legislation also grants the Assessor authority to
adopt rules regarding the procedure to be followed for the submission and consideration of offers in compromise.

LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES: This legislation allows formation of limited liability companies in Maine. A domestic limited
liability company or a foreign limited liability company doing business in Maine is classified as a partnership for income tax purposes,
unless classified otherwise for federal income tax purposes. If classified otherwise for federal income tax purposes, the limited liability
company would be classified in the same manner for Maine income tax as it is for federal income tax purposes. The legislation also pro-

vides that no taxpayer may consider an anticipated loss from a limited liability company in computing estimated tax payments before
April 1, 1996. The effective date is July 14, 1994,

SPECIAL PURPOSE INVESTMENT SUBSIDIARIES: 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5102, sub-section 6 was amended to exclude from the
Corporate Income Tax investment subsidiaries of insurance companies described in 24-A MR.S.A., Section 1157, sub-section 3, para-
graph b, subparagraph (1).

CHANGE IN INVESTMENT TAX CREDIT: This legislation enacts 30-A M.R.S.A., Chapter 207-A, Pulp and Paper Manufacturing
Sector Stabilization Assistance. It provides assistance in the financing of capital investments in environmental improvement projects that
will be required by state and federal regulation and allows creation of pulp and paper tax increment financing districts. It establishes the
Pulp & Paper Environmental Investment Fund. The program is repealed on October 1, 2000.

The legislation also amends 36 MR.S.A., Section 5219-E to change the limitation of the investment tax credit for a tax year ending
on or after March 1, 1994 but prior to March 1, 1995. The credit for that tax year may not exceed so much of the tax liability of the tax-
payer for the taxable year as does not exceed $25,000 plus 60% (for other years 75%) of so much of the tax liability for the taxable year
as exceeds $25,000.

JOBS AND INVESTMENT TAX CREDIT: This legislation amends 36 M.R.S.A,, Section 57215 to allow corporations that ar¢ mem-
bers of an affiliated group operating in a unitary fashion to claim the credit if the aggregate investment and aggregate number of new
jobs of the group meet the eligibility criteria. The amendment also excludes investments in retail facilities unless the taxpayer can
demonstrate to the State Tax Assessor that the commercial result of the project or projects has not or will not result in a substantial detri-
ment to existing business. The definition of a retail facility does not include a facility primarily engaged in warehousing, order taking,
manufacturing, storage or distribution, even when a portion of the facility is used to make retail sales.

These changes apply to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1993 as well as to amended returns for earlier open years filed after
January 1, 1993. ’

In addition, the following amendments to Section 5215 apply to tax years beginning on or after January 1,1995:

Number of new jobs required is reduced from 200 to 100 and the period of time allowed to develop the 100 new jobs after qualified
investment is in place is increased from one year to two ycars. The prior limit for the credit was the amount of tax up to $300,000. The
$300,000 limit is increased to $500,000. ~

INFORMATION: FORMS: order by calling
BUREAU OF TAXATION - INCOME TAX DIVISION toll-free within Maine
State Office Building 1-800-773-78%4
Augusta, Maine 04333-0024 For payment or collection

Telephone: (207) 626-8475 questions, call (207) 287-3301



