| FIRE INVESTIGATION AND PREVENTION TAX 00

: y:) 2@08 ANNUAL RECONCILIATION / RETURN *0831100*
MRS Fire Tax Account Number NAIC ID Number Period Covered Due Date
January 1- December 31, 2008 March 15, 2009
Name/Address: CHECK ALL THAT APPLY:
— Initial return
Business Name (Line 1) —1 Amended return
Final return

Business Name (Line 2)

Enter closing date: / /
Street Address and/or Post Office Box

Change of name/address
City State ZIP Code

COMPUTATION OF TAX ON FIRE PREMIUMS

1. Amount of premiums allocated to fire (See instructions)
A B C D E F
Line of Business Gross Premiums Dividends Paid Total Net % of Premiums Amount of Premiums
(Less Return Premiums or Credited on Taxable Allocated to Fire Allocated to Fire
and Premiums on Direct Business Premiums (column D x column E)
Policies not Taken)
18 Fir€ oo $ $ $ 100.00% $ .00
1b. Inland Marine......... $ $ $ 26.89% $ .00

Damage................. $ $ $ Actual* $ .00

Auto Physical Damage:

1d.Private. ..o $ $ $ 1.24% $ .00

le. Commercial........... $ $ $ 4.66% $ .00

Fire, Theft and Miscellaneous:

1f. Farmowners........... $ $ $ 4367% $ .00
Multiple Peril

1g. Homeowners......... $ $ $ 47.13% $ .00
Mutliple Peril

1h. Commerical.......... $ $ $ 50.13% $ .00
Multiple Peril (non-liability)

1i. All Other Fire........... $ $ $ 100.00% $ .00
Related

2. Total amount of premiums allocated to fire (Add lines 1a through 1i)........cccccoooviviiiiiiiiiiincc e 2. $ .00

3. Tax liability (line 2 multiplied by 1.4% (0. 014)) .......orv.oreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee e 3. $ .00

4. LeSS eStiMAted PAYMENTS ......ccviiiiieiiiieeie ittt st r et e e r e bt e sr e e r e s bt e e e e nre e nas 4. $ .00

5. Balance due (If line 3 is greater than line 4, line 3 MiNUS liN€ 4) .........ccoiieiiiiiieiiee e 5. $ .00

6. Overpayment to be refunded (If line 4 is greater than line 3, line 4 minus line 3).........cccccoiiiiinene 6. $ .00

Office

* Line 1c only: Enterin column F the premiums actually received on fire risks located in Maine. use onIy

Rev. 11/08
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MRS Fire Tax Account Number: *0831101*

AFFIDAVIT AND SIGNATURE

This return is made in compliance with the provisions of 25 M.R.S.A. 8 2399. The amount of all GROSS DIRECT PREMIUMS or assessments for fire
risks written by this insurer on risks located in, or received from risks resident of, the State of Maine during the year ending December 31, 2008 has
been reported. Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return and accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best
of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which
preparer has any knowledge.

Date: Signature: Telephone #:
Must be signed by the President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief Accounting Officer, or Attorney-in-fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.
Preparer’s
Date: Signature: ID Number:
INSTRUCTIONS
Premium amounts to be reported: A premium is an amount paid or payable c. Divide a by b; this is the ratio to be used in Column E for this
for an insurance policy, including all fees, such as membership, policy, survey, particular product line.
inspection, service and finance fees, that are assessed by and paid to an d.  Aseparate calculation must be made for each product line.
insurance company in consideration for an insurance policy. The instructions e. Inthe case of affiliated insurance companies, a separate calculation
below provide guidance to assist in the preparation of this return. However, must be made for each insurer.
accurate and fP”_ reporting of premium amounts, including any applicable fees, 3. Attach a computation to your return identifying loss due to fire and
is the responsibility of each taxpayer. total loss by year for each of the five years used to calculate the
Note: The fire investigation and prevention tax applies in addition to five-year average.
the insurance premiums tax. Column F. Multiply the column D amount by the column E percentage
Line 1. Amount of Premiums Allocated to Fire. Calculate the total amount and enter the result.
of premiums allocated to fire for each line of business identified in column A. Line 2. Total Premium. Add column F amounts for each line of business (line
Column B. Enter the gross direct premiums written, less return premiums 1a. through line 1i.) and enter the sum on this line (Total amount of premiums
and premiums on policies not taken. Generally, gross direct premiums are allocated to fire).
reported on the Maine State Page of the NAIC Annual Statement, column Line 3. Tax Liability. Every fire insurance company or association that does
1 and related finance and service charges are reported on Schedule T, business or collects premiums or assessments in Maine is required by statute
column 8 (Finance and Service Charges not Included in Premiums). to pay 1.4% of the gross direct premiums for fire risks written in Maine, less
Column C. Enter dividends paid or credited to policyholders on direct the amount of all direct return premiums and all dividends paid to policyholders
premiums. Amounts entered must agree with column 3 of the Maine on direct fire premiums.
portion of your NAIC annual statement. Line 4. Less Estimated Payments. Enter the total amount of monthly
Column D. Subtract the column C amount from the column B amount estimated payments already made in 2008.

and enter the result. Line 5. Balance Due. Payment must be submitted with this return. Late

Column E. The percentages listed represent the ratio of fire losses to payments are subject to interest and penalties.
total losses based on historical data. An insurer wanting to deviate from
these percentages must clearly establish alternate ratios based on its own
fire loss experience. The following procedures must be used to establish
alternate fire ratios:

1.  The alternate ratios must be based on the prior five-year average ~ Beginning January 1, 2009, the interest rate is 8% per annum, compounded

fire losses. monthly. The penalty for failure to file a return is the greater of $25 or 10%

of the tax due. If the return is not filed within 30 days after the receipt of a
demand notice to file, the penalty is 100% of the tax due. The penalty for

) ) ) failure to pay a tax liability on time is 1%, up to a maximum of 25%, of the
a.  Calculate the five-year average of loss due to fire from claims  oytstanding liability.

associated with risks located in Maine
b.  Calculate the five-year average of loss from all claims associated
with risks located in Maine.

Note: Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to
remit tax payments electronically. See Maine Rule 102 on the MRS web
site (select Laws & Rules) for details.

2. Complete the following steps to calculate the ratio for each product
line listed in column A:

Line 6. Overpayment. All overpayments will be refunded.

"; Make check payable to : Treasurer, State of Maine
Send return with check to: Maine Revenue Services, P.O.Box 9120, Augusta, ME 04332-9120




