
Account Cancellation. When a business is discontinued or the 
requirement to withhold permanently ceases, complete the Business 
Change Notifi cation form, 941BN-ME.

Schedule 1
Reconciliation of Semiweekly Payments of Income Tax 

Withholding
Taxpayers who reported Maine income tax withholding of $18,000 or 
more for the 12 months ending June 30, 2012 are required to make 
payments of income tax withholding on a semiweekly schedule. 
These  payments are required to be paid electronically.  Taxpayers 
who reported Maine income tax withholding of less than $18,000 for 
the 12 months ending June 30, 2012 are  required to make payments 
quarterly.  

                                      Semiweekly Schedule
Day Wages Paid Remittance Due
Wednesday,  
Thursday, or Friday ....................... On or before the 
 following Wednesday
Saturday, Sunday,  
Monday, Tuesday ........................... On or before 
 the following Friday 

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
Returns must be completed and fi led with Maine Revenue Services 
each quarter according to the following schedule: 

 Quarter Period Covered Due Date

Quarter 1  ...............01-01-13 to 03-31-13 ................ 04-30-13
Quarter 2  ...............04-01-13 to 06-30-13 ................ 07-31-13 
Quarter 3  ...............07-01-13 to 09-30-13  ............... 10-31-13
Quarter 4  ...............10-01-13 to 12-31-13  ............... 01-31-14

Note:  A return must be fi led each quarter, even if you had no income tax 
withheld for that period.  Each page submitted must have your Withholding 
Account Number clearly printed at or near the top of the page.  Do not write 
notes on the withholding listing pages.

Form 941ME is used to report total income tax withheld for the quarter and 
to reconcile semiweekly withholding payments made during the quarter.  If 
you also make, or expect to make, unemployment contributions, download 
a Form 941/C1-ME booklet at www.maine.gov/revenue/forms or call 
the Central Registration Unit at (207) 621-5129 to request a combined 
withholding and unemployment contribution booklet (Form 941/C1-ME).

Complete Form 941BN-ME when the business terminates or the requirement 
to withhold permanently ceases, or if there has been a change in the 
business name, address or telephone number.  Do not make changes on 
Form 941ME. 

When using a paid preparer or payroll processor, enter their federal 
employer identifi cation number (“EIN”) and Maine payroll processor license 
number in the designated fi elds.

If your current Federal Employer Identifi cation Number (Maine Withholding 
Account Number) changes, call the Central Registration Unit at (207) 621-
5129.

Amended Returns.  If it is necessary to correct a withholding amount you 
reported or made for a particular employee or payee in a previous quarter, 
submit an amended return (Form 941A-ME) for that period along with an 
explanation of the change.  We will correct your account for the period 
involved.  Do not make an adjustment on the current Form 941ME.

Direct any questions regarding this form or income tax withholding in general 
to Maine Revenue Services at (207) 626-8475, select 1, then option 4.

Interest and Penalties.  Beginning January 1, 2013, the interest rate is 
7% per annum, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to pay the 
withholding tax on time is 1% per month up to a maximum of 25%.  The 
penalty for failure to fi le the return on time is 10% of the tax liability or $25, 
whichever is greater.  If the return is fi led more than 60 days after demand, 
the penalty is the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS
Note:  The forms in this booklet are designed to comply with 
optical scanning requirements.  Spaces underlined in red must 
be completed carefully in black or blue ink.  Letters and numbers 
must be entered legibly within the outline area.  Letters must 
appear in upper case only and start on the left; numbers start from 
the right.  For example:
Do not mail photocopies of the forms in this book to Maine 
Revenue Services.  Photocopied forms cannot be processed by 
the scanning system.

LABEL.  Affi x the label provided with this booklet to the designated 
area on the quarterly form.  This label will expedite the processing 
of your return.  Do not use the forms in this booklet unless you affi x 
a label to the form.
Line A. For non-wage withholding fi lers only.  Check this box if you 
have received written permission to exclude Schedule 2. Checking 
this box requires you to report Maine withholding data by electronically 
fi ling forms 1099 with Maine Revenue Services.  This box must be 
checked every quarter for which the permission is effective.
Line 1.  Enter the total amount of Maine income tax withheld from 
Schedule 2 – Income Tax Withholding Listing, line 11.  All taxpayers 
fi ling Form 941ME must complete Schedule 2.  
Line 2.  Enter the total amount of semiweekly payments remitted during 
the quarter from Schedule 1 - Reconciliation of Semiweekly Payments 
of Income Tax Withholding, line 6.  If you did not make payments of 
income tax withholding during the quarter, enter zero.  For information 
about who is required to make semiweekly payments of income tax 
withholding, see instructions for Schedule 1 below.

Line 3a.  If line 1 is greater than line 2, enter line 1 minus line 2.  Enclose 
the amount due with the return.

Line 3b.  If line 2 is greater than line 1, enter line 2 minus line 1.  A 
refund will be sent to you.

If line 1 equals line 2, leave lines 3a and 3b blank.

,

If you are required to pay income tax withholding on a semiweekly 
basis, you must complete Schedule 1.  Complete one line of the 
schedule for each payroll during the quarter. Enter the payroll date in 
the Date Wages or Non-wages Paid column and enter the amount of 
corresponding withholding paid to Maine Revenue Services for that 
payroll period in the Amount of Withholding Paid column.
Line 4. Add the subtotals for the payment amount columns and enter the 
total payment amount for this quarter.  The total payment amount will be 
entered on line 2.  The payment amount includes all payments made during 
the quarter.

 



MRS Rule 104 (Electronic Filing of Maine Tax Returns) gen-
erally requires all employers and non-wage payers to elec-
tronically fi le Maine income tax withholding returns and annual 
reconciliation of Maine income tax withholding and unemploy-
ment compensation.  Employers/payers unable to meet the 
electronic fi ling requirement because of undue hardship may 
request a waiver from the State Tax Assessor.  The request 
must be in writing and must include the name, address and 
withholding account number of the business, a detailed expla-
nation of why fi ling electronically poses a signifi cant hardship 
and the length of time for which you are requesting a waiver.  
Mail requests to: Maine Revenue Services, Withholding Unit, 
P.O. Box 1060, Augusta, ME  04332-1060.   To view Rule 
104, go to www.maine.gov/revenue (select “Laws & Rules”).

Schedule 2
Income Tax Withholding Listing

Label. Affi x the label provided with this booklet in the designated area 
on the schedule.
All fi lers must complete Schedule 2, lines 8 and 9.    If you paid wages 
or made non-wage payments during the quarter, complete all information in 
columns 5, 6 and 7 and line 8 on each withholding listing page submitted.  
Use as many pages as necessary to report all employees/payees.  Include 
backup withholding, pension withholding, non-wage payments withholding, 
etc.  If you did not pay wages or make non-wage payments during the 
quarter,  complete only lines 8 and 9.  See further instructions below.  

Column 5.  Enter the last name, fi rst name and middle initial of each payee 
who received wages or non-wage payments during the quarter.  

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS, continued
Column 6.  Enter the full social security number of each payee who received 
wages or non-wage payments during the quarter.  All nine digits must be 
entered;  entry of XXX-XX-NNNN or entry of only the last four digits is invalid. 

Column 7.  Enter the total Maine income tax withheld for each payee who 
received wages or non-wage payments during the quarter.  If a payee’s 
withholding is greater than $999,999.99, enter the withholding on two or 
more lines to add up to the total withholding for the payee.  Also include 
backup withholding, pension withholding, distribution withholding, etc.  

Line 8.  Enter the total Maine income tax withheld for payees listed on the 
page.  If no income tax was withheld, enter zero.

Line 9.  On the last Schedule 2 page only, enter the total Maine income 
tax withheld in the quarter for all pages.  If no income tax was withheld, 
enter zero.  Enter this amount on line 1. 

ELECTRONIC FILING REQUIRED FOR ALL EMPLOYERS/PAYERS

ELECTRONIC PAYMENT OPTIONS

To use EZ Pay, simply register online at the time you want to make your 
fi rst payment.  Once registered, the system will ask you to select the tax 
type you want to pay.  If you are making a semiweekly payment, select 
“Withholding Semiweekly Payment.”  If you are paying a tax balance due 
with your quarterly withholding return, select “Withholding Payment.”  If you 
are paying a balance due from a bill or notice that you received from MRS, 
select “Bill Payment.”

Rule 102 requires that semiweekly payments be made electronically.  You 
may request a waiver from this requirement for good cause.  To obtain a 
waiver request form, see contact information in the last paragraph below. 

MRS accepts both ACH credit method and ACH debit payments for income 
tax withholding quarterly returns.  ACH Credit and ACH Teledebit (phone 
payment system) require the submission of an EFT registration application 
prior to use.
  
EFT Required.  Taxpayers with an annual total combined tax liability for 
all taxes of $14,000 or more must pay electronically.  Payroll processing 
companies must remit electronically for all clients, even if clients are not 
mandated to pay electronically.  A payroll processing company may request 
a waiver from this requirement for good cause.  MRS also encourages 
voluntary participation in the EZ Pay program by those not required to pay 
electronically.  There are no payment minimums.

Maine Revenue Services offers a convenient 24-hour electronic 
payment option called EZ Pay.  You can access EZ Pay on 
our web site at www.maine.gov/revenue/netfi le/ezpay.htm.  
Almost any type of tax payment can be made, including income 
tax withholding and unemployment contributions.  To avoid 
having to make payments earlier than necessary, payments 
may be scheduled in advance and will automatically be 
withdrawn on the payment date you select. 

The Maine Employers Electronic Tax Reporting System (MEETRS) 
allows employers and non-wage withholders to fi le multiple forms with a 
single login, including quarterly returns and the annual reconciliation (Form 
W-3ME).  Employers/payers using software capable of producing a fi le that 
conforms to the Maine Revenue Services ICESA specifi cations may upload 
that fi le to MRS via the web.  Quarterly return fi le specifi cations are available to 
view or download from the Maine Revenue Services web site at www.maine.
gov/revenue (select “Electronic Services” and scroll to “Payroll Taxes”).

The quarterly return and Form W-3ME may also be fi led via the MRS Internet fi ling 
program (Maine I-fi le), which does not require any special software.  For your conve-
nience, you may upload wage listing spreadsheet fi les via the Maine I-fi le program.

Experienced personnel can walk you through your initial registration and 
answer any questions you may have.  Call (207) 626-8475, select option 
1, then option 4 for a direct connection to the Maine Business Tax Unit.  For 
more information, see www.maine.gov/revenue.

ACH Credit.  A taxpayer may make payments using this method by 
authorizing their bank to withdraw the tax payment from the taxpayer’s 
deposit account and transfer it to the state’s account.  You must have 
previously established a relationship with a bank that provides this service 
(generally larger commercial banks) and you must have previously 
registered with the MRS EFT Unit as a credit method payer.

ACH Debit.  A taxpayer may make payments using this method by 
authorizing MRS to electronically transfer tax payments from the taxpayer’s 
deposit account to the MRS deposit account.  ACH Teledebits are initiated 
through a telephone call to the MRS electronic withdrawal payment system 
(207-624-7777).  This telephone payment system allows taxpayers to 
arrange for debit payments with effective dates up to 15 days in the future.  
Another option available is for the amount due shown on the return you I-fi le 
to be deducted from your account within 3 business days from the date you 
authorize the transfer.

Penalty for Insuffi cient Funds.  The penalty for insuffi cient funds applies 
to electronic funds transfers.  The penalty is $20 or 1% of the payment 
amount, whichever is greater.

Penalty for Failure to Pay by Electronic Funds Transfer.  Any person 
required to pay by electronic funds transfer who fails to do so is liable for a 
penalty equal to the lesser of 5% of the tax due or $5,000.

For more information, an application, a waiver request form or a copy of 
Rule 102, go to www.maine.gov/revenue and select Electronic Services; 
send an email to efunds.transfer@maine.gov; send a fax to (207) 287-
6975; call (207) 624-5625; or write to:  EFT Unit, Maine Revenue Services, 
PO Box 1060, Augusta,  ME  04332-1060.


