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 INTRODUCTION 
 
 
This guidance document covers the Maine estate tax for decedents through 2012.  Beginning in 

2013, there are significant changes to the Maine estate tax.  For more information about these 

changes, see “Maine Estate Tax for 2013 Decedents.” 

 

Annually, approximately 13,000 people die in this state, but very few of these people leave a 

taxable estate.  In any one year, Maine Revenue Services receives fewer than 400 estate tax 

returns with a tax liability, about 35% - 40% of which result from the deaths of out-of-state 

residents with property in Maine.  For deaths occurring in 2006 - 2012, only those estates worth 

$1 million or more are subject to Maine estate tax.  In some cases, however, even estates worth 

more than $1 million will not be taxable, as long as the assets are transferred to a surviving 

spouse or are not taxable for other reasons.   

 

Many personal representatives file Maine estate tax returns even though no tax is due.  These 

returns are normally filed as part of a request to remove the estate tax lien that is automatically 

imposed on all of the estate’s real and tangible property located in Maine.  A simplified return, 

Form 706ME-EZ, may be filed for non-taxable estates with total property (gross estate plus 

prior taxable gifts) valued at less than $1 million.  In addition to requesting a lien release, this 

form may be used to request a Certificate of Discharge of Personal Representative Liability.  If 

an estate is taxable, or close to being taxable, you might want to consider enlisting the help of a 

professional estate tax preparer, who will be able to assemble and file all of the appropriate 

documents.  A professional, however, is not necessary to complete a Maine estate tax return, 

either Form 706ME-EZ or Form 706ME. 
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 PART 1 – RESOURCES 

 

 

Maine Revenue Services has many resources for assisting in the preparation of estate tax 

returns.  Following is a list of publications and contact information. 

 

MRS web site: www.maine.gov/revenue IRS web site: www.irs.gov  

 

Downloadable forms: www.maine.gov/revenue/forms, select Estate Tax 

 

General information: www.maine.gov/revenue/incomeestate/estate 

 

Maine estate tax rule: www.maine.gov/revenue/rules, select Rule 601 

 

Maine estate tax law: mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36ch575sec0.html  

 

Email: estatetax@maine.gov 

Telephone: 207-626-8480 

Fax: 207-624-9694 

 

Mail:  If sending a check with a return: If not sending a check with a return: 

 Maine Revenue Services Maine Revenue Services 

 Income/Estate Tax Division Income/Estate Tax Division 

 P.O. Box 1065 P.O. Box 1064 

 Augusta, Maine  04332-1065 Augusta, Maine  04332-1064 

 

 General correspondence: 

 Maine Revenue Services 

 Income/Estate Tax Division 

 P.O. Box 1060 

 Augusta, Maine  04332-1060 
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PART 2 – BACKGROUND 

 

 

The federal estate tax, enacted in 1916, is a tax on the transfer of a person’s property at the time 

of that person’s death.  The tax is imposed on the transfer itself rather than on the property or 

on the privilege of a beneficiary to receive the property.  From 1986 until 2002, the Maine estate 

tax was equal to the federal state death tax credit, as calculated on the federal estate tax return, 

Form 706.  Beginning in 2002, the federal estate tax began to phase out, with repeal in 2010 and 

reintroduction in 2011.  In December of 2010, the president signed into law a higher, $5 million 

exclusion amount and a lower top tax rate (35%) for 2011 and 2012.  The $5 million exclusion 

and 35% rate are available to 2010 decedents on an optional basis.  The pre-2002 limitations are 

scheduled to be reinstated at the federal level in 2013.  The federal credit for state death tax was 

phased out from 2002 to 2005.  Maine partially decoupled from federal estate tax law, which 

resulted in some estates being taxable to Maine but not at the federal level.  The Maine estate tax 

under current law will continue at 2009 levels through 2012, regardless of the 2010 federal 

changes.   

 

Despite Maine’s decoupling from federal law, only a small minority of estates are taxed.  This 

guidance document is intended solely as advice to persons seeking information about the Maine 

estate tax and provides more information than is available in the filing instructions for the estate 

tax return.  If an estate is not taxable, this document will assist the reader in completing the 

simplified estate tax return, Form 706ME-EZ.   

 

If a decedent owned property in Maine, it is often a good idea to file an estate tax return along 

with a request for lien release, even if an estate is not subject to the Maine estate tax.  Many 

buyers of property or banks that loan money secured by property will require a lien release prior 

to final purchase or approval of a loan.  When an individual dies, leaving property located in 

Maine, an automatic lien is placed on that property.  Liens that are not released by operation of 

law must be released by filing a completed lien release request that is approved by Maine 

Revenue Services.  If there is any outstanding estate tax, that too must be paid prior to the 

release of a lien.  Once a lien is released, a beneficiary receiving property may sell that property 

absent the Maine lien.   



6 

 

Maine Revenue Services has designed a simple form for filing an informational return (Form 

706ME-EZ) to accompany a Certificate of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien for those estates that are 

not taxable (less than $1 million of gross value plus taxable gifts).   

 

Form 706ME-EZ may also be used for requesting a Certificate of Discharge of Personal 

Representative Liability.  This certificate exempts a personal representative personally from any 

future estate tax liability of an estate, as long as a return has been filed and any tax due 

(including interest and penalty) has been paid.  The exemption is limited to the liability of the 

estate for which the individual is the representative and applies only to the individual’s capacity 

as a personal representative.  If the individual is also a beneficiary, a liability may still be 

attached to any property inherited by that individual.  The certificate may be downloaded from 

the MRS web site at the address listed in Part 1 of this document. 

 

If an estate contains any real property (such as a home or land) or tangible personal property 

(such as a motor home or watercraft) in Maine, the personal representative may complete a 

Certificate of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien and attach it to Form 706ME-EZ, to request a release 

of the automatic estate tax lien on that property.  The personal representative can contact the 

registry of deeds in the county where real property is located for help completing the certificate. 
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PART 3 – COMPLETING FORM 706ME-EZ 

FOR 2005 – 2012 DECEDENTS 

 

STEP 1 – Demographic Information 

 

The personal representative (or other preparer) must complete the demographic information in 

Step 1 of the form.  The first four lines are for information about the decedent.  The term 

“domicile” means the state of legal residence of the decedent at the date of death.  For more 

information about domicile and residence, see “Guidance to Residency Status” at: 

www.maine.gov/revenue/incomeestate/guidance and Rule 807 at 

www.maine.gov/revenue/rules.  

 

It is important to enter the decedent’s permanent address of legal residence, which may be 

different from the address where the decedent died.  For example, if a person who was domiciled 

in Maine was in New York on a business trip when he/she died, enter the decedent’s home 

address in Maine and not the hotel address in New York.   

 

Also included in Step 1 is information about the personal representative.  The personal 

representative, sometimes called an executor, is the person appointed to administer the estate.  

This person, often a family member, is ordinarily named in the will of the decedent.  If the 

decedent’s will does not designate a personal representative, usually the judge of probate in the 

county where the will is administered will appoint one.  Enter that person’s information in the 

space provided in Step 1. 

 

STEP 2 – Authorization of a Third Party 

 

Completing this step authorizes Maine Revenue Services to discuss the contents of the return 

with the estate representative named in this section.  Normally, this will be filled in with the 

preparer’s name (both the firm and the preparer), address and contact information, if a 

professional preparer is completing the return.  If this section is left blank, Maine Revenue 

Services will talk only to the personal representative about the estate and the corresponding tax 

return, absent a completed power of attorney document.  All correspondence from Maine 
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Revenue Services will go to the personal representative listed under Step 1, even if Step 2 is 

completed. 

 

STEP 3 – Residency Status 

 

The representative must check the appropriate residency box in Step 3.  A decedent is a resident 

of his or her state of domicile at the time of death.  For more information about state of domicile, 

see Rule 601, Rule 807 and the Guidance to Residency Status at the address included in the Step 

1 section above. 

 

STEP 4 – Estate Information 

 

The personal representative (or other preparer) must complete lines 1 through 3.  The worksheet 

for line 3, total gross estate, is located on page 2 of Form 706ME-EZ.  The worksheet is used to 

calculate the value of the decedent’s assets.  Once Form 706ME-EZ, lines 1 through 3 are 

completed, the personal representative must sign the return.  If a paid preparer completed the 

return, that person must also sign the return. 

 

The property included on the worksheet must be included at full value as of the decedent’s date 

of death, no matter where it is located (Maine or out-of-state) and prior to the reduction by any 

associated debt, such as mortgage debt on a home.  The full value of all property is included on 

this worksheet even if the decedent is not a resident of Maine.  If the federal gross estate 

column of the worksheet (line 12) totals $1 million or greater, Form 706ME must 

be filed instead of Form 706ME-EZ.  The personal representative may subtract debt and 

allocate Maine and non-Maine property only on Form 706ME, not on Form 706ME-EZ. 

 

What follows is a list of the individual lines on the worksheet for line 3, Form 706ME-EZ and a 

description of the contents for each line, as well as methods for assigning value to the property 

on each respective line. 
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Worksheet for Form 706ME-EZ, Line 3 

Maine Estate Tax Information Return for Lien Discharge 

If a line from this worksheet contains a dollar amount, proof of value must be 

included with the decedent’s estate tax return.  In most cases, the value can be 

verified with the documents mentioned in the instructions below.  In some cases, 

supporting documentation may be requested by Maine Revenue Services. 

 

Line 1: Real estate 

 

Real estate includes all land, buildings and houses that are wholly in the decedent’s name 

(shared real property is included on line 5).  Real estate must be included at its fair market value 

as of the decedent’s date of death.  If the alternate valuation date is used to determine the value 

of property in an estate, Form 706ME must be used.  There are several ways to determine the 

value of real estate.  For estates that are not close to being valued at $1 million, acceptable 

valuation methods ordinarily include the municipal property valuation, sales of comparable 

houses in the neighborhood, or a valuation by a real estate agency.  Often realtors will provide 

valuation estimates for free.  Note: If an estate is taxable, or if an estate is selected for 

audit, whether ultimately taxable or not, more formal methods may be required to 

determine actual value as of the decedent’s date of death, such as professional 

property appraisals.   

 

The valuation of real estate is reported on Form 706ME-EZ at full value as of the decedent’s date 

of death, regardless of any mortgage that may be held against the property.  If the total value of 

the federal gross estate plus adjusted taxable gifts and Maine elective property is $1 million or 

more, Form 706ME must be filed.  All liabilities, which are included on a separate schedule on 

federal Form 706, will be subtracted  from the gross value of the estate only on Form 706ME. 

 

Line 2: Stocks and bonds 

 

This line is for the value of the decedent’s investments.   To obtain the correct amount to enter 

on this line, contact the broker who maintained the accounts and ask for a date of death 



10 

valuation.  Normally, brokerage houses will perform this service for free.  Alternately, the value 

of the decedent’s stocks and bonds may be taken from the last monthly statement prior to the 

date of death.  The value of stocks and bonds may not be reduced by fees or other charges on 

Form 706ME-EZ.  Fees and charges are allowed only on Form 706ME.  Include savings bonds 

on this line.  To determine the value of savings bonds, try an online calculator, such as the one 

at: www.savingsbonds.gov/indiv/tools/tools_savingsbondcalc.htm.  

 

Line 3: Mortgages, notes and cash 

 

Cash is the amount held in checking, savings or other bank accounts as of the decedent’s date of 

death.  Cash value may be obtained either from the decedent’s last bank statement or by 

contacting the bank for a date of death valuation. 

 

Mortgages and notes are amounts owed to the decedent at the time of death by other parties and 

are valued based on the associated amortization schedules.  Do not include amounts owed by the 

decedent to other parties.  Mortgages and notes are structured loan arrangements with an 

agreement to make payments on a predetermined schedule.  For example, if the decedent had 

sold land to a buyer and there was a written agreement for the buyer to pay for the land over a 

period of time, that mortgage amount would be included on this line.  The amount to be 

included is the remainder of the loan that has yet to be paid to the decedent, plus unpaid accrued 

interest, at the date of death. 

 

Line 4: Insurance on the decedent’s life 

 

If the decedent had a life insurance policy that resulted in a payment to the decedent’s estate 

(not directly to a beneficiary) after death, this payment is included in the decedent’s estate.  The 

value of the life insurance payment may be substantiated either by federal Form 712 as 

completed by the insurance company or a photocopy of the check sent by the life insurance 

company. 
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Line 5: Jointly owned property 

 

This line will most often contain real estate, such as houses and land, that are owned by both 

spouses or by the decedent and one or more other persons.  This line should also include any 

other jointly owned assets, such as joint checking accounts.  If the decedent owned property with 

other persons, you may attach a separate sheet of paper listing each owner’s name and 

percentage of ownership.  

 

If the decedent jointly owned property with a surviving spouse or another person whose name 

was added to the deed for convenience or for purposes of avoiding the probate process, include 

on this line the full value of the property to the extent includible on federal Form 706 if a federal 

return was required (see Form 706, Schedule E).  Do not divide the value between the decedent 

and the other owners.   

 

If the decedent and other joint owners received a parcel of real estate or other property as a gift 

from a third party, enter the appropriate value of the property on line 5.   If the decedent gifted 

any portion of his or her property, enclose the appropriate gift tax returns (including appraisals) 

that were filed with the IRS in the years of the gifts.  Do not include on this line the balance due 

of any mortgage or other loan secured by the property.   

 

If Form 706ME is filed, an accounting for the division of the value between the decedent and 

other owners of the property and a reduction for any associated debt will be included as part of 

that return.   

 

Line 6: Other miscellaneous property 

 

Include on this line any items owned by the decedent at time of death that were not included on 

another line.  Typical items to include are the contents of a safe deposit box, cars, boats, campers 

and other vehicles, coin collections and other personal property.  For the vehicles, value may be 

obtained through the Kelley Blue Book or other such publication.  Other valuation procedures 

may include estimates by the personal representative, using the sale price of similar items as a 

base.  Include the value of jointly owned miscellaneous property as part of the line 5 total rather 

than on this line. 
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Line 7: Transfers during the decedent’s life 

 

The item typically included on this line is a revocable trust.  A revocable trust is one that is set up 

by the decedent and in which the decedent retains full use and enjoyment of the included assets.  

This type of trust is often used to avoid the probate process.  Then, at the death of the decedent, 

the remainder of the trust is distributed to the beneficiaries named in the trust document.  

During life, the decedent may change, or revoke, all or part of the trust agreement.  The value of 

a revocable trust must be included in the decedent’s gross estate.  Include on this line the value 

of all assets held by a revocable trust.  This value can be obtained through a date of death 

valuation of the trust assets from the trustee. 

 

Line 8: Powers of appointment 

 

This line generally consists of the value of a trust, other than a revocable trust included on line 7, 

over which the decedent had control.  Prior to death, the decedent may have been entitled to the 

trust proceeds and may have had some control of the trust assets, often a trust set up by a spouse 

or a parent upon death.  Include on this line the value of all assets located in such trusts.  The 

value of these trusts can be obtained by a date of death valuation supplied by the trustee.  If you 

are unsure whether certain controls or powers may cause assets to be included in the decedent’s 

estate, you should consider enlisting the help of a professional estate tax return preparer. 

 

Line 9: Annuities/retirement assets 

 

Enter on this line the value of any retirement accounts owned by the decedent at death.  

Retirement accounts include IRAs, 401(k) accounts or some other account or annuity 

specifically designated for retirement purposes.  For the correct value, ask the contract annuity 

company for a federal Form 712 equivalent or ask the bank for a date of death value.  For 

brokerage IRAs, you may get a valuation from the broker. 

 

 

 

 



13 

Line 10: Trusts or pass-through interests 

 

For all decedents, enter the value of the individual assets located in trusts and pass-through 

entities not included on another line on this worksheet.  All assets located in a trust of a Maine 

resident decedent are included in the estate value, whether or not the estate incurs a liability.  

Include on this line the value, at date of death, of the decedent’s share of any pass-through 

entity. 

 

Line 11: Adjusted taxable gifts 

 

Enter on this line the value of any taxable gifts made by the decedent.  Taxable gifts are those 

gifts made by the decedent to any one person in any one year that exceed the annual federal gift 

tax exclusion.  If a person gives an amount in excess of the exclusion to any one person in any 

one year, federal gift tax Form 709 should have been filed.  If the decedent had previously filed 

Forms 709, attach copies to the Maine estate tax return.  The annual gift tax exclusion is 

adjusted for inflation.  The dollar amounts for each year are: 

 

 $13,000 for 2009 through 2012 

 $12,000 for 2006 through 2008 

 $11,000 for 2002 through 2005 

 $10,000 for 2001 and prior years 

 

If taxable gifts have been made within one year of death, Form 706ME-EZ may not be filed; 

instead, Form 706ME must be completed. 

 

Line 12: Total Gross Estate 

 

Add lines 1 through 11.  Enter the amount from column B on line 3 of the return.  If this amount 

is $1 million or greater, or if the estate contains any Maine elective property at all, Form 706ME-

EZ cannot be used and Form 706ME (including federal pro forma Form 706) must be filed.   
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Line 13: Marital Deduction – Bequests to Surviving Spouse  

 

Enter on this line the value of property included on line 12 that is passed to the surviving spouse. 

 

EXAMPLES 

 

Below are examples of estates and how to complete Form 706ME-EZ. 

 

Example #3.1 

 

John Smith, a resident of Maine dies in 2012, leaving a home, a summer camp, a bank account 

balance and a life insurance policy.  The value of these items at date of death is as follows. 

 

Home   $175,000 

Camp       75,000 

Bank Account   200,000 

Life Insurance   100,000 

Gross Estate  $550,000 

 

This total represents the entirety of John’s assets and there was no surviving spouse to whom 

these assets could be left.  Since the total value of all assets is less than $1 million, the personal 

representative may file Form 706ME-EZ to obtain a lien release for the home and camp 

properties. 

 

On the worksheet for Form 706ME-EZ, the home and camp are included on line 1 (Real Estate), 

the bank account is entered on line 3 (Mortgages, Notes and Cash) and the life insurance 

proceeds are included on line 4 (Insurance on the decedent’s life).  Along with Form 706ME-EZ 

and valuation documents, a Certificate of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien must be filed to obtain a 

lien release for the home and camp.  If the two properties are located in the same county, they 

can be included on one certificate.  If, however, the properties are in two different counties, it 

will probably be more advantageous for the personal representative to include each property on 

a separate certificate.  By applying for two separate discharges, the personal representative is 
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able to supply each county administrator with the appropriate paperwork for the property 

located in that county.   

 

Example #3.2 

 

The facts are the same as in the first example, except John has left a surviving spouse, Susan. 

 

Home   $175,000 

Camp       75,000 

Bank Account   200,000 

Life Insurance   100,000 

Gross Estate  $550,000 

 

This total represents the entirety of John’s assets, but in this case there is a surviving spouse, 

Susan.  John willed everything to Susan.  Since, as in the first example, the total value of all 

assets is less than $1 million, the personal representative may file Form 706ME-EZ to obtain a 

lien release for the home and camp properties. 

 

The personal representative may complete the worksheet on the back of Form 706ME-EZ the 

same as in the first example, except for one difference.  The total from line 11 of the worksheet 

($550,000) is also entered on line 13 (Marital Deduction).  This line represents the value of the 

assets transferred to the surviving spouse. 

 

Downloadable copies of Form 706ME-EZ, the Certificate of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien and 

other forms are located at www.maine.gov/revenue/forms/estate/2012.htm. 

 

For further information, call 207-626-8480, email estatetax@maine.gov or write: Maine 

Revenue Services, Income/Estate Tax Division, P.O. Box 9107, Augusta, ME 04332-9107. 
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PART 4 – APPLICATION OF EXCLUSION AMOUNTS 

 

 

Beginning in 2002, Maine decoupled from federal estate tax law changes, including the increase 

in exclusion amounts and the phase out of the state death tax deduction.  For decedents in 2010 

through 2012, the Maine estate tax is determined based on the federal law applicable to 

decedents dying in 2009.  All other calculations, such as property valuation, are to be based on 

the version of the Internal Revenue Code (“Code”) in effect on the date of death.  The intent of 

Maine law is to tax estates in the same manner as they would have been taxed prior to the 2010 

phase-out of the federal estate tax.   

 

The taxability of an estate is determined by the applicable exclusion amount.  Generally, if an 

estate’s value is the same or greater than the exclusion amount, the estate is taxable; if the value 

is below the exclusion amount, the estate is not taxable.  Different exclusion amounts are now 

used in determining the taxability of an estate for federal and state tax purposes.  The values of 

the federal taxable estate and the Maine taxable estate, for purposes of determining the 

taxability of an estate, may also differ if the Maine taxable estate includes Maine elective 

property and/or prior taxable gifts as defined by Maine law.  For a discussion on prior taxable 

gifts, see Part 6.  The tentative federal tax is calculated on the aggregate value of the taxable 

estate and adjusted taxable gifts (line 5 on federal Form 706).  The tentative federal tax on the 

sum of the taxable estate and adjusted taxable gifts is then reduced by the amount of the gift 

taxes paid or payable on post-1976 gifts.  This reduced tax total results in the amount of federal 

estate tax to which credits are applied to determine the net estate tax payable. 

 

Maine’s estate tax law provides, in part, that the adjusted taxable estate is to be determined 

using the applicable Code provisions.  Those provisions require that the value of the federal 

gross estate of the decedent plus the value of adjusted taxable gifts be used in determining the 

taxability of an estate for Maine purposes.  Maine law further adjusts this total by adding Maine 

elective property to the total federal gross estate and adjusted taxable gifts.  If this total equals or 

exceeds $1,000,000, the estate is taxable to Maine. 
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For estates of decedents dying in 2009 - 2012, Maine’s definition of federal gross estate includes 

taxable gifts made within one year prior to the date of death.  This inclusion in federal gross 

estate does not change the taxable threshold of an estate, but it does change the value of the 

estate that is taxable to Maine. 

 

If the $1,000,000 taxable threshold value is reached by an estate, Form 706ME must be filed; 

Form 706ME-EZ is not allowed for those estates.  The Maine taxable value of an estate includes 

adjustments for Maine QTIP allowance, Maine elective property and taxable gifts made within 

one year of death.   
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PART 5 – MAINE QUALIFIED TERMINABLE INTEREST 

PROPERTY AND MAINE ELECTIVE PROPERTY 

 

 

A federal qualified terminable interest property (“QTIP”) election/trust is a popular estate 

planning tool that allows for a decedent to control the eventual distribution of assets, while at 

the same time providing some financial security for a surviving spouse during that spouse’s 

remaining life.  A QTIP trust is funded with property that is includible in the federal marital 

deduction, but for which the ultimate distribution of funds (at the death of the surviving spouse) 

is determined by the first decedent. 

 

A Maine QTIP election, on the other hand, is made for different purposes.  The Maine QTIP 

election is claimed to maximize the federal estate tax exclusion without incurring immediate 

Maine tax liability.  The Maine QTIP is most useful when the federal exclusion amount is higher 

than the Maine exclusion.  Beginning with 2005 deaths, estates of decedents with surviving 

spouses can elect to create a separate Maine QTIP trust, with a value up to the difference 

between the federal exclusion and the Maine exclusion (36 M.R.S.A. § 4062(2-B)).  The election 

postpones Maine estate tax on the Maine QTIP property from the estate of a decedent with a 

surviving spouse until the death of that spouse.  The value of the Maine QTIP trust is included in 

the federal taxable estate of the first decedent, but is treated as having passed to the surviving 

spouse for Maine estate tax purposes. 

 

For estates of decedents dying in 2010, the maximum allowable Maine QTIP is limited to 

$2,500,000, the difference between federal and Maine exclusions in 2009.  A Maine QTIP 

election of up to $2,500,000 can be made for a 2010 decedent even if the option to not file a 

federal estate tax return is exercised.  The Maine QTIP limitation for 2010 decedents is not 

affected by the federal estate tax law changes enacted in December, 2010.   

 

For estates of decedents dying in 2011 - 2012, the Maine QTIP amount can equal the difference 

between the Maine exclusion and the federal exclusion amounts.  For 2011 decedents, the 
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maximum Maine QTIP amount is $4 million.  For 2012 decedents, the maximum Maine QTIP 

amount is $4,120,000.   

 

The property included in a Maine QTIP election must qualify as QTIP property under federal 

law.  Additionally, the property included in a Maine QTIP trust may not be part of a federal QTIP 

election.  For a Maine QTIP election to be valid, the QTIP trust created by the first spouse’s 

estate must be qualified both federally and for Maine purposes and the surviving spouse must be 

a U.S. citizen.  

 

The usual method for making a Maine QTIP election follows a two-step plan.  After the death of 

the first spouse, an amount equal to the federal exclusion is transferred to the decedent’s federal 

taxable estate and the remaining assets are transferred to the surviving spouse and included in 

the marital deduction.  The Maine QTIP trust is then funded with property included in the 

federal taxable estate having a value not exceeding the difference between the federal exclusion 

amount and the Maine exclusion amount ($1,000,000 for 2006-2008, $2,500,000 for 2009-

2010, $4,000,000 for 2011 and $4,120,000 for 2012).  After the election, the Maine taxable 

estate is equal to the federal taxable estate less the value of the Maine QTIP.  If the value of the 

Maine taxable estate is equal to the Maine exclusion amount, the estate will owe no Maine estate 

tax. 

 

When the second spouse dies, the federal taxable estate is increased by the value of the 

remaining Maine QTIP (now referred to as Maine elective property) to calculate the Maine 

taxable estate.  Please note that the value of a QTIP trust may (and probably will) change from 

the date of death of the first spouse to the date of death of the surviving spouse. 

 

For example, a husband dies in 2011, leaving behind an estate worth $10,000,000.  Upon his 

death, $5,000,000 is passed directly to his wife and the remaining $5,000,000 is transferred to 

a QTIP-eligible trust.  The estate does not make a federal QTIP election for the eligible property, 

but does make the election for Maine of $4,000,000 of the QTIP-eligible property.  Since the 

Maine QTIP trust is considered a direct transfer to the surviving spouse, it is treated as marital 

deduction property and is not taxable to Maine at this time.  Since, however, the QTIP election 

was not made at the federal level, the eligible property is included as part of the federal taxable 

estate.  Therefore, the husband leaves a federal taxable estate of $5,000,000 (property 
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transferred to the QTIP-eligible trust, but not claimed as a QTIP) and a Maine taxable estate of 

$1,000,000 ($5,000,000 federal taxable estate - $4,000,000 Maine QTIP), net of the 

adjustment for the Maine QTIP property.  Thus, the estate tax liability in this example is zero at 

both the federal and state levels. 

 

The wife subsequently dies in 2012.  Assume that her total estate consists of $5,000,000 plus 

the $5,000,000 passed directly to her by her husband’s estate plus the current value of the 

Maine QTIP trust (Maine elective property), which has diminished to a current value of 

$3,000,000.  The federal gross estate is equal to $10,000,000 ($5,000,000 + $5,000,000).   

The Maine gross estate is equal to $13,000,000 ($10,000,000 federal gross estate + 

$3,000,000 Maine elective property). 

 

Representatives of 2010 decedents are allowed an option regarding the federal estate tax.  A 

representative may elect to apply the federal estate tax or to exclude the estate from taxation.  

For 2010 decedents whose representatives opt to exclude the estate from federal tax, Maine 

allows a pro forma federal QTIP election for qualified property not included in a Maine QTIP.  

Property included in a Maine QTIP election, property included in a pro forma federal QTIP 

election and all other property considered marital deduction property must be included in the 

value of the estate of the surviving spouse, for purposes of the Maine estate tax. 

 

For estates that include property both in Maine and another state, the gross Maine estate tax is 

reduced for property not taxable to Maine.  The Maine estate tax is determined by multiplying 

the Maine gross estate tax by a fraction representing the percentage of Maine taxable property.  

The numerator of this fraction includes the value of property taxable to Maine and the 

denominator includes the value of the gross estate.  For estates with Maine elective property, 

that property must be included in both the numerator and the denominator of the fraction.  The 

entire value of Maine elective property is included in the denominator, while the numerator 

must include the value of Maine elective property taxable to Maine.   

 

To illustrate, consider the wife who is the second decedent in the previous example.  Her estate 

consisted of the $10,000,000 federal gross estate plus $3,000,000 of Maine elective property.  

She is a resident of Massachusetts at the time of her death and the $10,000,000 federal estate is 

made up of $2,000,000 in Maine property and $8,000,000 in Massachusetts property.  The 
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Maine elective property contains $200,000 in Maine property.  For purposes of calculating the 

Maine estate tax, the Maine fraction is ($2,000,000 + $200,000)/($13,000,000) = 0.169231 or 

16.923%. 

 

Generally, Maine Revenue Services will follow federal estate tax law where Maine law does not 

specifically deviate from federal law or where federal law would be appropriate to apply in a 

specific context.  All estates claiming a Maine QTIP election on an estate tax return (Form 

706ME) must attach to the return a specific list and description of the Maine QTIP assets.   

 

If the decedent made taxable gifts prior to death, you must be careful to select the proper 

amount with which to fund the Maine QTIP trust.  The Maine QTIP must be enough to reduce 

the taxable estate plus taxable gifts to the Maine exclusion amount.  For example, a decedent 

with a gross estate of $10 million had prior taxable gifts totaling $500,000.  The decedent funds 

the taxable estate with $3 million, leaving the remaining $7 million to his wife.  In order to take 

full advantage of the federal and Maine exclusion amounts, the decedent must fund the Maine 

QTIP with $2,500,000, bringing the taxable estate down to $500,000 and the taxable estate 

plus prior taxable gifts to $1,000,000. 
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PART 6 – TAXABLE GIFTS 

 

 

Beginning with deaths in 2009, Maine law requires that the Maine taxable estate include taxable 

gifts made within one year of death.  Taxable gifts are those gifts that are considered taxable for 

federal gift tax purposes.  To be considered taxable, a gift must exceed the annual gift tax 

exclusion.  This exclusion is indexed for inflation.  For gifts made in 2009 – 2012, the exclusion 

amount is $13,000 and for 2008 the exclusion is $12,000.  Gifts made prior to January 1, 2008, 

will not be included in the Maine taxable estate, but will be considered in the Maine estate tax 

calculation. 

 

To determine if gift property is Maine taxable property, use the same guidelines as with all other 

property.  For Maine resident decedents, all property except real and tangible personal property 

located outside Maine at the time of the gift is Maine taxable property.  For nonresident 

decedents, real and tangible personal property located in Maine at the time of the gift is Maine 

taxable property. 

 

For example, in 2010 a Maine resident makes a cash gift of $100,000 to a relative who lives in 

Massachusetts.  If that Maine resident then dies within one year of making that gift, the cash is 

included in the Maine taxable estate and is counted as Maine taxable property.  Likewise, if a 

nonresident gives to a family member a boat worth $100,000 that is located at the nonresident’s 

summer camp in Maine, that boat is included in the nonresident’s Maine taxable property if he 

or she dies within one year of the gift.  This is true even if the person receiving the boat moves it 

to another state. 

 

EXAMPLE #6.1 

 

Phil, a Massachusetts resident, makes gifts to his two children in 2010; to his daughter, Pat, he 

gives $50,000 cash and to his son, Pete, he gives a painting worth $50,000.  The painting is, at 

the time of the gift, hanging on a wall of Phil’s vacation home in Maine.  The two gifts are 

completed on August 15, 2010.  Pat is a Maine resident and Pete is a resident of North Carolina.  
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Pat deposits her $50,000 in her local bank.  Pete has his new gift shipped to his home in North 

Carolina.  In April 2011, Phil files a gift tax return, showing $74,000 in taxable gifts, as follows: 

 

Cash to Pat ($50,000 less $13,000 exclusion):   $37,000 

Painting to Pete ($50,000 less $13,000 exclusion): $37,000 

        $74,000 

 

In June, 2011, Phil dies, leaving the following items in his estate: 

 

Massachusetts house: $   500,000 

Property in MA house $   500,000 

Life insurance:  $1,000,000 

IRA:    $   750,000 

Other investments:  $2,250,000 

Maine house & property: $   400,000 

Total     $5,400,000 

 

Phil’s Maine estate includes the property above plus the $74,000 in gifts made less than one 

year prior to his death.  Assuming Phil’s estate has no deductions, the gross estate will be the 

same as the taxable estate.  The Maine taxable estate is equal to: 

 

Federal estate:  $5,400,000 

Prior year’s taxable gifts: $     74,000 

Maine taxable estate $5,474,000 

 

The Maine gross estate tax is calculated using Form 706ME, Table A and associated worksheet 

to be $447,680.  The percentage of Maine property is then calculated: 

 

Maine property = Maine house & property plus Gift to Pete 

 = $400,000 + $37,000 = $437,000 

Percentage of Maine property = Maine property/total estate = $437,000/$5,474,000 = 

0.079832 
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Maine estate tax = Maine gross estate tax x percentage of Maine property 

 = $447,680 x 0.079832 = $35,739 
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PART 7 – MISCELLANEOUS ISSUES 
 

Section A – Noncitizens 
 
If you are filing a federal Form 706-QDT for a Maine decedent with a noncitizen surviving 

spouse, you must also file an amended Maine estate tax return, Form 706ME, including a copy 

of the federal Form 706-QDT.  A distribution from a qualified domestic trust that triggers the 

necessity of filing a federal Form 706-QDT estate tax return will also increase the Maine taxable 

estate and the Maine estate tax.  This requirement applies to all estates of Maine decedents with 

surviving spouses who are not citizens of the United States. 

 

For estates of decedents who die prior to 2013, Maine follows the federal unified credit 

restriction for estates of decedents who were nonresidents and not citizens of the United States. 

According to IRC § 2102, the unified credit generally allowed for estates of nonresidents who 

were not citizens of the United States is limited to $13,000 and this credit replaces the credit 

under IRC § 2010 when calculating the tax for the estate of a nonresident who was not a U.S. 

citizen.  Since, for estates of decedents through 2012, Maine follows the unified credit calculated 

for federal purposes under the Code as of December 31, 2000, Maine will also allow only the 

limited $13,000 unified credit replacement for purposes of calculating the Maine estate tax. 

Sometimes, the limitation may be higher than the $13,000 reported in the Code because it may 

be covered in a tax treaty between the U.S. and the appropriate country.  The IRS web site 

contains links to tax treaties from many different countries (go to: 

www.irs.gov/businesses/international/article/0,,id=96739,00.html.  The appropriate section 

of the U.S.-Canadian treaty is Article XXIX B. 

 
 

Section B – Asset Valuation 
 
If a nonresident decedent owns an interest in a pass-through entity, the entity structure may be 

disregarded and the estate taxed on the underlying assets.  For information regarding 

nonresident ownership interests of pass-through entities, see 36 M.R.S.A. § 4064  and MRS Rule 

601.07(D). 
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Section C – Gap Estates: Administrative Expenses 
 
Maine law requires that if administrative expenses under IRC § 642(g) are claimed on a federal 

fiduciary income tax return and also on a Maine estate tax return, those expenses must be added 

back to income for purposes of the Maine fiduciary return.  See 36 M.R.S.A. § 5122(1)(Y). 

 
 

Section D – Probate Security 
 

If the probate court requires security to ensure that the Maine estate tax is paid, a bond may be 

required.  In lieu of a required bond, MRS allows an estate to establish an escrow account in 

favor of MRS.  An escrow account may also be established in favor of MRS by a personal 

representative seeking early approval of Certificate of Discharge of Estate Tax Lien for sale of 

real estate prior to the filing of the Maine estate tax return. 

 

A personal representative may complete this agreement prior to being formally appointed.  

Upon the issuance of the letters of authority, the personal representative will fund the escrow 

account and send a letter to MRS with the account’s information. 

 

MRS requires that two original Estate Tax Escrow Agreements be completed and mailed to the 

address stated below.  One agreement will be retained at MRS and the other will be mailed to the 

personal representative. 

 

To authorize a third party to discuss the Estate Tax Escrow Agreement with MRS, the personal 

representative must complete Form 2848-ME, filing that form with the Estate Tax Escrow 

Agreement at the following address: 

 

Dennis M. Doiron, Director, Income/Estate Tax Division  

Maine Revenue Services  

P.O. Box 1068  

Augusta, ME 04332-1068 
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The director of the Income/Estate Tax Division reserves the right to reject any Estate Tax 

Escrow Agreement.  Under certain circumstances, the director may ask the estate to make a full 

payment directly to the State of Maine.  

 

If you have any questions pertaining to the Estate Tax Escrow Agreement call (207) 626-8480 

between 8:00 AM and 5:00 PM Monday through Friday, except holidays. 
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MAINE ESTATE TAX TABLE 

                      
              
   Table A Estates of Decedents Through 2012   
   1  2  3  4   
       subtract the       
   If adjusted taxable estate is  following amount from  Multiply     

   at least: BUT less than:  
adjusted taxable 

estate:  
result 

by:  Add:   
   $0  $40,000  $0  0.0%  $0   
   $40,000  $90,000  $40,000  0.8%  $0   
   $90,000  $140,000  $90,000  1.6%  $400   
   $140,000  $240,000  $140,000  2.4%  $1,200   
   $240,000  $440,000  $240,000  3.2%  $3,600   
   $440,000  $640,000  $440,000  4.0%  $10,000   
   $640,000  $840,000  $640,000  4.8%  $18,000   
   $840,000  $1,040,000  $840,000  5.6%  $27,600   
   $1,040,000  $1,540,000  $1,040,000  6.4%  $38,800   
   $1,540,000  $2,040,000  $1,540,000  7.2%  $70,800   
   $2,040,000  $2,540,000  $2,040,000  8.0%  $106,800   
   $2,540,000  $3,040,000  $2,540,000  8.8%  $146,800   
   $3,040,000  $3,540,000  $3,040,000  9.6%  $190,800   
   $3,540,000  $4,040,000  $3,540,000  10.4%  $238,800   
   $4,040,000  $5,040,000  $4,040,000  11.2%  $290,800   
   $5,040,000  $6,040,000  $5,040,000  12.0%  $402,800   
   $6,040,000  $7,040,000  $6,040,000  12.8%  $522,800   
   $7,040,000  $8,040,000  $7,040,000  13.6%  $650,800   
   $8,040,000  $9,040,000  $8,040,000  14.4%  $786,800   
   $9,040,000  $10,040,000  $9,040,000  15.2%  $930,800   
   $10,040,000    $10,040,000  16.0%  $1,082,800   
              
                      

 
 


