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Certified Maine Assessor & Certified Assessment Technician 

Exams 
 
Maine Revenue Services will conduct exams for prospective Maine property tax assessors on 
Thursday, May 28, 2015 at the Caribou Learning Center, 75 Bennett Drive, Caribou.  The 
exams will begin at 8:00 am and end at 4:30 pm with a 30 minute lunch break from noon to 
12:30. 
 
Exams for Certified Maine Assessor (“CMA”) and Certified Assessment Technician (“CAT”) 
will be held concurrently.  Each exam consists of five parts and all necessary reference material 
will be provided.  Only pencils and portable calculators will be permitted in the testing 
room.  Registrations must be completed and returned with a $25.00 non-refundable exam fee no 
later than Friday, May 15, 2015.  The registration form and more information about the tests are 
available at: http://www.maine.gov/revenue/propertytax/trainingcertification/exams.htm. 
 
 

Maine Revenue Services Rulemaking Activity 
 

Amended Rule 208, “Revaluation Guidelines.”  MRS has amended Rule 208 – Revaluation 
Guidelines.  The rule explains in further detail the process of revaluation of property and offers 
guidance for professionals providing revaluation services.  The amended rule updates obsolete 
references and makes other housekeeping changes.  Aside from technical changes, the only 
noteworthy change is to eliminate the requirement for a municipality to gain approval from the 
State Tax Assessor prior to using a new pricing schedule.  The new rule replaces that 
requirement with the requirement for municipalities to provide a copy of new pricing schedules 
to the State Tax Assessor only on request.  The new rule can be seen at 
www.maine.gov/revenue/rules/homepage.html. 

 
The following notices for Rules 601 and 603 were previously announced in a Tax Alert email 
issued March 4, 2015. 

 
Proposed Amendments to Rule 601, “Estate Tax.” MRS is proposing to amend Rule 601 
(“Estate Tax”).  The rule explains in further detail the estate tax laws of the State of Maine for 
estates of decedents dying on or after January 1, 2011, but before January 1, 2013.  MRS 
proposes to amend the rule to reflect a recent law change allowing for the automatic release of a 
lien when the property is passed by right of survivorship to a surviving joint tenant who was the 
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decedent’s spouse, or 10 years after the decedent’s date of death.  MRS is also proposing 
miscellaneous technical changes. 
 
Proposed Amendments to Rule 603, “Maine Estate Tax After 2012.” MRS is proposing to 
amend Rule 603 (“Maine Estate Tax After 2012”).  The rule explains in further detail the estate 
tax laws of the State of Maine for estates of decedents dying on or after January 1, 2013.  In 
addition to miscellaneous technical changes, MRS proposes to amend the rule to reflect a recent 
law change allowing for the automatic release of a lien when the property is passed by right of 
survivorship to a surviving joint tenant who was the decedent’s spouse, or 10 years after the 
decedent’s date of death.  MRS is also proposing to remove reference to the termination 
provision contained in IRC § 2210 as this provision was repealed prior to 36 M.R.S. Chapter 577 
being enacted. 
 
Proposed Rules 601 and 603 can be found on the MRS website at www.maine.gov/revenue 
(select Laws & Rules).  Comments are due by April 3, 2015 and should be directed to Dennis M. 
Doiron, Maine Revenue Services, 24 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333, (207) 626-
8483, dennis.m.doiron@maine.gov. 
 
 

19th Annual Maine Tax Forum 
 
SCORE Maine is offering the 19th annual Maine Tax Forum (“MTF”) on Wednesday, 
November 4th and Thursday, November 5th 2015 at the Augusta Civic Center.  
The Tax Forum will cover Federal and Maine tax developments, initiatives and case law 
developments, ethics, new IRS initiatives, ACA and other topics of current interest. 
Attendance at the Maine Tax Forum will provide CPE and CLE credits.  The number of 
approved credits will be determined once the program agenda is finalized but it is targeted to 
provide 16 hours of CE, including 2 hours of ethics. 
 

 
Tax Practitioner Institute Workshop 

 
SCORE Maine is also offering the Tax Practitioner Institute (“TPI”) in October at three separate 
locations in Maine: 

• Portland  -  October 20, 2015 -   New location to be announced 
• Bangor/Brewer – October 22, 2015 -  Jeff’s Catering 
• Augusta  - October 28, 2015  - Augusta Civic Center   

 
TPI is targeted more toward practitioners actually completing tax returns for clients.  The 
program utilizes the University of Illinois Tax Workbook as the basis for the presentations.  The 
program is designed to provide 8 hours of CE, including 2 hours of ethics and is somewhat 
complementary to MTF by providing different perspectives on topics that are similar. 
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This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 
practitioners and the general public informed of 
developments, problems, questions and matters of 
general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 
procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 
regulations. 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 
Please contact:  
Maine Revenue Services 
PO Box 1060 
Augusta, Maine  04332-1060 

Department Telephone Numbers FAX Numbers E-mail Addresses 
Taxpayer Service Center (207) 626-8475 (207) 287-5855 
Central Registration (207) 624-5644 (207) 287-6975 taxregistration@maine.gov 
Collections & Compliance (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Corporate Tax (207) 624-9670 (207) 624-9694 corporate.tax@maine.gov 
E-file Help Desk (1040 ONLY) (207) 624-9730 (207) 287-6628 efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 
Electronic Funds Transfer (207) 624-5625 (207) 287-3618 efunds.transfer@maine.gov 
Estate & Fiduciary Tax (207) 626-8480 (207) 624-9694 estatetax@maine.gov 
Fuel Tax (207) 624-9609 (207) 287-6628 fuel.tax@maine.gov 
Forms Request Line (207) 624-7894  
Individual Income Tax Assistance (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 income.tax@maine.gov 
Insurance Premium Tax (207) 624-9753 (207) 624-9694 
NexTalk (TTY Service) (888) 577-6690 
Payment Plan/Income Tax (207) 621-4300 (207) 621-4328 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Payment Plan/Other (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Practitioners’ Hotline (207) 626-8458 (207) 624-9694 
Property Tax (207) 624-5600 (207) 287-6396 prop.tax@maine.gov 
Public Communications (207) 626-8478 (207) 624-9694  
Sales Tax (207) 624-9693 (207) 287-6628 sales.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Clearance Letters (207) 624-9628 (207) 287-6627  
Office of Tax Policy (207) 624-9789 (207) 287-3618 
Taxpayer Advocate (207) 624-9649 (207) 287-3618 taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 
Withholding Tax (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 withholding.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Violations Hot Line (207) 624-9600 
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