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MAINE REVENUE SERVICES 
SALES, FUEL & SPECIAL TAX DIVISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION BULLETIN 
 

July 12, 2010              -----             NO. 100 
This bulletin contains important information about recent developments and issues that affect 
everyone who reports Maine sales, fuel and special taxes.  Please read it carefully. 
 

In This Issue … 
Page 1…Tax Reform Update and Electronic Filing Mandates 
Page 2…Watercraft Sold to Nonresidents, Products used in Commercial Animal Agriculture, Tire 

Disposal Fees, Sales of Medical Marijuana, and Wood Pellets 
Page 3…Motor Fuel Tax Rates, E-911 Prepaid Wireless Surcharge, Initiator of Deposits, New Telefile 

System and Bulletin Changes 
Page 4…Rule 302 Amendment, Filing an Amended Return and Taking Bad Debt Credits 

 
TAX REFORM UPDATE 

Although not yet certified by the Maine Secretary of State at the time this bulletin was developed, 
preliminary results indicate that the Maine "tax reform" law enacted in 2009 has been repealed by a 
majority of those voting at the June 8, 2010 referendum.  If the People's Veto results are confirmed by 
the Secretary of State, the changes made by the tax reform law, including those related to income taxes, 
sales taxes and the Maine Residents Property Tax Program, previously scheduled to go into effect in 
2010, 2011 and 2012 and apply thereafter, will not go into effect. 

ELECTRONIC FILING MANDATES 

Effective January 1, 2011 all sales, use and service provider accounts that report on a semi-annual basis 
will be required to file their returns electronically.  This is the third of four dates based on account filing 
frequency as provided in Rule 104 requiring the electronic data submission of tax returns.  Rule 104 can 
be viewed at http://www.maine.gov/revenue/rules/homepage.html.  Monthly accounts were subject to 
this requirement beginning April 1, 2009 and quarterly accounts beginning January 1, 2010.  Annual 
accounts will be added in 2012.  

PLEASE NOTE: Waivers are available for retailers that cannot file using either the internet or via the 
telephone.  Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) realizes that not all retailers may have a computer and/or 
internet access.    There is no requirement that a retailer make any purchases of additional equipment.  If 
you do not have a computer and/or internet access, a TeleFile system is in place to accept sales tax 
returns over the telephone. 

Semi-annual accounts were mailed information with the June 2010 return and will receive follow-up 
information with their December 2010 return.  The January-June 2011 return due on July 15, 2011, will 
be the first return affected by this change.  See also, “Other Items of Interest” below. 
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 RECENT LEGISLATIVE CHANGES     
Sales, Use and Service Provider Taxes 

WATERCRAFT SOLD TO NONRESIDENTS 

The sale of watercraft to a nonresident has been exempt from sales tax but the exemption required the 
nonresident to remove the watercraft from Maine within 30 days of delivery by the seller.  If the craft 
was present in Maine for more than 30 days, the 5% use tax applied to the full purchase price.  The law 
has now been amended to apply a 60% exemption in the event the watercraft remains in Maine beyond 
30 days.  As a result, nonresidents who keep their craft in Maine longer than 30 days will be subject to a 
sales/use tax of 5% on 40% of the purchase price.  This change is effective for transactions occurring on 
or after August 1, 2010.  Dealers of watercraft are advised to use the revised affidavit, form ST-P-19AE, 
which can be found on our forms webpage at http://www.maine.gov/revenue/forms/sales/salesforms.htm.  
(Chapter 620) 

PRODUCTS USED IN COMMERCIAL ANIMAL AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTION 

The exemption for certain agricultural products was expanded to include sales of antiseptics and 
cleaning agents used in commercial animal agricultural production.  Effective July 12, 2010, sales of 
these products will be exempt from sales tax when sold to a person who is engaged in a commercial 
activity, such as a dairy farmer.  (Chapter 632) 

TIRE DISPOSAL FEES 

The definition of sale price was amended to exclude “any amount charged for the disposal of used tires” 
from the taxable sale price of other products included in a transaction.   For instance, when a customer 
purchases a new tire, a retailer may charge the customer a small fee to dispose of the customer’s used 
tire.   This disposal fee had been considered by Maine Revenue Services to be part of the sale price of 
the new tire on which a sales tax was imposed.  This amendment to the law now exempts that disposal 
fee retroactively to January 1, 2009.  (Chapter 625) 

SALES OF MEDICAL MARIJUANA 

The law was amended to clarify that the exemption for prescription medicine does not apply to the sale 
of marijuana pursuant to Title 22, chapter 558-C (the Maine Medical Marijuana Act). Effective July 12, 
2010, such sales are subject to the 5% sales/use tax.  . (Chapter 625) 

SALES OF WOOD PELLETS AND OTHER 100% COMPRESSED WOOD PRODUCTS 

Sales of wood when bought for cooking and heating in residential buildings are exempt from sales tax.  
The law has been amended effective July 12, 2010 to provide that the sale of 200 pounds or less of wood 
pellets or of any 100% compressed wood product intended for use in a wood stove or fireplace is 
presumed to meet the requirements of this exemption.  Previously affidavits or logs were required to 
support the claim that the wood would be used for residential heating or cooking purposes.  As an 
example, the amendment allows a customer to purchase up to five 40lb bags of pellets in one transaction 
exempt from sales/use tax without providing an affidavit or signing a log.  Unless the wood is delivered 
to a residential customer, an affidavit or log signature will still be required for purchases of greater than 
200 pounds per transaction.  (Chapter 625) 



 

3 

Motor Fuel Taxes 

NO CHANGE TO FUEL EXCISE TAX RATES 

Motor fuel excise tax rates are indexed annually on July 1.  However, no change will occur if the 
inflation index is less than one.  Since the change in the consumer price index reflected a minor negative 
value, there was no impact on the excise tax rates this year.  The excise tax rate for gasoline remains at 
29.5¢ per gallon.  The excise tax rate on diesel fuel remains at 30.7¢ per gallon.  

For a complete listing of all the fuel tax rates see http://www.maine.gov/revenue/fueltax/fueltaxrates.htm.  

Other Special Taxes and Fees 

E-9-1-1 SURCHARGE ON SALES OF PREPAID WIRELESS 

The 37¢ surcharge applied to purchases of prepaid wireless service from a wireless service provider and 
on any prepaid wireless service sold by a retailer increased to 45¢ on July 1, 2010.  (Chapter 617) 

INITIATOR OF DEPOSITS 
On April 1, 2010, legislation was enacted that allows the Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural 
Resources to remove from sale a beverage that is sold or distributed in the State by an initiator of deposit 
who is not in compliance with the reporting and remittance requirements if the department is notified by 
the State Tax Assessor of that noncompliance.  This means that the Department of Agriculture can 
remove a beverage from the shelves of retailers across the state if the initiator of deposit for that 
beverage has not filed or paid to the State the associated abandoned deposits.  (Chapter 592) 
 

OTHER ITEMS OF INTEREST   

TELEFILE SYSTEM LAUNCHED IN APRIL 2010 

In April 2010, a new Telefile system was launched to allow retailers to file their sales and use tax 
returns through the use of their telephone.  This system provides the ability for a retailer to file and pay 
electronically in the event they do not have a computer or internet access.  A retailer that wishes to use 
this system must pre-register in order to receive more detailed information including instructions.  For 
more information, contact our office at 624-9693. 

BULLETIN CHANGES 

Instructional bulletins on a variety of topics are available on our website at 
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/salestax/bulletinssales.htm.  Many of these bulletins will be 
revised in the next few months.  If you have relied on such bulletins in the past, it is suggested that a 
check on the website for updated versions be done periodically. 
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RULE 302 – SALES TO EXEMPT ENTITIES 

Rule 302 was amended effective June 13, 2010 to address the documentation needed when sales are 
directly billed to an exempt entity, are paid for with cash, personal check or personal credit/debit card or 
are paid for with the exempt entity’s check or credit/debit card.  Rule 302 establishes administrative 
rules regarding tax-exempt sales and explains the circumstances under which a retailer will be relieved 
of its burden of proving that sales to a governmental or nonprofit entity, including an agency or 
instrumentality of the Federal Government or of the State of Maine, are exempt from Maine Sales and 
Use Tax.    Failure by a retailer to retain the proper documentation may result in assessment.  Rule 302 
can be viewed at http://www.maine.gov/revenue/rules/homepage.html.  

NEED TO FILE AN AMENDED SALES TAX RETURN? 

When a retailer discovers that a previously filed return needs to be amended, the retailer should simply 
print off a regular sales tax return, write “AMENDED” at the top of the form, fill it out as it should have 
been completed, place the previously paid amount on the “Credit Carry Forward From Prior Period” 
line, and mail it to the address located at the end of this bulletin.  If an additional amount is due, a check 
should accompany the return.  If a credit/refund is due, a letter of explanation should also accompany 
the return.  Copies of returns can be obtained at http://www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/returnlink.htm. 
A similar process can be used for any of the returns administered by the Sales, Fuel and Special Tax 
Division. 

CORRECT REPORTING OF BAD DEBTS ON SALES TAX RETURN 

When taking credit for an amount that has been charged off as uncollectible, the retailer must report the 
taxable amount charged off on the “Bad Debts” line of the return.  The amount to be deducted must 
actually be charged off as uncollectible on the books of the retailer.  The deduction may be made only 
with respect to taxable sales that were originally reported as taxable by the retailer, and on which tax has 
been paid by the retailer to the State.  If a retailer subsequently collects any account that has been 
charged off as worthless, and for which credit has been taken, the amount collected must be included in 
the return filed for the period in which the collection occurred.  Additional information, including how 
to determine the amount to be deducted when the amount charged off represents both taxable and 
nontaxable items, is discussed in Instructional Bulletin 29 and can be viewed on our website at 
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/Bull29.pdf. 

 

UPCOMING EDUCATIONAL FORUMS 
Sales and use tax symposiums are being planned for the Bangor, Augusta and Portland areas later this 
year. Check our website at www.maine.gov/revenue for dates and locations.   

 

This bulletin is provided as a taxpayer service by Maine Revenue Services and is only a summary of recent legislative 
developments.  Taxpayers are urged to review Maine statutory law to determine the actual effect of the changes described 
herein, as this bulletin has no legal or precedential effect.  To find the chapters referenced in this bulletin, go to 
http://www.mainelegislature.org/ros/LOM/LOMDirectory.htm under 2009 Laws of Maine as enacted by the 124th 
Legislature” (when available).  Additional questions about these and other issues you may have should be directed to:  Maine 
Revenue Services, Sales, Fuel and Special Tax Division, P. O. Box 1065, Augusta, ME 04333-1065.   Tel:  (207) 624-9693 
TTY:  NexTalk 1-888-577-6690. 
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