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This bulletin contains important information about recent developments and issues that affect everyone who 
reports Maine sales and use taxes.  Please read it carefully. 
 

CURRENT LEGISLATIVE CHANGES 
 

RESALE CERTIFICATES 

Inappropriate use of resale certificates costs the State of Maine millions of dollars each year in lost tax 
revenues.  This new law is intended to address this problem by ensuring that only bona fide retail businesses can 
make tax-exempt purchases for resale, and by reducing the likelihood that legitimate retailers can use resale 
certificates to avoid payment of tax on items that are not intended for resale.   

The major change is the fact that a retailer will no longer be able to use standardized resale certificates.  Maine 
Revenue Services (MRS) will begin issuing a sales tax Annual Resale Certificate to retailers annually, provided 
the retailer is active and has reported annual gross sales of $10,000 or more. The Annual Resale Certificate will 
be mailed to existing retailers each year and will be provided to new businesses with their “Retailer” certificate. 
Use of the Annual Resale Certificate will be limited to types of items ordinarily purchased for resale by that 
business. Retailers are to make copies of these certificates and provide them to their vendors.  Retailers 
reporting annual gross sales of less than $10,000 will not be issued an Annual Resale Certificate, but will pay 
sales tax when they purchase items for resale and claim a credit on their sales tax return during the period that 
the items are sold. 
 
All existing resale certificates will expire on August 15, 2004.  As a result, all retailers must update their files 
and obtain new Annual Resale Certificates from their customers by August 15, 2004.  This updating process 
will need to be performed annually since each calendar year MRS will reissue new Annual Resale Certificates.  
Realizing the burden this may place on some retailers, the initial certificate issued in July 2004 will be valid 
through December 31, 2005.  Additionally, MRS plans to develop an electronic verification process for large 
businesses.  Retailers are reminded to retain all relevant books and records, including the “old” resale 
certificates, for a period of 6 years as required by the statute of limitations. 
 
Detailed information regarding this issue was included with the June sales tax return and can also be found on 
our website at www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/bulletins.html.  Retailers should look forward to receiving 
their new certificates by the end of July 2004. 

 
SERVICE PROVIDER TAX 

Certain services previously subject to sales tax are now subject to a 5% service provider tax.  Recent 
legislation repealed the sales tax on certain kinds of services and replaced it with a Service Provider Tax.  The 
law imposes a 5% service provider tax, effective July 1, 2004, on the value of the following services provided 
in this State: 
 

 Extended cable television service 
 Fabrication services 
 Rental of videotapes and video equipment 

http://www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/bulletins.html


 Rental of furniture and audio equipment pursuant to a “rent-to-own” contract 
 Telecommunications service (except sales of pre-paid phone cards) 
 Installation, maintenance and repair of telecommunications equipment 
 Private nonmedical institution services 

 
Unlike the sales tax, this tax is imposed on the provider.  The provider can pass this cost on to the purchaser, 
and if this happens, the provider must disclose the tax as a “service provider tax”.  Since all of the services 
taxed under the new law, except private nonmedical institution services, were subject to the 5% Maine sales 
tax, the change should be transparent to purchasers of these services, who will simply pay a 5% service 
provider tax instead of a 5% sales tax.   

 
Detailed information regarding this issue was included with the June sales tax return and can also be found on 
our website at www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/bulletins.html.   

 
INTEREST RATE CHANGE 

Effective July 1, 2004, the interest rate increases from 6% to 7%. 
 

NEW EXEMPTION FOR CERTAIN NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS 

Effective August 1, 2004, sales to incorporated nonprofit assisted housing programs for the elderly licensed by the 
Department of Human Services are exempt. 

 
PREVIOUS LEGISLATION TAKING EFFECT IN 2005 

Some sales tax related exemptions were enacted in previous legislative sessions but do not take effect until 2005. 

- Effective July 1, 2005, the sale of tangible personal property sold to qualifying development zone businesses for 
use directly and primarily in qualifying business activities and sales to those engaged in construction contracts 
with qualified development zone businesses for tangible personal property to be incorporated into the realty of 
these qualified businesses are exempt.  More information on these exemptions will be provided prior to the 
effective date. 

- Effective July 1, 2005, the sale of machinery and equipment used in the generation of radio and television signals 
is exempt. 

 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

Truck Bodies and Trailers Manufactured in Maine no longer exempt 

It has been determined that the exemption for sales or leases to nonresidents of truck bodies and trailers manufactured in 
the State for immediate removal from the State is facially unconstitutional.  As a result, this exemption is no longer valid. 

EDUCATIONAL FORUMS 
Plans are in process to continue providing taxpayer education through our sales and use tax symposiums.  Check our 
website for upcoming dates and locations. Periodically, registration forms will be mailed with the sales tax returns.  
The Maine Tax Forum will be held on October 27 and October 28 at the Augusta Civic Center.    

Additional information about these and other issues you may have should be directed to:  Maine Revenue Services, Sales, Fuel and 
Special Tax Division, P. O. Box 1065, Augusta, ME 04333-1065.   Tel:  (207) 624-9693  TTY:  (207) 287-4477. 
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