
What is Use Tax? 
 
Use Tax is a substitute for sales tax.  All states 
which have a sales tax also impose a use tax.  
Use taxes are imposed to minimize unfair 
competition between sales made in-state and 
those made out-of-state.  The use tax rate is 
the same as the sales tax rate. 
 

When does use tax apply? 
 
Use tax applies when sales tax has not been 
charged.  Purchases made over the internet 
and  out-of-state are the most common type of 
transactions subject to a use tax.  For 
instance, if you purchased goods from a 
supplier located in Massachusetts, whether by 
mail order or by taking delivery in 
Massachusetts, use tax applies if the goods 
are brought to Maine for use here.  A Maine 
resident or business does not escape sales tax 
by purchasing out-of-state or over the internet.  
Use tax is based on the purchase price of the 
item. 
 
Another situation where use tax applies is 
when a business withdraws goods from 
inventory for its own use.  Use tax, in this case, 
is based on the cost of the item when  it was 
purchased. 
 
Common taxable items for businesses are 
office supplies and equipment, computer 
hardware, software and supplies, janitorial 
supplies, fax machines and supplies, 
photocopiers and supplies and books.  For 
individuals common taxable purchases are 
computers, books, downloaded music & cd’s, 
clothing, and auctionhouse purchases. 

 
Are there any exemptions from use tax? 

 
The same exemptions that apply to sales tax 
apply to use tax.  Common exempt goods are 
food products,  magazines and newspapers 
published at least quarterly and goods 
purchased for resale. 
 
 
 

How does a business report use tax? 
 
If you are registered to collect and report sales 
tax, the sales tax return contains a line to 
report taxable purchases.  If you do not sell 
goods, you must register with the Bureau to 
report use tax only.  Once registered you will 
receive returns automatically. 
 

How does an individual report use tax? 
 

For purchases of single items that cost $5,000 
or less, individuals have 2 options to report use 
tax:   
 

A. You may choose to report any use tax 
due on your 1040 ME, Maine personal 
income tax return, at the end of the tax 
year.  There is a line on the 1040 ME 
form on which you can list the use tax 
due.  If you choose this method of 
reporting and you do not know the 
exact amount of your taxable 
purchases you have the option of 
using a calculated formula that is 
outlined in the 1040 ME instructional 
booklet.  This formula may only be 
used for purchases of individual items 
costing less than $1,000.   

 
B. The second option is to file an 

Individual Use Tax return directly with 
Maine Revenue Services by the 15th of 
the month following the month of your 
purchase. 

 
For purchases of single items that cost more 
than $5,000, individuals are required by law to 
file an Individual Use Tax return directly with 
Maine Revenue Services by the 15th of the 
month following the month of your purchase. 

 
Where can I get an Individual Use Tax 

return? 
 
Individual Use Tax returns are available on our 
website at:  www.maine.gov/revenue or can be 
obtained at most municipal offices. 

 
 

What if I paid tax to another state? 
 
If you made purchases in a state which 
charges sales tax and your purchase was 
taxed, you may not owe any use tax in Maine.  
If the amount of tax was equal to or more than 
Maine’s rate, no tax is due.  However if you 
paid less than Maine’s rate you owe the 
difference.  For instance if another state’s rate 
is 4% and Maine’s rate is 5%, a Maine use tax 
of 1% is due. 
 

Why do some out-of-state companies 
charge tax? 

 
Some out-of-state companies charge the 
Maine sales tax because they have a presence 
in Maine that requires them to register, collect 
and remit sales tax.  Others voluntarily 
register.  Use tax does not apply if your 
supplier charges you a Maine sales tax. 
 

Is there use tax when I purchase 
used goods from an individual? 

 
Sales by a person who is not in the business of 
selling goods are casual sales and not taxable.  
However, certain casual sales are specifically 
taxed by law.  The most common are camper 
trailers, cars, trucks, snowmobiles, ATV’s, 
boats and aircraft.  When you buy one of these 
items, you will be required to pay use tax or 
show proof that tax was paid when you register 
the vehicle. 
 

Is there use tax when I purchase 
goods over the internet? 

 
Yes.  Purchases over the internet are treated 
the same way as purchases made out-of-state.  
If the vendor is not registered with Maine and 
does not charge Maine sales tax, then you 
would be liable for the use tax. 
 
 

http://www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/IUSEIntrnt.pdf

