Division of Elections and Commissions
Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions
101 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333
April 26, 2000
as posted in 5 daily Maine newspapers
NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING
Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules
Notices are published
each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making.
You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person.
You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing.
If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then
schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it.
If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please
notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions:
you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the
agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your
petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition
is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making
if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review
a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State
House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you
with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee
will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered
voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and
adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section
11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts
of adopted rule chapters may be found on the World-Wide Web at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rcn/apa/.
- Maine Milk Commission
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices - Order
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2000-P77
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Maine Milk Commission will set minimum prices for
Class I, II, III and Butterfat based on Federal Order #1 prices with
prevailing premiums and other factors that may be presented.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 7 MRSA § 2954 & 5 M.R.S.A. § 8054
PUBLIC HEARING: 9:00 a.m., Thursday, May 11, 2000, Department of Agriculture,
Food & Rural Resources, Room 319 Deering Building, Augusta, Maine 04333
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: May 11, 2000
NAME: Stanley K. Millay, Executive Director
ADDRESS: Maine Milk Commission, Deering Building-Station #28, Augusta,
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3741
- Department of Marine Resources
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 42, Striped Bass
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2000-142
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Department of Marine Resources has adopted regulations
to reduce the striped bass creel limit from two to one fish daily to
meet the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission striped bass interstate
management plan requirements and to reduce mortality on striped bass
age 8 (28 inches) and older. Because of the reduction in the daily creel
limit, it is no longer necessary to continue to restrict the fishing
season. Therefore, outside the Kennebec River system, there is no season
restriction and one fish per day may be retained year round. The one
fish daily allowance may be either a fish between 20 and 26 inches total
length or 40 inches or greater in size. Current Kennebec River regulations
remain the same as in 1999 except that the one fish daily limit applies
from July 1 through November 30 (catch and release only fishing and
a bait prohibition continue in effect during the months of May and June).
The Kennebec River is closed to striped bass fishing from December 1
through April 30 annually.
EFFECTIVE DATE: April 23, 2000
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Laurice U. Churchill
AGENCY NAME: Department of Marine Resources
ADDRESS: 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0021
TELEPHONE: (207) 633-9584
- Maine Milk Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices for
Milk - Order 00-4A and Order 00-05
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2000-140 and 2000-141
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Maine Milk commission established minimum wholesale
and retail prices for milk sold in 114 fluid ounce and 57 fluid ounce
plastic containers. Effective April 14, Order 00-04A amended the Schedule
of Minimum Prices which went into effect April 1, 2000 by adding these
new containers. The Maine Milk Commission has also adopted the Schedule
of Minimum prices effective May 1, 2000. Minimum May, 2000 producer
Class I and Northeast Dairy Compact Over Order Price set at $16.94.
Class III minimums are set at $9.54. These changes were passed on in
Order 00-04A (new containers) -- April 14, 2000
Order 00-05 - May 1, 2000
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Stanley K. Millay, Executive Director
AGENCY NAME: Maine Milk Commission
ADDRESS: State House Station 28 - Deering Building, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3741
- Maine State Board of Nursing
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 8, Regulations Relating to Advanced
Practice Registered Nursing
ADOPTED RULE NUMER: 2000-143
CONCISE SUMMARY: This modification will afford opportunity to recognize
those clinical nurse specialists who were in practice in this state
prior to January 1, 1996 and may prevent the interruption of critical
services and ongoing health care to patients currently receiving care
by these providers.
EFFECTIVE DATE: April 19, 2000
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Virginia E. Delorimier
AGENCY NAME: Maine State Board of Nursing
ADDRESS: 24 Stone Street, Augusta Me 04333-0158
Return to the Online Rules Home Page.
Return to the APA Office Page.
Return to the Division of Rules, Commissions and
Administration Home Page.
Return to the Bureau of Corporations, Elections
and Commissions Home Page.
Return to the Department of the Secretary of
State Home Page.