Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Weekly Rulemaking Notices Contact Us Find It

July 2, 2003
as posted in 5 daily Maine newspapers

NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING

Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules

Notices are published each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making. You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person. You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing. If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it. If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions: you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section 11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts of adopted rule chapters may be found on the World-Wide Web at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rcn/apa/.


PROPOSALS

AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices - Order #08-03
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2003-P143
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Maine Milk Commission will set minimum prices for Class I, II, III and Butterfat based on Federal Order #1 prices with prevailing premiums and other factors that may be presented.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 7 MRSA 2954 & 5 MRSA 8054
PUBLIC HEARING:
9:00 a.m., Monday, July 21, 2003, Room 233, Department of Agriculture, Deering Building, Hospital Street, Augusta, Maine 04333
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: July 21, 2003
NAME: Stanley K. Millay, Executive Director
ADDRESS: Maine Milk Commission, Deering Building - Station #28, Augusta, Maine 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3741


ADOPTIONS

AGENCY: 05-071 - Department of Education
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, Special Education Regulations
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-191
CONCISE SUMMARY: These amendments to Ch. 101, which are narrow in scope, are being made to comply with the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) conditions for funding approval. Section 12.11(C) provides that a school district will no longer be able to override a parent's not given consent for the initial provision of special education and related services. Section 11.15, Absence of Consent, is deleted. The amendment of Section 13.16, Hearing Expenditures/Attorneys' Fees, clarifies that Part B funds under IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act) may not be used to pay attorneys' fees - only local or state funds may be used. Section 12.11(S) now also provides the court or hearing officer's being able to require the public agency to reimburse the parent if the agency has not made FAPE (Free Appropriate Public Education) available in a timely manner prior to the enrollment of the student in a private school as well as provides that the parental placement may be found to be appropriate even if it does not meet State standards applicable to LEAs (Local Education Agencies) and the SEAs (State Education Agencies).
EFFECTIVE DATE: June 24, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Pauline Lamontagne
AGENCY NAME: Department of Education, Due Process Office
ADDRESS: 23 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0023
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-6644


AGENCY: 65-407 - Public Utilities Commission

CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 306, Information Disclosure Rule
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-195
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule incorporates the recently implemented NEPOOL GIS as the means for determining and verifying the resource mix and emission characteristics contained on disclosure labels adopts several other amendments intended primarily to simplify the application of the rule.

CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 311, Eligible Resource Portfolio Requirement
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-196
CONCISE SUMMARY: This chapter establishes requirements and standards for implementing the eligible resource portfolio requirement.

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 20, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Paula J Cyr
AGENCY NAME: Public Utilities Commission
ADDRESS: 242 State Street, Station 18, Augusta, ME 04333-0018
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3831


AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices - Order #07-03
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-197
CONCISE SUMMARY: Minimum July, 2003 Class I price is $13.02 plus $1.04/cwt. for Producer Margins and an over order premium of $ 1.10/cwt. as being prevailing in southern New England for a total of $15.16. Class II minimums set at $10.58 for May, 2003, which includes $0.15/cwt. for Producer Margins. These changes were passed on in minimum prices.
Minimum prices can be found at http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/ahi/mmc/prihis.html
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:
NAME: Stanley K. Millay, Executive Director, Maine Milk Commission, Deering Building - Station #28, Augusta, Maine 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3741


AGENCY: 06-096 - Department of Environmental Protection
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 315, Assessing and Mitigating for Impacts to Existing Scenic and Aesthetic Uses
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-198
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule applies to the alteration of a coastal wetland, great pond, freshwater wetland, fragile mountain area, river, stream or brook in organized portions of the state as defined in 38 MRSA 480-B of the Natural Resources Protection Act (NRPA), that requires an individual permit, or is eligible for Tier 3 review. Standard 1 in Section 480-D of the NRPA states that a permit may not be granted for an activity in, on, over, or adjacent to a protected natural resources when the activity will unreasonably interfere with existing scenic, aesthetic, recreational or navigation uses. This rule is designed to clarify the application of scenic standards for projects licensed under the NRPA. Ch. 315 explains State regulatory concerns, defines adverse visual impacts, establishes a procedure for evaluating visual impacts generated from proposed projects, establishes when a visual assessment may be necessary, explains the components of a visual assessment when required, and describes avoidance, mitigation and offset measures that may eliminate or reduce adverse impacts to existing scenic and aesthetic uses.
EFFECTIVE DATE: June 29, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Judy Gates
AGENCY NAME: Department of Environmental Protection
ADDRESS: 17 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-7691
EMAIL: judy.gates@maine.gov


AGENCY: 13-188 - Department of Marine Resources
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 31, Horseshoe Crabs - Emergency Regulations
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-199
CONCISE SUMMARY: This emergency rulemaking prohibits the taking or possession of horseshoe crabs from Maine waters to prevent the imminent depletion of this species, which is at relatively low levels of abundance compared to horseshoe crab stocks in waters south of New England.
EFFECTIVE DATE: Friday, June 27, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Lew Flagg
Mail written comments to: c/o Laurice U. Churchill
AGENCY NAME: Department of Marine Resources
ADDRESS: PO Box 8, West Boothbay Harbor, Maine 04575-0008
WEB SITE: www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-6550
FAX: (207) 633-9579
TTY: (207) 287-4474 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 13-188 - Department of Marine Resources
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE:
Ch. 2.10(3)(3), Application Requirements, Environmental Characterization & Baseline; and
Ch. 2.27(2), Department Site Review, Documented Information
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-200
CONCISE SUMMARY: These regulations distinguish and clarify standard application requirements for an environmental characterization and baseline for discharge (finfish) sites and non-discharge operations with similar information required by the Department in its site review work. These expanded characterization requirements are in part based on the changes recommended in the January 2002 report to the Maine Legislature's Marine Resources Committee, and a citizen-initiated petition for rulemaking considered by the Department in May 2002, and the finfish aquaculture monitoring program protocols (FAMP), which have been utilized by the Department and state and federal regulating agencies for the standard application baseline and the Department's monitoring program since 1992. These provisionally adopted amendments are major substantive pursuant to 12 MRSA 6072(5-A), and are finally adopted subsequent to legislative review and resolve effective May 15, 2003 with one amendment. The phrase "ecologically significant flora and fauna" has been removed from Ch. 2.27(2) in the last paragraph as required by the resolve.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 24, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Andrew Fisk
AGENCY NAME: Department of Marine Resources
ADDRESS: 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0021
WEB SITE: www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-6564
TTY: (207) 287-4474 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Final Rule, Ch. III, Section 67, Principles of Reimbursement for Nursing Facilities
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-201
CONCISE SUMMARY: Changes in this final rule include: removing return on net assets for nonprofit providers; making nursing facility provider tax an allowable cost; clarifying the trigger for an occupancy adjustment; increasing direct care cost reimbursement for nursing facilities with actual direct care costs less than 75% of the median; reimbursing 50% of allowable un-reimbursed direct care costs for certain fiscal years; supplemental payments based on adjusted direct care costs and restructuring payments to brain injury facilities. These changes were implemented via emergency rule effective from 4/1/2003 to 6/29/2003.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemaking for rule and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: June 30, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Peter J. Ezzy
AGENCY NAME: Bureau of Medical Services
ADDRESS: 11 State House Station, 442 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9368
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf or Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. III, Section 97, Private Non-Medical Institutions
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-202
CONCISE SUMMARY: This major and substantive adopted rule includes changes made with emergency rulemaking of July 1, 2002, as well as additional changes. The rule is major and substantive. Bed-hold policy is revised and moved to the Limitations section of Ch. II. The Department has added a code for personal care services provided in medical and remedial PNMIs to cover some dietary, housekeeping and laundry direct care staff wages. Changes have been made in Appendix C to clarify personal care staff services to be provided by the facility. In Appendix D, the Department proposes to cover 60% of foster care parent wages and stipends as allowable costs.
The Department has also finalized Ch. II, Section 97 rules, which describe covered services, as a separate rulemaking.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 25, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Patricia Dushuttle, Comprehensive Health Planner
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy & Provider Services
ADDRESS: #11 State House Station, 442 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9362
FAX (207) 287-9369
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 06-096 - Department of Environmental Protection
RULE TITLE: Ch. 155, Portable Fuel Container Spillage Control
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-203
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Department has adopted a rule requiring all portable fuel containers sold or manufactured in Maine on or after January 1, 2004 to be equipped with an automatic shut-off device that stops fuel flow before the fuel tank overflows and an automatic device that closes and seals when it is removed from the fuel tank. In addition, portable fuel containers must be constructed of low-permeability materials.
The adopted rule applies to all portable fuel containers or spouts, or both, except: 1) containers with a capacity of less than or equal to 1 quart; 2) rapid refueling devices with capacities equal to or greater than 4 gallons, provided they are designed for use in officially sanctioned off-road motorcycle competitions; and 3) safety cans and portable marine fuel tanks that operate in conjunction with outboard motors.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Jeff Crawford
AGENCY NAME: Bureau of Air Quality, Department of Environmental Protection
ADDRESS: State House Station 17, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-2437


AGENCY: 10-149 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Elder and Adult Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 5, Bureau of Elder and Adult Services Policy Manual
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-204
CONCISE SUMMARY: These rules are routine technical amendments to Sections: 40, General Administrative Requirements for all Parties; 61, Adult Day Services; 62, Congregate Housing Services Program; 63, In Home and Community Based Support Services; 68, Respite Care for People with Alzheimer's Disease or Related Disorders; and 69, BEAS Homemaker Services of the Bureau of Elder and Adult Services (BEAS) Policy Manual. The amendments to Section 40 simplify time lines regarding notice and hearings and make the Exceptions from Advance Notice provisions similar to those in the MaineCare Benefits Manual. The Amendments to Sections 61, 62, 63, 68 and 69 implement changes in the operation of State funded long-term care programs in order to function within established appropriation amounts. Areas affected include amounts of homemaker assistance and requirements for criminal background checks for direct care workers. Also, in each of these sections, lack of sufficient funds to continue to pay for services to all current consumers is added to the reasons services may be suspended, denied, reduced or terminated. The amendments to Section 62 also reflect changes regarding assisted living due to enactment of 22 MRSA, Chap. 1664 in the Second Regular Session of the 120th Legislature.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1. 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Betty Forsythe
AGENCY NAME: Bureau of Elder and Adult Services
ADDRESS: #11 State House Station, 442 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9200
TOLL FREE: (800) 262-2232
TOLL FREE TTY: (888) 720-1925


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. VI, Section 1, Primary Care Case Management
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-205
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule will implement amendments made to the Social Security Act authorized by the Balanced Budget Act of 1997. It will also reduce the management fee paid to participating providers from $3.00 to $2.50. Additionally, the rule will eliminate the co-payment exemption on managed services. Finally, the rule will clarify existing policy regarding coverage, participation requirements, operational guidelines, and update terminology.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemakinq for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Linda Schumacher
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy and Provider Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9370
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. III, Section 2, Adult Family Care Services
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-206
CONCISE SUMMARY: The final rules include an approximate 30% rate increase for each level of adult family care service, made possible through recent implementation of a nursing facility provider fee. The Department will also update billing codes to meet HIPAA compliance. The rule change includes terminology updates.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemaking for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Patricia Dushuttle
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy and Provider Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9362
FAX: (207) 624-5524
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. II and III, Section 17, Community Support Services
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-207
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rulemaking represents a major change in how these MaineCare services are reimbursed. Both Ch. II and III will be complete replacements of Section 17, Community Support Services. Some of these changes are being implemented to achieve the curtailment of allotments in the MaineCare program as required in the Governor's July 1, 2002 Executive Order.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemaking for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Kip Neale
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy and Provider Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9361
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. III, Section 19, Home & Community Benefits for the Elderly and for Adults with Disabilities
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-208
CONCISE SUMMARY: Ch. III adopts rate increases for nurses, certified nursing assistants, home health aides, personal care services, and adult day health services. The rate increases are authorized pursuant to PL 01 Chap 714 and PL 03, Chap 51.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemaking for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Julie Tosswill
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy and Provider Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9360
FAX: (207) 624-5524
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. II and III, Section 26, Day Health Services
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-209
CONCISE SUMMARY: Updated and new definitions, as well as updated non-covered services and staff qualifications Sections are adopted; some Sections are deleted because they are set forth in Ch. I; terminology is updated to include terms such as MaineCare and "member." Ch. III adopts a rate increase and new procedure codes to comply with federal requirements.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemaking/ for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Julie Tosswill
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy and Provider Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9360
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual (formerly known as the Maine Medical Assistance Manual): Ch. II and III, Section 40, Home Health Services. This rule is major and substantive.
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-210
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule removes the homebound eligibility requirement and replaces it with medical eligibility criteria. Duration of Care has been changed. Additional changes include specifying certain limits of home health coverage. Some definitions are updated. Some general language is deleted because it will be set forth in Ch. I. New procedure codes are adopted for Ch. III, but these will not take effect until a future date when the new claims management system is activated and providers are notified.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 26, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Julie Tosswill, Medical Care Administrator
AGENCY NAME: MaineCare Policy Development
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9360
TTY#: (207) 287-1828 or (800) 423-4331


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. II, Section 60, Medical Supplies and Durable Medical Equipment
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-211
CONCISE SUMMARY: Revisions to this rule changed cap prices for certain supplies, and reduced reimbursement for orthotics and prosthetics. Other changes included, but were not limited to: clarifying and expanding prior authorization requirements; adding, revising and clarifying criteria for some covered services, and clarifying documentation requirements. The rule also clarified the process and procedure for the implementation of requests for proposals (RFPs) for the purchase of select medical supplies and durable medical equipment.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemaking for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Greg Nadeau
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy & Provider Services
ADDRESS: Bureau of Medical Services, 11 State House Station, 442 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9367
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. II, Section 80, Pharmacy Services
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-212
CONCISE SUMMARY: The final rules require that generic drugs be dispensed when available at a lower cost, unless the brand name drug is prior approved, other provider requirements such as the requirement that all pharmacies must also participate in Medicare.
The final rules change member co-payments to $2.50 per prescription, up to a $25 per month cap.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemaking/ for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Patricia Dushuttle
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy and Provider Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9362
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. II and III, Section 103, Rural Health Clinic Services
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-213
CONCISE SUMMARY: Amendments to this rule included revisions to reimbursement rate calculations, the definitions of homebound patients and incidental supplies and services, updates of member eligibility verification procedures, covered ambulatory services for asthma and diabetes educational services, refinements to the description of the geographical member base served by Rural Health Clinics (RHCs), addition of smoking cessation counseling as a covered service, upgrades of case record requirements for members being treated for chronic mental illness, addition of new procedure codes for certain covered services, changes to the standards for identifying when a reimbursable change in scope in service had occurred, modification of the limit on the number of covered services allowed per day for billing purposes, addition of a member copayment requirement, and numerous wording and grammatical changes stemming from the changeover in program title from "Medicaid" to "MaineCare."
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemaking for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Robert Gross, Comprehensive Health Planner
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy & Provider Relations
ADDRESS: Bureau of Medical Services, 11 State House Station, 442 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9366
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 107, Final Rule
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-214
CONCISE SUMMARY: This final: 1) establishes a new copayment requirement for pharmacy and hospital services; 2) clarifies that coinsurance and deductible costs are not covered services; 3) eliminates reimbursement for out of state travel expenses; and 4) updates and clarifies language throughout the policy.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemaking for rule and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Peter J. Ezzy
AGENCY NAME: Bureau of Medical Services
ADDRESS: 11 State House Station, 442 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9368
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf or Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. III, Section 113, Transportation Services
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-215
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Maine State Legislature directed the Department to reduce certain reimbursement rates for Transportation Services. This emergency rule is effective from July 1, 2003 through September 28, 2003. Concurrent proposed rulemaking will allow for public comment on these changes.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rulemaking for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Marianne Ringel, Director
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy and Provider Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9371
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


Corporations Uniform Commercial Code Elections APA Rules Notaries Boards & Commissions
Home Archives Bureau of Motor Vehicles Corporations, Elections and Commissions What's New Secretary's Desk Kid's Page
© Department of the Secretary of State