Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Weekly Rulemaking Notices Contact Us Find It

November 19, 2003
as posted in 5 daily Maine newspapers

NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING

Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules

Notices are published each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making. You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person. You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing. If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it. If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions: you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section 11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts of adopted rule chapters may be found on the World-Wide Web at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rcn/apa/.


PROPOSALS

AGENCY: 02-380 - Maine State Board of Nursing
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 10, Regulations Relating to Administration of Intravenous Therapy by Licensed Nurses
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2003-P270
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule change clarifies definition and practice related to peripherally inserted central catheters.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 32 MRSA 2102.2, 2153-A.
PUBLIC HEARING: December 10, 2003 at 3:00 p.m., Maine State Board of Nursing, 24 Stone Street, Augusta, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: December 21, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Virginia E. deLorimier
AGENCY NAME: Maine State Board of Nursing
ADDRESS: 24 Stone Street 158 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0158
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-1133


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 331, Public Assistance Manual (TANF) - Transitional Child Care (TCC) Guidelines, Rev. #72-P
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2003-P271
CONCISE SUMMARY: This policy proposes to update the maximum Transitional Child Care (TCC) income guidelines and the client fee assessments beginning January 1, 2004 through September 30, 2004.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 22 MRSA 3762(8)(C)
PUBLIC HEARING: None scheduled unless requested by 5 or more people.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: December 19, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON Rose Masure, TANF Program Manager
AGENCY NAME: Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence, 11 State House Station, Whitten Road, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-5089
TTY: (207) 287-6948 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: TANF Caseload Reduction Report
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2003-P272
CONCISE SUMMARY: This is not policy. It is an announcement.
The Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence announces that the TANF Caseload Reduction Report is available for review and comment at: Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence, 268 Whitten Road, #11 State House Station, Augusta Maine 04333
PUBLIC HEARING: None scheduled unless requested by 5 or more people.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: December 17, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Rose Masure, TANF Program Manager
AGENCY NAME: Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence, 11 State House Station, Whitten Road, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-5089
TTY: (207) 287-6948 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


ADOPTIONS

AGENCY: 18-125 - Department of Administrative and Financial Services, Bureau of Revenue Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 902, Low-Cost Drug Card Program for the Elderly and Disabled
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-435
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule has been repealed since the Low-Cost Drug Card Program is now administered by the Department of Human Services.
EFFECTIVE DATE: November 18, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: David E. Bauer, Esq., General Counsel, Maine Revenue Services, 24 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-9681


AGENCY: 94-630 - Maine Biomedical Research Board
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 1, Biomedical Research Fund
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-436
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Maine Biomedical Research Program is established to disburse program funds to eligible not-for-profit biomedical research institutions for the purpose of creating economic development and good jobs in Maine. Program funds are intended to support biomedical research in this State. An eligible institution receiving program funds under this section may use those funds for any of the following purposes: project funding; facilities funding, including debt service; equipment used in research, including debt service; or ancillary support. The purpose of the rule is to define the criteria and proposal process for applications to the fund.
EFFECTIVE DATE: November 18, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Martha Bentley, Grant Administrator, MTI, 2E Mechanic Street, Gardiner, ME 04345
TELEPHONE: (207) 685-3317


AGENCY: 2003-437 - Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 332, MaineCare Eligibility Manual - Community Spouse Minimum Standard and Shelter Allowance - 2003 and Exclusions in Determining the Cost of Care in Nursing and Residential Care Facilities
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2003-437
CONCISE SUMMARY:
1) For Nursing Facility Residents: the minimum amount of income that can be sent to the community spouse is increasing.
2) In determining the cost of care for nursing and residential care facilities: (a) up to $1,000/month court ordered child support that is garnished from income is now an allowed expense; (b) when retirement benefits are reduced to provide for continued benefits to a surviving spouse the reduced amount of income will be used up to maximum of $1,000/month as long as the reduction is irreversible.
EFFECTIVE DATE: November 18, 2003
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Barbara Feltes, Medicaid Program Manager
AGENCY NAME: Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence
ADDRESS: 11 State House Station, Whitten Road, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-5088
TTY: (207) 287-6948


Corporations Uniform Commercial Code Elections APA Rules Notaries Boards & Commissions
Home Archives Bureau of Motor Vehicles Corporations, Elections and Commissions What's New Secretary's Desk Kid's Page
© Department of the Secretary of State