Division of Elections and Commissions
Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions
101 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333
FAX (207) 287-6545
November 21, 2001
as posted in 5 daily Maine newspapers
NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING
Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules
Notices are published
each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making.
You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person.
You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing.
If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then
schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it.
If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please
notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions:
you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the
agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your
petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition
is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making
if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review
a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State
House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you
with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee
will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered
voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and
adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section
11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts
of adopted rule chapters may be found on the World-Wide Web at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rcn/apa/.
- Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 332, Maine Medicaid Eligibility Manual
- SSI COLA Increase -2002
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2001-P283
CONCISE SUMMARY: As of 1/1/02, this rule, which shows a 2.6% COLA increase
in SSI benefits, changes the following monthly income amounts used in
Medicaid: (1) The monthly income limit for Home Based Waivers, Katy
Beckett coverage and the categorical income limit for nursing care is
changed from $1,593 to$1,635. (2) The income limit for the State Supplement
for an individual living at home changes from $541 to $555 and for a
couple, the change is from $811 to $832. Also, as of 1/1/02, this rule
increases the amount of protected assets for the community spouse of
a nursing home applicant. The new amount is $89,280. The maximum monthly
income allocation to a community spouse from the nursing home applicant
increases to $2,232. The QI 2 payment for 2002 will be $46.92 for 1
person, $93.84 for 2.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 22 MRSA §3173
PUBLIC HEARING: None scheduled unless requested by 5 or more people.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: December 21, 2001
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Barbara Feltes, Medicaid Program Manager Department
of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence, 11 State House Station,
Whitten Road, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE NUMBER: (207) 287-5088
TTY: (207) 287-6948 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)
- Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family Independence
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: TANF Caseload Reduction Report
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2001-P284
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Department of Human Services, Bureau of Family
Independence announces that the TANF Caseload Reduction Report is available
for review and comment at: Department of Human Services, #11 State House
Station, Whitten Road, Augusta, Maine 04333
PUBLIC HEARING: None scheduled; one may be requested.
DEADLINE FOR COMME NTS: December 13, 2001
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Rose Masure
AGENCY NAME: Department of Human Services
ADDRESS: #11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-5089
TTY: (207) 287-6948
- Department of Environmental Protection
RULE TITLE: Ch. 147, High Pollution Vehicle Retirement Pilot
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2001-490
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Board of Environmental Protection has amended Ch.
147 of its rules pursuant to 5 MRSA §8052 to include the definition
of automobile scrapper under the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 10, §393,
subsection 1-A. The amended rule also requires the participating auto
scrappers be permitted through their municipality to operate pursuant
to Title 30-A MRSA §§ 3753-3760.
The first regular session of the 120th Legislature amended the statute
to include the definition of automobile scrapper as automobile graveyards,
licensed junkyards, as well as automobile recycling businesses as defined
in Title 30-A M.R.S., §3752. The Department shall maintain a list of
automobile scrappers who have volunteered to participate in the Program
and are permitted by their municipality. The participating automobile
scrapper must submit a signed statement that they are in compliance
with that permit and all municipal ordinances, state and federal laws
The amended rule also includes the process for making payments to automobile
scrappers under the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 10 §394, subsection
In addition, this legislation allows FAME to compensate automobile scrappers
up to $350.00 for each high-polluting vehicle scrapped under the Program.
The current funding will allow 68 to 88 vehicles to be scrapped, depending
upon how many scrappers request the full reimbursement amount of $350.00
to scrap each vehicle.
EFFECTIVE DATE: November 13, 2001
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Lynne Cayting
AGENCY NAME: Bureau of Air Quality, Department of Environmental Protection
ADDRESS: State House Station 17, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-2437
- Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Standards
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 12, Rules Relating to Equal Pay
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2001-493
CONCISE SUMMARY: These rules provide definitions and procedures for
enforcement of the equal pay provisions of Maine Labor Law, 26 MRSA
EFFECTIVE DATE: November 19, 2001
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Michael V. Frett, Director
AGENCY NAME: Bureau of Labor Standards
ADDRESS: 45 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0045
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-6400
Return to the Online Rules Home Page.
Return to the APA Office Page.
Return to the Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions Home Page.
Return to the Department of the Secretary of State Home Page.
Go to the State of Maine Home Page