Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

APA Office
Division of Elections and Commissions
Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions
101 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333
207/287-4184
FAX 207/287-6545

November 29, 2000
as posted in 5 daily Maine newspapers

NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING

Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules

Notices are published each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making. You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person. You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing. If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it. If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions: you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section 11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts of adopted rule chapters may be found on the World-Wide Web at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rcn/apa/.


PROPOSALS: None this week.


ADOPTIONS

AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices - Order #12-00
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2000-507
CONCISE SUMMARY: Minimum December, 2000 producer Class I and Northeast Dairy Compact Over Order Price set at $16.94. Class III minimums set at $10.02. These changes were passed on in minimum prices.
EFFECTIVE DATE: December 1, 2000
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON:
NAME: Stanley K. Millay, Executive Director, Maine Milk Commission, Deering Building-Station #28, Augusta, Maine 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3741


AGENCY: 02-029 - Bureau of Banking, Securities Division

CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 510, Broker-dealers, investment advisers and others using the internet for the general dissemination of information about securities products and services.
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2000-508
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule is being adopted so that broker-dealers, investment advisers and others will not be considered to be transacting securities business in this state merely by making internet communication available to persons in Maine. This proposal will promote uniformity among the states, as many other states have already adopted similar rules or policy statements.

CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 525, Rule Regarding Small Company Offering Registrations
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2000-509
CONCISE SUMMARY: Chapter 525 provides a simplified registration process for small businesses that wish to offer and sell their securities to the public. The proposed amendment to Ch. 525:
(1) incorporates by reference a revised Form U-7 to be filed by small businesses, and an accompanying Policy Statement, and indicates where these documents may be easily accessed by the public.
(2) Substituted references to "companies" for references to "corporations" to reflect that SCOR offerings may be made by a wider range of business entities.

CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 532, Securities Offerings on the Internet
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2000-510
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule was adopted to create a limited exemption from the securities registration requirements for internet offers of securities, where certain conditions are met. The offers may not be purposefully directed at Maine residents. This exemption applies to offers only and not to the sale of securities. This exemption will promote uniformity among the states, as many other jurisdiction have adopted similar rules or policy statements.

CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 538, Exemption for Offers and Sales to the Finance Authority of Maine
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2000-511
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule chapter allows an issuer to offer and sell securities to the Finance Authority of Maine (FAME) without registering the securities and without licensing the sales representatives acting for the issuer in effectuating the transaction.

EFFECTIVE DATE: November 26, 2000
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Christine Bruenn, Securities Administrator
AGENCY NAME: Securities Division, Bureau of Banking
ADDRESS: 121 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0121
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-8551


Return to the Online Rules Home Page.
Return to the APA Office Page.
Return to the Division of Rules, Commissions and Administration Home Page.
Return to the Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions Home Page.
Return to the Department of the Secretary of State Home Page.
Go to the State of Maine Home Page