May 12, 2004
in 5 daily Maine newspapers
NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING
Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules
Notices are published
each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making.
You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person.
You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing.
If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then
schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it.
If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please
notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions:
you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the
agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your
petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition
is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making
if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review
a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State
House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you
with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee
will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered
voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and
adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section
11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts
of adopted rule chapters may be found on the World-Wide Web at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rcn/apa/.
02-031 - Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Bureau
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 561, Workers' Compensation Coverage
for Employee Leasing Arrangements (repeals Ch. 560)
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2004-P113
CONCISE SUMMARY: This Rule would be adopted pursuant to 24-A MRSA §§
212, 2178, and 2385-E, and 32 MRSA §14055(2) in order to ensure that
lessees properly obtain workers' compensation insurance coverage for
all of their employees, including those leased from another entity;
that the premium paid is commensurate with their exposure and the anticipated
claim experience; and that an appropriate procedural framework is in
place for the inception, continuation, and termination of coverage.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 24-A MRSA §§ 212, 2178, and 2385-E, and 32 MRSA
PUBLIC HEARING: Wednesday June 2, 2004 at 9:00 a.m. in the Kennebec
Room of the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation building,
124 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Monday, June 14, 2004
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Jennifer Rice, Maine Bureau of Insurance, 34
State House Station, Augusta ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-8460
01-017 - Maine State Harness Racing Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 11, Medication and Testing: Section
1, General Provisions; Section 3, Alkalinizing Agents
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2004-152
Section 1. This change clarifies which test sample is referenced in
this section which deals with the collection and testing urine samples.
Section 3. This change reflects the new blood gas-testing program that
was accepted by the Commission. . This new testing program measures
the Total Carbon Dioxide rather than the pH and Bicarbonate levels in
the blood. This change also establishes the limits that are allowable
for Total Carbon Dioxide in the blood. Further, this change establishes
the standards that must be met in the event that the test results exceed
the allowable levels.
EFFECTIVE DATE: May 5, 2004
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Henry W. Jackson
AGENCY NAME: Maine State Harness Racing Commission
ADDRESS: 28 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0028
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3221
of the Secretary of State