Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Weekly Rulemaking Notices Contact Us Find It

February 1, 2006
as posted in 5 daily Maine newspapers

NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING

Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules

Notices are published each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making. You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person. You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing. If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it. If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions: you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section 11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts of adopted rule chapters may be found on the World-Wide Web at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/.


PROPOSALS

AGENCY: 99-346 - Maine State Housing Authority
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 24, Home Energy Assistance Program Rule
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P14
CONCISE SUMMARY: The purpose of the proposed amendment to the Home Energy Assistance Program rule is to allow MSHA by RFP process to select one or more vendors to service customers within a defined geographic area. The amendment also deletes the requirement that applications be witnessed or notarized and makes minor technical changes to the rule.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 30-A MRSA §§ 4722(1)(W), 4741(15), and 4991 et seq.
PUBLIC HEARING: February 21, 2006, 9:30 a.m., Maine State Housing Authority, 353 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04330. The meeting room is accessible to persons with physical disabilities and, upon sufficient notice, appropriate communication auxiliary aids and services will be provided for persons with disabilities.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: March 3, 2006, 5:00 p.m.
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Linda Uhl, Chief Counsel, Maine State Housing Authority, 353 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04330-4633
TELEPHONE: (207) 626-4600 (voice)
TTY: (800) 452-4603


AGENCY: 02-031 – Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Bureau of Insurance
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 355, Rules of Practice and Procedure Governing Adjudicatory Proceedings Held Under the Maine Property and Automobile Insurance Cancellation Control Acts
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P15
CONCISE SUMMARY: The purpose of this rule is to establish procedural rules for the conduct of adjudicatory proceedings under the Maine Property Insurance Cancellation Control Act, 24-A MRSA §§ 3048-3056, and the Automobile Insurance Cancellation Control Act, 24-A MRSA §§ 2911-2924.
THIS RULE Will NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 24-A MRSA §§ 212, 2920, and 3054.
PUBLIC HEARING: A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, February 22, 2006 at 1:00 p.m. in the Kennebec Room of the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation building, 124 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Monday, March 6, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Vanessa Leon, Maine Bureau of Insurance, 34 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-8452


AGENCY: 02-031 – Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Bureau of Insurance
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 845, Standards for Minimum Payments to Health Care Providers on Overdue Undisputed Claims
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P16
CONCISE SUMMARY: This Rule is adopted by the Superintendent, pursuant to 24A MRSA §§ 2436(3) and 212, to establish minimums for interest due on overdue undisputed claims to health care providers before an interest payment must be issued.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 24-A MRSA §§ 2436(3) and 212
PUBLIC HEARING: A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, February 22, 2006 at 10:00 a.m. in the Kennebec Room of the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation building, 124 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Monday, March 6, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Vanessa Leon, Maine Bureau of Insurance, 34 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-8452


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of MaineCare Services
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. II Section 80, Pharmacy Services
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P17
CONCISE SUMMARY: These proposed rules will permanently adopt emergency rules giving the Department authority to act as an authorized representative to enroll eligible MaineCare members into a Medicare Part D plan, apply for Medicare Part D benefits and subsidies on their behalf, and at the Department's discretion, file exceptions and appeals. These rules clarify that the Department will continue to reimburse drugs excluded from Medicare Part D coverage for dually eligible members so long as those drugs are covered under MaineCare.
The Department is also proposing several changes not related to Medicare Part D. To comply with new Federal mandate, MaineCare will no longer cover drugs used for erectile dysfunction unless such drugs are used to treat conditions other than sexual or erectile dysfunction and these uses have been approved by FDA. The Department is also proposing to give the DUR Committee authority to designate Preferred Drug List (PDL) status for all new covered drugs and is detailing criteria for meeting drug trial requirements for step order within the PDL. The Department proposes a rural dispensing fee adjustment to increase dispensing fees for prescriptions dispensed to rural MaineCare members by retail pharmacies. This rural dispensing fee will range from 55˘ to 65˘ per prescription, and upon approval from CMS, will be distributed on a quarterly basis.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 22 MRSA §42, §3173 and 5 MRSA Ch. 375, §8054, LD 1325, and PL 2003, ch. 673
PUBLIC HEARING:
Date: Wednesday, February 22, 2006 9:00 a.m.
Location: Department of Health and Human Services, 442 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, Maine. Any interested party requiring special arrangements to attend the hearing must contact the agency person listed below before February 17, 2006
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: 11:59 p.m., March 5, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Patricia Dushuttle
AGENCY NAME: Office of Maine Care Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9362
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: 1 (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf or Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of MaineCare Services
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 104, Maine State Services Manual: Sections 2 and 4
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P18
CONCISE SUMMARY: These proposed rules will permanently adopt emergency rules to assure that dually eligible members continue to receive all benefits available to them either through Medicare Part D, MaineCare or other State funded benefits. These rules will authorize the Department to act as an authorized representative to enroll DEL participants into a Medicare Part D plan, apply for Medicare Part D benefits and subsidies on their behalf, and at the Department's discretion, file exceptions and appeals on behalf of participants who are beneficiaries under Medicare Part D. These rules also clarify that the Department will continue to reimburse for drugs excluded from Medicare Part D coverage if otherwise covered under this benefit for participants not eligible for Medicare Part D. These rules will have no impact on small business.
These rules also create a new Section of Ch. 104 entitled Maine Part D Wrap Benefits detailing benefits the Department will provide to assure comprehensive pharmacy benefits for Medicare Part D participants.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATIITORY AUTIIORITY: Title 22 MRSA §42, §3173 and Title 5 MRSA Ch. 375, §8054, 22 MRSA §254-D
PUBLIC HEARING:
Date: Wednesday, February 22, 2006, 11:00 a.m.
Location: Department of Health and Human Services, 442 Civic Center Drive, Augusta, Maine. Any interested party requiring special arrangements to attend the hearing must contact the agency person listed below before February 17, 2006
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: 11:59 p.m., March 5, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Patricia Dushuttle
AGENCY NAME: Office of MaineCare Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9362
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: 1 (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf or Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 05-071 - Department of Education and State Board of Education
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 13, Qualifying Examinations for Teachers, Educational Specialists and Administrators
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P19
CONCISE SUMMARY: Ch. 13 includes the qualifying examinations required for teachers, educational specialists, and administrators seeking initial certification. The proposed amendment to the rule eliminates all teaching requirements for candidates seeking teacher initial certification for candidates who are prelingually deaf.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 20-A MRSA §§ 13031-13038 and 13035-A
PUBLIC HEARING: None Scheduled
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: March 3, 2006, 5:00 p.m., written comments may be submitted to Nancy Ibarguen by e-mail at nancy.ibarguen@maine.gov, by fax at (207) 624-6604, by mail to: Nancy Ibarguen, Department of Education, 23 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 or by delivering them to the 5th floor receptionist at the Cross State Office Building.
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Nancy Ibarguen
AGENCY NAME: Department of Education
ADDRESS: 23 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0023
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-6603


AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #03-06
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P20
CONCISE SUMMARY: The principal reason for this rule is the need to respond to Federal Order changes and to certain other conditions affecting prevailing Class I, II and III milk prices in Southern New England in accordance with 7 MRSA §2954.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 5 MRSA §8054 and 7 MRSA §2954
PUBLIC HEARING: February 17, 2006, Friday, starting at 2:00 p.m., Room 233, Department of Agriculture, Food & Rural Resources, Deering Building, Hospital Street, Augusta, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: February 17, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Stanley K. Millay
AGENCY NAME: Maine Milk Commission
ADDRESS: 28 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-7521


AGENCY: 01-026 – Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources, Board of Pesticides Control
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 26, Adoption of New Board of Pesticides Control Rule: Standards for Indoor Pesticide Applications and Notification for All Occupied Buildings Except K-12 Schools
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P21
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Board has developed a third draft of a proposed rule to establish standards for applicators applying pesticides inside occupied private and public buildings other than K–12 Schools covered by Ch. 27. The redrafted rule attempts to address problems identified by structural pest control applicators and the businesses and agencies that they service at two previous public hearings. The two stages of notification have been dropped in favor of conspicuously posting a notice 24 hours in advance in a manner common to those required by other state and federal agencies. Other changes include specifying that the applicator shall be responsible for providing or causing the notice to be posted, eliminating the requirement that most applications only occur on nights and weekends when people are not present, clarifying what constitutes a public health emergency and noting one may only be designated by public health or code enforcement officials, creating a single format for the notice poster and adding a transition section so that the rule would not take effect until 60 days after adoption to allow affected parties to become familiar with the rule.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 5 MRSA, § 8051 et seq., 7 MRSA, §§ 601-625 and 22 MRSA, §§ 1471-A-X.
PUBLIC HEARING: 9:30 a.m. on Friday, February 24, 2006 in the Colby/Thomas Rooms at the Hampton Inn, 425 Kennedy Memorial Drive, Waterville
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: 4:00 p.m. on Friday, March 10, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Robert I. Batteese, Jr.
AGENCY NAME: Board of Pesticides Control
ADDRESS: 28 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0028
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-2731
FAX: (207) 624-5003
EMAIL: robert.batteese@maine.gov
URL: http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/pesticides/laws/rulemaking.htm


AGENCY: 29-250 - Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Division of Elections and Commissions
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 520, Rules Regarding Publication of Public Comments on Statewide Referenda
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P22
CONCISE SUMMARY: These rules describe the procedures and requirements for submitting public comments for or against statewide referenda, including citizen initiatives, people’s veto referenda, constitutional resolutions and bond issues, for publication by the Secretary of State in the Citizen’s Guide to the Referendum Election (in both printed form and on the agency’s web site).
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 1 MRSA §354, as enacted by P.L. 2005, c. 316.
PUBLIC HEARING: February 21, 2006, 1 p.m., Burton Cross State Office Building, Room 400 (4th floor), 111 Sewall Street, Augusta, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: March 3, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Melissa Packard, Director
AGENCY NAME: Division of Elections and Commissions
ADDRESS: 101 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-7650
FAX: (207) 287-6545
E-MAIL: Melissa.Packard@maine.gov


ADOPTIONS

AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 3, Schedule of Minimum Prices, Order #02-06
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-36
CONCISE SUMMARY: Minimum February 2006 Class I price is $16.63 plus $0.89/cwt. for Producer Margins, an over-order premium of $1.l0/cwt. as being prevailing in Southern New England and $0.93/cwt. handling fee for a total of $19.75 that includes a $0.20/cwt. Federal promotion fee.
Minimum prices can be found at: http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/mmc/prihis.htm.
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 29, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Stanley K. Millay
AGENCY NAME: Maine Milk Commission
ADDRESS: 28 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-7521

AGENCY: 05-071 - Department of Education
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 51, Child Nutrition Programs in Public Schools and Institutions
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-37
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Department of Education is proposing amendments to Ch. 51 - Child Nutrition Programs in Public Schools and Institutions. The rule contains the requirements that supplement federal regulations pertaining to the National School Lunch Program, the After School Snack Program, the School Breakfast Program, and the School Milk Program. The rule requires funds from all food and beverage sales made at anytime on school property to accrue to the benefit of the school's non-profit school food service program; with exceptions.
Proposed amendments would allow, under local school board policy or policy established by Career and Technical/Center Cooperative Boards, a school, approved student organization, or program to benefit from the sale of foods and beverages sold at food sales, in school stores, and in vending machines, and for the sponsors of community events to benefit from the sale of food or beverages sold at the event. Amendments also clarify that a school, approved student organization or program may sell foods or beverages if consistent with the requirement that such sales not include foods of minimal nutritional value. The rule amends the current exception for the sale of foods and beverages by Career and Technical Education (CTE) centers or programs to be consistent with all exceptions in the rule which allow, by school board policy or Career Technical Education Region/Center cooperative board policy, the sale of food which include foods of minimal nutritional value as defined in the rule but limits this exception to the CTE Culinary Arts Program.
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 29, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Judith Malcolm
AGENCY NAME: Department of Education
ADDRESS: 23 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0023
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-6842


AGENCY: 94-412 - Saco River Corridor Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, Regulations for the Processing of Applications for Permits, Variances, or Certificates of Compliance
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-38
CONCISE SUMMARY: This regulation outlines the complete process for the submission of an application to the Commission including the time line for rendering a decision by the Commission.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 102, Standard Conditions of Approval
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-39
CONCISE SUMMARY: All projects approved within the corridor must conform to a general set of standards related to vegetation removal, erosion control, beaches, driveways, and compliance with all associated federal, state, and local laws.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 103, Standards to Address the Environmental Factors Enumerated in 38 MRSA Section 957-D.1.A.-K.; 959-A.1.A.-K.; and 963.1.C.(1)-(11)
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-40
CONCISE SUMMARY: All projects approved must show no unreasonable a) degradation of water and water quality, b) harmful alteration of wetlands, c) increase in erosion or sedimentation, d) danger of increased flood damage, e) obstruction of flood flow, f) damage to fish and wildlife habitat, g) despoliation of the scenic, rural and open space character of the corridor, h) overcrowding, i) excessive noise, j) obstruction to navigation, and k) interference with the educational, scenic, scientific, historic or archeological values of those areas designated and approved for inclusions within the Resource Protection District.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 104, Performance Standards for Multi-Unit Residential Dwellings, Including Condominium and Cluster Development
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-41
CONCISE SUMMARY: The number of units within a proposed multi-unit use will be limited to the maximum number of individual residential lots the parcel could be subdivided into.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 105, Performance Standards for Campgrounds
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-42
CONCISE SUMMARY: A permitted, established campground can only allow tent camping within 250 feet from the water, while recreational vehicles may be allowed at no less than 250 feet from the water.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 106, Performance Standards Governing Sand, Gravel, or Topsoil Excavation and Other Mineral Exploration and Extraction Activities Within the Saco River Corridor
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-43
CONCISE SUMMARY: Mineral exploration and/or mineral extraction activities within the corridor are limited to 100 cubic yards in area over any twelve (12) month period.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 107, Performance Standards Governing Expansions of Existing Nonconforming Uses, Including Structures
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-44
CONCISE SUMMARY: The expansion of any existing nonconforming structure within the shoreland zone is limited to 30 percent calculated by both square footage and cubic footage and the structure can go no closer to the water than the existing closest point.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 108, Performance Standards for Parking Areas Within the Saco River Corridor
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-45
CONCISE SUMMARY: Only parking areas that serve permitted uses are allowed within the corridor.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 109, Performance Standards for the Construction and Establishment of Roads in Limited Residential and Resource Protection Districts of the Corridor
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-46
CONCISE SUMMARY: A road is any route or track consisting of a bed of exposed mineral soil, gravel, asphalt, or other surfacing material constructed for or created by the repeated passage of vehicular traffic. This term excludes temporary logging roads that are revegetated within 12 months and private driveways less than 100 feet in length and not within 75 feet of the water.
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 30, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Dennis J. Finn, Executive Director
AGENCY NAME: Saco River Corridor Commission
ADDRESS: P.O. Box 283, 20 Main Street, Cornish, Maine 04020
TELEPHONE: (207) 625-8123


AGENCY: 18-125 – Department of Administrative & Financial Services, Bureau of Revenue Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 202, Tree Growth valuations - 2006
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-47
CONCISE SUMMARY: The rule fulfils the requirement that each year the State Tax Assessor determine 100% valuation per acre for each forest type by economic region for parcels under the Tree Growth Tax Law. This rule is applicable to the 2006 tax year.
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 30, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: John W. Sagaser, Esq., General Counsel, Maine Revenue Services, 24 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-9536


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Integrated Access and Support
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 332, MaineCare Eligibility Manual: SSI COLA Increase 2006
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-48
CONCISE SUMMARY: The SSI COLA increase of 4.1% is reflected in the MaineCare income limits for coverage in the following MaineCare categories: Home Based Waivers, Katie Beckett, Categorical Nursing Care, Adult Family Care Homes and the income limit for the State Supplement.
The amount of protected assets for a community spouse of a nursing home applicant increases to $99,540. The maximum monthly income to a community spouse of a nursing home resident increases to $2,489.
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 21, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Robert Thibodeau, MaineCare Program Manager
AGENCY NAME: Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Integrated Access and Support
ADDRESS: 11 State House Station, 268 Whitten Road, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-5054
TTY: (207) 287-6948


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Maine Care Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, MaineCare Benefits Manual: Ch. I Section 1, General Administrative Policies and Procedures
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-49
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Office of Maine Care Services is implementing changes to the MaineCare Benefits Manual (MBM), Ch. I Section 1, General Administrative Policies and Procedures. This rule will permanently adopt the proposed rule that entails numerous structural, organizational and administrative changes throughout Ch. I. The Department made a significant change in reference to the time limits on prior authorizations and administrative hearings. The changes reduce the time frame from twenty (20) to ten (10) days on the preliminary notice for a hearing date. The Department added a section regarding Dirigo Choice benefit information for members who are also eligible for MaineCare.
The adopted rule will allow a provider to bill a member when the member misrepresents his/her MaineCare status in writing. A reference has been made regarding the inability of the MaineCare Program to reimburse members directly, and new text has been added that states members do not have the authority to prohibit a provider from billing MaineCare.
The Department withdrew proposed language in some sections that did not clarify as intended. The Department also withdrew all proposed language regarding Katie Beckett eligibility and caps and will address this in a future rulemaking. Proposed language was withdrawn that only allowed in-state telemedicine services.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/MaineCareBenefitManualRules.htm for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: February 2, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Janie Turner, Comprehensive Health Planner
AGENCY NAME: Division of Policy and Provider Services
ADDRESS: 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9361
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: 1 (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Integrated Access and Support
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 301, Food Stamp Certification Manual – Rev. #148E
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-50
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule will increase the full standard utility allowance as well as the non-heat utility allowance when determining the benefit amount for eligible households. The increased allowances are the result of increased costs for fuel and other utilities. Not all households will receive an increase in benefits. The full standard utility allowance for those incurring heating/cooling costs or receiving LIHEAP will increase from $401 a month to $450 a month. The non-heating standard allowance will increase from $162 a month to $182 a month.
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 26, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Richard Morrow, Food Stamp Program Manager
AGENCY NAME: Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Integrated Access and Support
ADDRESS: 11 State House Station, 268 Whitten Road, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-5093
TTY: (207) 287-6948


AGENCY: 29-250 - Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 2, Rules for Administrative Hearings
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-51
CONCISE SUMMARY: These rules describe the conduct of civil administrative hearings held by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles pursuant to Title 29-A MRSA and Title 5 MRSA Ch. 375, Subchapter N, to deny, suspend, revoke, probate or otherwise modify a license, certificate, registration certificate or plate, motor vehicle driver's license, permit, certificate of title, operating authority, license or fuel identification decal.
These rules set out legal notice requirements, discovery provisions, conduct of hearings, the presentation of evidence, the creation of a hearing record, issuance of decisions, and appeal rights.
EFFECTIVE DATE: February 1, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Susan Cookson, Assistant Director, Driver License Services
AGENCY NAME: Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles
ADDRESS: 29 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-9093