February 15, 2006
in 5 daily Maine newspapers
NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING
Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules
Notices are published
each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making.
You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person.
You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing.
If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then
schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it.
If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please
notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions:
you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the
agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your
petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition
is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making
if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review
a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State
House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you
with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee
will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered
voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and
adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section
11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts
of adopted rule chapters may be found on the World-Wide Web at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/.
AGENCY: 99-420 - Maine Turnpike Authority
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Amendment to Ch. 2, Regulations for the Installation of Logo Signs on the Maine Turnpike
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P24
CONCISE SUMMARY: This amendment to the Regulations for the Installation of Logo Signs on the Maine Turnpike lowers the number of eligible businesses that must be approved for a logo on the Maine Turnpike before a logo sign is erected from three businesses to two.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 23 MRSA §1965(U)
PUBLIC HEARING: None
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: March 17, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Jonathan Arey, Staff Attorney
AGENCY NAME: Maine Turnpike Authority
ADDRESS: 430 Riverside Street, Portland, Maine 04103
TELEPHONE: (207) 871-7771 x136
AGENCY: 01-001 - Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources, Division of Plant Industry
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 751, Rules Governing Arborist Licensing, Testing, and Enforcement in the State of Maine
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-69, 70, 71, 72
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule repeals the four chapters relating to arborist licensing, testing, enforcement and Code of Ethics and combines them into one chapter. It also adopts a number of changes in the Department of Agriculture's Arborist Licensing program. Major changes include: adding a definition for the Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources; combining First Class Landscape and Utility licensing categories into one section; replacing all references to the Arborist Examining Board with the Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources; changing the required material covered by arborist exams; clarifying the processing of complaints against licensed arborists; and other non-substantive changes to improve the clarity and readability of the rules.
EFFECTIVE DATE: February 11, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Terry Bourgoin
AGENCY NAME: Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources
ADDRESS: 28 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3891
AGENCY: 94-293 – Baxter State Park
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 1, Baxter State Park Rules: #5 - Entrance Registration, #7 - Camping, #11 - Minors, #15 - Feeding Animals, #17 - Climbing or Mountain Hiking, #18 - Aircraft, #19 - Boats, #20 - Motorcycles, ARV's, & Bicycles, #21 - Snowmobiles.
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-73
#5. The Baxter State Park Authority has approved a change of the location of long distance hiker facilities within Baxter State Park.
#7. The Baxter State Park Authority has approved the addition of the publication of the actual dates camping is allowed in Baxter State Park.
#11. The Baxter State Park Authority has approved the addition of definition of a "responsible person" as being at least 18-years-old.
#15. The Baxter State Park Authority has approved the addition of "bait or disturb" and clarification of where baiting can occur within the non-sanctuary sections of Baxter State Park.
#17. The Baxter State Park Authority has approved the addition of requiring technical rock climbers to register. Also the addition of reckless hikers being advised of the Authority's right to seek reimbursement to responsibility to reimburse Baxter State Park for costs incurred from search and rescue efforts.
#18. The Baxter State Park Authority has approved the addition of Nesowadnehunk Lake to the prohibition of landing aircraft and specified that the entrance registration requirement also applies to people landing in the Park.
#19. The Baxter State Park Authority has approved the addition requiring persons arriving/entering via motorboats to register for day use within Baxter State Park.
#20. The Baxter State Authority has approved the addition to prohibit bicycles within the SFMA, and the addition of a clarification of the prohibition of parasailing and other reckless acts.
#21. The Baxter State Park Authority has approved an update and clarification of areas within Baxter State Park that are open to public snowmobiling.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 12 MRSA §903
EFFECTIVE DATE: February 12, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Ada Angotti
AGENCY NAME: Baxter State Park
ADDRESS: 64 Balsam Drive, Millinocket, ME 04462
TELEPHONE: (207) 723-9500
AGENCY: 09-137 – Department of Inland Fisheries &: Wildlife
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 1 - 1.01, Open Water Fishing Regulations
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-74
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Commissioner of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife has adopted rules pertaining to open water fishing. This body of rules is printed in its entirety in the 2006 Open Water Fishing Regulations Booklet available from the Department as well as license agents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: April 1, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Andrea Erskine, Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, 41 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0041