Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Weekly Newspaper Notices > August 23, 2006

August 23 , 2006

As posted in 5 daily Maine newspapers

NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING
Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules

Notices are published each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making. You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person. You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing. If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it. If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions: you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section 11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts of adopted rule chapters may be found on the internet at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules.


PROPOSALS: No proposals this week.



ADOPTIONS



AGENCY: 01-015 - Maine Milk Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 26, Producer Margins
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-365
CONCISE SUMMARY: The principal reason for this rulemaking is to up-date producer margins. The margins adopted in this rule reflect the current cost of producing milk in Maine.
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 1, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Stanley K. Millay, Maine Milk Commission, 28 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-7521



AGENCY: 03-201 - Maine Department of Corrections
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 10, Policy and Procedures Manual Adult: Subsection 27.2, Supervised Community Confinement
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-366
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Department is proposing to repeal and replace this rule to eliminate the unnecessary burden on Correctional Caseworkers/Correctional Care and Treatment Workers to complete a separate transition to release plan document when a prisoner has no more than fourteen (14) months remaining on his/her sentence and then to review the prisoner's progress bi-monthly. The fourteen (14) month review will remain. However, as necessary, the prisoner's already existing individual case plan will be modified and will then be reviewed at least every six (6) months. Also, the requirement for the Correctional Caseworkers/Correctional Care and Treatment Workers to complete a community risk and needs assessment has been eliminated since such an assessment is not valid when based on behavior in the facility.
In addition, the provision governing terminally ill prisoners is revised to reflect a recent change in the statute governing such prisoners
If a prisoner violates Supervised Community Confinement and is returned to the facility, the Probation Officer will no longer have to complete a facility Disciplinary Report but will only need to complete a report describing the violation and send it to facility staff, who will then complete a facility Disciplinary Report to initiate the disciplinary process.
Finally, there is being added a provision for appeal to the Associate Commissioner of Adult Community Services if a prisoner is denied transfer to the Supervised Community Confinement Program due to a negative recommendation from the Regional Correctional Administrator.
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 10, Policy and Procedures Manual Adult: Subsection 27.3, Community Transition Program
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-367
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Department is proposing to repeal and replace this rule to eliminate the unnecessary burden on Correctional Caseworkers/Correctional Care and Treatment Workers to complete a separate transition to release plan document when a prisoner has no more than fourteen (14) months remaining on his/her sentence and then to review the prisoner's progress bi-monthly. The fourteen (14) month review will remain. However, as necessary, the prisoner's already existing individual case plan will be modified and will then be reviewed at least every six (6) months.
EFFECTIVE DATE: August 21, 2006
AGENCY NAME: Maine Department of Corrections
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Esther Riley, State House Station 111, Augusta, Maine 04333-0111
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-4681



AGENCY: 16-163 - Bureau of Emergency Medical Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Maine Emergency Medical Services System Rules
* Ch. 2, Definitions (amended)
* Ch. 3-A, Emergency Medical Dispatch Service Certification (new)
* Ch. 5-A, Emergency Medical Dispatcher Certification (new)
* Ch. 9-A, Emergency Medical Dispatch Training, Instructors and Continuing Education Programs (new)
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-368 to 371
CONCISE SUMMARY: The proposed rules changes will:
* Amend definitions to incorporate Emergency Medical Dispatch (EMD);
* Establish EMD Service certification requirements;
* Establish individual EMD provider certification requirements;
* Set standards for EMD protocols, equipment, training, instructors, continuing education, quality assurance, and a functional position description of an Emergency Medical Dispatcher.
EFFECTIVE DATE: August 16, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: David Kingdon & Drexell White, Maine Emergency Medical Services, 152 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0152
TELEPHONE: (207) 626-3860



AGENCY: 01-017 - Maine State Harness Racing Commission
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 7, Racing: Section 18, Conditioned Races, Subsection 8, Maine Owned or Maine Bred
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-372
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Commission adopted the proposed rule to provide the licensed racetracks to offer conditioned races to Maine residents and foals from Maine Stallions.
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 7, Racing: Section 18-A, Maine Owned or Bred
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-373
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule allows licensed racetracks to offer conditioned races to horses wholly owned by a Maine resident or by foals from Maine Stallions.
EFFECTIVE DATE: August 21, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Henry W. Jackson, Maine State Harness Racing Commission, 28 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0028
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3221