Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Weekly Newspaper Notices > September 13, 2006

September 13 , 2006

As posted in 5 daily Maine newspapers

NOTICE OF STATE RULE-MAKING
Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules

Notices are published each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making. You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person. You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing. If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it. If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions: you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section 11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts of adopted rule chapters may be found on the internet at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules.


PROPOSALS



AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Integrated Access and Support
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 332, MaineCare Eligibility Manual, Rev. #231P: Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 – MaineCare Treatment of Assets and Asset Transfers
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P181 (republication; deadlines extended)
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule proposes to change MaineCare long term care eligibility rules as directed by the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005. The rule proposes to:
* Increase the asset transfer look back period from 36 months to 60 months.
* Change the start date of an asset transfer penalty period to the later of the month of the transfer or the month the individual would otherwise be eligible for and receive long-term care coverage.
* Impose transfer penalties for multiple transfers with a value less than the average nursing home private pay rate.
* Impose transfer penalties on a partial month of ineligibility.
* Add funds used to purchase certain promissory notes, loans, or mortgages to the definition of countable assets.
* Make an individual ineligible for MaineCare long term care services if their primary residence has an equity value greater than $750 thousand and clarifies the treatment of a loan against the home if the proceeds are given away.
* Add the purchase of certain life estate interests in the home of another, and certain entrance fees for Continuing Care Retirement Communities to the definition of countable assets.
* Add language explaining when annuities are counted as assets.
* Add clarification concerning when the purchase of certain annuities are considered asset transfers subject to penalty.
* Clarify the circumstances and process under which MaineCare will grant undue hardship waiver and therefore decline to assess a transfer penalty.
* Clarify the definition of Fair Market Value as it relates to exempt transfers and disallows personal service contracts between family members as exempt transfers.
* Remove language and examples made inappropriate by the above proposed rule changes.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Title VI, Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, PL 109-171, Feb. 8, 2006, Ch. 2 and 22 MRSA §§ 3173 and 3174.
PUBLIC HEARING: Monday, October 2, 2006, Staring at 09:00 a.m., Jewett Hall Auditorium, University of Maine at Augusta, 46 University Drive, Augusta Maine 04330.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: October 12, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Rose Masure, Director of Policy and Programs, Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Integrated Access and Support, 11 State House Station, 268 Whitten Road, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3104
TTY: 1 (800) 606-0215 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)



AGENCY: 99-346 - Maine State Housing Authority
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 16, Allocation of State Ceiling for Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Rule
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P186 (modified)
CONCISE SUMMARY OF THE MODIFICATION TO THE PROPOSED RULE: A Notice of Agency Rule-Making Proposal concerning adoption of amendments to the Allocation of State Ceiling for Low Income Housing Tax Credit Rule (as amended, the Rule) was published in the State’s major newspapers on July 26, 2006. A public hearing was held on August 15, 2006 and the public comment period was held open until August 25, 2006. In response to public comments on the contractor health insurance selection criterion in Section 7.E.5. of the Rule, Maine State Housing Authority may require an eligible group health insurance plan to include the following minimum coverage and have the following minimum actuarial value.
Maine State Housing Authority would require an eligible group health insurance plan to:
(1) Include comprehensive coverage for at least the following range of benefits:
(a) Inpatient and outpatient hospital services;
(b) Physicians' surgical and medical services;
(c) Laboratory and x-ray services; and
(d) Well-baby and well-child care, including age-appropriate immunizations;
(2) Impose copayment and deductible costs on the employee that do not exceed 10% of the actuarial value of all benefits afforded by the plan;
(3) Make the same or comparable coverage available for the benefit of the employee's dependent children who are under 19 years of age; and
(4) Afford coverage that has an actuarial value no less than 80% of the actuarial value of coverage that is provided to employees of the State. For purposes of this paragraph, "actuarial value" means the expected cost of a benefit based on assumptions as to relevant variables such as morbidity, mortality, persistency and interest. When comparing the actuarial value of one benefit or package of benefits to another, both actuarial values must be based on the same assumptions.
Adding the above requirements to the existing requirements for an eligible group health insurance plan, as proposed in the Rule, would be a substantive change.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 30-A MRSA §§ 4741(1) and 4741(14), Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended
PUBLIC HEARING: None
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Friday, October 13, 2006, 5:00 p.m. Please submit comments at the following address: Attn: Jodie Stevens, Maine State Housing Authority, 353 Water Street, Augusta, Maine 04330-4633. Comments may be submitted electronically to jstevens@mainehousing.org by the comment deadline, provided that an original signed hard copy of the comments is promptly mailed to the above address. MSHA will provide this document in alternative formats to persons with disabilities and persons with limited English proficiency upon request.
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Jodie Stevens, Counsel, Maine State Housing Authority, 353 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04330-4633
TELEPHONE: (207) 626-4600 (voice)
TTY: (800) 452-4603



AGENCY: 02-373 - Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Board of Licensure in Medicine
PROPOSED RULE NUMBERS: 2006-P203 through P206
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT:
Ch. 20, Medical Liability Demonstration Project (“The Project”): Anesthesiology Specialty Practice Parameters and Risk Management Protocols
Ch. 22, Medical Liability Demonstration Project (“The Project”): Emergency Medicine Specialty Practice Parameters and Risk Management Protocols
Ch. 24, Medical Liability Demonstration Project (“The Project”): Obstetrics and Gynecology Specialty Practice Parameters and Risk Management Protocols
Ch. 26, Medical Liability Demonstration Project (“The Project”): Radiology Specialty Practice Parameters and Risk Management Protocols
CONCISE SUMMARY: Ch. 20, 22, 24 and 26 are being repealed and not replaced because the statutes underlying the rules were repealed by Laws 1999, Ch. 668.
THESE RULES WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 32 MRSA §3269(3), §3269(7).
PUBLIC HEARING: No Public Hearing scheduled.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: October 16, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Randal C. Manning, Executive Director, Board of Licensure in Medicine, 137 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0137
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3605



AGENCY: 90-351 - Workers' Compensation Board
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Electronic Filing - Ch. 1, Section 7; Ch. 8, Sections 13 and 16; and Ch. 3, Section 4.
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER 2006-P207 through P210
CONCISE SUMMARY: These rules require that, unless a waiver has been granted, all First Reports of Injury and Notices of Controversy be filed with the Board electronically. These rules also define terms and standards for filing First Reports of Injury and Notices of Controversy.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 39-A MRSA §152(2) & 152(2-A)
PUBLIC HEARING: Thursday, October 5, 2006, 9:00 a.m., Workers' Compensation Board, Central Office, AMHI Complex, Deering Building, First Floor, Room 170, Hospital Street, Augusta, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: Monday, October 16, 2006, 5:00 p.m.
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: John C. Rohde, General Counsel, Workers' Compensation Board, 27 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0027
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-7086



AGENCY: 02-385 - Manufactured Housing Board
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT:
Rules for State Certification of Manufactured Housing
Ch. 110, State Certification of Manufactured Housing - Authority (amended)
Rules for Licensing Manufacturers, Dealers, Developer Dealers, Installers and Mechanics
Ch. 310, Licensing - Authority (repealed)
Ch. 320, Licensing - Definitions (repealed and replaced)
Ch. 330, Licensing - Administration (repealed)
Ch. 340, Licensing - Licenses (repealed and replaced)
Ch. 350, Licensing - Scope of Practice, Obligations of Licensees, Prohibited Practices (formerly entitled Licensing - Prohibited Practices) (repealed and replaced)
Ch. 360, Licensing - Inspections (repealed)
Ch. 370, Licensing - Complaints and Investigations (repealed and replaced)
Ch. 380, Licensing - Adoption of Codes and Standards (amended)
Ch. 381, Home Installation Warranty Seal (repealed and replaced)
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P211 through P220
CONCISE SUMMARY: In this rulemaking proceeding the board proposes to make a minor amendment to the standards for state-certified manufactured housing (i.e., modular homes) in Ch. 110, and to make major changes to the licensing chapters (i.e., Ch. 310-381).
The amendment to Ch. 110 exempts manufacturers from complying with provisions of NFPA Standard 211 relating to chimney maintenance and inspection of existing chimneys. The repeal and replacement of Ch. 320 defines the "A work" and "B work" in modular home installation; defines journeyman quality workmanship; and removes terms that are defined in the Manufactured Housing Act and hence need not be defined in rule. The repeal and replacement of Ch. 340 adds standards for the licensure of developer dealers; separates license requirements for dealers and installers; requires dealers to identify any subcontractors who will perform warranty service on homes sold by the dealer; establishes standards for the business locations of dealers; imposes a standard of journeyman quality workmanship for all categories of licensees; and clarifies that sole proprietors, owners of a partnership and owners or members of a limited liability company need not provide proof of workers' compensation insurance on themselves. Ch. 340 also standardizes application information required of corporate/partnership/LLC applicants; eliminates unnecessary license application questions generally; and removes references to a transitional training program requirement that is now complete. Ch. 350 reformulates the permissible scope of practice for the different license categories, including the new license category of developer dealer, formerly located in Ch. 340; sets forth affirmative obligations of licensees, including the obligation of journeyman quality workmanship, the obligation to provide service records, and the obligation to retain records; and sets forth prohibited practices, including violations provisions relocated from Ch. 340. Ch. 370 conforms the board's complaint investigation procedures to current practice and specifically delegates limited enforcement authority to the Executive Director and board inspectors. The Executive Director may dismiss complaints on behalf of the board when no violation is found upon inspection, or when the licensee has corrected the conditions that led to the filing of a complaint. The amendments to Ch. 380 remove a duplicate recitation of standards for state-certified manufactured housing that are also found in Ch. 110; update a reference to HUD safety standards applicable to HUD Code homes; and designate Ch. 900 of the board's rules as an approved installation method for HUD Code and pre-HUD Code homes. The repeal and replacement of Ch. 381 gives manufacturers slightly more latitude in the placement of the State of Maine Installation Warranty Seal. The repeal and replacement of Ch. 381 gives manufacturers slightly more latitude in the placement of the State of Maine Installation Warranty Seal. The repealed chapter required the seal to be affixed on the inside of a kitchen cabinet door. The replacement chapter permits the seal to be affixed anywhere inside a kitchen cabinet or, in the absence of a kitchen cabinet, inside the closet nearest the kitchen area. The provisions of repealed Ch. 310, 330 and 360 are either unnecessary or were relocated to other chapters.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 10 MRSA §§ 9005, 9006, 9021, 9041, 9042, 9064
PUBLIC HEARING: October 4, 2006, 1:00 p.m., Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, 122 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: October 16, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Robert V. LeClair
AGENCY NAME: Office of Licensing and Registration
ADDRESS: 35 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-8678



AGENCY: 13-188 - Department of Marine Resources
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 25.96(F), Lobster Apprentice Program, Safety Education Course
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P221
CONCISE SUMMARY: New regulations for the Lobster Apprentice Program are proposed, which would require persons currently in the apprentice program or on a waiting list for their commercial lobster and crab license, to complete an education course in vessel safety. To become eligible for a class I, II, or III lobster and crab fishing license under 12 MRSA §6421, those persons in the apprentice program or a waiting list applicant would have to pass the education course in vessel safety.
This rule would also require persons who are authorized as new zone entrants by February 1, 2007 and who purchase a Class I, II or III license, and persons who possess a license in accordance with 12 MRSA §6421(3-A)(D) and who are issued a 2007 Class I license pursuant to 12 MRSA §6448(8)(A), to document completion of the education course prior to renewal.
This rulemaking is based on a recommendation by the Commercial Fishing Safety Council.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 12 MRSA §6422(3)
PUBLIC HEARING(S):
Oct. 2, 2006, 6:00 p.m., City Hall 3rd Floor Auditorium, One City Hall Plaza, Ellsworth
Oct. 3, 2006, 6:00 p.m., State Ferry Terminal, Conference Room, 517A Main Street, Rockland
Oct. 5, 2006, 6:00 p.m., Municipal Building, Chamber Room B, 259 US Route One, Scarborough
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: October 16, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSONS: Maj. John Fetterman (Tel: (207) 624-6555) for safety course component questions; or Deirdre Gilbert (Tel: (207) 624-6576) for license/waiting list related questions.
Mail Written Comments to:, Department of Marine Resources, Attn.: L. Churchill, PO Box 8, West Boothbay Harbor, Maine 04575-0008
WEB SITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/
TELEPHONE: (207) 633-9584
FAX: (207) 633-9579
TTY: (207) 633-9500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing). Hearing facilities: If you require accommodations due to disability, please contact Kim Pierce, at (207) 287-5055.



AGENCY: 18-125 - Department of Administrative & Financial Services, Bureau of Revenue Services
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 318, Instrumentalities of Interstate or Foreign Commerce
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P222
CONCISE SUMMARY: The rule, which has been in place for many years, explains the application of the exemption from Maine Sales or Use Tax provided in 36 MRSA §1760, sub-§41 for a vehic1e, railroad rolling stock, aircraft or watercraft placed in use by the purchaser as an instrumentality of interstate or foreign commerce. Amendments are being proposed, primarily in order to update the rule to reflect a statutory change specifying that an item covered by 36 MRSA §1760(41) must be used in interstate or foreign commerce more than 80% of the time during the two years following its purchase in order to be exempt.
ANALYSIS AND EXPECTED OPERATION OF THE RULE: See above.
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 320, Sales of Fabrication Services (repeal)
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P223
CONCISE SUMMARY: This Rule is being repealed since new, more comprehensive and up-to-date guidance covering the same subject matter has been prepared.
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 321, Meals Provided in the Wild
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P224
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule, which has been in place for many years, explains the application of the Sales and Use Tax Law to the provision of meals in the wild by persons licensed as outfitters or guides by the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife. Minor amendments are being proposed in order to reflect statutory changes.
THESE RULES WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Title 36 MRSA §112
PUBLIC HEARING: None scheduled at this time.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: October 16, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: David Bauer, Maine Revenue Services, 24 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-9681
E-MAIL: david.e.bauer@maine.gov



AGENCY: 01-001 - Maine Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 31, Potato Marketing Improvement Fund
RULE NUMBER: 2006-P225
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule change will increase the total amount of funds from the program available to any one borrower for all current and past projects for which the borrower has applied.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 10 MRSA Ch. 110 §1023-N, and 7 MRSA Ch. 103 §973-A.
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 32, Agricultural Marketing Loan Fund
RULE NUMBER: 2006-P226
CONCISE SUMMARY: This rulemaking will make a number of changes in administration of the loan fund because of changes in the law. Changes include allowing for pre-application costs to be allowed as a project cost if approved by the commissioner, allowing the administrator to do construction loans, changing the amount of state participation in the loan, allowing for less application information to be submitted for smaller loans, and removing from eligibility any potato storage project which could be funded under the PMIF program.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 10 MRSA Ch. 110 §1023-J, and 7 MRSA sub-§434 et seq.
THESE RULES WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
PUBLIC HEARING: None scheduled at this time.
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: 5:00 p.m., Friday, October 13th, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Mary Ellen Johnston, Director, Division of Market and Production Development, Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources, 28 State House Station, AMHI Annex, Augusta, ME 04333-0028
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-3491
FAX: (207) 287-5576



AGENCY: 06-096 - Maine Department of Environmental Protection
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: (1) Ch. 305, Permit by Rule, and (2) Ch. 310, Wetlands and Waterbodies Protection
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P227 and P228
CONCISE SUMMARY: Changes to Ch. 305, the Natural Resource Protection Act Permit by Rule Standards, are intended to: (1) add a permit by rule (PBR) section to Ch. 305 to allow permit by rule for activities in, on or over significant vernal pool habitat, and meeting specified requirements, as required by PL 2003 c. 183, sec. 1(16) and Ch. 335(9)(D); (2) add a PBR section to Ch. 305 for activities in existing developed areas and located in, on, or over high or moderate value inland waterfowl and wading bird habitat, or shorebird nesting, feeding, and staging areas; (3) make amendments to Ch. 305 necessary to conform with recent changes to Ch. 355, Coastal Sand Dune Rules; (4) update Ch. 305(11), State Transportation Facilities, as a result of discussions with Maine Dept. of Transportation; and (5) additional minor updating.
Amendments to Ch. 310 include changes necessary as a result of PL 2003, c. 592, including reducing the size of projects eligible for an exception from compensation requirements; and additional minor updating.
THES RULES WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 38 MRSA 341-D; PL 2003, c. 592, sec. 5; PL 2003, Resolve c. 183, sec. 1(16).
PUBLIC HEARING): 1:00 p.m., Thursday, October 5, 2006, Holiday Inn/Ground Round, 110 Community Drive, Augusta, Maine
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: 5:00 p.m., October 16, 2006. Comments may be submitted by mail, e-mail or fax. To ensure the comments are considered, they must include your name and the organization you represent, if any. For a copy of the proposed amendments, see contact person below or go to: http://www.maine.gov/dep/blwq/rules/NRPA/2006/index.htm
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Hetty Richardson, Department of Environmental Protection, 17 State House Station - Ray Bldg., Hospital St.. Augusta, Maine 04333-0017
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-7799
FAX: (207) 287-7826
E-MAIL: Hetty.L.Richardson@maine.gov



AGENCY: 06-096 - Department of Environmental Protection
RULE TITLE OR SUBJECT: Ch. 500, Stormwater Management; Ch. 502, Direct Watersheds of Lakes Most at Risk from New Development, and Urban Impaired Streams
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2006-P229 and P230
CONCISE SUMMARY: Significant changes to the Stormwater Rules became effective on November 16, 2005. Implementation of the new rules has led to several concerns, which the department proposes to address through additional rule-making. Among these are the need for additional flexibility in meeting the standards for large (Site Law sized) redevelopment projects where strict adherence to the BMP standards can be very expensive. In such instances, a developer might consider going to an undeveloped site rather than redeveloping an existing impervious area due to the expense of stormwater treatment. A proposed revision to Ch. 500 would allow the department to approve redevelopment projects that do not meet all of the new standards, provided there is not an increase in stormwater impacts leaving the site. Other changes are also proposed, all of which are seen as relatively minor in scope. These include, but are not limited to, revisions to definitions for “developed area” and “linear project”; changes to the general standards and permit by rule.
In Ch. 502, several changes are proposed to the list of Most at Risk Lakes with the addition of 5 lakes due to data showing an increased trophic state and the removal of one lake from the “severely blooming” category. One stream is also proposed to be removed from the Urban Impaired Stream list due to data showing that it is meeting its water quality classification.
The draft rules are posted on the department’s web site at http://www.maine.gov/dep/blwq/rule.htm. Comments may be submitted by mail at the address below, by fax at (207) 287-7826, or by email to the address below. To ensure consideration, comments must include your name and the organization you represent, if any. Please be aware that any risk of non-delivery associated with submissions by fax or email is on the sender.
THIS RULE WILL NOT HAVE A FISCAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 38 MRSA §420-D
PUBLIC HEARING: October 5, 2006, 1:30 p.m., Holiday Inn/Ground Round, Augusta
DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: October 16, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Donald T. Witherill, Director, Div. of Watershed Management, Department of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Land & Water Quality, 17 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-7725
E-MAIL: donald.t.witherill@maine.gov


ADOPTIONS



AGENCY: 12-597 - Department of Labor, Bureau of Employment Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 1, Rules Governing Implementation of the Trade Adjustment Assistance Program
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-405
CONCISE SUMMARY: The proposed amendment revises the definition of “supportive services” consistent with the Trade Act and clarifies what are and are not “supportive services” covered by trade adjustment assistance.
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 6, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Judy Pelletier, Trade Program Manager, Bureau of Employment Services, 55 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333
TELEPHONE: (207) 624-6395



AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Integrated Access and Support
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. #331, Public Assistance Manual (TANF), Rev. #79A: Expands the Alternative Aid Program
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-406
CONCISE SUMMARY: The rules that govern the Alternative Aid Program, allow families to receive Alternative Aid Benefits once in their lifetime. This amendment expands the availability of Alternative Aid benefits from once in a lifetime to once in any 12-month period.
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 12, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Dean Henderson, Program Manager, Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Integrated Access and Support, 11 State House Station, 268 Whitten Road, Augusta, ME 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-5089
TTY: (207) 287-6948



AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services, Office of MaineCare Services
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 104, Maine State Services Manual: Section 2, Maine Drugs for the Elderly (DEL) Benefit; and Section 4, Maine Part D Wrap Benefit
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2006-407
CONCISE SUMMARY: The implementation of the Medicare Part D prescription drug benefit has significantly impacted the Low Cost Drugs for the Elderly and Disabled (DEL) benefit. The final rules correct and clarify Ch. 104, Sections 2 and 4 of the Maine State Services Manual, previously adopted on April 1, 2006. Changes to Section 2 correct and clarify reimbursement rates for retail and mail order pharmacies, while Changes to Section 4 update co-payment information for participants who are dually eligible for the DEL and Part D benefits. Changes to Section 4 also clarify participants’ eligibility for the Part D wrap benefit.
See http://www.maine.gov/bms/rules/gen_other_rules.htm for rules and related rulemaking documents.
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 15, 2006
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Scott Goulette, Comprehensive Health Planner, DHHS, Office of MaineCare Services, 442 Civic Center Drive, 11 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
TELEPHONE: (207) 287-9370
FAX: (207) 287-9369
TTY: 1 (800) 423-4331 or (207) 287-1828 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing)