
Workers’ Compensation Training Perspectives 
Newsletter from the Office of Monitoring, Audit and Enforcement 

Maine Workers’ Compensation Board  

June 2014 Volume 1, Number 1 

 

 

Paul H. Sighinolfi 

Executive Director/Chair 

 

Office of Monitoring, 

Audit and Enforcement 

Maine Workers’ 

Compensation Board 

27 State House Station 

Augusta, Maine 04333 

 

Contacts: 

 

Gordon Davis 

Director of Audits 

Training Coordinator 

(207) 287-6327 

 

E-mail  
Gordon.Davis@Maine.Gov 

 

Anne Poulin 

Secretary Associate 

(207) 287-7067 

 

E-mail  

Anne.Poulin@Maine.Gov 

 

Website: 

www.maine.gov/wcb/ 

 

 

 

 

Welcome to “Training Perspectives” 
 

“Training Perspectives” is an e-publication intended to aid all involved with workers’ 

compensation claim administration in being compliant with Maine statutes, rules, and 

regulations.  The intent is to publish it four times a year, shortly in advance of each open 

training session.  While it certainly may evolve, the initial format will be to deal with 

one timely “Topic of the Month”, a “Forms Forum” discussing one Board form, a “From 

the (e)Mail Bag” section with actual questions from claim administrators, and other 

items of interest.  Comments and suggestions are most welcome!  Contact Gordon Davis 

at Gordon.Davis@Maine.Gov with any feedback. 

 

Topic of the Month - Bonuses 
 

There seems to be a fair amount of confusion as to when bonuses should and should not 

be included in total earnings when calculating the AWW.  While this can indeed be a 

gray area, it should be noted that it is rare that a bonus would NOT be included.  If the 

bonus is performance based and/or part of the employee’s pay package, it will generally 

be included.  Commissions, sales incentives, safe driving bonuses for truckers, and 

annual profit sharing or annual Christmas bonuses that are part of the employee’s 

expected pay package are all includable in calculating the AWW.  An “employee of the 

month” cash award, an unexpected, one-time only Christmas bonus, or a cash prize for 

best suggestion in the suggestion box are examples of bonuses that would generally not 

be included. 

 

Forms Forum – WCB-11 Statement of Compensation 
 

Far and away the most problematic form found in audit as far as late or not filed forms is 

the WCB-11 Statement of Compensation Paid.  The requirement to file the SOC is 

triggered by the payment of indemnity benefits.  If no indemnity is ever paid - a 

“medical only” claim for example - then the SOC need not be filed.  If indemnity is 

paid, then an initial report is due within 195 days of the date of injury.  An annual report 

is due within 15 days of each anniversary date of the injury if payments of any type 

were made since the previous SOC.  A final report should be filed when no further 

payments are anticipated. 
 

You should NOT include any penalty amounts, nor reduce the totals by the amount of 

any recoveries.  The “Weekly Compensation” line should NOT include interest or any 

salary continuation paid by the employer.  The total of the “Weekly Compensation” line 

on the “Final” WCB-11 must match the sum of the “Amount Paid” on all WCB-4, 

WCB-4A, and mandatory MOP forms, and/or the sum of the “Compensation Payment to 

Date of Certificate” and “Compensation to be Paid for 21-Day Period” on all WCB-8 

forms for the claim. 
 

If additional payments are made after filing a “Final” WCB-11, file an amended “Final” 

after you are reasonably sure no further payments will be made. 
 

To ensure the WCB-11 forms are filed in a timely manner, the Board recommends that 

the assigned adjuster diary for future filing as prescribed by Rule 8.1 and the Forms 

Manual. 
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From the (e)Mail Bag – Questions from Adjusters 
 

Q: The only compensation paid to the employee was salary continuation.  What forms 

must be filed? 

A: The insurer’s obligation to pay weekly benefits to the employee is reduced by the 

amount received by the employee pursuant to the wage continuation plan. However, all 

forms should be filed as if the employee had lost the wages being paid under the wage 

continuation plan, EXCEPT the WCB-11 is not required if the claim was salary 

continuation only. 
 

Q: The employee is losing a couple hours a month for medical appointments due to a 

work-related injury.  Must I track the lost wages?   

A: Lost wages due to medical appointments must be tracked for purposes of filing a 

FROI.  If the amount of lost wages exceeds the waiting period, the employer/insurer is 

generally on notice of a claim for compensation. 
 

Q: The injured employee has a full-duty release to return to work on June 1, but chooses 

not to return.  Can I still file a WCB-4 and discontinue on that date?  

A: No.  Because there is not an actual return to work with the employer of injury, you 

must file a WCB-8 21-Day Certificate and discontinue no earlier than 21 days from the 

date the WCB-8 is sent certified mail to the employee and the Board. 
 

Q: If I file a WCB-9 Notice of Controversy denying a lost-time claim, and no indemnity 

has been paid, must I file a Wage Statement and Fringe Benefit Worksheet?  

A: Yes, the WCB-2 and WCB-2B are due within 30 days after the employer has notice 

or knowledge of a claim for compensation (box 20 of the NOC). 
 

 

Compliance Training for Employers/Insurers 
 

The remaining open training session for 2014 will be held October 23-24 at the Maine 

Department of Labor, 45 Commerce Drive in Augusta.  These sessions have two new 

added features:  Brad Howard will be speaking on the Board’s move toward a more 

automated claims handling model via Electronic Data Interchange (EDI), and Kimberlee 

Barriere will be doing a short presentation on the Board’s medical fee schedule.  Please 

contact Anne Poulin to reserve a spot. 
 

The Board also continues to be busy doing on-site training for insurers, self-insurers, 

and third party administrators.  This customized on-site program runs about six hours 

and includes a compliance trend analysis for the entity, a discussion of recent audit and 

compliance results, along with modules on forms training, AWW calculation, and a 

“compensation for incapacity” module which includes such topics as calculating the 

waiting period for broken periods of incapacity, and transitioning between TTD and 

TPD in the same pay period.  Hands-on examples and quizzes aid in going from theory 

to practice.  The Board also has a module designed for employers.  If you would like 

information about on-site training for your organization, please contact Gordon Davis. 
 

Training modules are also available on the Board’s website: www.maine.gov/wcb 

(click on “Training Modules” on the right side of the home page). 
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