
  

 

Advisory on 72 Hour Waiting Period 

 
On August 9, 2024, a new law will take effect requiring a 72-hour waiting period for certain sales 

of firearms. The Maine Department of Public Safety (“DPS”) and the Maine Office of the Attorney 

General (“OAG”) provide the following guidance to sellers and buyers of firearms to assist them 

in complying with this law. 

 

Whether a particular transaction is subject to and complies with the law is fact-specific. In 

offering this guidance, the DPS and the OAG are not providing legal advice. Firearms sellers 

and buyers with questions beyond the scope of this guidance should consult with legal counsel. 

 

Where can I find the law that requires a waiting period? 

The law can currently be found here, as Public Law 2023, Chapter 678. 

 

Once the Revisor of Statutes has completed the update of Maine’s online statutes from the most 

recent legislative session, the statute can be searched by inputting Title 25 and Section 2015 here. 

 

In addition, the text of the law is available at the link accompanying this Advisory under 

“Advisory on 72 Hour Waiting Period Law.” 

 

What requirements does the law impose on sellers? 

A seller may not knowingly deliver a firearm to a buyer pursuant to an agreement sooner than 72 

hours after the agreement. This 72-hour waiting period is concurrent with any waiting period 

imposed by any background check process required by federal or state law. 

What constitutes an “agreement” under the law? 

An agreement means an agreement reached between a buyer and seller for the purchase and sale 

of a specifically identified firearm. While the law does not expressly state that the agreement be 

in writing, the DPS and OAG strongly recommend that sellers maintain contemporaneous 

documentation of agreements so that if questions arise, the existence and terms of agreements 

can be confirmed. Examples of such documentation may include correspondence between the 

seller and buyer, written confirmation of an online or telephone order, or completion of ATF 

Form 4473. 

https://legislature.maine.gov/bills/getPDF.asp?paper=SP0958&item=4&snum=131
https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/search.htm


Who is a “seller” of a firearm under the law? 

A “seller” is a person, including a firearm dealer, that owns a firearm and is transferring 

ownership of the firearm to a buyer pursuant to an agreement. 

 

Who is a “buyer” of a firearm under the law? 

A buyer is a person, other than a firearm dealer, who receives possession or ownership of a 

firearm through an agreement. 

 

What is a “firearm” under the law? 

“Firearm" is defined by reference to another statute: Title 17-A, section 2, subsection 12-A. It 

means “any weapon, whether loaded or unloaded, which is designed to expel a projectile by the 

action of an explosive and includes any such weapon commonly referred to as a pistol, revolver, 

rifle, gun, machine gun or shotgun. Any weapon which can be made into a firearm by the 

insertion of a firing pin, or other similar thing, or by repair, is a firearm.” However, certain 

firearms are exempted from the waiting period law, as described below. 

 

Who is considered a “firearm dealer”? 

A “firearm dealer” is a person that is licensed as a dealer under 18 United States Code, Section 

923(a)(3) or that is required to be licensed as a dealer under that section. 

 

What is the starting point for the 72-hour waiting period? 

The time period begins when the buyer and the seller have entered into an agreement for the 

purchase and sale of a specifically identified firearm. 

 

Does the 72 hours overlap with any time required for a background check? 

Yes, it can. The law explicitly states that the waiting period must be “concurrent” with the time 

needed for any required background check. This means that when the FFL initiates a 

background check, the time it takes to complete the background check counts toward the 72-hour 

waiting period. 

 

What are the penalties for violating the law? 

A seller who violates the law commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than $200 and 

not more than $500 may be imposed. Subsequent violations may be subject to fines of not less 

than $500 and not more than $1,000. 

 

Are sales to certain individuals exempt from the waiting period? 

Yes. The waiting period does not apply if the seller knows that the person to whom the firearm is 

being sold is (1) A law enforcement officer as defined by Title 17-A, section 2, subsection 17; (2) 

A corrections officer as defined by section 2801-A, subsection 2; or (3) A person who is 

employed by a contract security company or proprietary security organization as defined by Title 

32, section 9403 or a person who is licensed as a private security guard under Title 32, chapter 

93. 

https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/17-A/title17-Asec2.html
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/923
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/923
https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/17-A/title17-Asec2.html
https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/25/title25sec2801-A.html
https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32sec9403.html
https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32sec9403.html
https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch93sec0.html
https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch93sec0.html


The waiting period does not apply to the sale of firearms to firearm dealers. 

 

The waiting period does not apply if the buyer and seller are family members. A “family 

member” means a spouse, domestic partner, parent, stepparent, foster parent, child, stepchild, 

foster child, grandparent, grandchild, brother, sister, aunt, uncle, niece, or nephew. 

 

Are sales of certain firearms exempt from the waiting period? 

Yes. A curio or relic firearm, as defined in 27 Code of Federal Regulations, Section 

478.11, is exempt if the sale, transfer or exchange is between collectors, as defined in 18 United 

States Code, Section 921(a)(13), who each have in their possession a valid collector of curios 

and relics license issued by the United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, 

Firearms and Explosives. 

 

The sale of “antique firearms,” as defined in 18 United States Code, Section 921(a)(16), is not 

subject to the law. 

 

Are there any other exemptions? 

Yes. The waiting period does not apply to transactions for which neither federal nor state law 

requires a background check of the buyer. In other words, if the sale does not require a 

background check under either state or federal law, then no waiting period is required. Sellers 

should be aware that beyond federally required background checks, and with limited exceptions, 

Maine law requires background checks whenever a seller sells to a buyer at a gun show or as a 

result of an advertisement. The Maine background check law can be found here. 

 

Does the waiting period apply to all transfers of firearms? 

No. The law applies only to transfers in which a person who owns a firearm is transferring 

ownership of the firearm to a buyer. Generally speaking, a temporary loan or rental of a firearm 

for a limited period of time will not require a waiting period. Examples might include 

temporary use of a firearm for instructional activities and guided hunts. Whether ownership is 

being transferred is a fact-specific question and will depend on the particular circumstances of 

the transaction. 

 

How does the Maine law affect federal statutes and regulations? 

The Maine law does not change federal law, including federal laws imposing licensing and other 

requirements on persons engaged in firearms transfers. So, while some transactions may not 

require a waiting period under Maine law, all relevant federal statutes and regulations still apply. 

 

FFLs selling firearms to residents of states other than the state in which the FFL is located should 

refer to this ATF webpage. 

 

If FFLs have questions about compliance with federal law, they should contact the ATF Boston 

Field Division at (617-557-1200). See also the ATF Quick Reference and Best Practices Guide 

and ATF’s Frequently Asked Questions site. 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/27/478.11
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/27/478.11
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/921
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/921
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/921
https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/getPDF.asp?paper=SP0953&item=6&snum=131
https://www.atf.gov/firearms/qa/may-licensee-sell-firearm-nonlicensee-who-resident-another-state
https://www.atf.gov/firearms/federal-firearms-licensee-quick-reference-and-best-practices-guide
https://www.atf.gov/questions-and-answers/firearms-qas

