	
	APPLICATION
             Maine Criminal Justice Academy
Separated Law Enforcement Officer’s Certificate of Firearms Proficiency



NOTE: This certification is only valid for Maine residents (U.S.C. Title 18, Chapter 44, Section 926C(d)2(B)). Resident is defined under 36 M.R.S.A. §5102(5).
TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY - USE CAPITAL LETTERS – USE BLACK or BLUE INK ONLY
Please read the instructions on page two of this application.
	LEGAL NAME: (Last, First, Middle)
	~	INITIAL

	
	~	RENEWAL

	RESIDENCE ADDRESS: (Street # and name including apartment / Lot #)
	CITY
	STATE
	ZIP CODE

	MAILING ADDRESS: (If different from above)
	CITY
	STATE
	ZIP CODE

	SOCIAL SECURITY NO.
	CONTACT PHONE NUMBER
	EMAIL ADDRESS IF AVAILABLE

	DATE OF BIRTH
(MM/DD/YYYY)

	FORMER LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY INFORMATION (TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT)

	AGENCY FROM WHICH YOU RETIRED AND DATES OF SERVICE: 

	ADDRESS
	CITY
	STATE
	ZIP
	PHONE

(     )       -            





	TRAINING INFORMATION (TO BE COMPLETED BY INSTRUCTOR)

	NAME OF MCJA CERTIFIED FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR

	ADDRESS
	CITY
	STATE
	ZIP
	PHONE

(     )       -      

	TYPE OF FIREARM USED (CIRCLE ONE ONLY):   (ENTER MODEL TYPE)
REVOLVER  	SEMI AUTO	BOTH

	QUALIFICATION DATE
	RE-QUALIFICATION DATE:

	MCJA CERTIFIED FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR SIGNATURE:



· Please be sure you have included all required documents with this application (see page 2).
· Application processing fee . . . . $10.00 (Money order or cashier’s check ONLY )
I SWEAR OR AFFIRM THAT THE INFORMATION ON THIS APPLICATION IS TRUE AND ACCURATE AND THAT I MEET THE REQUIREMENTS UNDER 18 USC 926C (c) 1 – 7 (see page 2):
	APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE:	DATE:



Revised 06/05/2024
For additional information, please refer to the MCJA website at www.maine.gov/dps/mcja 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS
This application form is used to apply for the Separated Law Enforcement Officer’s Certificate of Firearms Proficiency.
1. Complete the firearms qualification course of fire with a MCJA certified firearms instructor. This is either the Board approved standard firearms qualification course or the Board approved plain clothes qualification course.
2. The MCJA certified firearms instructor shall submit this completed application with:
a. A legible photocopy of the separated law enforcement officer’s photographic identification,
b. The required fee of $10.00 ($15.00 if you want the card laminated and mailed) in the form of a money order or cashier’s check (no personal checks or checks drawn on a business account) payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine and
c. The Maine Criminal Justice Academy’s Safe Handling and Qualification Statement signed by the applicant and the MCJA Certified Firearms Instructor.  This form can be found on the Academy’s web page at https://www.maine.gov/dps/themes/dps/mcja/documents/FIREARMS-BasicFirearmsQualificationForm2021.doc
18 USC 926C(c) DEFINES A “QUALIFIED RETIRED (Separated) LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER” AS AN INDIVIDUAL WHO:
1. Separated in good standing from service with a public agency as a law enforcement officer, other than for reasons of mental instability.
2. Before such separation, was authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation, or prosecution of, or the incarceration of any person for, any violation of law, and had statutory powers of arrest.
3. Before such separation, was regularly employed as a law enforcement officer for an aggregate of 10 years or more or retired from service with such agency, after completing any applicable probationary period of such service, due to a service-connected disability, as determined by such agency.
4. Has a nonforfeitable right to benefits under the retirement plan of the agency.
The following sections are the responsibility of the individual separated LE officer:
5. During the most recent 12-month period, has met, at the expense of the applicant, the State’s standards for training and qualification for active law enforcement officers to carry firearms.
6. Is not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or substance.
7. Is not prohibited by Federal Law from receiving or possessing a firearm.
IF CARRYING A CONCEALED FIREARM, YOU MUST ALSO BE IN POSSESSION OF:
1. A photographic identification issued by the law enforcement agency you retired from stating you are a retired (separated) law enforcement officer; AND
2. A certification issued by the State in which the individual resides that indicates that the individual has, not less recently than one year before the date the individual is carrying the concealed firearm, been tested or otherwise found by the State to meet the standards established by the State for training and qualification for active law enforcement officers to carry a firearm of the same type as the concealed firearm. The certificate issued by the Maine Department of Public Safety meets this requirement and is valid for twelve months from the day the firearms qualification event occurred. It is recommended that this application be submitted immediately after the qualification event takes place.
Mail applications to:	
Maine Criminal Justice Academy
Separated Officer Firearms Proficiency
15 Oak Grove Road
Vassalboro, ME  04989
Revised 06/05/2024
For additional information, please call (207)877-8000 or visit the Academy web page at www.maine.gov/dps/mcja
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