Maine Climate Council Materials Management Task Force

May 10, 2024 12:30 PM – 3:30 PM

Hybrid meeting held in person at #101 Deering Building, 90 Blossom Lane, Augusta, ME 0433 and via Zoom (not recorded)

Please refer to MMTF webpage for additional information about the Task Force.

Present:

- Co-Chair: Melanie Loyzim, Maine Department of Environmental Protection
- Co-Chair: Cynthia Eisenhower, UMaine/Sen. George J. Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions
- Facilitation and Staff: David Plumb, Consensus Building Institute, Megan Mansfield-Pryor, GOPIF and Ansley Grider, Maine Climate Council Intern (zoom)
- Guests and Public: Nathan Robbins, Maine DEP, Allison Bistline-East, University of Maine UMaine, Carol Libby, Megan Sauberlich
- MMTF Members in attendance:
 - Wesley Ingwerson, US EPA
 - Mark Draper, Aroostook Waste Solutions
 - Travis Peaslee, Lewiston Auburn Water Pollution Control Authority (zoom)
 - Carla Hopkins, Maine Department of Environmental Protection
 - Alex Zipparo, Island Institute
 - Sydney Harris, Upstream (zoom)
 - o Dan Wojciechowski, IDEXX
 - Abbie Webb, Casella (zoom)
 - Victor Horton, MRRA (zoom)
 - Greg Williams, AgriCycle (zoom)
 - Maya Faulstich, Maine Youths for Climate Justice
 - Mike Carroll, Municipal Review Committee
 - Vanessa Berry, Natural Resources Council of Maine
 - o Bea Johnson (standing in for Jamie Garvin), ecomaine
 - Lane Gould, Maine Bureau of General Services (zoom)
 - Teddy Lyman, Maine Department of Education (zoom)
 - Kate Tomkins, Chickadee Compost (zoom)
 - Dan Wojciechowski, IDEXX Laboratories (zoom)
 - Lane Gould, Maine Bureau of General Services (zoom)
 - John Fay (standing in for Shaina Cohen, Northeast Waste Management Officials' Association (zoom)
 - Sarah Nichols, CLYNK (zoom)
 - o Juliana Beecher, Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) Fellow

- o Susanne Lee, UMaine/Sen. George J. Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions
- Reed Miller, UMaine/Sen. George J. Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions (zoom)

Meeting Minutes

- 12:30p.m. to 12:40pm: Welcome and Introduction to Speakers
- 12:40-1:40pm: Presentations and Q&A Maine's Consumption-Based Emissions Inventory from Nathan Robbins, Maine DEP and Wesley Ingwerson, US EPA
- 1:40-2:00pm: Presentations and Q&A Corporate Sustainability/ESG Initiatives from Hannaford and IDEXX
- 2:00-2:10pm: Break
- 2:10pm: Quiet independent review of draft templates
- 2:10pm: Group review, editing, and discussion of draft templates
- 3:25pm: Volunteer selection for editing templates from now until May 24th
- 3:40pm: Meeting Adjourned

Reminders:

- Detailed informal meeting notes including timing of discussions are provided in the <u>April 12th Task Force Meeting</u>, which is accessible to all members and to the public upon request.
- Reach out to Megan Mansfield-Pryor (<u>megan.mansfieldpryor@maine.gov</u>) for any additional input.