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                 GOVERNOR  DIRECTOR 

January 5, 2024 
 
Michael Grillo and 
The M&M Group LLC dba M&M Landcare 
Attn:  Michael Grillo 
499 Poland Road 
Auburn, Maine 04210 
 
RE: Violations of 26 MRS. Inspection #482121 
 
 
Dear Michael Grillo, 
 
When the Wage and Hour Division conducted an inspection of your business commencing on 
July 12, 2023, the following violations of Maine Labor Law were found: 
 
26 MRS §621-A Timely and Full Payment of Wages requires that employees be paid in full, 
on an established day or date, at regular intervals made known to the employee.  The intervals 
may not exceed 16 days and must include all wages earned to within 8 days of the payment date. 
 
In this case, employer failed to pay employee, , on the established pay date of 
06/09/2023 for work performed in the State of Maine on 05/27/2023. The employer failed to pay 

 on the established pay date of 06/23/2023 for work performed in the State of 
Maine on 06/12/23 & 06/13/2023. 2 violations 
 
26 MRS §629 Unfair Agreements prohibits an employer from requiring or allowing an 
employee to work without monetary compensation or from having an agreement with the 
employee that a part of the employee's compensation be returned to the employer except for the 
payment of a debt as defined. 
For purposes of this subchapter, "debt" means a benefit to the employee.  “Debt” does not 
include uniforms, personal protective equipment or other tools of the trade that are considered to 
be primarily for the benefit or convenience of the employer.  
 
In this case, employer withheld  wages in the amount of $672.00 for failing 
to return company uniforms. 1 violation 
 
26 MRS §53. Additional penalties In addition to any penalties provided in chapter 7, 
subchapters I to IV, the director may assess a forfeiture against any employer, officer, agent or 
other person who violates any provision of chapter 7, subchapters I to IV for each violation of 
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those subchapters. The forfeiture may not exceed $1,000 or the amount provided in law or rule as 
a penalty for the specific violation, whichever is less. The Attorney General, upon complaint of 
the director, shall institute a civil action to recover the forfeiture. 
 
26 MRS §626-A PENALTIES Whoever violates any of the provisions of sections 621-A to 623 
or section 626, 628, 628-A, 629 or 629-B is subject to a forfeiture of not less than $100 nor more 
than $500 for each violation. Each employee is counted as a separate violation, each pay cycle. 
 
BLS Rules, Chapter 9, Rules Governing Administrative Civil Money Penalties for Labor Law 
Violations, sections II and III defines terms and how penalties are calculated respectively, 
including multipliers. 
 
2 violations of §621-A x $100.00  = $200.00 
2 violation of  §629 x $100.00  = $200.00 
 
26 MRS §664 Minimum wage; overtime rate 
Except as otherwise provided in this subchapter, an employer may not employ any employee at a 
rate less than the rates required by this section.  
 
The minimum wage in Maine in 2023 is $13.80 per hour.   established rate 
of pay was $16.00 per hour. 
 
In this case, the employer failed to pay  for 14 hours worked on 05/27/2023. 
The established pay date was 06/09/2023. 
The employer failed to pay  for 14 hours per day on 06/12/2023 and 
06/13/2023.  The established pay date was 06/23/2023. 
2 violations 
 
26 MRS §671 Penalties 
Any employer who violates this subchapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be punished by a fine 
of not less than $50 nor more than $200.   
 
BLS Rules, Chapter 9, Rules Governing Administrative Civil Money Penalties for Labor Law 
Violations, sections II and III defines terms and how penalties are calculated respectively, 
including multipliers. 
 
2 violations of §664 x $50.00 = $100.00  
 
 
The total penalty for the above violation(s) is $500.00.   
 
Make checks payable to the “Treasurer, State of Maine” 
 
The violations identified above will become a final order within fifteen (15) business days from 
the day it was received unless you request a penalty discussion or file an appeal within 15 
business days.  
 
 



  

-3- 

Employer options (within 15 business days): 
 
If you intend to correct all violations identified and wish to work with the Wage & Hour 
Division to possibly reduce the penalty amount, you may request a “Penalty Discussion”.  This 
discussion will pertain only to the penalty(s) and not the violation(s).  All proposed penalties will 
be stayed until after the penalty discussion. 
 
         Or 
 
You may file a formal appeal of any violation or penalty within fifteen (15) days of receipt of 
this citation. Please be specific as to what violation(s) or penalty you wish to appeal. If a request 
for a formal appeal is received, the Director will set a time and date for a “hearing”.  The 
Director will serve as the hearing officer or may assign the appeal to the Administrative Hearings 
Division within the Department of Labor. The hearing will be at the headquarters of the Bureau 
or at a place mutually agreeable to the parties. All proposed penalties will be stayed until after 
the formal appeal is heard. 
 
As the employer, you must respond in writing to the Director of the Bureau, at the address above, 
within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of this report stating what option you intend to 
choose.  If no response is received within that time frame you accept all citations and any 
penalties assessed. The citation will become a final order and payment will be due at that time, 
made payable to “Treasurer, State of Maine” and mailed to the address at the top of this 
citation. 
 
We strongly recommend that any correspondence be sent by certified mail.  Failure to correct 
violations may result in additional penalties for each violation that is not corrected. 
 
If you have questions regarding this citation, you may contact the Bureau of Labor Standards, 
Wage & Hour Division at (207) 623-7900. 
 
 
Dates to remember: 
 
Respond in writing, to the Director of the Bureau within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of 
this citation indicating what option you choose. 
 
 
Respectfully, 

         
Scott Cotnoir, Director 
Wage and Hour Division 
Inspection # 482121  
 
 




